Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Domhnall McGiolla Bhride was used at full back in the McKenna Cup. Although he wasn't tried there on Sunday, the next two games against Louth and Meath could be the ideal games to try him out there."
Domhnall McGiolla Bhride looks like a fantastic prospect of a player, not quite sure where his natural berth will be, but could be anywhere in the back six or midfield. Also looking at the likes of Ciaran Moore, Mark Curran, Caolan McColgan, Oisin Caulfield and Rory O'Donnell etc, some exciting talent coming through. I still think lack of inside forwards is our biggest concern, as its unclear if we have players to fill those boots.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 06/03/2024 12:54:07    2530069

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Would Hugh McFadden be another option at full forward, he is difficult to handle in there. We could definitely do with another scoring forward as we are very reliant on Paddy and Oisin Gallen for scores. Niall O'Donnell or Conor O'Donnell would have been perfect but they are running out of road fitness wise for the Derry game but could be back for the all-Ireland series which doesn't start until June."
Hugh is definitely an option, he is a powerhouse and playing inside at FF probably would suit him, it would definitely be worth trying him there for a more sustained period, as currently he is only drifts in at times. Remember Kevin Cassidy causing mayhem for Gaobh Dobhair in 2018? A powerful player inside can cause ask a lot of questions of opposing defenders.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 06/03/2024 13:05:23    2530070

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I know Jim has the focus on one competition at a time but would we be better off putting all the focus on the All Ireland series this year after we hopefully get promotion so that is competition 1 mission accomplished?
A hard run through Ulster if we get past Derry could leave us more tired and with more injuries,
I think I'd rather see us going as far as we can towards the All Ireland but anyway I suppose Ulster will be Jim's focus first.
Saw the headline on the main page here and for a second I thought it said 'Murphy poised for shock Donegal comeback!' lol.
but alas it's about Matty Clarke and Down."
No, I think winning a competitive Ulster Championship provides a perfect platform for developing younger players into winners, and while the bulk of this Donegal team already have won back to back Ulster titles in 2018 and 2019, its more for the benefit of our younger players and also for building collective team traction ahead of Croke Park.

Its more for momentum building purposes, like if had just won back to back Ulster titles like Derry have, we wouldn't need a 3rd Ulster in order to challenge for an All Ireland, like mentally and physically we would already be there. However its still nice to win 3 in a row, as its difficult to achieve.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 06/03/2024 13:32:38    2530074

Out of shear boredom.

2024 Predictions

Division 1
W - St Eunans
R - Na Dunaibh & N Columba

Division 2
W - Termon
Promoted - Four Masters
R - Na Rossa & Red Hughs

Division 3
W - St Marys, Convoy
Promoted - Letterkenny Gaels

Left out the 3rd place team for promotion/playoff as it can be a lottery.

Senior Championship - St Eunans
Intermediate - Termon
Junior - St Marys Convoy

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 06/03/2024 14:02:25    2530078

Replying To eunans4ever:  "One of your comrades from Fintown/glenties who has a very keen interest in me which I'm flattered by obviously went down memory lane - I was only schooling him on the facts my friend.

Your been pretty harsh on yourselves there saying our season collapsed the last 2 years - we were simply beaten by the better team on both occasions - don't be underselling yourselves as only been good enough to beat us when we collapse.

No use going down memory lane either………."
Going down memory lane is not your strong point. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 06/03/2024 14:26:10    2530082

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Out of shear boredom.

2024 Predictions

Division 1
W - St Eunans

Division 2
W - Termon
Promoted - Four Masters
R - Na Rossa & Red Hughs

Division 3
W - St Marys, Convoy

Intermediate - Termon
Junior - St Marys Convoy"
Convoy have lost three of their most promising players to London this year so may struggle without them in the league. Could be back for championship though.

I see Robert Emmetts had a proposal to create another division this year that was widely rejected. I wonder will they be entering the Senior C as well since their Junior B bid failed last year having self relegated themselves.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 06/03/2024 16:09:41    2530099

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Out of shear boredom.

