Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Yes and I'm delighted to eat humble pie. Fantastic effort to secure promotion after the Carlow and Longford results. Huge congratulations to the lads and the management team. Its a huge boost for football in the county. It really is. Leitrim abú."
I'll still stand by my comments on a certain manager and the addition of a certain Cavan man this season who in my opinion is why we are where we are tonight. I'll certainly eat humble pie when it comes to the team, there's no point in suger coating about how lucky we were to scrape through but we will take it with open arms. Too many hard luck stories in Leitrim for us not to. We will see what Sligo are up to in a few weeks time... lads there seem to be awful concerned about what we're at here. Leitrim abú!

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 16:09:18    2533134

Well done and good luck in div3 next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 24/03/2024 16:09:46    2533135

Congrats guys - If we couldn't go up am glad ye could. Fair play.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 472 - 24/03/2024 16:15:38    2533144

Replying To MylesNaGopaleen:  "Sligo Neddy, bog off"
Aye some craic from a sligo man. Only saving grace for them is that kerry lad

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 16:19:05    2533148

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Congrats guys - If we couldn't go up am glad ye could. Fair play."
Fair dues

Nice post

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 24/03/2024 16:58:15    2533183

Congrats to principally the squad of players who put in the hard graft, the management team and the long-suffering supporters on a fully deserved promotion to D3. 5 wins from 7 doesn't always guarantee promotion but in this case it sufficed.
Huge credit to the management and players of Wexford who went about their business in the true spirit of the game agus mar focail scoir - commiserations to our neighbours Longford who just came up short. The best of luck to all for the coming weeks.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 24/03/2024 17:18:17    2533193

Replying To MylesNaGopaleen:  "Sligo Neddy, bog off"
My comment was in relation to underage what the original discussion was about, particularly the u20. Well done to ye on yer promotion considering ye had to beat Laois away to rescue it, it was great going and enjoy the league final. I don't begrudge ye a run in Div 3 next year at all. But if ye have any sense don't get carried away by it, there's plenty of football to be played this year including a meeting with ourselves in two weeks.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 24/03/2024 17:18:20    2533194

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "Congrats to principally the squad of players who put in the hard graft, the management team and the long-suffering supporters on a fully deserved promotion to D3. 5 wins from 7 doesn't always guarantee promotion but in this case it sufficed.
Huge credit to the management and players of Wexford who went about their business in the true spirit of the game agus mar focail scoir - commiserations to our neighbours Longford who just came up short. The best of luck to all for the coming weeks."
Well said, true words

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 24/03/2024 17:43:17    2533206

Replying To Square_B:  "I'll still stand by my comments on a certain manager and the addition of a certain Cavan man this season who in my opinion is why we are where we are tonight. I'll certainly eat humble pie when it comes to the team, there's no point in suger coating about how lucky we were to scrape through but we will take it with open arms. Too many hard luck stories in Leitrim for us not to. We will see what Sligo are up to in a few weeks time... lads there seem to be awful concerned about what we're at here. Leitrim abú!"
Sour grapes again!

Wise up

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 24/03/2024 17:44:05    2533207

Well done to Leitrim, keep her going now and get up to div 2 next and Sam Maguire.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 24/03/2024 17:50:21    2533212

Well done lads delighted to go up, we were nervy today but got the job done Darragh Rooney all through and Ryan in the second half kept the scoreboard ticking over also thought Barry McNulty, Pearse Dolan and Aidan Flynn had great games. Fair play to Wexford they put Longford to the sword they will be sick with the last minute penalty in Carrick and rightly so but the ref gave it and we certainly got the rub of the green there we'll take it though. Hopefully we'll give a big performance in Croke Park next weekend great to be there.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 24/03/2024 17:54:58    2533213

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done to Leitrim, keep her going now and get up to div 2 next and Sam Maguire."
Indeed, well done Leitrim, push on now for division 2, it will help keep the better players involved. Best wishes for the Connacht championship.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 24/03/2024 18:03:18    2533221

Well done Leitrim a proud gaa county, no doubt yous will travel in huge numbers next week. Was there a few years ago when yous played Derry in league final.. fantastic support

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 24/03/2024 18:19:00    2533231

Congrats and best of luck in Croke Park. Ye are well able to compete in division 3 and I wouldn't be surprised to be playing ye in division 2 in two to three years of ye. A bring some of the u20s along .

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 24/03/2024 18:21:10    2533234

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Indeed, well done Leitrim, push on now for division 2, it will help keep the better players involved. Best wishes for the Connacht championship."
A great day for Leitrim football & a vindication of Andy Moran appointment as Manager. Let's hope todays result will shut up the sniping negative comments from a limited number of posters particularly from overseas who haven't a clue what is going on in Leitrim football. I certaintly won't be responding to any of that rubbish. It's great to be out of Div 4 at last & with some more talented young lads coming through the ranks The future is bright. Keep it going Andy the vast majority of real Leitrim supporters are behind you and your back room team.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 24/03/2024 18:23:02    2533236

Congratulations massive achievement and also fair play for sticking with Andy because it would have been very easy change last year after missing out on promotion. Enjoy next Saturday and hopefully ye get the win. Ye could give Galway a rattle if they don't get injured players back in time.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/03/2024 18:54:00    2533257

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "A great day for Leitrim football & a vindication of Andy Moran appointment as Manager. Let's hope todays result will shut up the sniping negative comments from a limited number of posters particularly from overseas who haven't a clue what is going on in Leitrim football. I certaintly won't be responding to any of that rubbish. It's great to be out of Div 4 at last & with some more talented young lads coming through the ranks The future is bright. Keep it going Andy the vast majority of real Leitrim supporters are behind you and your back room team."
Excellent response to the negative trolls on this forum! Delighted for Andy and the players! The majority of Leitrim people would love to see Andy lead us in Division 3. Great post!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 24/03/2024 18:58:18    2533260

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "A great day for Leitrim football & a vindication of Andy Moran appointment as Manager. Let's hope todays result will shut up the sniping negative comments from a limited number of posters particularly from overseas who haven't a clue what is going on in Leitrim football. I certaintly won't be responding to any of that rubbish. It's great to be out of Div 4 at last & with some more talented young lads coming through the ranks The future is bright. Keep it going Andy the vast majority of real Leitrim supporters are behind you and your back room team."
Well done to Andy, mickey, the lads and all involved, fantastic achievement. Great to get promoted and the change to win silverware in croker.

The future is indeed bright. Was great to see the Leitrim under 15s introduced to the crowd at half time after winning the Humphrey Kelliher cup earlier in the year beating Cork in the final, our under 16s made the Fr. Manning cup final, I still think our under 20s are as good as anything in Connacht despite losing to Galway in round 1.

Great day to be a Leitrim fan. God knows we had too many dark days - lets saviour this promotion, the final in Croker, Sligo in two weeks in the Connacht champ and the rest of our under 20 games. Could be a hell of a year

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 24/03/2024 19:17:55    2533272

Replying To drumalee11:  "It took a Cavan man to get you up to Division 3 again haha.

Congrats."
You can say that again. A man who knows what he's doing and is about.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 19:19:00    2533273

Absolutely delighted for Leitrim. My brother in law is from Leitrim and is football in the brain. He was buzzing today. Great football County and I hope you enjoy your day at Croke Park and bring some silverware home.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 24/03/2024 19:21:39    2533276