Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Nothing wrong with my memory lad. 2011 semi v Dublin shamed to be a Donegal fan. 2013 Ulster final v Monaghan beaten at half time. 2013 quarter final beaten after 20 min versus mayo. 2014 league final we'll beaten in croke park against Monaghan. 2014 all Ireland final beaten by probably the worst Kerry team ever to win Sam. Don't get me started lad. Nothing against Mc Guinness great manager. Have you selective memory lad I don't. Disastrous days being a Donegal fan."
If you were shamed by narrowly losing the 2011 semi final after winning the first Ulster title in nearly 20 years then you have high expectations. Except, you don't seem to have, or at least for the current management. And as for the 2014 final, tell me what other manager has taken us to an All Ireland final since? A quarter final would be nice… You have a very warped perspective of what's acceptable and what is disastrous.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1409 - 16/07/2022 13:40:14    2432337

Rory you come out saying every single one of Kerry's backs are defenders and can take a score, you're asked by SouthoftheGap to show us some evidence of the Kerry backs all being scoretakers, and then you just say "they're all defenders throw Paul Murphy in I'm right you're wrong no time for bluffers you're all spoofers I'm a genius" or whatever.

You're arguing with everyone and all you're doing is getting absolutely everyone's back up at this stage. "Too smart for this forum" aye good man, enjoy your high horse. For a man that loves Donegal football you seem to hate everyone from Donegal, apparently the county deserves nothing according to you. Even just level headed posts are getting attacked by you now. Where people are just asking for improvement all round. And you're just on the attack saying nobody has a clue. You're making the place a nightmare. I've tried changing topics or just ignoring you but you flood the entire thread.

There's ones that post on here that have been against Declan from day one and you're right there, but that doesn't mean you go on the attack with every single post after the fact.

No doubt you'll come back to me saying I've no answers or whatever else, you ask the same repetitive questions and then if the answer doesn't suit you you ignore them and a few posts later love to say that nobody is answering your questions. This'll probably be the last I'll be on here now as I just can't be arsed anymore sifting through the crap to try and get some interesting thoughts from people about Donegal football.

Ádh mór do na mná inniu, hopefully they'll put a smile on our faces

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2022 14:08:41    2432345

Lads a lot of criticism on here towards management most of it undeserved and not a post saying it's wrong, yet when I answer a question it's a full out attack on me.. I'm not allowed to say our defence is not good enough to win an An all Ireland. I'm the most hated man on here for saying that. Bonner was sabotaged on here for how we played Derry in the Ulster final and I mention being disgusted in 2011 against Dublin yet it seems ok for certain people to play like that but not Rory and Declan. Most of yous are against bonner this long time, I'm no fool and I m not going away. For next year we need to win Ulster and get to at least a semi final if not new management are a failure. A lot of people on here think there fair in there opinions no yous are not, yous are blinkered if some of yous are asked a question yous hide for a week. With the s**t that management got this last while it's going to hard for the new man. I know a lot of people who sadly would love to see Donegal fail next year all because of the bully boys on social media. . I respect people who deserve it not idiots who never kicked a ball in there lives. So before yous all get ready to attack me suck it up because most of yous are not deserving of a good Donegal team anyway. 1000 followers in clones against Armagh sums the majority of yous up. So get the new man in till we see will he get us to this all Ireland. Don't forget lads rorysboys is seldom wrong. Have a nice day..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 16/07/2022 18:08:47    2432379

Replying To eunans4ever:  "100%

He puts most people off posting and has the mentality of a 3 year old"
You would know. Your like the good weather you come out now and again.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 16/07/2022 18:10:41    2432380

Hard luck to the ladies team today. It was another they could have won. The missed too many chances in the first half when playing with the breeze and in the second missed a few including the goal chance. Meath really started hard in the second and were the better team. Emma duggan really stood up for them in the second half when it mattered. And maybe niamh mcloughlin should be in showing the men team how to take penalties. She never looks like missing.
It's hard not to see a few retirements of a few players who gave given some commitment to donegal football. Best of luck luck to them if they choose to hang up the boots.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 815 - 16/07/2022 18:44:10    2432385

I would not even worry about what comes from this poster. Looking at his posts alone, he is not very well educated. Add to that he has not played the game. He is just a sad individual that has way to much time, and i actually feel sorry for him.

