Leitrim GAA thread

Stopped for a break on the way home.

Feeling a bit deflated after the game as I I was hopeful we would do better.

Anyway thanks for a great campaign Leitrim and let's start building for Division 3 now.

I notice our great Leitrim knockers are back on the forum, having been absent since Leitrim got promotion.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 30/03/2024 21:09:43    2534702

Replying To joeman123:  "Stopped for a break on the way home.

Anyway thanks for a great campaign Leitrim and let's start building for Division 3 now.

I notice our great Leitrim knockers are back on the forum, having been absent since Leitrim got promotion.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Was there a big Leitrim crowd at the match.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 30/03/2024 21:30:48    2534709

Replying To endgame:  "Was there a big Leitrim crowd at the match."
Leitrim support....bit of an oxymoron

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 30/03/2024 21:36:38    2534711

Replying To joeman123:  "Stopped for a break on the way home.

I notice our great Leitrim knockers are back on the forum, having been absent since Leitrim got promotion.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
You're delusional Joe. We can all move on with Mickey next year with the help of god so I won't have to listen to yes men like you.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 30/03/2024 22:22:20    2534718

Poor display today from Leitrim. Was surprised there wasn't more players from Mohill and St Mary's on the pitch. They are really going to have to improve greatly to give Sligo a proper game. The 2 O'Rourke's were the only forwards that looked capable of scoring.

Balty (Roscommon) - Posts: 1 - 30/03/2024 22:53:05    2534722

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Not Andy's fault - Leitrim defence is without their weakest unit. Defenders are are a low ebb in a Leitrim. If we had a John McKeon or Michael McGuinness class defender to mark Evan today we could have won - but we don't have a defender of that class.

Our midfield can usually break even and our attack outscore opposition. Unfortunately today Laois were superior all over the field. Our attack was so poor. Did Rooney even get a score? Was our goalkeeper our top scorer?

My only hope is the team seen Sligo next week as an opportunity and they decided to not show their hand today. Back in carrick we are and can be a different team - hoping for that. Promotion is a given - the rest of the season starts now

Let's progress"
Andy Moran is there for three seasons now and no improvement defensively has been seen. He's former forward with little experienced in management who focus is too much on attacking and not enough on defence. You don't have to have a top of range defender from yesterday year to defend a lot better than Leitrim as a team currently are. The first goal given away today a prime example with Shaun Fitzpatrick little totally unmarked to set up the games opening goal,

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 30/03/2024 23:02:26    2534723

Replying To totalrecall:  "Leitrim support....bit of an oxymoron"
Hard luck to Leitrim today. Laois just performed better on the day. I am pleased our neighbours won, but I would not have begrudged the Ridge County a league title. The GAA is not just the big counties, it is the small counties like Leitrim and other small counties that keep on fielding teams and doing their counties proud. Keep at it folks, and best of luck in the championship.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1743 - 30/03/2024 23:03:38    2534724

Enjoyable match.
Unlucky Leitrim.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 30/03/2024 23:25:17    2534727

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "An incredibly poor performance today. We were out-muscled, out-fought, out-run by a team we defeated a couple of weeks ago. Today we made Laois look like vintage Dublin. They were hungrier, more committed, slicker, faster both in limb and brain and this was reflected on the scoreboard.
There wasn't any great evidence of corrective signals coming from the sideline either. Withdrawing Riordan O'Rourke (0-02) was the old chestnut again - we're losing badly, take off the corner forward. Ryan displayed the vast repertoire of skills that he possesses and can rightly be proud of his days work.
The championship beckons next weekend and so the merry dance continues. It will be difficult to inspire enthusiasm in the squad after today's humiliation so I'd say, provisionally, it's safe to book your holidays around the weekend of the Connacht final."
Funny thing about sports is that you can bounce back from even the worst defeat.Sure Leitrim were off their game against a team who their homework done on us but in the overall scheme of things we are promoted which for a Amy County with a limited pick & several key players either injured or unavailable we aren't doing too badly. While I want Us to defeat Sligo where do you go from there.? a bad beating against Galway & then the Tailteann Cup. ?
A good performance on Sunday will wipe out the Croke Park disappointment. As for our U20 game against Mayo on Wednesday I hope Barry & Jack play ,we could make an impact in this Competition 3 teams in the mix for honours.Despite todays poor performance the Leitrim football Cup is still half full! A good team doesn't become a bad one overnight.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 31/03/2024 00:29:22    2534734

I'm greatly confused, Ted. I didn't see the game; I have it recorded and haven't got round to watching it yet. But I saw the GAA's highlights video on Twitter. At half time we were four points down. When Nevin O'Donnell fired over his rocket in the 47th minute we'd cut the deficit to two points and were outscoring Laois 0-3 to 0-1 for the second half. But for the remainder of the game we were outscored 2-06 to nil! What the hell happened? How was such a collapse possible?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 31/03/2024 00:45:40    2534736

Replying To LozzyLolo:  "The quicker Killian Gaffeney gets game time the better and get Nevin out of there…..such an unnatural keeper, a proper keeper saves those last 2 goals but Mr Moran persists with him"
he doesn't even start for st Mary's and everyone is calling for him to be leitrims no1. He's a good goalie but the only level he's played at is st Mary's junior team. Maybe he will be Leitrims next goalie but he has done nothing yet on the field to be in with contention.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 31/03/2024 04:15:36    2534741

Very disappointing today. Some very sloppy goals conceded. Laois is definitely a team we are capable of beating. Today we looked like we were lacking leadership. There was no one for us that looked like they'd take the game by the scruff of the neck. We were missing beirne (contentious ino) and Heslin massively.

