Donegal GAA thread

Hopefully the next time jarlath burns stands in front of a microphone talking about players welfare a journalist with some guts will cite the turnaround of 6 days when the option was there to have both Donegal and Galway play on Sunday. No doubt he will start eulogising about the great non-partisan cccccccccccccc and the great job they are doing, never mind the fact that he has also ensured Donegal are behind the pay wall 2 weeks in a row.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1089 - 24/06/2025 08:28:45    2620532

We are now chief whingers of the GAA. Jim just needs to focus on the football and not the constant moaning. That statement last night is as pointless as it gets.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 164 - 24/06/2025 08:42:20    2620537

Jim talks a lot about player welfare but Donegal were probaly the first team back training last winter. Then went to Portugal in December.
Paddy McBrearty as a Minor featured the same day with.donegal seniors.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 24/06/2025 09:22:04    2620549

Replying To totalrecall:  "Who did mayo get in the draw?"
Ah look an eejit who doesn't read my posts and thinks I am on here slagging Donegal.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8456 - 24/06/2025 10:11:16    2620557

Anyone would think it's only Donegal and Jim McGuinness who have raised the concerns about player welfare and asking amateur players to play with only a 6 day turnaround. Plenty knowledgeable Gaa people up and down the country have said the same thing.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 10:18:43    2620562

Replying To greenfan:  "Anyone would think it's only Donegal and Jim McGuinness who have raised the concerns about player welfare and asking amateur players to play with only a 6 day turnaround. Plenty knowledgeable Gaa people up and down the country have said the same thing."
It is unfair on Donegal but it was going to happen either yourselves or Galway. The GAA were going to make two double headers the most appealing combinations possible in order to maximise the chances of two sellouts and there were never going to put us on the same day as Kerry v Armagh. I'm sure TV played a part too with RTE selecting the Armagh v Kerry game on the Sunday slot. If Donegal swapped with Galway I think demand on Saturday would be too high and a lot of fans would potentially miss out. I think Meath will bring massive numbers for example.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 285 - 24/06/2025 10:23:53    2620566

Replying To farneygael3:  "Never have I heard such whinging from him. Beaten docket. Yous have done well to get this far, Ulster champs and reaching the last 8 will be a creditable year but yous aren't top 4 top 2 contenders (under him)"
Remind me again when Monaghan were ever top 2 contenders. Talking about whinging... I seem to remember the Monaghan manager and some players running after the referee at the end of the Donegal game, crying cause they didn't understand the rules of the game. Maybe get your own house in order before you start criticising others.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 10:24:42    2620567

It's 100% wrong the way Donegal is been treated,but they probably should of took a stronger stand and said we won't be playing Saturday end of,The same as Louth on Sunday should of said we won't be taking to the field for 4.00 pm throw in if they weren't ready,der amateur athletes,what right has anyone got to dictate to them what can/can't do??It's all about maximum profit at the end of the day,the world and it's mother knew Dublin wer getting the Saturday evening slot no matter who they got drawn against,so Galway/Donegal wer going to suffer....

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 202 - 24/06/2025 10:35:20    2620575

Replying To PeterQ92:  "We are now chief whingers of the GAA. Jim just needs to focus on the football and not the constant moaning. That statement last night is as pointless as it gets."
You do a lot of anti-Jim moaning. In fact almost every post there's a pop at him somewhere. But okay for you to whinge?

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 24/06/2025 10:35:39    2620576

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Galway travelled because they had an away match. We travelled 3 hours to a supposedly neutral fixture. That's the difference"
We travelled 3 hours for a neutral fixture too that weekend

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1598 - 24/06/2025 10:39:04    2620578

Forget about all the games we have played this year,If there was any fairness the teams that played last Sunday should have out this Sunday as well.Funny that Galway got the 7 days.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1177 - 24/06/2025 10:40:56    2620580

Replying To greenfan:  "Anyone would think it's only Donegal and Jim McGuinness who have raised the concerns about player welfare and asking amateur players to play with only a 6 day turnaround. Plenty knowledgeable Gaa people up and down the country have said the same thing."
yeah there was a 6 day rule for a long time, I guess it went out with the old back door format.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 252 - 24/06/2025 10:44:46    2620581

Replying To totalrecall:  "Hopefully the next time jarlath burns stands in front of a microphone talking about players welfare a journalist with some guts will cite the turnaround of 6 days when the option was there to have both Donegal and Galway play on Sunday. No doubt he will start eulogising about the great non-partisan cccccccccccccc and the great job they are doing, never mind the fact that he has also ensured Donegal are behind the pay wall 2 weeks in a row."
Player welfare. Donegal trained abroad before Christmas for a week. Were they sunbathing??

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2220 - 24/06/2025 10:46:30    2620584

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Although he probably rates Monaghan higher I think it will suit Jim a lot better to play Monaghan.