Back to gaa related topics. I watched the girls play, and they gave it there all.
However what i saw was the same type of football that our men play.
Defensive and with way to much hand passing.
Not near direct enough. The one ball that was kicked in could have resulted in a goal.
Donegal football is really plagued with coaches and managers in the county and club setups that play Defensive football with keep possession at all costs mentality.
I looked at the first game also, kerry v mayo, and it was a joy to watch. Two teams going for it from minute 1, and great football played.
I really do hope the next managers are forward thinking and encouraging teams to attack the opposition, rather that the mentality of stopping the opposition.
Will we win the all Ireland by playing that way, probably not. But wouldn't it be nice to see a Donegal team let off the shackles and go at the opposition.
I am not against one intelligent sweeper in front of our defence, however the rest of the forwards should be encouraged to look up, take on your man and have a real go.
I still believe we have plenty of top class footballers in Donegal.
Now we need a forward thinking top quality manager, who will prepare us physical and mentality to drive at the opposition.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 16/07/2022 18:55:46    2432387

Replying To The keeper:  "I would not even worry about what comes from this poster. Looking at his posts alone, he is not very well educated. Add to that he has not played the game. He is just a sad individual that has way to much time, and i actually feel sorry for him.

Back to gaa related topics. I watched the girls play, and they gave it there all.
However what i saw was the same type of football that our men play.
Defensive and with way to much hand passing.
Not near direct enough. The one ball that was kicked in could have resulted in a goal.
Donegal football is really plagued with coaches and managers in the county and club setups that play Defensive football with keep possession at all costs mentality.
I looked at the first game also, kerry v mayo, and it was a joy to watch. Two teams going for it from minute 1, and great football played.
I really do hope the next managers are forward thinking and encouraging teams to attack the opposition, rather that the mentality of stopping the opposition.
Will we win the all Ireland by playing that way, probably not. But wouldn't it be nice to see a Donegal team let off the shackles and go at the opposition.
I am not against one intelligent sweeper in front of our defence, however the rest of the forwards should be encouraged to look up, take on your man and have a real go.
I still believe we have plenty of top class footballers in Donegal.
Now we need a forward thinking top quality manager, who will prepare us physical and mentality to drive at the opposition."
Firstly your first comment is out of order and an awful thing to say about anyone. Given the fact you don't go to Donegal men's matches I guess you were not at match today. If you were you'd realise Donegal had no option. The ref throws in the ball and ala Donegal 2011 (actually even more so as McFadden stayed up in 2011) the whole meath whole team goes behind the ball. They just all sprint back. That is very close to eliminating the kick pass because there is nowhere to kick it too. Despite that you could still see the quality Niamh McLaughlin has to kick a pass even even in tight spaces and she did that well. Mayo and Kerry might have played nice football today but Kerry won't be able to play the same way against meath in the final. Because of the wind Meath didn't even compete of the Donegal kickout in the first half and they made them even harder to break down.
Meath play like because they have real powerful runners and it suits them. If the gaa or the lfga want to guarantee want a more free flowing kicking game then they have to change the rules. And again if you've watched this Donegal ladies team play through the years you'd realise they don't always play like this. Didn't they play a complete shoot out match against Armagh earlier in the year.

And more generally if anyone was to use you as a barometer then there would no nobody coaching any team. You pretty much have never anything positive to say about anything. Them girls and the management team of maxi curran and mark McHugh have given an awful lot to Donegal football and deserve huge credit for that. Hard luck to them today.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 815 - 16/07/2022 19:48:48    2432395

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Firstly your first comment is out of order and an awful thing to say about anyone. Given the fact you don't go to Donegal men's matches I guess you were not at match today. If you were you'd realise Donegal had no option. The ref throws in the ball and ala Donegal 2011 (actually even more so as McFadden stayed up in 2011) the whole meath whole team goes behind the ball. They just all sprint back. That is very close to eliminating the kick pass because there is nowhere to kick it too. Despite that you could still see the quality Niamh McLaughlin has to kick a pass even even in tight spaces and she did that well. Mayo and Kerry might have played nice football today but Kerry won't be able to play the same way against meath in the final. Because of the wind Meath didn't even compete of the Donegal kickout in the first half and they made them even harder to break down.
Meath play like because they have real powerful runners and it suits them. If the gaa or the lfga want to guarantee want a more free flowing kicking game then they have to change the rules. And again if you've watched this Donegal ladies team play through the years you'd realise they don't always play like this. Didn't they play a complete shoot out match against Armagh earlier in the year.

