Longford GAA thread

Fully deserved the win on Saturday, played the better football throughout the game and similar to Meath, we were able to focus towards the latter end of the game to keep control. Getting the goal was a huge difference when we were on top allowing us to maintain a grasp of them. Regardless of what strength a Dublin team was put out, given the pick they have and that it has been seen before many names they try out in OBC in previous years have gone on to become regular starters and winners for them, a win should be taken for a win and park it there.

Experience of 3 good wins in preseason have to be put to use now in the league and not make the mistakes of last year. If we can keep momentum and pick up 4 points from the opening 3 games ahead of 3 winnable games in a row at home we should be in good shape?

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 22/01/2024 09:05:41    2521454

Great to get the win on Saturday. Well deserved. The season will pivot on what happens over the next two weekends - two crucial must-win games.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 23/01/2024 10:49:29    2521695

I see Leitrim have passed a motion to reduce the numbers in their championships by 2025. Hopefully we will follow, but I will not hold my breath!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 23/01/2024 17:09:10    2521762

This from Leitrim Observer on the changes to Championship in Leitrim as approved last night:

Three clubs will be relegated from this year's Senior and Intermediate Championships to reduce the numbers to eight at Senior in 2025 and ten at Intermediate with a further three relegated from the Intermediate grade in 2025 to bring both championships to eight teams in 2026.

The Junior A championship will see an increase of teams from eight this year to ten teams for the future in a major shake-up of the club championship, bringing it more into line with the numbers competing in the top three divisions of the league.

Seems pretty sensible!

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 23/01/2024 18:12:39    2521775

I was down in Portlaoise last night and all I have to say is, we are Division 4 until Christie goes. Lads sitting at home who would have walked onto that team last night. Christie needs to bite the bullet and swallow his pride and beg for these lads to come back in. Too late for one lad who'll be playing Division 1 football today who wasn't deemed good enough for Division 3 and 4 football. Last week a few people were all over a certain experienced footballer who came on as a sub and thought he calmed things down and controlled the game. I thought he was very poor and almost got caught out twice that would have let the Dubs in for 2 goals. Played again yesterday and I was as well to be out on the field. Time for the county board to clear house on the field and sidelines.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 28/01/2024 09:35:27    2522577

Replying To Spinx:  "I was down in Portlaoise last night and all I have to say is, we are Division 4 until Christie goes. Lads sitting at home who would have walked onto that team last night. Christie needs to bite the bullet and swallow his pride and beg for these lads to come back in. Too late for one lad who'll be playing Division 1 football today who wasn't deemed good enough for Division 3 and 4 football. Last week a few people were all over a certain experienced footballer who came on as a sub and thought he calmed things down and controlled the game. I thought he was very poor and almost got caught out twice that would have let the Dubs in for 2 goals. Played again yesterday and I was as well to be out on the field. Time for the county board to clear house on the field and sidelines."
Again didn't really use the o Byrne cup for what it is, was forced to blood 1/2 players because his hand was tied and only using 3 subs in the final sums it up.

You are clearly talking about Quinn and i agree to a certain extent, came on against Dublin and was very poor, taking side line balls from another player then kicking it away is the worst I've ever seen but I do believe he has a roll in the half back line.

Players will start walking soon who aren't getting game time like last year. They will beat Tipperary next weekend and can still grab a promotion spot all going well.
Laois are no world beaters either but would have learnt all about Longford last weekend. Laois will drop points where they are expected to win so this division 4 will go down to the last day I think. I wouldn't be surprised if a promotion spot was settled on scoring difference which is why the league is our best competition.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 28/01/2024 10:41:24    2522595

Clubs will be back training now or in the very near future. Has all the manager slots been filled? I only heard of a few confirmed.

