Leitrim GAA thread

Lookit we have to dance with the one we brung.Coach Moran has 6 weeks now to prepare for the Tailteann cup.We are where we are and have 3 more championship games to prepare for.If we get Casey Reynolds and McGloin back fit they'll come straight in along with Darragh at 10.They were huge losses against NY.We also need a back up plan for when Keith is being double marked,the lads around him need to step up as he can't be expected to do it all.Ryan has been a massive loss all year too.A fully fit Leitrim team will do well in the Tailteann I've no doubt about it.As for the county board, underage coaches and club that's for another thread.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 10/04/2023 15:01:52    2470034

Replying To martinjoe:  "I posted here days after Andy taking on this job that prior to taking up the role he took advise from other managers including JM who has had success in managing counties from lower divisions. I would go so far as to say JM sowed the seeds for the harvest Roscommon are enjoying this past 6 years or so, though their supporters are in denial about it. He made the hard calls in dropping big names and laid the foundations for a much more professional approach by those in charge. Anyway JM encouraged Andy to proceed but with 1 caveat . "If you expect these lads to put in the same effort and commitment that you put in for Mayo, then don't take the job". One must ask the question, if Jim Gavin and his backroom team, and all the resources that are available to the Dubs, was in charge of Leitrim, would things be any different? James Horan came in for stinging criticism around 8 years ago for taking the NY game too seriously and not making the lads available for hospitality events. Every urban temptation is put in the path of teams who come over for this game, the ones you point out, the full Irish and the full hog, being the least problematic. Leitrim can attain the heights of Clare, Sligo and maybe in a frw years Roscommon, but a strong manager needs to be in place, like John Moughan or Anthony Cunningham who will not entertain celebrities. Andy is by nature too much of a gentleman for this job."
We've won the same amount of all irelands as mayo in the past 70 years but I take your points. One has only to look at Louth and how they've come on with Mickey Harte to see what someone with sterling managerial experience can do. We beat Louth off the field in a championship game not so long ago, they'd hammer us now .
Jim Gavin wouldn't touch us, but maybe Declan D'Arcy just might.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 10/04/2023 15:06:22    2470036

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "How many years has it taken mcentee to get ye out of division 4??"
3 years down in Division 4 and glad to be out of it. McEntee had to take over a shambles of a situation that Taylor left the county in. Perhaps Leitrim should do a similar job and forget about Andy for 2024 as no sign of Leitrim getting out of Div 4 any time soon. Tis a wonder the population excuse of New York hasn't come out of ya.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 10/04/2023 15:39:38    2470046

Full game available here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uQfA0T0cPFE

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 10/04/2023 15:57:15    2470048

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "It is awful disappointing to see Leitrim beaten in New York, I'd have a grá for my close neighbours. But it is massively unfair to expect ye to play New York with your population size and resources. NY can transfer in players from every county and also players from other cities in America (Carthy came over from Boston). It is the equivalent of some of this country's biggest town playing them. I couldn't see Blanchardstown or Navan getting a result over there. This again highlights the total unfairness of the championship. I hope ye give the Tailteann cup a good rattle."
Sure Navan can't even get a result in senior club football in Meath. Weren't they relegated last year? You need to come up with feasible comparisons in future.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 10/04/2023 17:14:34    2470069

I don't think talking about underage coaching or county board is for a different thread. TBF to the county board over the last 20 years they have all changed, COE Is fully functional now they have brought made bad appointments. But they have also made good ones M Moran, Terry Hyland and in my opinion Andy Moran, However over the last 20 years one person has remained and that's the man responsible for running the coaching program in the county. Leitrim had one of the best coaches for under age in Leitrim who went and gained his experience in Dublin and highly regarded in Dublin when he was forward thinking and trying to improve structures in the county he was met with a brick wall because it would have meant our coaching officer actually had to do some work. It's the biggest issue we have and until it's sorted we will never improve

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 10/04/2023 18:56:38    2470092