And more generally if anyone was to use you as a barometer then there would no nobody coaching any team. You pretty much have never anything positive to say about anything. Them girls and the management team of maxi curran and mark McHugh have given an awful lot to Donegal football and deserve huge credit for that. Hard luck to them today."
Very good post, glad that someone has seen through this poster(the keeper). The ladies got beaten in the all Ireland semi final and he is having a go at maxi already. You would think his own club play football like Kerry. Jesus wept.. fair play Ulster champs for calling this boy out , unlike the other posters who think there great posters and listen to people like tir Connell , the keeper, no ball, marty. Etc abuse management and think there's nothing wrong with it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 16/07/2022 20:16:32    2432401

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "One or two, maybe 3 of them can, certainly not all of them can. I contend that we have just as many that can. To use an example of a retired player as not to single out any of our current players, Paddy McGrath didn't go up and kick many points, but he was one of the best man markers in the game, and an absolute monument of a man. Yes he made breaks up the field to support the play, but he didn't carry the ball, and certainly did not carry into contact. If Derry saw Paddy soloing the ball up the field in the Ulster Final like our current corner backs, Rory Gallagher would have been rubbing his hands even more than usual.

You accused me of being all opinions and no answers. If you can produce evidence that all Kerry defenders can go up the field and kick points, produce it please. Otherwise its just your opinion you are offering, the same as everyone else on this forum.

You accused me of disrespecting players. I did no such thing. You'll not find one single post of mine where I name a player as not being good enough. I may say they are not being used in the wrong role, but not that they are not good enough. Most players who pull on a Donegal county jersey are capable of doing a job, but that doesn't mean they can do every job, nor should they have to.

There's no need to be on attack mode with everyone who contributes an opinion you don't agree with. You've gotten my back up unnecessarily. If I don't get back on this evening, it's because I've a match to go to this evening after I have training with the kids."
Rory, you accused me of being "all opinions, no answers". I gave you my answer, and I invited your reply, but you just chose to belittle me.

If I said Player A was very good at going forward, you would say that he can't defend like a Kerry man. If I said Player A was a great man marker, you'd say but he can't go up and kick scores like a Kerry man. I asked you to back up your opinion, but you failed to do so. You asked me to back up my opinion in relation to Bonners first backroom team, and I replies with a link. That's how you present facts.

So if you want facts here they are. I made the point that we do indeed have man markers, but we needed to start using them more intelligently. You replied all Kerry defenders can man mark and go up and kick points, and challenged me to name those that can't.

In the last 2 years, League and Championship, Kerry have scored 39 Goals, 371 points (478). Their defenders have contributed 45 points of that total. Of their starting 6 defenders the last day, they have contributed 40. That is 12% of their total score. I grant you, Tom O'Sullivan (17), Gavin White (10) will cause serious harm, whilst Brian O'Beglaioch has chipped in with a 7. So, those 3 have contributed 85% of their defenders scores.

To directly answer your question, Tadhg Morley is the perfect example. He sits and defends. His primary role is to break up play. Out of 478, he has not raised a flag. Jason Foley sits and defends. He did score one of the 6 goals I'm the famous rout over Tyrone, but I would call that an exception to the rule.

Which returns me to my original post, where I said I believe that Ward and McMenamin are more than accomplished as man markers, but not ball carriers. So if you look at the Ulster Final, both of those players were carrying the ball up inside the Derry 45 and further. And this was whilst we had Michael Murphy as our last defender. Read that out loud, and ask yourself if that makes sense. Imagine the outrage in Kerry if the aforementioned Morley and Foley were inside the opposition half, and David Clifford as their last defender....

I have never been part of the anti Bonner brigade as you may refer to them. I have said previously, he was the outstanding candidate in 2017 when he was appointed. And the first couple of years were impressive. But as I think I have fairly displayed above, I now believe that we are tactically inept. For this you have to point the finger at management.

