Longford GAA thread

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "He said nothing of the sort but don't let facts get in the way of you"
I happen to be at the match and I remember it well. Perhaps if there was a video taken of the match, you can hear it for yourself. I know the facts can be embarassing at times.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 24/11/2022 18:31:42    2448649

Replying To B&G:  "A "Green Wave". I seem to remember back in 2004, I think when Clonguish put back to back county titles together, their captain in his post match acceptance speech, mentioned, 'This is the second leg in our 5 in a row'......The Drive for 5 was stalled the following year and hasn't really taken off ever since."
I'd love to see your evidence as from what I remember nothing like that was said in his speech that day. What he actually said and what was put out there afterwards were two totally different statements! I'm hoping to attend the final on Sunday as it is great to see Granard back in a big final and of course the history from both clus that meet. Of course Clonguish will go in as favourites but it's all on the day.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 24/11/2022 18:32:49    2448650

Replying To Jack L:  "I happen to be at the match and I remember it well. Perhaps if there was a video taken of the match, you can hear it for yourself. I know the facts can be embarassing at times."
What he said on the day was it was great to do 2 and that they've heard lots of stories down the years of the famous 4 in a row and it would be great to match or beat it. He did not say they WOULD beat it!! There's awful begrudgers in every county that try and tarnish the names of people. Don't get me wrong, some people bring it on themselves but what was put out after that final about the Clonguish captain was a disgrace. Even this year in my own county, Strokestown upset Boyle to win their first title in 20 years and still there was some people trying to blacken them!! I enjoy going to as many games in Roscommon, Leitrim and Longford but to listen to some spectators just constantly bad mouth opposition players is really annoying. And more so from ones who probably never kicked a ball in their life!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 25/11/2022 10:24:50    2448670

Replying To Oddball:  "What he said on the day was it was great to do 2 and that they've heard lots of stories down the years of the famous 4 in a row and it would be great to match or beat it. He did not say they WOULD beat it!! There's awful begrudgers in every county that try and tarnish the names of people. Don't get me wrong, some people bring it on themselves but what was put out after that final about the Clonguish captain was a disgrace. Even this year in my own county, Strokestown upset Boyle to win their first title in 20 years and still there was some people trying to blacken them!! I enjoy going to as many games in Roscommon, Leitrim and Longford but to listen to some spectators just constantly bad mouth opposition players is really annoying. And more so from ones who probably never kicked a ball in their life!"
I completely agree Oddball.. and even if he did say that in his speech so what!! great to hear a captain being ambitious about winning every year! each teams goal at the start of every year is to win the championship regardless of what team they have going out! whats the point in turning up if your already beaten!!!

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 25/11/2022 10:44:09    2448676

Replying To Oddball:  "What he said on the day was it was great to do 2 and that they've heard lots of stories down the years of the famous 4 in a row and it would be great to match or beat it. He did not say they WOULD beat it!! There's awful begrudgers in every county that try and tarnish the names of people. Don't get me wrong, some people bring it on themselves but what was put out after that final about the Clonguish captain was a disgrace. Even this year in my own county, Strokestown upset Boyle to win their first title in 20 years and still there was some people trying to blacken them!! I enjoy going to as many games in Roscommon, Leitrim and Longford but to listen to some spectators just constantly bad mouth opposition players is really annoying. And more so from ones who probably never kicked a ball in their life!"
Thank you Oddball! I do have the video Jack and our captain said nothing like what was claimed. Anyone who knows him knows he is the most down to earth man going and not one to get carried away. This "green wave" nonsense is another thing being put out there, unsurprisingly by the poster in question, so should our lads fail it will be used against Clonguish as if it was ourselves talking about it! Tabloid stuff but again not surprising in the slightest

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 208 - 25/11/2022 13:18:32    2448695

Replying To Garmin:  "I completely agree Oddball.. and even if he did say that in his speech so what!! great to hear a captain being ambitious about winning every year! each teams goal at the start of every year is to win the championship regardless of what team they have going out! whats the point in turning up if your already beaten!!!"
Great teams don't start talking about 2, 3 or 5 in a row. They talk about winning it next year. That great Dublin team was an example. Kilkenny went close also but the drive for 5 was perhaps talked about in weeks leading up to final and not after winning the second one.
Kerry was a team who printed tee shirts celebrating their 5 in a row before the final and we all know what happened next.
The same was always going to happen to Clonguish after that speech. They did not even reach 3 in a row. That was an incredible team with the Bardens etc. On paper they were the best around at that time. But that cocky speech did not help them. Give everyone else the ammo to stale them in their tracks.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 25/11/2022 13:19:26    2448697