2024 Predictions

Division 1
W - St Eunans

Division 2
W - Termon
Promoted - Four Masters
R - Na Rossa & Red Hughs

Division 3
W - St Marys, Convoy

Intermediate - Termon
Junior - St Marys Convoy"
Termon have flattered to deceive in the championship recently and with that very promising underage team a few years back. They could have a successful league but I think I'd fancy Naomh Columba for the championship

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 40 - 06/03/2024 19:38:57    2530124

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I wouldn't be overly optimistic. Paddy is pulling us out of the fire against Tier 2 defences. We know how quiet a fully fit Derry team can keep him, and worryingly Farah is not firing on all cylinders against Div2 defences and we need to unearth or mould a third forward for next year."
Don't agree at all - paddy mc is our focal point , superbly accurate from dead balls and chipping in from play.

He is linking the play brilliantly deeper than we are used to seen him - demanding the ball , showing leadership, rarely gets turned over and he's teeing space for farrah inside to kick scores.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 07/03/2024 08:55:18    2530156

Replying To ballboy101:  "Direct quote from previous page'"Fantastic engine and an exciting talent.

Hopefully glenties/fintown won't try claim he's theirs too…..

Not sure if he b a corner back- his best qualities are in the attacking half of the field."

Maybe you could enlighten us with what that actually means. I'll stand corrected if I picked it up wrong."
The glenties/Fintown lads regularly try to claim the O Donnells from us as their dad was once from that region - it's light humour and no big deal.

I was going for the humour angle hoping they don't try claim Ciaran Moore too.

The glenties/ Fintown lads get the joke reference so it's no big deal.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 07/03/2024 08:57:43    2530157

Very early to be making any grand predictions about leagyue or championship. You just know know what clubs will be impacted by players heading to the US for the summer, or how they'll be affected by players who have transferred out altogether.

I think Naomh Conaill might come back to the pack a wee bit this year with Ethan O'Donnell and the Doherty lad away. Their more experienced players simply can't go on forever, and it will be interesting to see if their up and coming players can match the standards previously set. But you can be sure that they will be one tough nut to crack regardless.

You'd expect to see the usual challengers like Eunans, Gaoth Dobhair and Kilcar in the reckoning but it'd be great to see other clubs joining that mix. MacCumhaills showed potential last year but were a bit too young and raw yet to seriously trouble Gaoth Dobhair in the semi finals. It will be intruiging to watch how they develop in 2024.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 07/03/2024 12:16:43    2530182

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Very early to be making any grand predictions about leagyue or championship. You just know know what clubs will be impacted by players heading to the US for the summer, or how they'll be affected by players who have transferred out altogether.

I think Naomh Conaill might come back to the pack a wee bit this year with Ethan O'Donnell and the Doherty lad away. Their more experienced players simply can't go on forever, and it will be interesting to see if their up and coming players can match the standards previously set. But you can be sure that they will be one tough nut to crack regardless.

You'd expect to see the usual challengers like Eunans, Gaoth Dobhair and Kilcar in the reckoning but it'd be great to see other clubs joining that mix. MacCumhaills showed potential last year but were a bit too young and raw yet to seriously trouble Gaoth Dobhair in the semi finals. It will be intruiging to watch how they develop in 2024."
I'd also say Glenswilly will be much improved this year with McDaid at the helm. The football won't be for the purists loans you but it will fit in well with what's out there.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 07/03/2024 15:31:53    2530205

Replying To SignTheContract:  "I'd also say Glenswilly will be much improved this year with McDaid at the helm. The football won't be for the purists loans you but it will fit in well with what's out there."
Yeah they'll be well organised that's for sure. It'd be good to have more teams in with a shout and seriously challenging for the Dr Maguire.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 07/03/2024 16:45:47    2530210

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Don't agree at all - paddy mc is our focal point , superbly accurate from dead balls and chipping in from play.