Finally, my opinion, and I am allowed have one on a forum, is that you owe me an apology. "All opinions, no answers" you said. I have given you fact based answers. You have accused me of disrespecting players. I certainly have not. Show me where I have. As I've said above, I have never been one of the anti Bonner brigade. And you cannot insult me by calling me an armchair supporter. So I'd appreciate it very much if you could desist from insulting and abusing me. Unless you have a hatred for facts. As you arrogantly finished your reply to me this week, "Case Closed".

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 16/07/2022 20:54:30    2432406

Replying To rorysboys:  "Lads a lot of criticism on here towards management most of it undeserved and not a post saying it's wrong, yet when I answer a question it's a full out attack on me.. I'm not allowed to say our defence is not good enough to win an An all Ireland. I'm the most hated man on here for saying that. Bonner was sabotaged on here for how we played Derry in the Ulster final and I mention being disgusted in 2011 against Dublin yet it seems ok for certain people to play like that but not Rory and Declan. Most of yous are against bonner this long time, I'm no fool and I m not going away. For next year we need to win Ulster and get to at least a semi final if not new management are a failure. A lot of people on here think there fair in there opinions no yous are not, yous are blinkered if some of yous are asked a question yous hide for a week. With the s**t that management got this last while it's going to hard for the new man. I know a lot of people who sadly would love to see Donegal fail next year all because of the bully boys on social media. . I respect people who deserve it not idiots who never kicked a ball in there lives. So before yous all get ready to attack me suck it up because most of yous are not deserving of a good Donegal team anyway. 1000 followers in clones against Armagh sums the majority of yous up. So get the new man in till we see will he get us to this all Ireland. Don't forget lads rorysboys is seldom wrong. Have a nice day.."
Most of the criticism has been measured of management, good God man..

You totally fail to acknowledge that the vast majority of posters on this platform have been thankful to Declan and appreciate his efforts and achievements both as a player and a manager. You're on about bully boys on social media, what platform is that? I'm not seeing that here. It's pathetic if it's happening but it's not happening here, bar the odd overly harsh comment. Are you implying that zero questions are allowed of the current management? The fact that so few fans went to the Armagh game, would you not read anything else into that except hounding supporters? How do you know on an anonymous platform who has or has not kicked a ball in their lives? So many strange and angry views.

Also, I don't know anyone who wants Donegal to fail next year. Maybe you do. That's pretty sad. I think with most people the overall desire is to see the county senior team reach its potential, not to retain a management team after 5 years to no apparent end.. that's quite odd to me. You say most people are against Bonner, that isn't true. He's had 5 seasons and it's simply time for a change. End of. Declan is a nice fella and anyone who supports Donegal wanted to see things go better for him than they have done in recent seasons. I would have been very pleased to see him take us to Croker for the All Ireland series. It's not to be, don't slate everyone for being ambitious for our county team.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1409 - 16/07/2022 21:13:24    2432407

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Rory, you accused me of being "all opinions, no answers". I gave you my answer, and I invited your reply, but you just chose to belittle me.

If I said Player A was very good at going forward, you would say that he can't defend like a Kerry man. If I said Player A was a great man marker, you'd say but he can't go up and kick scores like a Kerry man. I asked you to back up your opinion, but you failed to do so. You asked me to back up my opinion in relation to Bonners first backroom team, and I replies with a link. That's how you present facts.

So if you want facts here they are. I made the point that we do indeed have man markers, but we needed to start using them more intelligently. You replied all Kerry defenders can man mark and go up and kick points, and challenged me to name those that can't.

In the last 2 years, League and Championship, Kerry have scored 39 Goals, 371 points (478). Their defenders have contributed 45 points of that total. Of their starting 6 defenders the last day, they have contributed 40. That is 12% of their total score. I grant you, Tom O'Sullivan (17), Gavin White (10) will cause serious harm, whilst Brian O'Beglaioch has chipped in with a 7. So, those 3 have contributed 85% of their defenders scores.

To directly answer your question, Tadhg Morley is the perfect example. He sits and defends. His primary role is to break up play. Out of 478, he has not raised a flag. Jason Foley sits and defends. He did score one of the 6 goals I'm the famous rout over Tyrone, but I would call that an exception to the rule.