Replying To B&G:  "Great teams don't start talking about 2, 3 or 5 in a row. They talk about winning it next year. That great Dublin team was an example. Kilkenny went close also but the drive for 5 was perhaps talked about in weeks leading up to final and not after winning the second one.
Kerry was a team who printed tee shirts celebrating their 5 in a row before the final and we all know what happened next.
The same was always going to happen to Clonguish after that speech. They did not even reach 3 in a row. That was an incredible team with the Bardens etc. On paper they were the best around at that time. But that cocky speech did not help them. Give everyone else the ammo to stale them in their tracks."
Again B&G, what cocky speech?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 25/11/2022 13:51:30    2448703

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "Thank you Oddball! I do have the video Jack and our captain said nothing like what was claimed. Anyone who knows him knows he is the most down to earth man going and not one to get carried away. This "green wave" nonsense is another thing being put out there, unsurprisingly by the poster in question, so should our lads fail it will be used against Clonguish as if it was ourselves talking about it! Tabloid stuff but again not surprising in the slightest"
Post a link to that video you always seem to have something that proves something when it comes to Clonguish

Rorty (Longford) - Posts: 11 - 25/11/2022 13:53:21    2448704

Replying To Rorty:  "Post a link to that video you always seem to have something that proves something when it comes to Clonguish"
He said he has the video, not it's online!! There's an awful lot of bitterness on here towards Clonguish which is strange considering they haven't won anything in over 10 years at senior level. I'm guessing some of these posters on here are either the one fella with several accounts or are all mates and came out on the wrong end of a few beatings from Clonguish over the years. All I can say is that what he said was not what is been posted around here by some bitter indivduals. I was there that day as I have been for the last 25 odd years bar the covid years.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 25/11/2022 15:09:32    2448711

Does anyone know who Paddy Christie has in with him for the backroom team?? Any locals or all his own men?

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 26 - 25/11/2022 15:33:15    2448717

Burke captained that side and is a gentleman. Nothing wrong with showing a bit of ambition, and in wanting to emulate or exceed past teams. When my own club tried to be a bit ambitious in recent years, the usual keyboard warriors and trolls came out in force (some still at it too). I keep the paper from after each county final so I dug that one out. In 2004 the Leader led with 'A New Dominant Force emerges in Longford GAA' (commentators curse there!) and the article talked about how Clonguish would 'take all comers for the foreseeable future'. That was probably steered by the scoreline that day (1-15 to 0-5), and i'd say most of us thought that was the case back then too. But I don't recall the captain being cocky or arrogant, and they are not responsible for what the paper writes. Didn't quite happen for them, even with a side as talented as they were, proving that in Longford it is harder than you might think to dominate. If Clonguish do come big (and I predict they will, hence my 'Green Wave' comment), then fair play to them if they go after 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 in a row. Others may disagree, that's why forums exist to allow a broad range of views. [Now watch as that is interpreted by the keyboard warrior brigade as me trying to "raise them up to bring them down"....!!!].

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 467 - 25/11/2022 15:33:50    2448718

Replying To Oddball:  "Again B&G, what cocky speech?"
Part of his acceptance speech 'This is the second leg of our 5 in a row' An arogant statement if not cocky.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 25/11/2022 16:05:48    2448721

Replying To Rorty:  "Post a link to that video you always seem to have something that proves something when it comes to Clonguish"
Yeah i'll post that link to my 18 year old video tape no problem! It's a pity you had to create a new account to respond to me why not use your normal one?! Maybe the reason is because I'm a Clonguish man all my life and know our history so when I see rubbish posted here and on other websites I can call it out, which is what any club person would do

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 208 - 25/11/2022 18:06:47    2448730

Replying To B&G:  "Part of his acceptance speech 'This is the second leg of our 5 in a row' An arogant statement if not cocky."
Now that you've said what you thought he said, I'll ask you nicely to put up what he actually said!! I don't have it word for word but what was roughly said was - we've been told many stories of the famous 4 in a row over the years. Its great to do 2 but the aim would be to try for 4 or 5. That to me is not cocky....to me that was a plan for that team and also for many a team over the years. The Gaels and Slashers in the 90's, Killoe and Mullinalaghta in the 2010's, don't tell me their aim wasn't to match or beat Clonguish's record? Unfortunately for them was thar was a tine when Dromard, Abbeylara and Colmcille also had serious teams. On the outside looking in, any good Clonguish team through the years would have the added pressure of hearing about that great team of the 60's. If the club championships were around back then I'm sure they would of won a few Leinsters and maybe snuck an All-Ireland. Looking at the underage success lately in Longford Clonguish have a serious conveyor belt coming true but the trick is to try and keep the majority of them around. Clonguish have won all titles from schoolboy to Minor so far this year. I don't know if that has ever happened in Longford before.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 26/11/2022 12:47:48    2448751

