Leitrim GAA thread

This business of naming players who aren't currently involved is very disingenuous. Lads have injuries, work commitments and in some cases time constraints. It's unfair to label them as "dissidents" and is unhelpful to everyone - the lads themselves, their clubs and the county management team.

We are where we are as they say. We have a panel that came incredibly close to bring promoted (2 more points the last day would have done it) and now must regroup for a difficult assignment in New York (pop 10m).

Last years snowmen have melted, we have to gather ourselves and put our best foot forward.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 02/04/2023 20:28:42    2468394

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Its a person's choice whether they wish to discuss an issue or not. If it bothers you so much feel free to leave our page or just don't comment. Its quite simple really. You have that choice."
I think the reply from boxtyeater was perfect

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 02/04/2023 21:28:20    2468419

Replying To eoinog:  "I think the reply from boxtyeater was perfect"
Thanks for that! Glad to know now.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 02/04/2023 21:59:32    2468430

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "This business of naming players who aren't currently involved is very disingenuous. Lads have injuries, work commitments and in some cases time constraints. It's unfair to label them as "dissidents" and is unhelpful to everyone - the lads themselves, their clubs and the county management team.

We are where we are as they say. We have a panel that came incredibly close to bring promoted (2 more points the last day would have done it) and now must regroup for a difficult assignment in New York (pop 10m).

Last years snowmen have melted, we have to gather ourselves and put our best foot forward."
Why is it disingenuous? It goes on on all the local forums and there is no blame being attached to those players by most posters. It is a statement of fact that all these players are out, for whatever the reason and that is what we are up against.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 03/04/2023 08:50:48    2468446

Heard that a certain player (very likely starter) will not be part of the travelling party to NY as he was previously refused entry into the US so will not be allowed enter the country this time around either.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 03/04/2023 09:23:26    2468452

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Heard that a certain player (very likely starter) will not be part of the travelling party to NY as he was previously refused entry into the US so will not be allowed enter the country this time around either."
Heard the same. Shame really.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 03/04/2023 11:49:03    2468482

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "This business of naming players who aren't currently involved is very disingenuous. Lads have injuries, work commitments and in some cases time constraints. It's unfair to label them as "dissidents" and is unhelpful to everyone - the lads themselves, their clubs and the county management team.

Last years snowmen have melted, we have to gather ourselves and put our best foot forward."
I never blamed any players not part of the panel or named them "dissidents". I've no idea why some of the players I've named aren't on the panel either due to injury, selection or they just don't want to play county this year. I myself if I had the skill to play county football don't think I'd be able to commit. It's a massive sacrifice. I was merely giving an example of how much better we could be if we had those 15 lads available. I don't blame anyone for not wanting to play county especially after the past 2 years of covid I'd say it's put it into perspective for some lads that life's short and going out and seeing the world and being able to enjoy going out on the weekend and enjoying themselves might be better than playing county. I do believe we'll see most them lads will back in the green and gold hopefully sooner than later cause my god we need them.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 03/04/2023 12:39:13    2468503

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Heard that a certain player (very likely starter) will not be part of the travelling party to NY as he was previously refused entry into the US so will not be allowed enter the country this time around either."
The American's dont mess about or forget about past discretions if not sorted out. Pity but the lad only has himself to blame.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/04/2023 13:41:27    2468535

Replying To Square_B:  "The American's dont mess about or forget about past discretions if not sorted out. Pity but the lad only has himself to blame."
I keep forgetting that being vaxxed still comes into play there. Load a rubbish when the cert actually does not have to be up to date. but sure you have to respect other country's rules if you want to get in.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 03/04/2023 13:56:37    2468543

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Below is a team off the top of my head of 15 lads that either through injury, travels or not committing aren't playing for Leitrim. This team would beat NY next weekend and definitely would put it up to our current starting 15 if not beat them too. Please feel free to add in lads I haven't thought of because I definitely have left some out.

1. Brendan Flynn
2. Oisin Mcaffrey
3. Donal Casey
4. David Bruen
5. Ciaran Cullen
6. Jack Gilheany
7. Conor Cullen
8. Aaron Hoare
9. Shane Moran
10. Cillian McGloin
11. Dean McGovern
12. Riordan O'Rourke
13. Jordan Reynolds
14. Niall McGovern
15. Ryan O'Rourke"
That team wouldn't get near the team that played Sligo. You are stirring and talking nonsense.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 03/04/2023 14:32:25    2468565

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I keep forgetting that being vaxxed still comes into play there. Load a rubbish when the cert actually does not have to be up to date. but sure you have to respect other country's rules if you want to get in."
That's it. I don't think a nine dollar meal would help you over there.