Which returns me to my original post, where I said I believe that Ward and McMenamin are more than accomplished as man markers, but not ball carriers. So if you look at the Ulster Final, both of those players were carrying the ball up inside the Derry 45 and further. And this was whilst we had Michael Murphy as our last defender. Read that out loud, and ask yourself if that makes sense. Imagine the outrage in Kerry if the aforementioned Morley and Foley were inside the opposition half, and David Clifford as their last defender....

I have never been part of the anti Bonner brigade as you may refer to them. I have said previously, he was the outstanding candidate in 2017 when he was appointed. And the first couple of years were impressive. But as I think I have fairly displayed above, I now believe that we are tactically inept. For this you have to point the finger at management.

Finally, my opinion, and I am allowed have one on a forum, is that you owe me an apology. "All opinions, no answers" you said. I have given you fact based answers. You have accused me of disrespecting players. I certainly have not. Show me where I have. As I've said above, I have never been one of the anti Bonner brigade. And you cannot insult me by calling me an armchair supporter. So I'd appreciate it very much if you could desist from insulting and abusing me. Unless you have a hatred for facts. As you arrogantly finished your reply to me this week, "Case Closed"."
This argument is coming down to me saying that we don't have good enough defenders, you obviously think we have.. this is entirely my opinion which I'm entitled too. Your entitled to your opinion , of course you are. But I'm not backing down because as a very shrewd gaa man I'm absolutely sure I'm right.. if we had Kerry's defence would we win Ulster this year, we definitely would… I'm not on this forum to keep people happy, I call it as I see it. Do I owe you an apology I don't, I have been called a lot of names as have management did you ever say it was wrong. No you didn't . You can't have your cake and eat it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 16/07/2022 21:23:07    2432409

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Firstly your first comment is out of order and an awful thing to say about anyone. Given the fact you don't go to Donegal men's matches I guess you were not at match today. If you were you'd realise Donegal had no option. The ref throws in the ball and ala Donegal 2011 (actually even more so as McFadden stayed up in 2011) the whole meath whole team goes behind the ball. They just all sprint back. That is very close to eliminating the kick pass because there is nowhere to kick it too. Despite that you could still see the quality Niamh McLaughlin has to kick a pass even even in tight spaces and she did that well. Mayo and Kerry might have played nice football today but Kerry won't be able to play the same way against meath in the final. Because of the wind Meath didn't even compete of the Donegal kickout in the first half and they made them even harder to break down.

And more generally if anyone was to use you as a barometer then there would no nobody coaching any team. You pretty much have never anything positive to say about anything. Them girls and the management team of maxi curran and mark McHugh have given an awful lot to Donegal football and deserve huge credit for that. Hard luck to them today."
First of all, i was not being critical of the girls efforts and congratulations to them for getting to the semi final, and so close to the final.
I was merely pointing out that there were to many occasions where there was constant hand passing, and not enough direct play. A problem many Donegal sides have. And i have seen the ladies play a fair amount of times, and it was the same.
It was a general point that if we are to move on to the next level, then all Donegal sides have to remove this from there game.
And i have been to plenty of Donegal games in my lifetime, so spare me the lecture.
I standby what i said, to many coaches in this county coach safety first, possession at all cost, and not near enough direct football. Christ its even hard to find a forward in the county that will actually turn and take on his mind.
And i also standby what i said about that other poster.
And i was the first to point out previously that my own club are as guilty as anyone for this type of football.
The reality is, if Donegal want to compete and win all irelands at any level, ladies and men, they need to add more to there game than whats been on show at all grades

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 16/07/2022 21:34:20    2432412

Replying To The keeper:  "First of all, i was not being critical of the girls efforts and congratulations to them for getting to the semi final, and so close to the final.
I was merely pointing out that there were to many occasions where there was constant hand passing, and not enough direct play. A problem many Donegal sides have. And i have seen the ladies play a fair amount of times, and it was the same.
It was a general point that if we are to move on to the next level, then all Donegal sides have to remove this from there game.
And i have been to plenty of Donegal games in my lifetime, so spare me the lecture.
I standby what i said, to many coaches in this county coach safety first, possession at all cost, and not near enough direct football. Christ its even hard to find a forward in the county that will actually turn and take on his mind.
And i was the first to point out previously that my own club are as guilty as anyone for this type of football.
The reality is, if Donegal want to compete and win all irelands at any level, ladies and men, they need to add more to there game than whats been on show at all grades"
Reading your posts you know a lot for an armchair supporter. You should get somebody to nominate you, I'm sure your own club would do the deed.. you don't need to have been a good footballer to be a good manager. Go for it lad if we play the way you want us to, there could be exciting days ahead. Only problem your armchair will miss you..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 16/07/2022 21:46:11    2432415