Still in a bit of shock and disbelief over Saturday night. It absolutely had been coming and of course NY have ran ourselves, Sligo and Roscommon close in recent years but clearly they target this game as the one that they really can win. I got that sinking feeling as soon as NY kicked the last equaliser in normal time. We fell asleep for the concession of that score, got attracted to the ball and let NY's main man drift into an ocean of space. Was still a great kick under the circumstances but it was a very poor score to concede. Couple of points that really have stuck with me and having watched the game back again:

1. That is another tight game we have lost this year. Wexford, Wicklow, Sligo and now NY. Is that down to conditioning or is that just simply down to game management? I think Saturday night was game management. We got ourselves into good scoring positions but we unable to convert. We were the top scorers throughout the league in the country but spurned at least 5/6 good goal chances. We had enough goal chances to win 2 games but we weren't clinical enough. That kept NY in the game and the longer they stayed in it the more worrying it became.

2. The lack of any great power on the bench really, really killed us. Bar Sweeney our subs made little or no impact. NY had a much stronger bench to call upon and it told. Starting Prior was a mistake. He was very very quiet. Rooney was a big loss and of course we have been missing O'Rourke all year. NY subs kicked 5 points, we kicked 3 (all from the boot of Sweeney).

3. Our spread of scorers was really really poor. We have in total 4 scorers out of 21/22 players used. NY had 8/9 scorers i think i counted. That is simply not good enough and our reliance of Beirne to score really really told Saturday night.

4. As already mentioned above our game management was poor for a side who had played a full league campaign and been involved in tight games already this year. We didn't seem to have learnt from it at all. It really is fine margins,
Composure at key moments. McNulty rushing the mark late on and kicking it with his weaker foot and Plunkett having all the time in the world to steady himself and slot over a winning score but rushed it. The goals chances, that comes down to composure. McLoughlin did pretty much everything right and the keeper pulled off a fantastic save however, Beirne x 2 and Heslin have got the do better with their chances. Maguire probably should have pulled the trigger a split second earlier. As i said it's fine margins.

5. Finally & not wanting to try make any excuses as our penalties were very very poor but watching the game live i thought the NY keeper game well off his line for at least 2 of our penalties. Re watching the game confirmed this indeed was the case.

I'm not sure where we go from here. It's a low point. It will be interesting to see what the reaction is like come the start of the TC. It could really go either way. That loss will really hurt the players and management team as nobody wanted to be the first side to loss out in NY. I hope we can rally, use the defeat and 5/6 week break to our advantage and put in a good showing in the TC.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 11/04/2023 08:15:54    2470116

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "3 years down in Division 4 and glad to be out of it. McEntee had to take over a shambles of a situation that Taylor left the county in. Perhaps Leitrim should do a similar job and forget about Andy for 2024 as no sign of Leitrim getting out of Div 4 any time soon. Tis a wonder the population excuse of New York hasn't come out of ya."
Yes exactly. Three years. Andy is there for two only. So as saying ye are very similar to us in many ways despite what you like to tell yourself. Let's see how ye get on in connacht final and the Premier competition shall we and then you can decide which table you think ye should be dining at.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 11/04/2023 08:51:55    2470123

Replying To giveitlong:  "Full game available here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uQfA0T0cPFE"
Yer grand thanks!

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 11/04/2023 09:25:11    2470132

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Yes exactly. Three years. Andy is there for two only. So as saying ye are very similar to us in many ways despite what you like to tell yourself. Let's see how ye get on in connacht final and the Premier competition shall we and then you can decide which table you think ye should be dining at."
I think Leitrim will go well in Tailteain cup

New York could have heated Sligo last year - Maxine hit the cross bar and Sligo scored straight from the rebound

This is a better new York team and I don't think there is anything much between Leitrim and Sligo!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 11/04/2023 09:37:26    2470139

Leitrim will have to treat this game much differently the next time they go, that is for sure.

Long past time there was a home and away arrangement for this fixture. And for London too. But that won't happen.

In reflection I don't think we needed to see what the team or the executive branch were eating for breakfast either on social media or see them training in gaelic park (which in itself is unfit for purposes of holding a championship game.

