Replying To gunman: "Mayo and Armagh supporters the big winners with the venues announced today.It is ironic in a week when there is a lot of talk about Donegal people being forced to travel for health appointments which is obviously a far more serious issue.It is 100 miles from Ballybofey in the centre of Donegal and very much further from many other parts.It is only around 30 odd miles from the likes of Charlestown,Claremorris and Ballyhaunis to Roscommon.Jim talked about our supporters being put through the ringer,well it looks like we are going to through another cycle.Would Croke Park with a bit of comfort not have been a better option,not much further for a lot of the county.After all it is only 130 miles from Lifford to dublin." I hear you on the frustration and dublin is as easy to get at as anywhere for many in donegal but croke park is not where this match should be played. The 4pm throw in is also a nuisance for getting back up the road. With sligo being out of action and breffni not a realistic option with cavan and tyrone at the same time it was either the hyde or clones and with monaghan playing down the same day it kind of ruled out clones.
It's definitely a bit more advantageous to mayo. So obviously was breffni on sunday to cavan but Donegal fans completely undid that by getting their early and making the most of the sit unassigned seating. Hopefully it's unassigned in roscommon and supporters get their early and help create the kind of frenzy again. The roar for the players coming onto the pitch had to mean something after the defeat to tyrone. The ovation murphy was given was great as well. I felt very proud of the donegal support on Sunday. Hopefully a big crowd can make it's way down and help drive the team on.
I've also some good memories of the hyde. Murphy probably gave his best exhibition of full forward play there in 2018. He ripped roscommon asunder. Mcniallais was also excellent that day.
Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 853 - 03/06/2025 22:56:32
Replying To Ulsterchamps_32: "For Donegal supporters it might be better to go to longford and use the N63 into Roscommon. It's definitely a bit longer but you'd avoid the roadworks you mention and not run into mayo traffic." Carrick to Elphin to Strokestown to Ros town.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2378 - 03/06/2025 23:09:56
I am surprised Clones hasn't been used as a venue, if not for our game then for Derry v Dublin?
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 03/06/2025 23:38:46
Donegal supporters: Have a look at the Roscommon thread for some travelling, parking advice for the match from several Rossies. Hope you enjoy your day out in Roscommon and may the best team win on the day.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 754 - 04/06/2025 09:22:00
Replying To Ulsterchamps_32: "I hear you on the frustration and dublin is as easy to get at as anywhere for many in donegal but croke park is not where this match should be played. The 4pm throw in is also a nuisance for getting back up the road. With sligo being out of action and breffni not a realistic option with cavan and tyrone at the same time it was either the hyde or clones and with monaghan playing down the same day it kind of ruled out clones.
It's definitely a bit more advantageous to mayo. So obviously was breffni on sunday to cavan but Donegal fans completely undid that by getting their early and making the most of the sit unassigned seating. Hopefully it's unassigned in roscommon and supporters get their early and help create the kind of frenzy again. The roar for the players coming onto the pitch had to mean something after the defeat to tyrone. The ovation murphy was given was great as well. I felt very proud of the donegal support on Sunday. Hopefully a big crowd can make it's way down and help drive the team on.
I've also some good memories of the hyde. Murphy probably gave his best exhibition of full forward play there in 2018. He ripped roscommon asunder. Mcniallais was also excellent that day." Yeah I remember we played in the alternative old style green jerseys that day. Murphy and MacNiallais ran riot. I remember Odhran burst through at one stage in the second half and let fly for goal from very far out and was very unlucky to see it crash off the post.