Replying To rorysboys:  "This argument is coming down to me saying that we don't have good enough defenders, you obviously think we have.. this is entirely my opinion which I'm entitled too. Your entitled to your opinion , of course you are. But I'm not backing down because as a very shrewd gaa man I'm absolutely sure I'm right.. if we had Kerry's defence would we win Ulster this year, we definitely would… I'm not on this forum to keep people happy, I call it as I see it. Do I owe you an apology I don't, I have been called a lot of names as have management did you ever say it was wrong. No you didn't . You can't have your cake and eat it."
You referred to my offering an opinion on a forum in a derogatory manner, remarks which were completely uncalled for. You're justification is that "I have been called a lot of names as have management". I never called you names, nor did I abuse management". No harm to you, that's like a reply that the school yard bully would give the headmaster. How can I make it any clearer for you, our deficiencies were tactical, not personnel related. You then say "If we had the Kerry defence we would've won Ulster". But the case I presented was, if we had the Kerry defence we would've had Morley and Foley as ball carriers, with Clifford sitting back on the half way line.
As for "you can't have your cake and eat it", what's that about? If I was using the same metric as you, I'd say you were calling me fat....

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 17/07/2022 09:02:10    2432425

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Rory, you accused me of being "all opinions, no answers". I gave you my answer, and I invited your reply, but you just chose to belittle me.

Finally, my opinion, and I am allowed have one on a forum, is that you owe me an apology. "All opinions, no answers" you said. I have given you fact based answers. You have accused me of disrespecting players. I certainly have not. Show me where I have. As I've said above, I have never been one of the anti Bonner brigade. And you cannot insult me by calling me an armchair supporter. So I'd appreciate it very much if you could desist from insulting and abusing me. Unless you have a hatred for facts. As you arrogantly finished your reply to me this week, "Case Closed"."
Excellent post - summed up perfectly..

Expect all sorts of childish name calling now tho..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1693 - 17/07/2022 09:17:51    2432427

Replying To rorysboys:  "Reading your posts you know a lot for an armchair supporter. You should get somebody to nominate you, I'm sure your own club would do the deed.. you don't need to have been a good footballer to be a good manager. Go for it lad if we play the way you want us to, there could be exciting days ahead. Only problem your armchair will miss you.."
I would imagine that sounded a lot funnier in your head when you were typing it.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 17/07/2022 09:49:11    2432430

Replying To The keeper:  "First of all, i was not being critical of the girls efforts and congratulations to them for getting to the semi final, and so close to the final.
The reality is, if Donegal want to compete and win all irelands at any level, ladies and men, they need to add more to there game than whats been on show at all grades"
In fairness didn't criticise the players but you couldn't just say hard luck and leave it at that you had to use it as a chance for criticism of donegal coaching. The constant handpassing is a hard watch but what you are not calling out is the way the the other team plays has a major impact on how you play. If you were at the match then you'd pick up on the way donegal had to play particularly in the first half. That's just a fact. Kicking a ball into one or two forwards with 15 defenders is not logical and no team would do it. You are then limited to hand passing or risk free kick passes. Also Meath hand passed and ran the ball to victory today and the all ireland last year and the league this year.

You mention about your own club club being as guilty as anyone for this type of football. With this in mind would you criticise Naomh Conaill for going back to Martin Regan as manager. If you apply the same logic you use on donegal coaching to naomh conaill then he's not going to get them to the next level of really competing and winning ulsters and maybe all irelands.