Emmet Óg - Luke Dempsey
Longford Slashers - Tommy Donohoe
Dromard - Garrett Johnston/Enda Macken
Clonguish - Liam Belton/John Twaddle
Carrickedmond - Eugene McCormack
Granard - Paul Lynch
Mullinalaghta -
Colmcille -
Abbeylara -
Mostrim -
Rathcline -
Kenagh -
Fr. Manning Gaels - Niall Sheridan
St. Brigids -
Ballymahon -
Seán Connollys -
Ardagh/Moydow -
Cashel -
Ballymore -
Grattan Óg -
Legan Sarsfield -

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 28/01/2024 14:17:11    2522642

Replying To Spinx:  "I was down in Portlaoise last night and all I have to say is, we are Division 4 until Christie goes. Lads sitting at home who would have walked onto that team last night. Christie needs to bite the bullet and swallow his pride and beg for these lads to come back in. Too late for one lad who'll be playing Division 1 football today who wasn't deemed good enough for Division 3 and 4 football. Last week a few people were all over a certain experienced footballer who came on as a sub and thought he calmed things down and controlled the game. I thought he was very poor and almost got caught out twice that would have let the Dubs in for 2 goals. Played again yesterday and I was as well to be out on the field. Time for the county board to clear house on the field and sidelines."
Agree re Div 4 and think we might struggle to pick up points in over half the games but that comes with 2 things personal responsibility and ownership from the players of Longford Gaa, we can blame Christie all we want but if lads don't go in the problem starts there. No disrespect to any player currently in there but the power as regards demanding standards and forcing change isn't gonna be pushed by lads who are coming from a large number of intermediate clubs and thinking they are on the pigs back being a county footballer..
As regards Quinn who you could have just named, yes there wasn't one person in the county thought he came on and settled things in O'Byrne cup final but again that's not a role I think he's good at but that was management put him in there so I don't blame him I blame them. As regards yesterday's game again look back 12 years himself, O'Farrell, Gally, Foxe and mimnagh have trucked away driving the team never turned the back or through a wabbler like all these great players we say are in the county.
Let's face it his better days may be over him but I genuinely think as a target or roaming around the full forward line with strong runners or Scorers off him is his place now, but still a massive asset to have.
Even as it is at the moment we seem to have good individuals but there's no system or plan, the bench is worrying if we lost gally or foxe Where's the replacement?

The county board need to look at within and look to see what they can do and start encouraging young energetic coaches/managers around the county to get involved and build a relationship that's stopping guys getting lost or disinterested, it's not about a name or what they've done as players.
Davy Burke came from no background to get involved in a county u20 then got a raw deal in kildare maybe but I'd say they'd love to have him now..

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 28/01/2024 21:32:32    2522854

Having seen the Longford clubs in Leinster club championship action what struck me was the dearth of talent on show, that's not a criticism but against Westmeath sides there was a gulf in class at club level, is that not indicative of a lack of inter county div 2-3 material available to Paddy Christie? Longford have punched above their weight for years in the league but a small county population wise will surely struggle to maintain that effort?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1490 - 28/01/2024 21:53:45    2522859

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Having seen the Longford clubs in Leinster club championship action what struck me was the dearth of talent on show, that's not a criticism but against Westmeath sides there was a gulf in class at club level, is that not indicative of a lack of inter county div 2-3 material available to Paddy Christie? Longford have punched above their weight for years in the league but a small county population wise will surely struggle to maintain that effort?"
Partly thar but a lot players didn't come into this maybe personal reason but he didn't do much last year I thought , to keep them hardly giving game time to some and maybe there's more to that and not just Christie.
He may or not be to blame we are struggling and maybe paying big bucks or whatever money for outsider would be better spend or someone that could coax anyone we need in that might know longford scene better.