The venue is what it is now. We can't have it all ways. All our games thus far have been against Ulster teams. We do enough gurning about that. Now that we have a non Ulster team to play we should just get on with it. I appreciate that it will be awkward to get to, and to get home from. But we need to get down there in support of the lads, and hopefully we'll get the result needed.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 04/06/2025 09:38:07
There will be all sorts of reasons put forward for the choice of Roscommon for the game but in reality it was never going to be anywhere else.It just goes to show how we are conditioned here in Donegal to accept things without much annoyance.Apart from the unfairness it looks like with roadworks converging traffic from both sides that things might not be very pleasant..We are being put through the wringer once more.We didn't want to be put through the Croke Park wringer but we are being put through a different one instead.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1167 - 04/06/2025 11:20:29
Replying To gunman: "Mayo and Armagh supporters the big winners with the venues announced today.It is ironic in a week when there is a lot of talk about Donegal people being forced to travel for health appointments which is obviously a far more serious issue.It is 100 miles from Ballybofey in the centre of Donegal and very much further from many other parts.It is only around 30 odd miles from the likes of Charlestown,Claremorris and Ballyhaunis to Roscommon.Jim talked about our supporters being put through the ringer,well it looks like we are going to through another cycle.Would Croke Park with a bit of comfort not have been a better option,not much further for a lot of the county.After all it is only 130 miles from Lifford to dublin." Jim Mc came out strongly saying there is no way game should be in Croke Park. Mayo had no issue with Croke Park. So perhaps you have to take it on the chin.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 11:22:30
Replying To gunman: "There will be all sorts of reasons put forward for the choice of Roscommon for the game but in reality it was never going to be anywhere else.It just goes to show how we are conditioned here in Donegal to accept things without much annoyance.Apart from the unfairness it looks like with roadworks converging traffic from both sides that things might not be very pleasant..We are being put through the wringer once more.We didn't want to be put through the Croke Park wringer but we are being put through a different one instead." Where else ??? Donegal used to Cavan and just played there. Genuinely where else bar Hyde or Croker. Donegal have experience in the Hyde in recent years.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 11:48:33
Replying To gunman: "There will be all sorts of reasons put forward for the choice of Roscommon for the game but in reality it was never going to be anywhere else.It just goes to show how we are conditioned here in Donegal to accept things without much annoyance.Apart from the unfairness it looks like with roadworks converging traffic from both sides that things might not be very pleasant..We are being put through the wringer once more.We didn't want to be put through the Croke Park wringer but we are being put through a different one instead." I get you. Sure you only have to look at the rail and motorway network in this country. Also - as someone else mentioned already here, health care options for serious illness for Donegal patients is an absolute joke.
I would hazard a guess that Jim McGuinness will tap into this "imposition". Use it as fuel to fire up the players. We certainly owe Mayo one at this stage, play them and hopefully beat them in the Hyde. Hopefully us supporters can keep our side of the bargain. Travel down in numbers and negate Mayo's "home" advantage.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 04/06/2025 12:05:38
Replying To TheFlaker: "Where else ??? Donegal used to Cavan and just played there. Genuinely where else bar Hyde or Croker. Donegal have experience in the Hyde in recent years." Clones would be more neutral.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 529 - 04/06/2025 12:17:23
The game is better played where there will be an atmosphere at least, Croke Park at this stage wouldn't have given that, Roscommon is an awful trek south through some bad roads but if we get there in numbers it will create a great atmosphere, we can silence Mayo again like we famously did in 2012. If we win assuming Tyrone win or draw against Cavan then Mayo are gone. Mayo will be fighting for survival so it will be a real old style Championship game, a draw will do both teams too, in that case we also finish second having the better scoring dif. I can see it now, time is nearly up,... Mayo are a point up and holding possession till the hooter, but a pass goes astray, young Roarty gets his hands on it and we try and break out of defence, but Mayo foul us as we try to break out, we attempt the solo and go but are again impeded, the ref brings the ball forward 50 mts as the Mayo fans hiss disapproval, now it's an easily scoreable free in beside the D, a tap over will draw the game and sent both teams into the prelim quarters, but.... Murphy takes the ball and brings it back out to the edge of the ark, what the hell is he doing? the Mayo crowd are shocked, the boos sound loud from the Mayo but Murphy is only focused on the target, he swings a might boot and sends the ball high and true over the black spot and with that the hopes of Mayo for Sam are silenced for another year!! Murphy and Donegal haven't forgotten Castlebar in 2019. It's going to be a great day out, get there early and bring plenty of colour, days like these are why we love this game.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3219 - 04/06/2025 12:24:13
Replying To Scenicparish: "Clones would be more neutral." Possibly, but then you have traffic from 2 matches overlapping with match in Enniskillen. End of the day, this match would've been played in Sligo were it not for it currently under renovation.....and you know what, people would still be complaining about not being able to get tickets.
