Leitrim GAA thread

That was a poor effort from our lads, looked very tired, basic mistakes.

It wouldn't have made a difference but I found the refereeing baffling, for both sides.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 41 - 17/04/2024 19:55:54    2538705

Very disappointing performance by the lads tonight. They didn't perform near to the level we know they can.

I didn't understand why Andy was so slow to make changes it was obvious we were being overrun and out muscled in midfield. Yet still Guckian and McNulty both seemed to be playing in the forward line for the majority of the game. We were also very sloppy on the ball and giving it a way constantly.

What did Cox do to get the second yellow? Was it a strike? However still the referee was very very poor he didn't seem to be able to keep up with the pace of the game at all. He also needs to scrub on the rule that you can't tackle a man who's in the process of going down to pick up the ball. He wasn't the losing of the game however.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 242 - 17/04/2024 20:00:47    2538707

Back to reality 4d u20s.. Disappointed with the performance tonight but fair dues to roscommon.. By far the better team in all aspects of the game I. E conditioning

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 17/04/2024 20:59:24    2538715

same auld story tonite!
There was far too much hype around these young lads! It seemed like they thought they just had to show up! There has never been a Leitrim team yet that deserved the hype and talk that this team has got in the last forthnight!
Fair play they bet mayo, but they still came second last!
Over and out!

blackpuddin (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 17/04/2024 21:41:57    2538726

Hand passing over and back and retreating back then when opposition gets numbers back. We have good players but we are bet before we kick a ball with the system the players are asked to play. Why are our young players not coached to kick the ball.

Leitrim36 (Leitrim) - Posts: 59 - 17/04/2024 22:31:32    2538739

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "That was a poor effort from our lads, looked very tired, basic mistakes.

It wouldn't have made a difference but I found the refereeing baffling, for both sides."
Good taste of the Maryland in fairness. Just saying.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 17/04/2024 22:37:56    2538741

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Very early in the game here Roscommon look to have done their homework well on us. Pressing our lockout and not letting us out easily. Wasn't sure why the other teams we faced to date didn't try this already. Need a few long kickouts to shake it up."
In contrast to our other group games, Leitrim conceded our kickouts which I think was a tactical error. We couldn't win our own kickouts to save our lives when teams did a hard press on our kickouts.
Game was very finely balanced until we got the two goals approaching half time and the score gap at the end not an accurate reflection of capabilities of both teams. Genuinely sorry for Leitrim lads as there was a weight of expectation on their shoulders which is not easy to handle when success comes passing slowly. That is generally our lot too only it tends to come at later stages.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 17/04/2024 23:32:01    2538747

Replying To facethepuckout:  "In contrast to our other group games, Leitrim conceded our kickouts which I think was a tactical error. We couldn't win our own kickouts to save our lives when teams did a hard press on our kickouts.
Game was very finely balanced until we got the two goals approaching half time and the score gap at the end not an accurate reflection of capabilities of both teams. Genuinely sorry for Leitrim lads as there was a weight of expectation on their shoulders which is not easy to handle when success comes passing slowly. That is generally our lot too only it tends to come at later stages."
I was at the Galway v Roscommon match in Hyde Park last week and in the terms of kickouts it was 50/50 and it's worth taking into account that Galways midfield pairing are All Ireland winning partnership from two years ago. Galway beat Leitrim 2-16 to 0-13 and it accurate reflection of the contest, Leitrim missed a penalty in that game and gifted a goal late on to the young tribesmen.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 18/04/2024 01:50:35    2538759

Miles off it lastnight in the Conditioning side of things, it was like boys vs Men. If you take the bad goalkeeping mistake for Ben's Goal it was over by half time. There was a lot of pressure put on these young lads last while to save leitrim football. Apart from the 3 that's already with the Seniors maybe Ben and Paul will all that will move to the senior team down the line. When there's such a gap at conditioning already between our u20s with Roscommon is really doesn't bode well. They been to beat Mayo again now in a couple of weeks

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 18/04/2024 08:00:47    2538763

We're u at any match we wiped mayo midfield out of it after the substitutions in 25th minute and we more than held our own v sligo.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/04/2024 08:28:05    2538765

On the plus side, instead of the usual one game and they're gone scenario we usually have, our young bucks played four games and showed they can compete with other teams in the province which should be a help going forward. And there's another game to go, albeit consolation.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 41 - 18/04/2024 10:30:11    2538782

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "On the plus side, instead of the usual one game and they're gone scenario we usually have, our young bucks played four games and showed they can compete with other teams in the province which should be a help going forward. And there's another game to go, albeit consolation."
Could be 3 to go with the All Ireland B to play for if ye can bate Mayo again!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1430 - 18/04/2024 11:09:43    2538797