I begin to get very nervous about this game, and wonder why on earth NY aren't pushed around all the provincial championships to lighten the burden.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 03/04/2023 16:16:54    2468599

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I keep forgetting that being vaxxed still comes into play there. Load a rubbish when the cert actually does not have to be up to date. but sure you have to respect other country's rules if you want to get in."
I doubt it was anything to do with not being vaxxed. I remember this being an issue in 2018 as well...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/04/2023 16:18:41    2468601

Replying To Square_B:  "I doubt it was anything to do with not being vaxxed. I remember this being an issue in 2018 as well..."
Correct. My understanding is that it is nothing to do with any vaccination.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 04/04/2023 07:51:30    2468683

Ah, nuff said. Most likely a J1/ holiday as a youngster that was enjoyed too much then.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 04/04/2023 11:00:57    2468730

The fact that someone allegedly can't travel to a championship game makes a mockery of having NY in the competition. And it is my opinion that they should not be in it for a number of reasons.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 04/04/2023 12:48:23    2468761

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "It's taken a few days for that performance and result to sink in.

The result itself is so so disappointing. With 5 minutes left ourselves and Laois were being promoted but the reality of it is when the game finished we were in 5th place in division four. A bottom half team in the weakest division. The players have set to high of a standard in the last few years to hide from that fact. If that was any other management team there would be serious questions being asked.

The performance itself was so blunt and really poor. If we are being honest Sligo were at least a 6 point better team then us. It would have been a lovely daylight robbery if they won. We were so deep and invited Sligo onto us and went out of the game after the first 10 minutes. We rallied really well when it looked as if there was nothing to play for but in reality their was no plan as to what we were doing. It was all guts at hearts from the lads and a fantastic performance from Tom Prior that got us back into the game.

I see a poster is getting abuse for saying Keith doesn't perform when it matters. If we just take this game in isolation he was roasted.
Have a watch of this video https://twitter.com/NoPlanBGAA/status/1640379215982874628.
I would say Keith won't mind admitting that himself. It can happen to any player on any day. The problem is we have had no strategy whatsoever all year apart from hoping that Beirne kicks 10 points a game. You might get away with that against poor teams but against half decent opposition it just won't happen.

Paul Keaney isn't ready or conditioned enough to play at midfield on a county team just yet. I thought he should have been on the 40. But taking him and Plunkett off with 15 minutes left was lunacy and made me question Morans decision making once again. We had no shooters left on the field when it mattered and it meant Sligo could crowd Beirne out. We all know Plunkett and Keaney have the ability to kick long range scores and draw the opposition out. Which would have created space for our inside forwards.

Starting Domhnail Flynn in our half back was a nightmare waiting to happen and it's exactly what occurred. Trying to copy what Mayo are doing with Conor Loftus was a lazy strategy.

Fair play to Nevin O'Donnell for keeping us in the game with the two superb saves he made but his kickouts along with Beirne being out of the game were the main reason we lost the game. It was like watching Leitrim in the 90s where every kickout would be ballooned upon the great Mickey Quinn. Pearce Dolan (and Plunkett in the first half) were having to jump against two men every time and was completely gassed by the end of the game. I'm not sure if we went short once?

Paddy Maguire was exceptional again but I do think we got it wrong and he should have been our man marker closest to our goals. Diffley was roasted and doesn't have the power to compete yet. He was brushed aside at times.

The referee was a disgrace I thought at significant moments as well which was the most frustrating thing.

From what I know there has been no falling our with Ryan O'Rourke but after NYC he will not be a part of the panel along with a few other squad players. Its completely understandable. He can't get his body right to play and with the management Fenagh have in place there is now real pressure to win the club championship.

New York have Quinlivan from Tipp and Gavin O'Brien from Kerry and it was interesting to see some of their management team in the Pairc at the weekend."
I'm only getting over the Sligo game now. That was a great report on the game.. Interesting video on Keith. But we can't rely on him to pull us out of the ditch and it was great to see lads come on and make a difference and go for scores. Its a pity we didn't rob it but that's what it would have been. At the end of the day, we lost by 1 point to the table toppers. Promotion was lost in the south east.

The atmosphere in Carrick was unreal during the comeback. We're so clearly starved of success.

Great to hear the Leitrim chant again. More of that please.

Thank you and good luck to Emlyn.

Good luck to the U21s tonight..

As for New York. Nothing fancy-just get in and get out with any sort of a win please!

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 04/04/2023 15:35:35    2468823

Replying To Square_B:  "I doubt it was anything to do with not being vaxxed. I remember this being an issue in 2018 as well..."
..and 2003

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 04/04/2023 15:49:28    2468826

What are our chances this evening in under 20s? Very few reports from the camp and we seem to be coming in under the radar. Exactly how brenda guckian would want it. Can he pull off yet another shock victory when odds stacked against him?

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 04/04/2023 16:30:49    2468840

Replying To Mugatay:  "..and 2003"
Different fellow involved in that... same fella I understand now / 2018.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/04/2023 16:32:15    2468841

Another disappointing u20 defeat, we could have levelled it and were looking the best side in the second half, same old story
I think county board need a long hard look at themselves and their recruiting policy for coaches at underage level, our young fellas are being ill served at the minute imo with coaching.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 04/04/2023 19:57:15    2468900