Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Breffni1969:  "It takes years to recover from TH being in charge ."
Leitrim had made progress under him, got up to Div 3 and competitive in matches there then covid came. He also did a lot of good work with Cavan including the U21 success and many of those players still playing for Cavan.

Appointing a rookie like Andy Moran was risk and last night's result proves it was one that wasn't worth taking.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 09/04/2023 14:20:44    2469781

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "Not true, in the New York 15 they had only 4 home grown players and 9 or 10 players with inter county experience. Most the subs they got on had previous intercounty experience too."
So what limit do you want set then? 4 seems like a good number for a county with a very small underage steucture. Same for London. NY haven't played any games together unlike Leitrim who had a preseason plus the League. You had 15 players with intercounty experience. This all just seems like excuses.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 09/04/2023 14:43:05    2469786

Out of the championship in April. Hard to credit it. Its a long summer ahead. And still the county final will probably be on a cold dark October Sunday with the rain coming sideways.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 09/04/2023 15:02:50    2469792

It was a good match. Back for scoring and lead changes. I think at times Leitrim's defense seemed disorganized.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 09/04/2023 15:07:08    2469795

Replying To mikeyjoe:  "It was a good match. Back for scoring and lead changes. I think at times Leitrim's defense seemed disorganized."
The number of goal scoring chances Leitrim botched was unbelievable and the wides were worse. Not much a manager can do if he does not have the forwards. Perhaps Andy Moran should have togged out and played for the final ten minutes.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 09/04/2023 15:18:31    2469796

NY would have beaten a hell of a lot of teams yesterday. Longford, Carlow, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Antrim - would any of these have beaten NY?? I don't think so. This is the standard we are at.

Yes we should be better, we could be better but we are not.

Previous poster was right about the long term appointment in coaching there for 20 years and he hasn't a clue. He has to go.

I always think your county team is only as good as your club scene. Our club teams and our players look good to us during Leitrim championships but in reality our club standard is poor. We have never won a connacht club title at any level the only county not to do so. Haven't been in a senior club final in 28 years!!! Look at what st. Dominic's from Roscommon done to aughnasheelin
last year in their intermediate game.
Other counties intermediate winners or junior winners would win our senior championship.

Get the club scene and coaching right and the county team improves by default. Slating Andy Moran is pointless - if he was managing Mayo they would be tipped for the all Ireland and he'd be a great manager. We need every club to step up and the Co board to make big big calls and stop the jobs for lads nonsense.

I'm hoping this will be our wake up call and a starting point for improvement. It's the only positive we can take

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 643 - 09/04/2023 17:03:56    2469820

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "NY would have beaten a hell of a lot of teams yesterday. Longford, Carlow, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Antrim - would any of these have beaten NY?? I don't think so. This is the standard we are at.

Previous poster was right about the long term appointment in coaching there for 20 years and he hasn't a clue. He has to go.

I always think your county team is only as good as your club scene. Our club teams and our players look good to us during Leitrim championships but in reality our club standard is poor. We have never won a connacht club title at any level the only county not to do so. Haven't been in a senior club final in 28 years!!! Look at what st. Dominic's from Roscommon done to aughnasheelin
Other counties intermediate winners or junior winners would win our senior championship.

Get the club scene and coaching right and the county team improves by default. Slating Andy Moran is pointless - if he was managing Mayo they would be tipped for the all Ireland and he'd be a great manager. We need every club to step up and the Co board to make big big calls and stop the jobs for lads nonsense.

I'm hoping this will be our wake up call and a starting point for improvement. It's the only positive we can take"
All what you say is very good in theory but in reality how do you do that? How do you improve the club scene?? How do you improve the coaching? In a practical sense like?

We can all throw out suggestions but how do you actually implement the changes? You need good people on the ground and the ones we do have are not involved and won't get involved.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 09/04/2023 17:45:36    2469832

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "NY would have beaten a hell of a lot of teams yesterday. Longford, Carlow, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Antrim - would any of these have beaten NY?? I don't think so. This is the standard we are at.

I'm hoping this will be our wake up call and a starting point for improvement. It's the only positive we can take"
I think all those teams bar maybe waterford, carlow and wexford would beat NY.

kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 09/04/2023 17:48:34    2469834

Any truth in the rumours that the lads are staying on for extra few days to do some high altitude training in the Catskill Mountain range?

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 09/04/2023 18:44:19    2469875

Replying To kudos:  "I think all those teams bar maybe waterford, carlow and wexford would beat NY."
No, this game was different from anything you would see here it terms of the open nature of it and the slack marking here is just one example. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zh3FAIp5QcA

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 09/04/2023 20:27:52    2469902

Replying To kudos:  "I think all those teams bar maybe waterford, carlow and wexford would beat NY."
Couldn't see any of them beating NY.