Replying To Leitrim36:  "Hand passing over and back and retreating back then when opposition gets numbers back. We have good players but we are bet before we kick a ball with the system the players are asked to play. Why are our young players not coached to kick the ball."
To be fair to this team kicking the ball has been the most impressive aspect of their game to date. Not sure why they were so poor and reluctant to do so last night. Occasion possibly got to them.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 242 - 18/04/2024 11:24:16    2538801

Was at the game last night. Great set up in Ballinamore. Serious performance from the young rossies. Huge pace and power. Seriously well coached team, you could see they had there homework done on leitrim and have done the same in all previous games. They have a big backroom team by all accounts the players seem to be really buying in.

rossie4sam (Roscommon) - Posts: 4 - 18/04/2024 11:35:01    2538804

I think this is the first year in a lifetime we had a competitive team at this level, anyone expecting too much of these young lads is a fool, when you come from a county with a tradition of being beaten out the gate on your first day out and back to the club straight after you have a slim chance of getting to or winning a provincial final the first year you are competitive. Now we have see a glimpse of what these lads can do vs Sligo and Mayo, key thing is to keep the squad together for the remainder of the b championship (however long that may be) and keep developing the lads who are underage next year to kick on and come back stronger plus whoever comes up from minor next year.
Shame on anyone calling this young lads overhyped or a disgrace, show us all your provincial medals you have won and then you can talk. This is essentially a development age grade

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 461 - 18/04/2024 11:55:28    2538812

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Could be 3 to go with the All Ireland B to play for if ye can bate Mayo again!"
Is there an All Ireland B competition this year?

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 18/04/2024 12:06:30    2538818

I know every one on here goes on about Andy in and Andy out. I personally have always said assess the situation at the end of the year. I still stand by that. I've also seen many Mayo folk in national media saying recently that Andy is a shoe in for the next Mayo manager.

I've noticed though he is extremely slow to make changes in games. Tactics I don't think is his strong point. Although that is not all that makes a good manager. Inspiring players and training are also equally important. With a good backroom team behind him he could be a good manager but I don't think you can have as a one man band like a McGuinness or a Jim Gavin. He'd do more of a similar role as a Colm O'Rourke or Kevin McStay.

Last night I would have had serious questions over him though. Bobby Nugent was tearing us apart and we never made a change. Arguably our best man marker was on the bench instead of marking him (I understand he has been out with illness for most of this championship). He persisted with leaving McNulty inside and Guckian seemed to spend a lot of time inside too. Meanwhile we were getting torn apart in midfield. Darren Cox was playing too far out from goal to make any real threat. Majority of these things seemed fairly obvious to most watching the game at half time but no real changes were made.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 242 - 18/04/2024 12:07:40    2538819

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I know every one on here goes on about Andy in and Andy out. I personally have always said assess the situation at the end of the year. I still stand by that. I've also seen many Mayo folk in national media saying recently that Andy is a shoe in for the next Mayo manager.

I've noticed though he is extremely slow to make changes in games. Tactics I don't think is his strong point. Although that is not all that makes a good manager. Inspiring players and training are also equally important. With a good backroom team behind him he could be a good manager but I don't think you can have as a one man band like a McGuinness or a Jim Gavin. He'd do more of a similar role as a Colm O'Rourke or Kevin McStay.

Last night I would have had serious questions over him though. Bobby Nugent was tearing us apart and we never made a change. Arguably our best man marker was on the bench instead of marking him (I understand he has been out with illness for most of this championship). He persisted with leaving McNulty inside and Guckian seemed to spend a lot of time inside too. Meanwhile we were getting torn apart in midfield. Darren Cox was playing too far out from goal to make any real threat. Majority of these things seemed fairly obvious to most watching the game at half time but no real changes were made."
Agree.. Nugent was the biggest threat and he caught a mark and then caught another ball which led to the goal with his marker 10 years of him.

What I couldn't understand is been 9/10 points down and bringing on 2 defenders...made zero sense.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 18/04/2024 12:21:44    2538822

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Is there an All Ireland B competition this year?"
Yes there is. If we beat Mayo we will be in it. I presume it's one team from each province then and a semi final and final

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 18/04/2024 12:24:21    2538823

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I think this is the first year in a lifetime we had a competitive team at this level, anyone expecting too much of these young lads is a fool, when you come from a county with a tradition of being beaten out the gate on your first day out and back to the club straight after you have a slim chance of getting to or winning a provincial final the first year you are competitive. Now we have see a glimpse of what these lads can do vs Sligo and Mayo, key thing is to keep the squad together for the remainder of the b championship (however long that may be) and keep developing the lads who are underage next year to kick on and come back stronger plus whoever comes up from minor next year.
Shame on anyone calling this young lads overhyped or a disgrace, show us all your provincial medals you have won and then you can talk. This is essentially a development age grade"
agree completely! Give these young men a chance to play and fail. They are young. I'm not sure of the wage Andy is getting but we should have a better senior set up.

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 18/04/2024 12:31:06    2538825