We know what we are getting with Monaghan whereas Meath are a bit of a conundrum in terms of which one you're going to get.
We have already played you and beaten you so he knows what worked
He would have analysed what didn't work too including the way we allowed back into game at the end of the second half. So you won't the only team who learned from it.
We are also only one player away from having a full deck to choose from (and Caolan McGonagle is close too)

So really, the tactical approach work is already a lot more advanced that it would have been against Meath.

What will occupy his mind is more the team's performance levels.

Our scoring efficiency levels have dropped since the start of the championship and it almost came to a head against Louth in that first half.

But then the dam burst

Gallen played really well. Thompson got a goal. Hugh McFadden showed his worth to the team. Daire O'Baoill hit some great scores. McBrearty got some confidence back playing provider.

Jim will just want that type of performance from the start. And if we click, he'll be sleeping very well come Saturday night."
I would agree with this. I'm sure Monaghan feel the same in terms of what worked and what didn't in that first meeting, but with the tight turnaround I think it suits us to have less "homework" to do in that regard. Can just focus on getting the bodies right and small tweaks.

I think Gallen coming in to form will be a big plus, he played quite well against Monaghan and was given nothing by the ref that day. We love seeing Oisín in Croke Park and I think for all people say that CP will suit Monaghan, I think it will suit us as well.

Should be a cracking game but I think so long as we have a good start we can see it out.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 24/06/2025 10:48:15    2620586

There is going to be very little talk about the upcoming game this weekend. Was the 6 day turnaround punishment for complaining about the venue for the Mayo game? The real issue is the condensed season, there should be at least 2 weeks between games. The All Ireland race will be won by the team with the least injuries.

On the Louth game, I thought we were very poor in the first half and I was really worried. The second half was a complete turnaround and we really played well. Finbar Roarty was brilliant, has been our most consistent player all year. Gallen coming back into form is a real tonic and great impact from the subs. Hugh McFadden was immense.

It is difficult to know where Donegal are, we are pedestrian at times and then can turn it on and steam roll teams. I feel we still have a few of our regulars not playing at their full potential for whatever reason. However some of our lesser known players are in great form - Roarty, Conor O'D, McColgan. Monaghan have been very good this year, good to watch with loads of energy. We will need to be at our best to win it.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1912 - 24/06/2025 10:48:22    2620587

Jaysus, Jimmy really has some of you Donegal lads on strings. Yes Jimmy, no Jimmy, three bags full Jimmy. Get up off your knees and think for yourselves

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12422 - 24/06/2025 10:52:09    2620589

Replying To benjyyy:  "I've just seen the statement thats been released tonight.

I've no problem with them making the request and think it is unfair, but releasing the statement is the wrong move. Its just not helpful. Maybe the idea is to have a team against the world scenario but Im not a fan of it."
I would agree with this generally but I suppose the CB are in a tight spot too, I think it's right to highlight these things but if they wait til after the year is done it could come off as sour grapes if results don't go our way as well.

I do think it attracts a bit of unwanted noise this week but I doubt the players care really

I think what frustrates me as a Donegal supporter is that we are calling for fairness and doing so through our own situation, but other counties and managers are doing the same thing it's just not as high profile. Is Joyce a "non stop whinger" because he highlighted the travel Galway have had to do after the Down game? No not at all, he's going to bat for his team and right to do so.

but like we've been saying anyway, as soon as the draw was made we knew either ourselves or Galway would be shafted with a 6 day turnaround. It was always likely to be us in that scenario because we had the home game and Galway had to travel on the Sunday, so if it's between the two of us it's fair that Galway get 7 days in my view. But I suppose the sticking point is that it shouldn't have been just between ourselves and Galway as that choice.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 24/06/2025 10:52:50    2620591

Replying To gunman:  "Forget about all the games we have played this year,If there was any fairness the teams that played last Sunday should have out this Sunday as well.Funny that Galway got the 7 days."
Maybe all the whunging that Donegal did about going to Roscommon didn't pay off when the fixtures were being set for June 28th and 29th.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4253 - 24/06/2025 10:56:10    2620594

What also frustrates me about the noise is that Jim has a million quotes after the Louth game about being well used to the 3 weeks in a row, he mentioned playing 5 weeks in a row at the start of the league multiple times, how we're glad to be in this position after losing to Tyrone we knew this was likely etc. I don't think this will be something to "rally" the players at all, the players are well able to play three weeks in a row I would say they are in excellent condition and the 2nd half against Louth couldn't have gone better really in terms of preparing for a short week.

But it suits people to snipe at Jim, for whatever reason people don't seem to like him because he stands up for Donegal I suppose, call it whinging or whatever else if you look at the facts of the things we've been highlighting and forget about Jim or Donegal for a minute, if these scheduling and venue choices were shown to you without knowing the teams involved you would say it's not fair on the team with the 6 day turnaround. if you don't agree with that then I'd love to hear your reasons why it is fair.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 24/06/2025 10:56:55    2620595

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Player welfare. Donegal trained abroad before Christmas for a week. Were they sunbathing??"
What does that have to do with anything.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 10:59:30    2620597