I don't like the way the meath ladies, derry, nc, st eunans last year, glen/maghera and plenty donegal teams (though overall the senior men's team under bonner were certainly not the worst) but because it's an option for Martin Regan, rory kavanagh, rory gallagher, malachy o'rourke, eamon Murray or whomever to adopt then certain teams are going to play like that and it spoils the game. The rules need changing.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 815 - 17/07/2022 13:01:22    2432459

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "In fairness didn't criticise the players but you couldn't just say hard luck and leave it at that you had to use it as a chance for criticism of donegal coaching. The constant handpassing is a hard watch but what you are not calling out is the way the the other team plays has a major impact on how you play. If you were at the match then you'd pick up on the way donegal had to play particularly in the first half. That's just a fact. Kicking a ball into one or two forwards with 15 defenders is not logical and no team would do it. You are then limited to hand passing or risk free kick passes. Also Meath hand passed and ran the ball to victory today and the all ireland last year and the league this year.

You mention about your own club club being as guilty as anyone for this type of football. With this in mind would you criticise Naomh Conaill for going back to Martin Regan as manager. If you apply the same logic you use on donegal coaching to naomh conaill then he's not going to get them to the next level of really competing and winning ulsters and maybe all irelands.

I don't like the way the meath ladies, derry, nc, st eunans last year, glen/maghera and plenty donegal teams (though overall the senior men's team under bonner were certainly not the worst) but because it's an option for Martin Regan, rory kavanagh, rory gallagher, malachy o'rourke, eamon Murray or whomever to adopt then certain teams are going to play like that and it spoils the game. The rules need changing."
Regardless of what system you are playing you need good players playing with intensity,enthusiasm and conviction.The difference yesterday was that during their purple patch Meath played with more conviction than Donegal did when they were on top.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1149 - 17/07/2022 14:09:03    2432473

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "In fairness didn't criticise the players but you couldn't just say hard luck and leave it at that you had to use it as a chance for criticism of donegal coaching. The constant handpassing is a hard watch but what you are not calling out is the way the the other team plays has a major impact on how you play. If you were at the match then you'd pick up on the way donegal had to play particularly in the first half. That's just a fact. Kicking a ball into one or two forwards with 15 defenders is not logical and no team would do it. You are then limited to hand passing or risk free kick passes. Also Meath hand passed and ran the ball to victory today and the all ireland last year and the league this year.

I don't like the way the meath ladies, derry, nc, st eunans last year, glen/maghera and plenty donegal teams (though overall the senior men's team under bonner were certainly not the worst) but because it's an option for Martin Regan, rory kavanagh, rory gallagher, malachy o'rourke, eamon Murray or whomever to adopt then certain teams are going to play like that and it spoils the game. The rules need changing."
I am not saying kick it in aimlessly with no game plan.
But move the ball at speed with runners.
The last number of all irelands were won by teams that move the ball at speed, constant movement, and if the opportunity arises the odd long ball in that may result in a goal.
But coaching in Donegal has teams stuck in between both, with slow lateral hand passing.
Several times yesterday, i literally seen 3-4 hand passes with 3-4 players no more than a yard apart, going nowhere. And thats not being critical of the ladies in question.
And in fairness to m regan of NC, he has introduced a big full forward, and there are balls going into the full forward line in the last year. With players coming off him at speed.
If you want to beat the blanket defence, look at the dubs during the years they were unbeatable.
Massive fitness, constant movement, very rarely have i seen a man receiving the ball and not moving at speed.
That is why i am being critical of coaching in donegal, average coaches trying to implement the mcguinness gameplan, but are simply not capable of bringing teams to the next level, of quick counter attacks, and moving forward at speed with Massive fitness levels.
For the life of me i can not understand why coaches have not moved on from that possession at all cost, risk free football.
Because from what i can see is we are being left behind when other sides have moved on to a more dynamic game.
We really are at a crossroads when it comes to Donegal football. And dont expect croke park to change the rules to save Donegal.
We either save ourselves or continue with the same unsuccessful approach.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 17/07/2022 14:12:37    2432474

Replying To rorysboys:  "This argument is coming down to me saying that we don't have good enough defenders, you obviously think we have.. this is entirely my opinion which I'm entitled too. Your entitled to your opinion , of course you are. But I'm not backing down because as a very shrewd gaa man I'm absolutely sure I'm right.. if we had Kerry's defence would we win Ulster this year, we definitely would… I'm not on this forum to keep people happy, I call it as I see it. Do I owe you an apology I don't, I have been called a lot of names as have management did you ever say it was wrong. No you didn't . You can't have your cake and eat it."
A very shrewd GAA man :) A Division 3 play off should be no problem to you next Saturday so :)

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 17/07/2022 20:47:25    2432576