That said I agree we are probably limited as well do can't blame Christie totally.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 29/01/2024 12:23:41    2522968

Replying To #Putitup:  "Agree re Div 4 and think we might struggle to pick up points in over half the games but that comes with 2 things personal responsibility and ownership from the players of Longford Gaa, we can blame Christie all we want but if lads don't go in the problem starts there. No disrespect to any player currently in there but the power as regards demanding standards and forcing change isn't gonna be pushed by lads who are coming from a large number of intermediate clubs and thinking they are on the pigs back being a county footballer..
As regards Quinn who you could have just named, yes there wasn't one person in the county thought he came on and settled things in O'Byrne cup final but again that's not a role I think he's good at but that was management put him in there so I don't blame him I blame them. As regards yesterday's game again look back 12 years himself, O'Farrell, Gally, Foxe and mimnagh have trucked away driving the team never turned the back or through a wabbler like all these great players we say are in the county.
Let's face it his better days may be over him but I genuinely think as a target or roaming around the full forward line with strong runners or Scorers off him is his place now, but still a massive asset to have.
Even as it is at the moment we seem to have good individuals but there's no system or plan, the bench is worrying if we lost gally or foxe Where's the replacement?

The county board need to look at within and look to see what they can do and start encouraging young energetic coaches/managers around the county to get involved and build a relationship that's stopping guys getting lost or disinterested, it's not about a name or what they've done as players.
Davy Burke came from no background to get involved in a county u20 then got a raw deal in kildare maybe but I'd say they'd love to have him now.."
Agree but have to analyse why won't they go in first could be several reasons
Why players that were there last year dropped off and didn't return this year is player not interested or more to it.
Think could difficult one to solve but certainly not just reason I would imagine.
Can't blame Christie totally but my why question are all the players that could be available all down to not wanting to be there personally no interest or have they interest but nit under current set up?

It a shame but tipp is big game loose that and it's basically done for promotion but they aren't great so win here could turn things around.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 29/01/2024 12:27:00    2522971

Replying To #Putitup:  "Agree re Div 4 and think we might struggle to pick up points in over half the games but that comes with 2 things personal responsibility and ownership from the players of Longford Gaa, we can blame Christie all we want but if lads don't go in the problem starts there. No disrespect to any player currently in there but the power as regards demanding standards and forcing change isn't gonna be pushed by lads who are coming from a large number of intermediate clubs and thinking they are on the pigs back being a county footballer..

Davy Burke came from no background to get involved in a county u20 then got a raw deal in kildare maybe but I'd say they'd love to have him now.."
Sorry again yes a lot backbones by intermediate clubs but at minute there isn't lot of distinction what's senior and intermediate apart from 4 or 5 at top every year.
Individually lots players come from lower grades but should ne more senior agree.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 29/01/2024 12:28:49    2522973

I would not be Christies biggest fan and we do need to get rid but in fairness there is not much more in the county that would make it much better, we could possibly add 3-4 more to make us slightly stronger but at moment Div 4 is our level it will be for awhile by the looks of it!! we could end up going up and down between div 4 and 3 for the next few years but come on if we cant finish in the top two of Div 4 that includes London, Leitrim, Waterford, Wexford and a extremely poor Tipp team then I still dont think its much progress! I think going full strength in the OB cup just shows our ambition and just papering over cracks! our senior players have given us great service, at the moment we would be totally lost without Gallagher, Fox, Quinn, Mimnagh, O'Farrell! another poster mentioned that the replacements on the bench for these lads are just not there.

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 29/01/2024 13:11:26    2522995

Last year Christie had almost everyone he might want to pick from at the start of the league, and we didn't win a single game until the very end when it didn't matter. The manager before him and the one before that and the one before that all had similar issues with some lads committing and some not, and others not seeing eye-to-eye with the managers methods. I agree with the comment above about personal responsibility. Might be time for a bit of navel gazing rather than trying to push the blame. We are a Division 4 outfit, and the quality of our local championship bears that out. We will beat Tipp, but we will slip up somewhere else before the league is out because we don't have enough depth or talent in the panel (credit to the lads who have committed, but that is the reality). Also I don't think it has anything to do with the amount of Intermediate lads in there - Monaghan panel at the weekend had plenty of Intermediate and Junior players in their squad and they are ten years in Division 1.

