Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Do you's Jim should give the captains armband to Michael? everyone knows he's the real leader of the team, a natural born leader and captain.
If we do manage the fantastic dream and win this All Ireland, who else would you rather see lift the Sam Maguire aloft for Donegal than Michael Murphy again?"
No, that would be an awful kick in the teeth to Paddy, a great servant to the county, and a good leader in his own right. Also, Murphy wouldn't take it because he wouldnt do anything that might impact another player negatively.. Good teams have multiple leaders, someone doesn't have to be captain to be a leader, just look at how kerry appoint their captains and they have more all irelands than anyone.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 21/06/2025 10:40:33    2619588

Replying To FootballGuy:  "I won't be putting any bets on Tirchonaill1. I'm just saying to declansboys if he is so sure of no shocks he should be putting his money where his mouth is.

We've played the most games out of anyone so far, hoping it doesn't catch up with us. I don't care if it's only a 1 point win so long as we go through I will be happy."
Yous sound like a group of managers ah it's going to be a difficult game I'll take a point win. Wake up and smell the coffee lads were home .one of the favourite s to win sam against one of the outsiders. Have faith in our lads. Cudnt ask for a better game before hitting croker. Avoiding injuries is the big one. We're doing well so far. Hope it stays like that.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2639 - 21/06/2025 11:08:36    2619591

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Gallagher and Bonner had Murphy in his prime and didn't utilize him or capitalize on having one of the greatest of all times. They wasted him by using him to play sideways balls. We are getting much more out of him now and when Jim was there last time.

As for him bursting a gut for Mayos goal,what do you expect? He lost the ball which was the cause of it, of course you would expect him, or any other player for that matter to bust a gut and try and rectify their mistakes.

You are being disrespectful to Louth as well, they are Leinster champions and have improved since we met them in the QFs last year. They have some terrific players. Yes, we are favourites, but if you start to look ahead it will cost you. Similar to 2020 when Bonner took his eye off Cavan in the Ulster final expecting it to be an easy win. You were probably looking ahead to the semi final against Dublin as well that time. But it cost us massively. Hopefully lessons learned from that about getting over confident. I don't think Jim would allow the players to think like that anyway."
I find these posts putting down previous managers very tiresome at this stage and show little insight. Fair play for mcguinness getting back and more than fair play for murphy getting himself into great shape. After that the single biggest factor in murphy being so effective is the rule changes and there's no mention of that. Just other managers haven't a clue and mcguinness is great.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 871 - 21/06/2025 11:18:06    2619596

An item I would think is frustrating donegal team and management is the giving the ball away carelessly at the end of games. They didn't control it at the end of normal time against armagh conceded and equaliser. They gave the ball away on about the 65th minute against tyrone and never saw the ball again and lost the match. They had about a minute to go against mayo and coughed it up and got a little lucky. It's happening too much.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 871 - 21/06/2025 11:53:23    2619599

Replying To winatallcost:  "Actually think there could be a potential shock here if Louths main players play their best game. Mulroy as good a Murphy. Donegal had a tough group stage. Louth getting energy back. Expect a big push from them here."
Many in the pub?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8452 - 21/06/2025 11:54:51    2619600

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I feel we're definitely improving massively in all lines of the team, bar one. Patton much better under the high ball, defence fouling less in scorable areas, midfield more industrious, Hughie improved massively, half forward line on fire most of the time but massive full forward issue. The league is the league, but amongst all four division players, from our three forwards, our top was ranked 98th with 13pts from 5 matches. Paddy and Oisin just not firing like we need them, and Brennan obviously not doing enough for Jim to earn a starting spot. We'll be facing the best defences in the country going forward, and this could very well be our undoing. Hard to know looking at the club scene if there's anyone out there who could plug the gaps for the rest of Jim's tenure, or even the young forwards on the bench. Funny, when Donegal were winning nothing before Jim's first spell, we always had ridiculously good forwards, but I suppose the way the defensive football plagued the club scene, no youngster in his right mind would enjoy playing in that position through that period."
There's more than a few talisman forwards playing out of their skin at club level in league at the moment who haven't had a look in. I wouldn't be surprised if the same three top scorers in Donegal club football of 2024 are the same three this year.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 467 - 21/06/2025 12:18:04    2619602