He is linking the play brilliantly deeper than we are used to seen him - demanding the ball , showing leadership, rarely gets turned over and he's teeing space for farrah inside to kick scores."
When it comes to the Championship Paddy will not have the time on the ball he has had against Division 2 teams and the intensity will rise considerable. If we are relaying that much on one forward we will be found out very quickly. We will require 3 proper inside scoring forwards as well as long range point scorers like Thompson, Langan, O Donnells etc. chipping in with points from out the field.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 07/03/2024 17:19:17    2530215

Replying To SignTheContract:  "I'd also say Glenswilly will be much improved this year with McDaid at the helm. The football won't be for the purists loans you but it will fit in well with what's out there."
Agree with that, I thought they would go even further last year but they are certainly improving. Same for MCs as well, they are the closest to pushing the top 4.

Still looks like the same top 4 as last few years:
1. Naomh Conaill
2. Eunans
3. Kilcar
4. GD

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 07/03/2024 18:49:18    2530221

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Very early to be making any grand predictions about leagyue or championship. You just know know what clubs will be impacted by players heading to the US for the summer, or how they'll be affected by players who have transferred out altogether.

You'd expect to see the usual challengers like Eunans, Gaoth Dobhair and Kilcar in the reckoning but it'd be great to see other clubs joining that mix. MacCumhaills showed potential last year but were a bit too young and raw yet to seriously trouble Gaoth Dobhair in the semi finals. It will be intruiging to watch how they develop in 2024."
It's glenties/fintown championship to loose again.

Us and them are well ahead of the pack and there is nothing between us but they have been slightly better the last 2 years and got a bit of luck with it- there is nothing to suggest that changing yet.

Kilcar for me aren't challengers anymore.

Gweedore , ballybofey/stranorlar and glenswilly have a lot of ground to make up and the rest are there to make up the numbers really.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 08/03/2024 09:23:36    2530266

That's the nature of the best I'm afraid.

Everyone trying to copy glenties/fintown template because it's brought multiple championships but hard and all as it is to watch - nobody is as good as them at deploying it so we will need to find another way of getting past it for things to change.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 08/03/2024 09:25:53    2530267

Replying To Scenicparish:  "When it comes to the Championship Paddy will not have the time on the ball he has had against Division 2 teams and the intensity will rise considerable. If we are relaying that much on one forward we will be found out very quickly. We will require 3 proper inside scoring forwards as well as long range point scorers like Thompson, Langan, O Donnells etc. chipping in with points from out the field."
Don't remember anyone saying we wer relying on 1 forward.?

We have a strong duo in their at the minute and we will also raise the intensity come championship.

I know ye have issues in glenties/fintown with the kilcar brigade post the county final appeal against cheating but I wouldn't be writing Paddy Mc Brearty off just yet.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 08/03/2024 09:28:44    2530268

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Agree with that, I thought they would go even further last year but they are certainly improving. Same for MCs as well, they are the closest to pushing the top 4.

Still looks like the same top 4 as last few years:
1. Naomh Conaill
2. Eunans
3. Kilcar
4. GD"
Kilcar can't be in top 4 based on last year offering.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 08/03/2024 09:29:26    2530269

Replying To eunans4ever:  "It's glenties/fintown championship to loose again.

Us and them are well ahead of the pack and there is nothing between us but they have been slightly better the last 2 years and got a bit of luck with it- there is nothing to suggest that changing yet.

Kilcar for me aren't challengers anymore.

Gweedore , ballybofey/stranorlar and glenswilly have a lot of ground to make up and the rest are there to make up the numbers really."
I'd disagree, it's Conwal & Lecks championship to lose.......

The_Second_Coming (Donegal) - Posts: 16 - 08/03/2024 09:54:34    2530273

I think it would be great to see the Senior, Intermediate and Junior regraded to 12 Senior, 12 Intermediate and remainder for Junior.

I think our Championships would be a lot more competitive with this change and also a lot more competitive in the Provisional and National Championships.

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 08/03/2024 10:53:30    2530285