Replying To Oddball:  "Now that you've said what you thought he said, I'll ask you nicely to put up what he actually said!! I don't have it word for word but what was roughly said was - we've been told many stories of the famous 4 in a row over the years. Its great to do 2 but the aim would be to try for 4 or 5. That to me is not cocky....to me that was a plan for that team and also for many a team over the years. The Gaels and Slashers in the 90's, Killoe and Mullinalaghta in the 2010's, don't tell me their aim wasn't to match or beat Clonguish's record? Unfortunately for them was thar was a tine when Dromard, Abbeylara and Colmcille also had serious teams. On the outside looking in, any good Clonguish team through the years would have the added pressure of hearing about that great team of the 60's. If the club championships were around back then I'm sure they would of won a few Leinsters and maybe snuck an All-Ireland. Looking at the underage success lately in Longford Clonguish have a serious conveyor belt coming true but the trick is to try and keep the majority of them around. Clonguish have won all titles from schoolboy to Minor so far this year. I don't know if that has ever happened in Longford before."
We were both at that final as with all other county finals over the years. It appears we both differ on the content of that speech. Unfortunatly there does not appear to be a recording of the speech anywhere. It's over 18 years ago now. So I guess we will never agree on what was said.
I have nothing against Clonguish. They have produced some of the greatest players to dorn the county jersey. With the success that you have mentioned that they have at minor level, hopefully they will produce some more great players.
I picked up on what was said as did many people around me that day. We all agreed that he was setting himself up for a fall. I don't know the guy but I believe he is a highly respected individual and perhaps it was tongue in check and he was caught up in the emotion of the moment.
Time to move on I guess.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 26/11/2022 13:56:44    2448754

All this talk of one club will be dominating just because of strong underage structure is a load of rubbish. Slashers dominated under 14 for years but could never translate that as far as minor grade or even the juvenile grade. It's all a lot of 'what ifs'. We could of done 6-in-a-row back in the late 90's early 00's only for Dromard catching us on the hop in 99 and Abbey in 2000 going out from the start of that game to injure Podgy which they succeeded in doing.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 26/11/2022 14:11:07    2448756

Replying To backtoback2:  "Does anyone know who Paddy Christie has in with him for the backroom team?? Any locals or all his own men?"
Coaches / Selectors Dessie Sloyne and James Glancy. Medical Aisling Lyons, S&C Daniel Doherty, Preformance Coach Annie Mc Carra, Nutrition Damien O Sullivan, Opposition and Video Analysts Sean Fox,Christy Keaney and David Heffernan. Doctor tbc .
A member of senior management will be involved wU20

Therein2010 (Longford) - Posts: 45 - 26/11/2022 16:34:41    2448776

Replying To Therein2010:  "Coaches / Selectors Dessie Sloyne and James Glancy. Medical Aisling Lyons, S&C Daniel Doherty, Preformance Coach Annie Mc Carra, Nutrition Damien O Sullivan, Opposition and Video Analysts Sean Fox,Christy Keaney and David Heffernan. Doctor tbc .
A member of senior management will be involved wU20"
That's a very deep background team.
I suppose it's a given now at Co level. Expectations are that you must have a big team around you to delegate the work. The demands of management are becoming greater and greater.

I hope they have a good year and that the team make some progress. A few wins in the league at the very least!!

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 26 - 26/11/2022 17:07:40    2448781

Replying To Therein2010:  "Coaches / Selectors Dessie Sloyne and James Glancy. Medical Aisling Lyons, S&C Daniel Doherty, Preformance Coach Annie Mc Carra, Nutrition Damien O Sullivan, Opposition and Video Analysts Sean Fox,Christy Keaney and David Heffernan. Doctor tbc .
A member of senior management will be involved wU20"
And everyone of them getting "rewarded" apart from the actual players in the squad. Not a Longford issue but the whole thing is just ludicrous.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 27/11/2022 12:28:06    2448828

Brilliant win today to complete the championship sweep of schoolboy to u21, not forgetting the hurling title it's a feat never achieved before. The result itself was never in doubt from the 3rd minute as Granard who did try hard just were no match in the individual battles all over the pitch. Well done to Longford Slashers ladies too who created a bit of history themselves

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 208 - 27/11/2022 15:20:38    2448849