Leitrim GAA thread

howdareu no offence but i think your previous name on here "kentuckytucky" was better.

One reads not listens on a discussion forum. Enough of the thank yous, you aren't writing a letter. Each to their own however one account is all i need to get my view across and over the last decade or so I've given honest and neutral opinions.

I can't speak for other posters but trust me i was in no way trying to belittle you. It was genuine question as even over here in New York we have those who's main interest is in the county game.

The main topic of discussion on this Leitrim thread right now should be the club season and nothing was added to the debate with that sarcastic remark the other day.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/08/2022 15:45:55    2436220

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Why, do you think, that McStay is deserving of the Mayo job?"
Can you tell me why he isn't? We can both play that game.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/08/2022 21:17:39    2436266

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "howdareu no offence but i think your previous name on here "kentuckytucky" was better.

One reads not listens on a discussion forum. Enough of the thank yous, you aren't writing a letter. Each to their own however one account is all i need to get my view across and over the last decade or so I've given honest and neutral opinions.

I can't speak for other posters but trust me i was in no way trying to belittle you. It was genuine question as even over here in New York we have those who's main interest is in the county game.

The main topic of discussion on this Leitrim thread right now should be the club season and nothing was added to the debate with that sarcastic remark the other day."
I never said you belittled me so why are you saying that? You are getting mixed up between your accounts. That was aimed at one of your other accounts- the analyser one. So it's obvious you are the same poster. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 05/08/2022 11:18:58    2436295

Replying To Square_B:  "Can you tell me why he isn't? We can both play that game."
Just give him some job and get him off the TV. It's not fair on TV licience holders to have to listen to him for another year!!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 05/08/2022 13:16:58    2436328

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Just give him some job and get him off the TV. It's not fair on TV licience holders to have to listen to him for another year!!"
You wouldn't be much of a pundit if you couldn't talk a bit of ***** but that doesn't make him a bad manager. The management team he has assembled is probably the best of them all. And he has the experience at club & county, and played county himself back in the day; by all accounts he was a decent enough player. I thought he did alright at Roscommon given the financial restraints they were under at the time. Whoever it is will have a job on their hands regardless. Anyhow back the auld LEITRIM GAA chat....

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 05/08/2022 13:43:20    2436335

Replying To howdareu:  "I never said you belittled me so why are you saying that? You are getting mixed up between your accounts. That was aimed at one of your other accounts- the analyser one. So it's obvious you are the same poster. Thank you."
Are you back to trying to "listen" instead of reading what was wrote? You claimed to be going college elsewhere so probably best that you act the adult on here than playing the 12 year old.

I have one account while we all know you have gone through countless usernames (each to their own i suppose) For some odd reason you got upset when i asked you why did you ditch kentuckytucky, you eventually told me it was a stupid username! TBH howdareu and no offence isn't much better.

Now back to why I'm on here, that sarcastic remark caught my eye. I'll ask this one more and try answering like an adult and no need for any thank yous.

Are you one of these "supporters" that has just a big interest for the county scene and just a small passing interest for club football?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 05/08/2022 17:01:37    2436360

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Are you back to trying to "listen" instead of reading what was wrote? You claimed to be going college elsewhere so probably best that you act the adult on here than playing the 12 year old.

I have one account while we all know you have gone through countless usernames (each to their own i suppose) For some odd reason you got upset when i asked you why did you ditch kentuckytucky, you eventually told me it was a stupid username! TBH howdareu and no offence isn't much better.

Now back to why I'm on here, that sarcastic remark caught my eye. I'll ask this one more and try answering like an adult and no need for any thank yous.

Are you one of these "supporters" that has just a big interest for the county scene and just a small passing interest for club football?"
I am not answerable to you even though you think everyone should answer to you under this name and your other one and however many more nobody knows. I think you should just admit you are the same poster.

Everyone knows you are and you may notice over on your own home page in the roscommon thread posters ignore your essays and "analysis!" Its about time you took the hint. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 06/08/2022 18:17:27    2436466

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Are you back to trying to "listen" instead of reading what was wrote? You claimed to be going college elsewhere so probably best that you act the adult on here than playing the 12 year old.

Are you one of these "supporters" that has just a big interest for the county scene and just a small passing interest for club football?"
Ridiculous sarcastic remark. Plenty of posters on here that enjoy their club football as much if not more than the county teams in action. Don't feed that troll.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 06/08/2022 19:35:52    2436470

Replying To Yondu:  "Ridiculous sarcastic remark. Plenty of posters on here that enjoy their club football as much if not more than the county teams in action. Don't feed that troll."
Have wasted my time feeding him, seems obsessed with some other poster. Unable to act the adult,read what was wrote or answer a simple question.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 06/08/2022 21:12:30    2436483

Replying To Square_B:  "Can you tell me why he isn't? We can both play that game."
It's a simple question based on your assertion that he deserves the job.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 07/08/2022 09:42:15    2436503