Are defence isn't up to standard at all. Yes we want to play progressive football with backs that can get up the field and create/kick scores. But the reality is nearly every club in the county has better full/corner backs better than what we've put out in the past 2 years.

We can still go and take on Sligo next weekend and get a win.

Today was brilliant though I'm a young man myself and I hope we've more days like today. Although we lost I've never had craic like we had in kennedys today before the game.. We had all had goosebumps walking up the road and seeing croke park ahead of us. Let's fight to stay in division three next year and push on and have more days like today in the future.

Leitrims fortunes changing we can all feel it.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 31/03/2024 04:32:23    2534742

Hard luck yesterday lads. Ye put up as good a performance as can be expected. But ye hardly thought ye had a chance of winning a final in Croke Park with a Mayo man over ye did ye?!!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 31/03/2024 10:23:25    2534760

Replying To Square_B:  "You're delusional Joe. We can all move on with Mickey next year with the help of god so I won't have to listen to yes men like you."
Joe is delusional and I'd say played very little football. Yesterday was embarrassing. Wexford were by some distance the second best team in the division but promotion is achieved and that's a positive. Defensively we were a shambles. Laois could have easily beaten us by another 10 or 11 points. Our kickouts were shocking, our keeper was our top scorer but resulted in very tired kickouts. Very little movement for him in his defence. Kickouts need to be worked on this week. We need more athletic footballers too many of our lads aren't athletic enough to play the modern game. That's not a dig at any S&C coach I just don't think it's in some of them. Hopefully we get a reaction next week against Sligo because yesterday was embarrassing.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 31/03/2024 10:36:56    2534762

Leitrim looked like a team yesterday that had put in so much during the league campaign that it just caught up with you in the 2nd half. Croke Park is a very unforgiving place and Leitrim just seemed to run out of steam. Laois are probably a Division 2 team really and are used to playing at Croke Park.

Best of luck next week against Sligo. That should be a cracker.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 31/03/2024 11:41:32    2534772

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Very disappointing today. Some very sloppy goals conceded. Laois is definitely a team we are capable of beating. Today we looked like we were lacking leadership. There was no one for us that looked like they'd take the game by the scruff of the neck. We were missing beirne (contentious ino) and Heslin massively.

Are defence isn't up to standard at all. Yes we want to play progressive football with backs that can get up the field and create/kick scores. But the reality is nearly every club in the county has better full/corner backs better than what we've put out in the past 2 years.

We can still go and take on Sligo next weekend and get a win.

Today was brilliant though I'm a young man myself and I hope we've more days like today. Although we lost I've never had craic like we had in kennedys today before the game.. We had all had goosebumps walking up the road and seeing croke park ahead of us. Let's fight to stay in division three next year and push on and have more days like today in the future.

Leitrims fortunes changing we can all feel it."
Stopped reading after Laois is definitely a team we are capable of beating. Joke shop

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 342 - 31/03/2024 11:56:10    2534774

Replying To williesboy:  "Stopped reading after Laois is definitely a team we are capable of beating. Joke shop"
I had a good chuckle at that too! Realistically what teams in Div 3 will you best next year and are better than ?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 31/03/2024 12:10:52    2534776

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Joe is delusional and I'd say played very little football. Yesterday was embarrassing. Wexford were by some distance the second best team in the division but promotion is achieved and that's a positive. Defensively we were a shambles. Laois could have easily beaten us by another 10 or 11 points. Our kickouts were shocking, our keeper was our top scorer but resulted in very tired kickouts. Very little movement for him in his defence. Kickouts need to be worked on this week. We need more athletic footballers too many of our lads aren't athletic enough to play the modern game. That's not a dig at any S&C coach I just don't think it's in some of them. Hopefully we get a reaction next week against Sligo because yesterday was embarrassing."
Our goalkeeper was excellent from the ground and that monster score from play, but he's simply not a keeper which shows in the 2nd and 3rd goals for Laois yesterday. It's great scoring 3 points but realistically he gave away 6/7 points in my opinion.

Leitrim95 (Leitrim) - Posts: 4 - 31/03/2024 12:46:21    2534781

I watched the match on TV. Thought the Ref made a very poor call early on giving a free out against the Leitrim no 13 when he was clearly fouled (with an arm around his neck). The first Laois goal should have been disallowed as the defender was clearly fouled. Thought the some of the Leitrim forwards had a poor work rate not tracking back especially in second half. Laois were the better team and would be considered in the top 4 Leinster teams and I'd expect them to fear no one except Dublin in the Leinster championship.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/03/2024 12:53:47    2534783

Laois were the better team, but not by 14 points. The Ref I thought was very hard on Leitrim, and the loss of a player like Keith is massive in a game like this. Any Idea when he will return?

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 31/03/2024 13:21:41    2534787