chancer (Donegal) - Posts: 33 - 04/06/2025 13:51:52
Replying To TheFlaker: "Where else ??? Donegal used to Cavan and just played there. Genuinely where else bar Hyde or Croker. Donegal have experience in the Hyde in recent years." Was Omagh considered.It would be the same to Donegal as Roscommon is to Mayo.If you take the main towns in the two counties.AA route planner says Castlebar is 119 miles to Omagh and Letterkenny is 120 miles to Roscommon.I bet it would never dreamed of taking Mayo to Omagh but taking Donegal to Roscommom is grand even though it is the same situation.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1167 - 04/06/2025 14:04:34
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "The game is better played where there will be an atmosphere at least, Croke Park at this stage wouldn't have given that, Roscommon is an awful trek south through some bad roads but if we get there in numbers it will create a great atmosphere, we can silence Mayo again like we famously did in 2012. If we win assuming Tyrone win or draw against Cavan then Mayo are gone. Mayo will be fighting for survival so it will be a real old style Championship game, a draw will do both teams too, in that case we also finish second having the better scoring dif. I can see it now, time is nearly up,... Mayo are a point up and holding possession till the hooter, but a pass goes astray, young Roarty gets his hands on it and we try and break out of defence, but Mayo foul us as we try to break out, we attempt the solo and go but are again impeded, the ref brings the ball forward 50 mts as the Mayo fans hiss disapproval, now it's an easily scoreable free in beside the D, a tap over will draw the game and sent both teams into the prelim quarters, but.... Murphy takes the ball and brings it back out to the edge of the ark, what the hell is he doing? the Mayo crowd are shocked, the boos sound loud from the Mayo but Murphy is only focused on the target, he swings a might boot and sends the ball high and true over the black spot and with that the hopes of Mayo for Sam are silenced for another year!! Murphy and Donegal haven't forgotten Castlebar in 2019. It's going to be a great day out, get there early and bring plenty of colour, days like these are why we love this game." Let me make this clear . There is not one person in mayo who is going Mayo for Sam not this year anyways . That's outsiders stirring it like yourself !
Getting a bit ahead of yourself there picturing how ye will win now !
That's your problem your to reliant on Murphy he's a class player not questioning that at all though . We love being written off though it suits us .
Weather we have enough in us to put in another huge performance against you lot who knows .
Paddy Durcan back for us is a massive boost . One thing I know is whatever happens we will bring the noise , colour and fight till the final whistle and hopefully we will silence the McGuiness is winning matches... ! !
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 190 - 04/06/2025 15:09:50
Replying To gunman: "Was Omagh considered.It would be the same to Donegal as Roscommon is to Mayo.If you take the main towns in the two counties.AA route planner says Castlebar is 119 miles to Omagh and Letterkenny is 120 miles to Roscommon.I bet it would never dreamed of taking Mayo to Omagh but taking Donegal to Roscommom is grand even though it is the same situation." Probably because Tyrone game is at the same time and they would have no stewards etc. Same reason Breffni was ruled out.
Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 265 - 04/06/2025 15:10:55
Replying To chancer: "Possibly, but then you have traffic from 2 matches overlapping with match in Enniskillen. End of the day, this match would've been played in Sligo were it not for it currently under renovation.....and you know what, people would still be complaining about not being able to get tickets." Clones ? Not for that.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 15:11:32
Replying To gunman: "Was Omagh considered.It would be the same to Donegal as Roscommon is to Mayo.If you take the main towns in the two counties.AA route planner says Castlebar is 119 miles to Omagh and Letterkenny is 120 miles to Roscommon.I bet it would never dreamed of taking Mayo to Omagh but taking Donegal to Roscommom is grand even though it is the same situation." Mayo would have had no issue with Omagh. But probably other reasons as stated. Just don't get the controversy about the Hyde. And as I stated Jim was death on Croker.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 15:13:43
I think overall in terms of abilty in the respective squads, Donegal are a bit ahead at present. But that will count for nothing if we don't match Mayo's bite and intensity. If Mayo bring their best, and get a bit of momentum with their passionate support behind them, they're hard stopped.
That's why I'd like to put all displeasure about the venue to bed early. It's done. Time to concentrate on what will be a very difficult assignment. I'm sure Jim, Neil, Colm and Luke will be making a similar point. It's a pitch with goalposts at either end in the Hyde as far as I know. Time to get down to business.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 04/06/2025 15:19:34
Replying To S1234: "Let me make this clear . There is not one person in mayo who is going Mayo for Sam not this year anyways . That's outsiders stirring it like yourself !
That's your problem your to reliant on Murphy he's a class player not questioning that at all though . We love being written off though it suits us .
Weather we have enough in us to put in another huge performance against you lot who knows .
Paddy Durcan back for us is a massive boost . One thing I know is whatever happens we will bring the noise , colour and fight till the final whistle and hopefully we will silence the McGuiness is winning matches... ! !" Didn't see much noise and colour in Castlebar and Omagh at your last 2 games. Just a pile of empty seats in Castlebar.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 658 - 04/06/2025 15:20:01
Replying To S1234: "Let me make this clear . There is not one person in mayo who is going Mayo for Sam not this year anyways . That's outsiders stirring it like yourself !
Paddy Durcan back for us is a massive boost . One thing I know is whatever happens we will bring the noise , colour and fight till the final whistle and hopefully we will silence the McGuiness is winning matches... ! !" We were good last year and didn't have Murphy to rely on. He's still an amazing footballer so of course when he's back we will use him a lot. We can say the same to you about O'Donoghue. You offer very little else.
eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 04/06/2025 15:21:00