Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "When you look at the incident in slow motion it doesn't look good. He didn't have to put his foot on Foley's ankle. He could easily have avoided it. I'm not saying he will get suspended over it because the rules in GAA are off the radar. As a matter of interest did you see the umpire waving Clifford's point wide from the penalty but then change his mind.. if you can't trust a man standing by a post when a forward takes a shot unopposed from a penalty then you really don't know what to expect with the other tackle"
That penalty really was scandalous, everyone in the ground could see it was straight over the bar, hilarious really.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 20/03/2024 09:04:54    2532287

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "That penalty really was scandalous, everyone in the ground could see it was straight over the bar, hilarious really."
The standard of umpires is a lot worse than the standard of referring

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 20/03/2024 11:22:44    2532307

Replying To eoinog:  "The standard of umpires is a lot worse than the standard of referring"
Yup we were robbed of a goal against Tyrone by umpires

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 20/03/2024 12:18:04    2532315

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Yup we were robbed of a goal against Tyrone by umpires"
You'd wonder what position we'd be in if that goal had stood. They're the margins sadly

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 20/03/2024 13:38:05    2532325

The biggest 'what if' crowd that ever existed. Living down near yourselves i asked a few on tinder why everyone i match is a rossie, jesus the response. the men all wear the same clothes, talk the same rubbish and only care about 2 things

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 20/03/2024 13:53:41    2532327

On the Clifford penalty point I think the umpire kind of waved his hands wide as he expected a goal and twas his way of signalling a miss and it was embarrassed by the wave wide.On the Heneghan Foley incident having watched it a few times I cant say for sure whether it was intentional or not.Only Heneghan knows himself.IF it was done on purpise then it was a nasty thuggish act but it might have been accidental.Sometimes a player can injure themselves trying to avoid other players so it might look worse than it is.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/03/2024 14:25:03    2532333

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "On the Clifford penalty point I think the umpire kind of waved his hands wide as he expected a goal and twas his way of signalling a miss and it was embarrassed by the wave wide.On the Heneghan Foley incident having watched it a few times I cant say for sure whether it was intentional or not.Only Heneghan knows himself.IF it was done on purpise then it was a nasty thuggish act but it might have been accidental.Sometimes a player can injure themselves trying to avoid other players so it might look worse than it is."
Good luck to the u20s this evening.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 20/03/2024 16:42:40    2532367

Great performance by the Under 20's tonight coming back from seven points down and giving away three goals in the first 23 minutes to get a draw. Great heart and determination by all the players and probably should have won it in the end. All over Mayo in the second half. Particularly impressed by Shane Walsh, Shane McGinley, Bobby Nugent, sub Ryan Conlon and the kickouts from Sean Allen (who will learn from his one mistake). The management were also proactive and made changes which made a difference.

As most of these players are third level students it is ridiculous of the GAA to play several under 20 matches around the country on a Wednesday night and force the players to miss college. These matches should be played on a Friday night or on a Saturday. Not thinking of the pressure these young lads are under.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 20/03/2024 19:05:09    2532390

Good U20 championship game in Hyde park this evening and we did well to battle back from 7 points down to earn a draw which on the balance of play we fully deserved to get. The opening 15 minutes will be looked back on the most by management I'm sure when we conceded 3-2 of Mayos 3-7 total score and some very bad goals to concede at that.

Shane McGinley with 1-8 one of our stand outs Lambe, Heneghan also good and we got good impact of the bench Conlon, Ó Flaherty, Kerins impressive.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 20/03/2024 19:17:07    2532392

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "That penalty really was scandalous, everyone in the ground could see it was straight over the bar, hilarious really."
Well no not everyone. I was in the stand and I couldn't believe Clifford had blasted it wide and though the umpire was right. It was blasted and probably the worst spot to observe it was right beside the post. He was probably watching the net or for an infringement.
Still justice was done in the end. Remember referees have to pass a certain standard to be appointed but umpires are not as far as I know. Some of them can be slow to spot things like the Roscommon goal again Tyrone. Having seen the stamping incident played back I'm not quite sure what to think. The player appears to be looking out the field at the time so may not have been deliberate.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 20/03/2024 19:37:30    2532393

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Great performance by the Under 20's tonight coming back from seven points down and giving away three goals in the first 23 minutes to get a draw. Great heart and determination by all the players and probably should have won it in the end. All over Mayo in the second half. Particularly impressed by Shane Walsh, Shane McGinley, Bobby Nugent, sub Ryan Conlon and the kickouts from Sean Allen (who will learn from his one mistake). The management were also proactive and made changes which made a difference.