As for the individual player bashing, I looked back at the comments posted on here after the O'Byrne Cup final, and only one person voiced the opinion that the player in question came on and calmed things down. Spinx decided to attribute that view to 'a few people' so that he could have a go at the lad, who along with others has given great commitment to the county over the years! Not surprising given that this is the same poster who went onto the Westmeath forum just after the Lomans v Killoe game last Autumn and posted... "Well done Lomans on keeping the cocky boys of Longford club football quiet for a while". Yep he really wrote that! With friends like those, who needs enemies.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 29/01/2024 13:39:23    2523002

Replying To Spinx:  "Clubs will be back training now or in the very near future. Has all the manager slots been filled? I only heard of a few confirmed.

Emmet Óg - Luke Dempsey
Granard - Paul Lynch
Mullinalaghta -
Colmcille -
Abbeylara -
Mostrim -
Rathcline -
Kenagh -
St. Brigids -
Ballymahon -
Seán Connollys -
Ardagh/Moydow -
Cashel -
Ballymore -
Grattan Óg -
Legan Sarsfield -"
Emmet Óg - Luke Dempsey
Granard - Paul Lynch
Mullinalaghta -
Colmcille -
Abbeylara - Frankie Dolan
Mostrim - Gerry Lynn
Rathcline - Enda Lyons
Kenagh -
St. Brigids -
Ballymahon -
Seán Connollys -
Ardagh/Moydow -
Cashel - Gary Kenny
Ballymore -
Grattan Óg - Niall Vance
Legan Sarsfield -

Are_ya_well (Longford) - Posts: 7 - 29/01/2024 14:56:53    2523027

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Last year Christie had almost everyone he might want to pick from at the start of the league, and we didn't win a single game until the very end when it didn't matter. The manager before him and the one before that and the one before that all had similar issues with some lads committing and some not, and others not seeing eye-to-eye with the managers methods. I agree with the comment above about personal responsibility. Might be time for a bit of navel gazing rather than trying to push the blame. We are a Division 4 outfit, and the quality of our local championship bears that out. We will beat Tipp, but we will slip up somewhere else before the league is out because we don't have enough depth or talent in the panel (credit to the lads who have committed, but that is the reality). Also I don't think it has anything to do with the amount of Intermediate lads in there - Monaghan panel at the weekend had plenty of Intermediate and Junior players in their squad and they are ten years in Division 1.

As for the individual player bashing, I looked back at the comments posted on here after the O'Byrne Cup final, and only one person voiced the opinion that the player in question came on and calmed things down. Spinx decided to attribute that view to 'a few people' so that he could have a go at the lad, who along with others has given great commitment to the county over the years! Not surprising given that this is the same poster who went onto the Westmeath forum just after the Lomans v Killoe game last Autumn and posted... "Well done Lomans on keeping the cocky boys of Longford club football quiet for a while". Yep he really wrote that! With friends like those, who needs enemies."
Ah right , I'm sorry now I wasted my breath replying to his nonsense...
It's funny cause I was only talking to a few of those cocky boys at their coffee trailer on Saturday morning and they were telling me they now have 8 lads who have gone in this year, Moffett junior is in but injured and Paddy Keirnan also joined squad after OB final which in fairness is a great sign of lads willingness to try see the county team progress..
I agree with all the comments above from following our club games over the last few years we probably are at best mid table div 3 but I think there's 20-25 players in the county with good coaching and standards put in place could compete week in week out and have a rattle at tailtean Cup.
Colmcille have 1r2 more, mullinaghta definitely 2r3, clonguish 1r2 at mo but lots to come, Abbey 2r3, carrickedmond 1 maybe, slashers 2r3 that alone is 10r12 more but I also think the coaching is within the county and is something that could be massively tapped into more... That also comes from who's brought in as manager and these big names that have no real interest or love for developing longford football aren't the answer.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 29/01/2024 19:16:25    2523140