If NY played in Leinster they wouldn't be waiting on their first win they would have had it a few years ago.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 643 - 09/04/2023 20:50:36    2469909

Replying To Rolo2010:  "So what limit do you want set then? 4 seems like a good number for a county with a very small underage steucture. Same for London. NY haven't played any games together unlike Leitrim who had a preseason plus the League. You had 15 players with intercounty experience. This all just seems like excuses."
My comment was referring to you stating new york only had a few inter county players which was far from the truth.

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 09/04/2023 21:25:49    2469922

Leitrim have a county board that continually chops and changes management, Terry Hyland is a good manager and won promotion., the players then let him down not attending training and got him replaced. Co board went for the big name. That never managed anywhere.

Leitrim have no coaching structure, a poor club scene and a lot of players who aren't as good as some people think they are. They also lack any original thinkers at co board level. The new York defeat was one that had been coming for a long time

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 09/04/2023 21:38:28    2469924

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "A disgrace. Let's call it as it is instead of rolling out the same tired excuses. We've heard them all at this stage. We're enabling this if we try and come up with excuses. It's what we are great at. Deluding ourselves that what we've been at for the past 25 years is good enough. Deluding ourselves that we are doing the right thing. We're not and we haven't been doing it for a long, long time. And don't bother telling me about sacrifices etc. etc. These lads are well looked after. Park that bull.

I've read on this forum that the lads are very happy with management. I can well believe it. I've read people giving out about Riordan O' Rourke allegedly walking. I don't blame him if he walked because he saw through the bull.

It's the same nonsense every year. Figure out too late that we could and should have been promoted. If only, if only.... The lead into the championship is either the same nonsense about New York or London, Sligo are the same level (they're not by the way) or maybe, just maybe if we play to our best and one of the big three have an off day, whisper this, we could take them. But it'll be a great experience getting hammered by them.

Then it's like child birth. We lap up the sob stories and the faux sympathy and we move onto the club scene. The wounds are healing by the time we've finished that and we sit back and wait for the league to start again. And it goes on and on and on. We'll post stuff on social media about yellow hats and walking 500 miles and put up pictures about lads eating their breakfast pretending they're celebrities. Harsh but true. Earn it instead of pretending that you've achieved something. Be honest with yourselves.

Should we at least have beaten New York comfortably. Yes we should. Stupid decisions that have been made throughout the league and obviously no "learnings" taken on board.

Oh and don't bother with the other age old excuse of population etc etc. Look at Sligo. Rugby and soccer are massive. Look at what they're achieving. Look at Fermanagh, Monaghan, Roscommon, Clare etc. etc.

We're full of excuses and great at convincing ourselves that it'll come good. It won't. Last night was no surprise."
I posted here days after Andy taking on this job that prior to taking up the role he took advise from other managers including JM who has had success in managing counties from lower divisions. I would go so far as to say JM sowed the seeds for the harvest Roscommon are enjoying this past 6 years or so, though their supporters are in denial about it. He made the hard calls in dropping big names and laid the foundations for a much more professional approach by those in charge. Anyway JM encouraged Andy to proceed but with 1 caveat . "If you expect these lads to put in the same effort and commitment that you put in for Mayo, then don't take the job". One must ask the question, if Jim Gavin and his backroom team, and all the resources that are available to the Dubs, was in charge of Leitrim, would things be any different? James Horan came in for stinging criticism around 8 years ago for taking the NY game too seriously and not making the lads available for hospitality events. Every urban temptation is put in the path of teams who come over for this game, the ones you point out, the full Irish and the full hog, being the least problematic. Leitrim can attain the heights of Clare, Sligo and maybe in a frw years Roscommon, but a strong manager needs to be in place, like John Moughan or Anthony Cunningham who will not entertain celebrities. Andy is by nature too much of a gentleman for this job.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 10/04/2023 10:03:31    2469957

Moran will do another as he signed up to a 2 year deal when Mayo were looking for a manager last year. After the year Is up if we don't get promoted then I would say he'll prob walk away. Then the big question who do you get that brings it on another step? I have no doubt Andy's training and preparation is very professional so the players won't accept a drop in that regard. We can all talk here but the best players in Leitrim are playing for Leitrim apart from a very small few that went travelling. So it's vital we keep all them lads on board. I'd be confident Andy will keep that panel together and if it can get the few injured lads back we will get out of div 4 in 2024

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 10/04/2023 11:34:21    2469977

And I didn't think the weekend could go much better after our performance but by god fair play Leitrim…to those posters here on about the ifs and buts and calls in the league game between us ye got yer answer now. Leitrim under Andy have made zero progress. Fitness wise and strength and conditioning wise they are not at the races and it will be an awful blot on his copybook going forward to be the first manager to lose to New York.