Replying To panamasam:  "McCahill from 4 masters is an absolute baller. Reminds of O'Donoghue from Mayo. Half a sniff and the net is rattling. He is still very young though. Think he's eligible for the twenties for another 2 years (definitely is next year). I'd say he'll be close sooner rather than later. There is much debate about Gallen in particular. He was good when he came on against Cavan and I thought he did ok last weekend too. He was making lots of runs but Coyne was excellent tagging him."
I must try and get a look at him. Was out of the country for a decade so lost track of underage and club. I was at a Gaoth Dobhair match a month or so ago against Buncrana and there was a big unit, who no matter where he was when the ball was passed to him, he stuck it over for 2pts from where he caught it. Now, I know not everyone wants to commit to the excesses of intercounty setup, and he may not be that consistent all the time, but he has a serious power in his boot, as well as accuracy.
Aye, Mayo definitely kept Oisin quiet in possession and he was doing a lot of jiggering in front of his man, but didn't appear to want to risk taking his man on and try and beat him for pace. One big game in front of the posts be the tipping point for him, to get enough self belief to remind himself of his quality.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 147 - 21/06/2025 14:55:57    2619626

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "There's more than a few talisman forwards playing out of their skin at club level in league at the moment who haven't had a look in. I wouldn't be surprised if the same three top scorers in Donegal club football of 2024 are the same three this year."
Who're we talking about here? Jack Gallagher, Seanan Carr, Sean Maguire? Carr had a big eye for goal last year. Hard to know who Jim approached, but wasn't able to commit either. You would have to be at least half-insane to commit to a team with ambitions to win an all-ireland at this point in time, but if any manager has a chance to get a medal into one's back pocket, it's our current one. Big investment, but with a potential ultimate payout.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 147 - 21/06/2025 15:15:00    2619627

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I find these posts putting down previous managers very tiresome at this stage and show little insight. Fair play for mcguinness getting back and more than fair play for murphy getting himself into great shape. After that the single biggest factor in murphy being so effective is the rule changes and there's no mention of that. Just other managers haven't a clue and mcguinness is great."
It's declansboy that keeps harping back to how Murphy was played under previous managers, that's what's dragging the topic up,
I have great respect for Bonner and what he done for Donegal football as player and manager and he will always be a hero in this county but there is no doubt the way we were setting out to play was dire stuff towards the end of his last term. looking back that was after Rochford came on board whether that was the reason or not I don't know, in '18 and '19 we were playing good attacking football.
It would be interesting to see how Bonner would do with the new rules setting out a county team, he was an attacker himself and I'd say he'd have a good read on how to lay these new rules.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3280 - 21/06/2025 15:27:09    2619630

Replying To greenfan:  "No, that would be an awful kick in the teeth to Paddy, a great servant to the county, and a good leader in his own right. Also, Murphy wouldn't take it because he wouldnt do anything that might impact another player negatively.. Good teams have multiple leaders, someone doesn't have to be captain to be a leader, just look at how kerry appoint their captains and they have more all irelands than anyone."
Yeah I get what you're saying, Murphy is too much of a gentleman to accept it anyway, nothing against Paddy, a great servant and asset to this county for a long time now;
On the subject of Paddy I don't know why he didn't drop that goal chance onto his right boot and roll it into the corner last weekend, he can't be that one footed for such a great baller.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3280 - 21/06/2025 15:31:14    2619631

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "An item I would think is frustrating donegal team and management is the giving the ball away carelessly at the end of games. They didn't control it at the end of normal time against armagh conceded and equaliser. They gave the ball away on about the 65th minute against tyrone and never saw the ball again and lost the match. They had about a minute to go against mayo and coughed it up and got a little lucky. It's happening too much."
It's a bad habit we are getting late in games alright, hopefully we have them slip ups behind us now and will make no more dodgy mistakes closing out games .
Hopefully now also we play well and get the win tomorrow and then be raring to go for the quarter finals in Croker,
it's also time Gallen threw the shackles off and hit the form he is capable off too, he's a confidence player like lot's of forwards, no better place than his home pitch to rediscover his top form.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3280 - 21/06/2025 15:45:54    2619632