As most of these players are third level students it is ridiculous of the GAA to play several under 20 matches around the country on a Wednesday night and force the players to miss college. These matches should be played on a Friday night or on a Saturday. Not thinking of the pressure these young lads are under."
Agree with that. I think next week's match against Sligo will also be at 5.30 on Wednesday but at least the players will be on Easter holidays. I was very happy with Roscommon tonight. We could have won it in the end but we did well to battle back from the early deficit. The team will learn a lot from tonight. It's good that there's a round robin as well. Otherwise one of these teams would have been out of the championship tonight after extra time or penalties. Sligo won Connacht at U 17 three years ago so I expect they'll be tough opposition for us next week. Markievicz park hasn't always been kind to the Rossies. A particular mention to Shane McGinley who won man of the match and deservedly so.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 20/03/2024 20:33:48    2532400

Well done Ros lads.
Great heart and spirit and ability to come back after that disastrous start.

Heneghan being hit with a 1 match ban is the word

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 20/03/2024 23:23:00    2532417

Good result in the end Wednesday evening and a great crowd. One thing we have to say is under this management we have had two shocking starts last year against Sligo and this year against mayo. Last year there was no second chances and we had a very decent team. If we want to go further we can't start games like this. My cousin is part of the Galway under 20 panel and said Leitrim are a very decent team. I'd imagine Sligo are good and Galway probably favourites for Connacht so we can't afford starts like that. We done brilliantly to get back and could have won it. Will we get any injured players back this year. I know colm neary is out for the year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 22/03/2024 17:20:32    2532691

Roscommon will beat the Derry B team on Sunday and will probably survive relegation.
Looks ominous for Galway really.
Best of luck to ye.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 22/03/2024 18:44:24    2532699

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Roscommon will beat the Derry B team on Sunday and will probably survive relegation.
Best of luck to ye."
Cliffords not named on the Kerry team for Sunday so it's goodbye Division 1 for Ros I'm afraid.
Jack has obviously "declared" as they'd say in another sport.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 22/03/2024 20:33:53    2532711

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Roscommon will beat the Derry B team on Sunday and will probably survive relegation.
Best of luck to ye."
Derry aren't going to name a B team when they still need a point to reach the final. It's ominous looking for Roscommon and even if they pulled off the win Galway could at least draw with Kerry whom have rested the Clifford brothers and are without all of their first choice full back line due to injury the two O'Sullivans and Foley.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 22/03/2024 20:35:23    2532712

Best of luck to ye."
Not sure why you thought Derry would have a B team? Derry team named and as expected it's 1st choice team with nobody rested.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 22/03/2024 20:40:15    2532713

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Not sure why you thought Derry would have a B team? Derry team named and as expected it's 1st choice team with nobody rested."
We will do well to stay within 8/9 points of them. We are miles off that intensity and game plan so far this year

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 22/03/2024 21:49:21    2532724

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Cliffords not named on the Kerry team for Sunday so it's goodbye Division 1 for Ros I'm afraid.
Jack has obviously "declared" as they'd say in another sport."
Sure David pulled his hamstring with the run up he took to the penalty last weekend

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 22/03/2024 22:19:07    2532732

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Not sure why you thought Derry would have a B team? Derry team named and as expected it's 1st choice team with nobody rested."
Wouldn't expect them to play a B team but why are we so certain to believe the named 15 in this day and age?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 22/03/2024 23:47:35    2532748