Longford GAA thread

Ballymahon by 3 and Colmcille by 2

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 04/10/2022 12:31:53    2442766

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "1940 wasn't a Championship win according to this... link. That 1940 claim hasn't been recognised in any official records for over half a century now."
I would not pay attention to what that has to say for matters Clonguish. The relative's medal I possess is clear that Clonguish won that championship, something those men were proud of. The records need to be updated.
Mullinalaghta will grind out another championship on Sunday. The vast experience of the big day will stand to them. There is definitely championships in Colmcille just not this year. I think a draw is likely in the Intermediate. Both teams were very lucky to make it past the semi finals

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 04/10/2022 14:05:29    2442782

Replying To Garmin:  "Lads any Predictions for sunday?

Ill go with Gaels in the intermediate by 6

and Mullinalaghta by 3 in the senior"
Finals can go any way, but if I was a betting man it would have to be Mullinalaghta. Colmcille have been the one team to run them close in recent years. But I'm not convinced they'll do it on Sunday. Mullinalaghta by 3 or 4 points I reckon.
Hard to know with the intermediate. Neither team has been that impressive. Like the senior there could be a close game there. Ballymahon to pip Drumlish by a few scores.

Rhyne_Stonecowboy (Longford) - Posts: 52 - 05/10/2022 16:36:14    2442907

So far, my prediction that there will be no shocks in the Senior has served me well this year. For continuity I will go for Mullinalaghta St.Columba's. In fairness they have been great champions and are coming to the end as a force. They may not be back at the top for another 50 or 60 years when they do fall away, but I think they will add another championship this year, and maybe 1 more after that before they decline. Colmcille wont be far off, but experience in big games will decide this. Colmcille will be back, they are going nowhere. Slashers, Killoe, Dromard will all be back, joined by Clonguish over the next few years. Can't see it being dominated by 2 clubs for the next 10 years like the last 10, there could be 5 of 6 different winners, with 2 in a rows becoming very difficult. Competitive football is what everyone wants.
Fr. Manning Gaels should win the Intermediate, they need to improve a good bit to make sure they are not caught out but I think they should have enough to beat Ballymahon even if they are not going 100%.

botheyesclosed (Longford) - Posts: 115 - 06/10/2022 09:36:04    2442939

Weather conditions will play a big part in today's game. Dry day I would be very confident jn winning but I think Ballymahon will drag us down into a dogfight today and it could go either way. Hopefully I'm right and I'm going Gaels by 2 points.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 09/10/2022 13:30:08    2443261

Could not make the finals today, anyone else's stream unreliable? It's very frustrating. Hopefully it gets fixed for the senior match.

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 09/10/2022 13:56:22    2443263

Is the Senior final streamed today? If so where can I views it? Thanks

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 09/10/2022 14:34:53    2443265

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "Is the Senior final streamed today? If so where can I views it? Thanks"
It is and it's the worst I hav ever seen and it looks like a good game too

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 09/10/2022 17:06:50    2443289

Well done to Colmcille delighted for them.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 09/10/2022 18:06:08    2443297

Credit to Colmcille and Ballymahon. Dramatic finish to both games and Gardaí probably want a word with both clubs over their 11th hour burglary. But to the victor the spoils, so fair play and congrats to both. The duoploy is finally broken in the 9th year. Will probably see titles moving around a bit more in the next few years.

Can't figure out why there needed to be an hour of waiting between both games - it's perplexing at the best of times and not enjoyable when it is lashing it down! Apparently the streaming was a bit of a washout too. The Ladies junior and intermediate finals were streamed (free) yesterday and the quality, commentary and on-screen graphics all top notch. The weather might have played a part in today's problems, but even on a good day the streaming is not great. Something the CB should work on for next year.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 09/10/2022 18:06:56    2443298

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Credit to Colmcille and Ballymahon. Dramatic finish to both games and Gardaí probably want a word with both clubs over their 11th hour burglary. But to the victor the spoils, so fair play and congrats to both. The duoploy is finally broken in the 9th year. Will probably see titles moving around a bit more in the next few years.

Can't figure out why there needed to be an hour of waiting between both games - it's perplexing at the best of times and not enjoyable when it is lashing it down! Apparently the streaming was a bit of a washout too. The Ladies junior and intermediate finals were streamed (free) yesterday and the quality, commentary and on-screen graphics all top notch. The weather might have played a part in today's problems, but even on a good day the streaming is not great. Something the CB should work on for next year."
The streaming was absolutely brutal and it always is so they can't blame the weather.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 09/10/2022 18:45:08    2443304

Congratulations to Colmcille, kept knocking on the door the last few years and have got their reward.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 09/10/2022 20:26:17    2443321

Congrats to Colmcille on their win. Pulled it out of the fire in the last few minutes. Nice to see a new team come along.
You'd feel for Mullinalaghta. Even though they're not as strong as they were I'm sure this is not the end for this great bunch of players. They can definitely still be in the mix for another few years but it'll be one that will haunt them.
Intermediate could have gone either way too. Great win for Ballymahon. Drumlish will be kicking themselves for not keeping possession and seeing out the game.

