Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Wait til our under 20s play ye in championship this year !"
We are forewarned now.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 04/04/2024 11:42:41    2535562

Replying To gaelsboy:  "agreed. people will say it is only U20 but in ways that is more important for us as we are building for the future, no point expecting the moon and the stars from the current senior setup, they have had a good year but we know their limitations in terms of defense and conditioning.
And well done to Andy on deciding not to play lads that played last Saturday, a win Sunday would be nice but not the be all and end all, reward is a semi final we have not a chance in hell of getting through"
Agree

I have no doubt they will have a go though

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 12:03:17    2535566

I don't want to jinx it but I believe results like yesterday will come more regularly in the next few years at u17/u20 level. A lot of this panel are still eligible next year and we've had some good success with last years u15/u16 panels. This success will eventually bleed into the senior team.

It's a testament to the coaching and hard work being put in at club level. The level of coaching was not there in the past and clubs and county have put in great work to increase that level.

Connacht final should be the aim for these boys now. I was also told the squad had been hit with illness over the past two weeks and were down a good few players. Fair play to them for lifting the county again ahead of the weekend.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 04/04/2024 12:31:14    2535577

Brilliant result last night. I actually get a bigger buzz out of our underage teams getting wins like that than our seniors getting out of division 4. The future is beginning to look bright. Well done to all involved a result like that gives the players, managent and supporters some boost!! Leitrim Abù.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/04/2024 12:36:37    2535583

Superb win for the u20s last night . Good signs of things to come . Does anyone know if we have any players injured and when they will be back

Honeyman2000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 04/04/2024 13:23:06    2535599

Last night in ballinamore would do your heart good. To hear the mayo manager saying they were out muscled and weren't able to match Leitrim physicality. Mayo were cleaned at midfield. Obviously you can't tell how lads will progress but straight away I picked out at least 5 or 6 players not including the 2 lads already with the senior panel that can make the step up to improve us at senior level over the next 3 or 4 years. It's even more crucial that we stay in Div 3 never season to give these lads a chance at playing in a higher div. The 5 from last night that I think will make the step up is Arek, Eanna McNamara, Ben Guckin, Jack Casey and Paul Honeyman. I have no doubt others are good enough as well. These lads seem a little ahead in terms of S&C. All in all a really strong team but next Wednesday going into Sligo against the all-Ireland finalist of 2023 is a huge game. Beat Sligo and you should make the top 3. The big job for the Leitrim County Board is to lock Andy Moran down for another few years and let him continue to build on what he has started. It's going to be Slow progress with hick ups along the way but the we are on the road now it's crucial to keep moving forward regardless of how long it takes to get to the the destination

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/04/2024 14:46:59    2535617

Replying To lugdrum:  "Last night in ballinamore would do your heart good. To hear the mayo manager saying they were out muscled and weren't able to match Leitrim physicality. Mayo were cleaned at midfield. Obviously you can't tell how lads will progress but straight away I picked out at least 5 or 6 players not including the 2 lads already with the senior panel that can make the step up to improve us at senior level over the next 3 or 4 years. It's even more crucial that we stay in Div 3 never season to give these lads a chance at playing in a higher div. The 5 from last night that I think will make the step up is Arek, Eanna McNamara, Ben Guckin, Jack Casey and Paul Honeyman. I have no doubt others are good enough as well. These lads seem a little ahead in terms of S&C. All in all a really strong team but next Wednesday going into Sligo against the all-Ireland finalist of 2023 is a huge game. Beat Sligo and you should make the top 3. The big job for the Leitrim County Board is to lock Andy Moran down for another few years and let him continue to build on what he has started. It's going to be Slow progress with hick ups along the way but the we are on the road now it's crucial to keep moving forward regardless of how long it takes to get to the the destination"
Let's not carried away. It's one win with the best bunch of players we have had in years. Let's see if we can stay in Div3 before handing out long term contracts. We were a dodgy last minute penalty away from being stuck in div 4. Let's be balanced about things.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 04/04/2024 15:29:29    2535634

What's the story with people on here either being "get Andy out" and other people who want to give him another 3 years already. There seems to be no middle ground on this. Let's wait until the end of the season and see where we are then. At the minute Andy's doing a good job and long may it continue. I don't think he's shot the lights either so I wouldn't be offering him a long term contract. There's no fear really of him leaving us for another team like someone else suggested. So let's just enjoy the rest of the season and see where we lie at the end. Any "Andy out" talk or "Andy in" should just be left now as it's becoming really boring.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 04/04/2024 16:00:38    2535645