It is the little things like these that can breed complacency, something I doubt will happen again. By 2028 the championship will look wildly different anyway probably and we may not be going there, I reckon there will be no provincials like now.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 11/04/2023 09:40:30    2470141

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Yes exactly. Three years. Andy is there for two only. So as saying ye are very similar to us in many ways despite what you like to tell yourself. Let's see how ye get on in connacht final and the Premier competition shall we and then you can decide which table you think ye should be dining at."
Ya and in those three years we've lifted an u20 and minor title. Acceptance is the first part of recovery they say…you in particular seem to be in total denial of the state of Leitrim. Clutching at well we only lost by this amount to such a team and look where they are is sheer folly. They've spent just 1 year out of Division 4 in the last must be 14/15 years and next year with Laois, Longford and Tipp in it there's no sign of it to change. The big score difference often mentioned here was down to two games really Carlow and Waterford…look where they ended up at the weekend. One poster rightly has questioned the ability to win tight close games, that to me is a game management issue that should be able to be orchestrated from the man on the sideline picking out lads he knows he can trust to kill it off.

I'd love to see Leitrim improve and wish them well in TC, but a bit of realism needed by a few of ye.

I'd sooner be hammered in the Connacht final than have the humiliation of losing to New York for the first time and be everyone's wish list for a game in the TC

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 11/04/2023 09:57:25    2470144

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Ya and in those three years we've lifted an u20 and minor title. Acceptance is the first part of recovery they say…you in particular seem to be in total denial of the state of Leitrim. Clutching at well we only lost by this amount to such a team and look where they are is sheer folly. They've spent just 1 year out of Division 4 in the last must be 14/15 years and next year with Laois, Longford and Tipp in it there's no sign of it to change. The big score difference often mentioned here was down to two games really Carlow and Waterford…look where they ended up at the weekend. One poster rightly has questioned the ability to win tight close games, that to me is a game management issue that should be able to be orchestrated from the man on the sideline picking out lads he knows he can trust to kill it off.

I'd love to see Leitrim improve and wish them well in TC, but a bit of realism needed by a few of ye.

I'd sooner be hammered in the Connacht final than have the humiliation of losing to New York for the first time and be everyone's wish list for a game in the TC"
Ye were pretty close to being humiliated last year. I am discussing the senior mens team not minor or under 20s. Would you like to bring the women's game into it also??

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 11/04/2023 10:13:25    2470147

I thought the journey home from Wicklow and Wexford was long this year.

Coming through JFK and the journey back home has left me with so many thoughts.
Sorrow for the Leitrim players, embarrassment, anger at some of the coverage that the game/result has received and thoughts of where this leaves Leitrim football.

Firstly, congrats to New York. But anyone saying this is a shock is so far off the mark. That New York Panel was stacked with Players who have played at far higher levels than most of our boys.
Add in the travel, the pitch etc and it was a perfect ambush.

The reality is Leitrim won't win many (tight) games when missing the amount/calibre of players that we have been missing. O'Rourke, D.Rooney, Casey, McGloin, Jordan Reynolds off the top of my head. Then think about the players who didn't commit or emigrated this year and you can see why we have struggled with most half decent teams this year.

However, and it hasn't been said and won't be said in the media but our coaching has to be questioned. We had the second lowest conversion rate of shots at goal in a senior championship game since records were taken.

Some of our defending was pathetic at times and our kickouts were once again like something from 20 years ago. We hoofed long Kickouts into Gavin O'Brien, Mark Ellis and Johnny Glynn - all men who are over 6.3. Crazy stuff.
For ex. They brought on a sub at half time who kicked 4 points and we didn't react on the line or make a switch.

We have no defined style if play or structures in what we are trying to do apart from hoping that Keith Beirne does the business. But there's now a vast amount of games for both club and county where Keith can be marked out of a game. He's still immense but we won't win many matches when we expect him to do it on his own.

I thought Plunkett, Maguire and Dolan all played really well but out from that we really struggled. Our half back line - as has been the case all year were destroyed.