Rhyne_Stonecowboy (Longford) - Posts: 52 - 09/10/2022 20:59:29    2443325

It was a robbery paying 15 euro for the poor quality of the streaming

gaasport (Longford) - Posts: 23 - 09/10/2022 21:27:21    2443331

Well yesterday was a disaster. From getting soaked to throwing away a winning position my day was just terrible! Well done to Ballymahon, they took their chances when they got them but I have a feeling they'll be straight back down next year. In the Senior, delighted for Colmcille. Mullinalaghtas time has come to an end. An aging team with nothing coming through. Apart from their starting 15 (who never seem to get injured or suspended) they have nothing on the bench. And yesterday when the pitch was heavy and wet they had no fresh legs to bring on.
Well done Colmcille and Ballymahon.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 10/10/2022 10:55:29    2443363

Said it before, Mullinalaghta have been leaving opposing teams in games instead of killing them off when they're on top. They've been leaving themselves open to a sucker punch & no better team than Colmcille this season to deliver that blow.

Keeper7+ (Longford) - Posts: 8 - 10/10/2022 11:58:28    2443379

Replying To Spinx:  "Well yesterday was a disaster. From getting soaked to throwing away a winning position my day was just terrible! Well done to Ballymahon, they took their chances when they got them but I have a feeling they'll be straight back down next year. In the Senior, delighted for Colmcille. Mullinalaghtas time has come to an end. An aging team with nothing coming through. Apart from their starting 15 (who never seem to get injured or suspended) they have nothing on the bench. And yesterday when the pitch was heavy and wet they had no fresh legs to bring on.
Well done Colmcille and Ballymahon."
I thought the intermediate final, second half anyway, was very enjoyable given the conditions. Probably is a big gap between these 2 and the teams above in senior but it is what it is. Connollys, Kenagh & even Cashel looking at that result and thinking it could easily have been them lifting the cup either.

In the senior - I think your point about Mullinalaghta is proven by the fact Shane Mulligan was subbed off and then brought on again a few minutes later. I'm guessing because there's not much depth on the bench. Fair play to Mullinalaghta, they have had a golden group of players and they've certainly struck whilst the iron was hot. Can't ask for anything more from that group.

Fair play to Colmcille, good to see the cup going to somewhere new for the winter to mix it up. Up against the Louth champions in Leinster now. Louth final was a draw yesterday, replay next week, and then first round of Leinster the week after so hopefully whoever wins will enjoy their celebrations for a few days!

iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 10/10/2022 13:00:49    2443389

Replying To Spinx:  "Well yesterday was a disaster. From getting soaked to throwing away a winning position my day was just terrible! Well done to Ballymahon, they took their chances when they got them but I have a feeling they'll be straight back down next year. In the Senior, delighted for Colmcille. Mullinalaghtas time has come to an end. An aging team with nothing coming through. Apart from their starting 15 (who never seem to get injured or suspended) they have nothing on the bench. And yesterday when the pitch was heavy and wet they had no fresh legs to bring on.
Well done Colmcille and Ballymahon."
Good to see, Spinx, that your hatred and resentment of Mullinalaghta is as undimmed as ever. I actually felt sorry for FMG yesterday watching them lose the way they did but having read that all I'll say is - well done Ballymahon and serve Spinx another pint of vinegar.

The theories about Shane Mulligan are wrong but I'll leave it at that. Colmcille were more efficient at converting their chances than we were and we probably needed to be further ahead at half-time despite the conditions. It's easy to say that you should kill off a team - and there have been games like Blessington last year or Mostrim this year where it was true - but it was always likely to be tight against a team as strong and as determined as Colmcille. The end was a sickener but some days you're lucky and some days you aren't and yesterday was one of the latter. Best of luck to Colmcille and enjoy the experience.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 10/10/2022 14:22:37    2443412

Given how successful this crop of Mullinalaghta players has been over the years in winning 5 Championships and 5 Leader Cups in 7 years (including a 3-in-a-row), and of course the Leinster Club title, they must be the best club team the county has ever produced. I agree a poster above that we are at or near the end of their purple patch, but their ability to grind out so much success using the same group of players over the past decade, has been remarkable. I've seen some very good club sides including the Gaels in late 90's, Slashers in early 90's and I grew up hearing about the great Clonguish team of the 1960's, but the quality of football nowadays is completely different and more demanding. For my money, this Mullinalaghta team was the best club side the county ever produced. So if this is the end of the road, boy have they had some epic run!

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 10/10/2022 14:59:45    2443417

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "Good to see, Spinx, that your hatred and resentment of Mullinalaghta is as undimmed as ever. I actually felt sorry for FMG yesterday watching them lose the way they did but having read that all I'll say is - well done Ballymahon and serve Spinx another pint of vinegar.

The theories about Shane Mulligan are wrong but I'll leave it at that. Colmcille were more efficient at converting their chances than we were and we probably needed to be further ahead at half-time despite the conditions. It's easy to say that you should kill off a team - and there have been games like Blessington last year or Mostrim this year where it was true - but it was always likely to be tight against a team as strong and as determined as Colmcille. The end was a sickener but some days you're lucky and some days you aren't and yesterday was one of the latter. Best of luck to Colmcille and enjoy the experience."
What are the theories about Shane Mulligan?

Notrainingpitch (Longford) - Posts: 8 - 10/10/2022 15:07:52    2443419