Tbf New York had a fair outfit of lads who have plenty of medals to back up their ability. They smelt blood and fair play to them they took it. Wishing ye the best in Tailteann but every other county will be wishing yer in their group too

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 10/04/2023 11:57:59    2469986

There's one man who may be exempted from abuse and that's Conor Dwyer.

Some may ask "whom" but he was listed at No.10 in the 1st. team announcement - replaced by Darragh Rooney at 10 as per the GAAGO team sheet shown just prior to the start and nowhere to be seen according to their lists.

Not a starter, not a sub, the man just vanished into the ether.

Our very own Keyser Soze……..

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 10/04/2023 13:31:11    2470003

There is no doubt this defeat is a serious blow to Leitrim football, there is a sombre mood around the county since the game. Another must win game we let slip. Having had time to gather my thoughts a few points;

1. Huge congratulations to New York, as disappointing as it is to us , the scenes of joy from them at the end was some sight. They have waited a long time for this and had a lot of near misses so I don't begrudge them their victory and good luck to them against Sligo.

2. We have no one but ourselves to blame for losing. So many goal chances butchered when getting one of them would probably have got us over the line. Similar to the Sligo and earlier games in the league we lacked composure when the pressure was on. Outside of Keith and a great cameo off the bench from Evan Sweeney we hadn't enough of a scoring threat , others done well at times but didn't take the scoring chances that came their way. Once it went to penalties it was a complete lottery and New York held their nerve better in fairness but we shouldn't have let it get that far.

3. Andy Moran is a nice approachable guy who in my opinion has the best of intentions but questions are going to be asked of him and his management team especially with what it's costing no promotion in two attempts and now first team that loses to New York it doesn't look great for him. His constant positivity is admirable but there comes a time when you have to go out and get results when the pressure is on and unfortunately we haven't done that. Some of the decision making on the sideline and team selections and subs is questionable, he's certainly going to come under scrutiny now.

4. The players are not exempt either. Their commitment is unquestionable but some of the mistakes made, wides kicked ,soft frees conceded and lack of composure under pressure is killing any chance of winning important games that matter. While management will deservedly ship criticism the players have a lot of soul searching to do. Hopefully they stick together as they will get a lot of criticism and it would be easy to walk away from that.

5. Maybe us as supporters need to stop hyping the team up. It's been said in some quarters this is the best team since 94, that's not true the Dessie Dolan team of the 00's would have won that game in New York easily and indeed if they had a forward of Keith Beirnes calibre they would have won a connacht title in that era as they were close back then. This team has achieved nothing close to that unfortunately and until /if they do achieve something of significance can't be compared to either of those teams. Maybe we believe we've a better squad than we actually do I don't know.

Tough time to be a Leitrim supporter and hard to see much hope going forward either.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 10/04/2023 13:48:41    2470008

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "And I didn't think the weekend could go much better after our performance but by god fair play Leitrim…to those posters here on about the ifs and buts and calls in the league game between us ye got yer answer now. Leitrim under Andy have made zero progress. Fitness wise and strength and conditioning wise they are not at the races and it will be an awful blot on his copybook going forward to be the first manager to lose to New York.

Tbf New York had a fair outfit of lads who have plenty of medals to back up their ability. They smelt blood and fair play to them they took it. Wishing ye the best in Tailteann but every other county will be wishing yer in their group too"
How many years has it taken mcentee to get ye out of division 4??

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 10/04/2023 14:53:46    2470026

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "And I didn't think the weekend could go much better after our performance but by god fair play Leitrim…to those posters here on about the ifs and buts and calls in the league game between us ye got yer answer now. Leitrim under Andy have made zero progress. Fitness wise and strength and conditioning wise they are not at the races and it will be an awful blot on his copybook going forward to be the first manager to lose to New York.

Tbf New York had a fair outfit of lads who have plenty of medals to back up their ability. They smelt blood and fair play to them they took it. Wishing ye the best in Tailteann but every other county will be wishing yer in their group too"
Bit of a silly post to be coming thumbing your nose at us. It isn't as if Sligo are world beaters and if you manage to beat NY (by no means guaranteed) you can look forward to four hidings after that. Not exactly a happy outlook. But sure enjoy it too.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 10/04/2023 15:01:17    2470032