There will be knee jerk reactions as it's NY we lost to. But it must be remembered that they have some tremendous players. It was a perfect storm.
We really need to see an upturn in our performances come the Tailteann Cup otherwise hard questions are going to have to be asked. Especially as there's talk numerous players from the other day will not be commiting for various reasons next year.

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 11/04/2023 10:26:53    2470151

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Ye were pretty close to being humiliated last year. I am discussing the senior mens team not minor or under 20s. Would you like to bring the women's game into it also??"
Keep the end in the sand good man…we were ran close last year but we still won and by 4 in the end. Minor and u20s is a sign of how county is going and naturally feed into senior team…but perhaps your view of the world is different

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 11/04/2023 10:42:14    2470157

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Keep the end in the sand good man…we were ran close last year but we still won and by 4 in the end. Minor and u20s is a sign of how county is going and naturally feed into senior team…but perhaps your view of the world is different"
The end in the sand?? What end are you referring to here?

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 11/04/2023 11:38:05    2470191

I thought this score for NY shows the need for Andy to introduce the kind of tigerish marking his own County have perfected. Not a glove left on anyone in this passage of play, and the Leitrim Goalie lucky not to be carded for a nasty off the ball thud on a NY player who had come to the assistance of an injured Leitrim man.

https://www.tiktok.com/@gsmusic64/video/7220365763733933317

After just one weekend of football championship action seven teams are already in the draw for the group stages of the Tailteann Cup.

Confirmed so far are Antrim, Carlow, Leitrim, London, Longford, Waterford, Wexford.

The Tailteann Cup will have 17 teams taking part. New York's win over Leitrim put them one victory away from the Sam Maguire Group stages.

The original plan for the Tailteann Cup was for New York to play in the preliminary quarter-final rather than the group stages, Should they progress to the Connacht final then they will take part in the group stages of the Sam Maguire competition, and the Tailteann Cup will then be made up of three groups of four teams and one group containing five counties.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 11/04/2023 11:42:33    2470193

A team we always going to get caught eventually. Its a pity it had to be you but the sooner you get over it the better. Will hard regroup for rest of this year. Sooner Leitrim change manager the better. Moran was a mad appointment. next to no experience, Not exactly the most likable fella was never going to end well.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 11/04/2023 12:00:44    2470204

Replying To Champotime18:  "I don't think talking about underage coaching or county board is for a different thread. TBF to the county board over the last 20 years they have all changed, COE Is fully functional now they have brought made bad appointments. But they have also made good ones M Moran, Terry Hyland and in my opinion Andy Moran, However over the last 20 years one person has remained and that's the man responsible for running the coaching program in the county. Leitrim had one of the best coaches for under age in Leitrim who went and gained his experience in Dublin and highly regarded in Dublin when he was forward thinking and trying to improve structures in the county he was met with a brick wall because it would have meant our coaching officer actually had to do some work. It's the biggest issue we have and until it's sorted we will never improve"
Agree totally, and yes he did walk from the coaching role as every idea he had and wanted to implement was disregarded and not taken on board. Seemingly it's impossible to work with the coaching officer in Leitrim who goes through the motions and actually does nothing.

Now he is up the road with our neighbours who just got relegated, surely he can be tempted back and given the coaching officers job here with a Carte Blanche to do what he sees fit and proper. If that happened I could see us competing for minor and under 20 trophies regularly in 5-8 years time and senior Connacht titles in 10-12 years. It's a long term project but it's possible

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 643 - 11/04/2023 13:03:04    2470235

People are entitled to be angry at the performance. There's no point whinging about the players that weren't there. We had more than enough chances to hammer New York without the injured players.
All of these issues were highlighted during the league and they came back to bite us in the most embarrassing way. Either the players ignored what they were being told or they weren't told.
There were plenty of lads playing that were there in 2018. Big enough and old enough therefore to keep the head.
Complacency,laziness and delusions of grandeur. The most important job this year was to get promoted. They failed. And now this!
More excuses. We're the poor man's Mayo. Happy to fail and wallow in misery. There'll always be enough gob****** to tell you you're great. Poor Leitrim. I'll eat my hat if they get to the final of the T.C but they won't.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 11/04/2023 13:37:53    2470246