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's a simple question based on your assertion that he deserves the job."
Look I couldn't give a sh1t who gets the Mayo job but seeing as you're so touchy about the subject, if you care to look back over the last few posts you'd get your answer. While you're at it, tell us all why he doesn't deserve the job?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 07/08/2022 15:46:14    2436544

Good league final with Carrick putting it right up to Mohill. Huge game between them on Friday night now. Especially for Carrick who will be away to either Ballinamore, LG, the Willies or Gortletteragh next out due to the absolutely ridiculous format they've put in for the championship.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 08/08/2022 08:25:51    2436594

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Have wasted my time feeding him, seems obsessed with some other poster. Unable to act the adult,read what was wrote or answer a simple question."
You would waste less of your time if you stayed on your own Forum in roscommon and just used one name rather than the multiple accounts you have.

This will be my last time replying to you on this issue as you have belittled me so often and shown complete disrespect. You are a complete troll. The only other posters who reply to you is yourself under your different names which is funny.

Anyway I have to go now as I have a busy day ahead of me. I wish you well and hope you have a nice day in the plains of roscommon. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 08/08/2022 08:50:49    2436597

In the week leading up to championship draw and league finals all the talk on this forum was about the mayo manager, kevin mcstay and and users bickering over usernames. Can we get back on track after all the forum is called the Leitrim GAA thread

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 08/08/2022 09:16:10    2436600

The moderator, who monitors all posts, should fire those silly posts between folk arguing over usernames/you said/I said into the bin. Lads merely demeaning themselves in an effort to be seen to be right on the internet…..

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 08/08/2022 11:40:43    2436624

Leitrim Senior championship First Round draw

Dromahair vs Ballinamore
St Marys vs Mohill
Melvin Gaels vs Gortletteragh
Manor vs Leitrim gaels
Fenagh vs Willies

So all teams will have two home and away fixtures. I believe all away teams this weekend play at home in round 2. So the likes of Gortletteragh could have Manor, Fenagh, Dromahair or Marys - cause these are the four that had home fixtures in round 1- at home in Round 2. I was wondering how this will work for the third and fourth round. So in Round 3 Gortletteragh would be away and again the only four teams that were away from home the week before are Manor, Fenagh, Dromahir or Marys. Or is it in Round 3 that all ten go into the pot again and Gortletteragh could have two home games in a row,

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 08/08/2022 14:18:15    2436666

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Leitrim Senior championship First Round draw

Dromahair vs Ballinamore
St Marys vs Mohill
Melvin Gaels vs Gortletteragh
Manor vs Leitrim gaels
Fenagh vs Willies

So all teams will have two home and away fixtures. I believe all away teams this weekend play at home in round 2. So the likes of Gortletteragh could have Manor, Fenagh, Dromahair or Marys - cause these are the four that had home fixtures in round 1- at home in Round 2. I was wondering how this will work for the third and fourth round. So in Round 3 Gortletteragh would be away and again the only four teams that were away from home the week before are Manor, Fenagh, Dromahir or Marys. Or is it in Round 3 that all ten go into the pot again and Gortletteragh could have two home games in a row,"
All 10 teams go into the pot again

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 08/08/2022 18:25:48    2436709

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "The moderator, who monitors all posts, should fire those silly posts between folk arguing over usernames/you said/I said into the bin. Lads merely demeaning themselves in an effort to be seen to be right on the internet….."
I was a moderator on Boards.ie for a short period of time not a whole lot can be done. I gave the boot to one chap 33 times and towards the end he would plea to get banned. All a big game to them with loads of time of their hands.

Gaa_lover and the analyser should not engage. Trolls like howdareu love nothing more than been fed and its like a badge of honour to them when eventually banned.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/08/2022 18:51:06    2436712

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "Good league final with Carrick putting it right up to Mohill. Huge game between them on Friday night now. Especially for Carrick who will be away to either Ballinamore, LG, the Willies or Gortletteragh next out due to the absolutely ridiculous format they've put in for the championship."
I actually think it's worth trying... there was no incentive these last few years for any team to put real effort in at group stage knowing all you'd need to win is one match in your group. And it keeps it fresh with the next round to be drawn after the last is completed. Fair play to Aughnasheelin for putting it forward and the clubs for adapting. From what I heard the league final was tight enough so it will be interesting to see how they fare at the weekend.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/08/2022 19:11:11    2436715

Replying To Square_B:  "I actually think it's worth trying... there was no incentive these last few years for any team to put real effort in at group stage knowing all you'd need to win is one match in your group. And it keeps it fresh with the next round to be drawn after the last is completed. Fair play to Aughnasheelin for putting it forward and the clubs for adapting. From what I heard the league final was tight enough so it will be interesting to see how they fare at the weekend."
I actually agree. I think this is a great idea and freshens it all up. Makes it interesting as no team can say oh we can target games 2 and 3 coz they could be real tough ones depending on draw so have to go all out from day one.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 09/08/2022 09:48:37    2436746