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Last year Christie had almost everyone he might want to pick from at the start of the league, and we didn't win a single game until the very end when it didn't matter. The manager before him and the one before that and the one before that all had similar issues with some lads committing and some not, and others not seeing eye-to-eye with the managers methods. I agree with the comment above about personal responsibility. Might be time for a bit of navel gazing rather than trying to push the blame. We are a Division 4 outfit, and the quality of our local championship bears that out. We will beat Tipp, but we will slip up somewhere else before the league is out because we don't have enough depth or talent in the panel (credit to the lads who have committed, but that is the reality). Also I don't think it has anything to do with the amount of Intermediate lads in there - Monaghan panel at the weekend had plenty of Intermediate and Junior players in their squad and they are ten years in Division 1.

As for the individual player bashing, I looked back at the comments posted on here after the O'Byrne Cup final, and only one person voiced the opinion that the player in question came on and calmed things down. Spinx decided to attribute that view to 'a few people' so that he could have a go at the lad, who along with others has given great commitment to the county over the years! Not surprising given that this is the same poster who went onto the Westmeath forum just after the Lomans v Killoe game last Autumn and posted... "Well done Lomans on keeping the cocky boys of Longford club football quiet for a while". Yep he really wrote that! With friends like those, who needs enemies."
Ah right , I'm sorry now I wasted my breath replying to his nonsense...
It's funny cause I was only talking to a few of those cocky boys at their coffee trailer on Saturday morning and they were telling me they now have 8 lads who have gone in this year, Moffett junior is in but injured and Paddy Keirnan also joined squad after OB final which in fairness is a great sign of lads willingness to try see the county team progress..
I agree with all the comments above from following our club games over the last few years we probably are at best mid table div 3 but I think there's 20-25 players in the county with good coaching and standards put in place could compete week in week out and have a rattle at tailtean Cup.
Colmcille have 1r2 more, mullinaghta definitely 2r3, clonguish 1r2 at mo but lots to come, Abbey 2r3, carrickedmond 1 maybe, slashers 2r3 that alone is 10r12 more but I also think the coaching is within the county and is something that could be massively tapped into more... That also comes from who's brought in as manager and these big names that have no real interest or love for developing longford football aren't the answer.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 29/01/2024 22:35:11    2523190

Replying To Are_ya_well:  "Emmet Óg - Luke Dempsey
Granard - Paul Lynch
Mullinalaghta -
Colmcille -
Mostrim - Gerry Lynn
Rathcline - Enda Lyons
Kenagh -
St. Brigids -
Ballymahon -
Seán Connollys -
Ardagh/Moydow -
Cashel - Gary Kenny
Ballymore -
Grattan Óg - Niall Vance
Legan Sarsfield -"
Emmet Óg - Luke Dempsey
Granard - Paul Lynch
Mullinalaghta -
Colmcille -
Mostrim - Gerry Lynn
Rathcline - Enda Lyons
Kenagh -
St. Brigids - Duff Feeney
Ballymahon -
Seán Connollys -
Ardagh/Moydow - Paddy Ganley
Cashel - Gary Kenny
Ballymore -
Grattan Óg - Niall Vance
Legan Sarsfield -

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 168 - 30/01/2024 10:44:14    2523248

I actually wasn't on about a poster on here......I will have to go back and see who said that on here.
Check out the Longford Leader my good friend.
I also heard it mentioned on the radio about how he has 'calmed everything down' when in actual fact at one stage he caused a bit of panic!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 30/01/2024 11:20:31    2523257

Wouldn't be like spinx to have agenda's against certain players or clubs. Funny oul man he is. One day we might see some positive thoughts from him.

honlongford (Longford) - Posts: 163 - 30/01/2024 17:59:40    2523359