Replying To lugdrum:  "Last night in ballinamore would do your heart good. To hear the mayo manager saying they were out muscled and weren't able to match Leitrim physicality. Mayo were cleaned at midfield. Obviously you can't tell how lads will progress but straight away I picked out at least 5 or 6 players not including the 2 lads already with the senior panel that can make the step up to improve us at senior level over the next 3 or 4 years. It's even more crucial that we stay in Div 3 never season to give these lads a chance at playing in a higher div. The 5 from last night that I think will make the step up is Arek, Eanna McNamara, Ben Guckin, Jack Casey and Paul Honeyman. I have no doubt others are good enough as well. These lads seem a little ahead in terms of S&C. All in all a really strong team but next Wednesday going into Sligo against the all-Ireland finalist of 2023 is a huge game. Beat Sligo and you should make the top 3. The big job for the Leitrim County Board is to lock Andy Moran down for another few years and let him continue to build on what he has started. It's going to be Slow progress with hick ups along the way but the we are on the road now it's crucial to keep moving forward regardless of how long it takes to get to the the destination"
Hopefully your best young players stay at home, trouble is nowadays so many are emigrating, same old story in Ireland.
Great to see Leitrim on the up and things are looking good for the future, best of luck against Sligo.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 04/04/2024 16:01:31    2535647

"Lock Andy Moran down for another few years"

Oh I laughed... christ there's some deluded folk here. People have some short memories. Time for Andy to move on at the end of the season and let Mickey take us on further... after all that's what he was brought in for after the embarrassment of 2023.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/04/2024 16:03:29    2535650

Replying To Square_B:  ""Lock Andy Moran down for another few years"

Oh I laughed... christ there's some deluded folk here. People have some short memories. Time for Andy to move on at the end of the season and let Mickey take us on further... after all that's what he was brought in for after the embarrassment of 2023."
Mickey has been a huge addition to the set up I have no doubt and I believe he will take the job when Andy does finish up. Andy has the team going in the right direction. For the first time in a long while you don't hear of players out drinking or breaking bans etc. for the first time in a very long time you had a Leitrim team physically demolish Mayo in a championship. For only the second time we have gained promotion out of Div 4. Should have happened before now under Andy as we were really unlucky against Sligo last season. Building a professional environment in a small county isn't easy getting the by in from
Players is harder again. Andy is ticking a lot of the boxes. Long may it continue.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/04/2024 17:31:20    2535671

Replying To lugdrum:  "Mickey has been a huge addition to the set up I have no doubt and I believe he will take the job when Andy does finish up. Andy has the team going in the right direction. For the first time in a long while you don't hear of players out drinking or breaking bans etc. for the first time in a very long time you had a Leitrim team physically demolish Mayo in a championship. For only the second time we have gained promotion out of Div 4. Should have happened before now under Andy as we were really unlucky against Sligo last season. Building a professional environment in a small county isn't easy getting the by in from
Players is harder again. Andy is ticking a lot of the boxes. Long may it continue."
Everything you say is true.

Building the professional environment is key and it is Andy who has made that happen.

He has also had the self confidence to bring in Mickey Graham who has made a great contribution and is well respected.

As for Square D , his drum has been punctured!!

We move on without him.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 18:01:10    2535678

Who are player's 5 and 6 ??. You only got as far a 4

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 04/04/2024 18:10:07    2535681

Replying To joeman123:  "Everything you say is true.

Building the professional environment is key and it is Andy who has made that happen.

He has also had the self confidence to bring in Mickey Graham who has made a great contribution and is well respected.

As for Square D , his drum has been punctured!!

We move on without him."
You're completely delusional Joe.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/04/2024 20:19:19    2535697

I'd take Andy Moran in a heartbeat.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 04/04/2024 21:02:04    2535708

Replying To Ros2013:  "I'd take Andy Moran in a heartbeat."
He may yet manage his native county.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 04/04/2024 21:45:47    2535713

Replying To Thejampot:  "Who are player's 5 and 6 ??. You only got as far a 4"
Darren Cox was also excellent he has a great eye for a pass. Jake Tobin was everywhere and is a real enjoyable player to watch. Constantly winding up the opposition you love to see it. Brian Cull was a giant in nets again. They all were top class and we've more lads to come back who were out with illness/injury since the Galway game.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 04/04/2024 22:00:08    2535716

Replying To endgame:  "He may yet manage his native county."
Talk to Square B he will arrange the transfer arrangements!!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 22:31:49    2535718

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Darren Cox was also excellent he has a great eye for a pass. Jake Tobin was everywhere and is a real enjoyable player to watch. Constantly winding up the opposition you love to see it. Brian Cull was a giant in nets again. They all were top class and we've more lads to come back who were out with illness/injury since the Galway game."
Who are the guys to come back ?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 22:32:53    2535719

Replying To Thejampot:  "Who are player's 5 and 6 ??. You only got as far a 4"
I hope your aren't an accountant. I have named 5 players.
1. Areak Oberwan
2. Eanna McNamara
3. Ben Guckin
4. Jack Casey
5. Paul Honeyman

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/04/2024 23:14:20    2535722