Galway Football thread

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "For me there isn't a big difference in the talent pool of the two sets of squads. Galway simply had a had better set system of play for 60 minutes which made them much hard to score against. Galways main forwards was given the freedom of Pearse Stadium to score for fun. Roscommons best forwards was double marked and influence curbed."
Luckilly, there is only one of you. There is a clear gap in talent, for every bit of heart and grunt that Roscommon may have - Galway are blessed with the more natural 'talented' footballers.

ned_flanders (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 01/06/2022 20:50:18    2421695

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Galway are and always will be the more high profile team than Roscommon and the key players on a more high profile team always rolls off the tongue much easier for any neutrals.

Around for years also helps, Conroy in his 30s,Walsh,Comer are in their late 20s meanwhile Sean Kelly not around as long as that trio doesn't get the same credit from the majority of neutrals even though he's just as important to the team.

Plenty of neutrals and I include journalists in that, struggled to tell the difference between Ciaran and Diarmuid Murtagh and for a while Donie and Enda Smith even though there is a foot in the difference in height. So they stick with the Smiths and Murtaghs to save any confusion.

Not getting into the debate as to who is better however for comparison.

Sean Kelly and Brian Stack. Both will do a job in any position because are pure footballers but are probably wasted at full back. Kelly had a good game Sunday with plenty of protection around him it was the opposite for Stack with such exposed full back line.

Paul Conroy and Ultan Harney both leaders that can deliver a high influence on a game and kick long range points. Comer won the duel in the league final, Harney on this occasion.

Shane Walsh and Enda Smith both pure athletes who have the capabilities of destroying opposition with his speed,direct running and skillset. On Sunday Enda Smith was man marked his direct running curbed. Shane was given the freedom of Pearse Stadium.

Damien Comer and Conor Cox, both as strong as an ox. team players and leaders. Galway double marked Cox while Roscommon left their smallest defender on Comer."
Would be pretty naive not to mark your opponents dangermen closely. Cox is not as much a team player and leader as Damien Comer. He's a classy footballer alright but for me Roscommon would look to Enda Smith for leadership, to drag them to victory against the odds.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/06/2022 12:07:18    2421768

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Would be pretty naive not to mark your opponents dangermen closely. Cox is not as much a team player and leader as Damien Comer. He's a classy footballer alright but for me Roscommon would look to Enda Smith for leadership, to drag them to victory against the odds."
Pretty naive we were and especially the way we left ourselves wide open to the counter attacking gameplan in place.

Another poster has mentioned McDaid a midfielder find? From what i seen on Sunday Tierney, Conroy was the Galway midfield pairing.. McDaid played wing half back and was one of the main outlets with his pace on the counter attack. We brought on Kilroy to track his runs 2nd half which was a bit of a bizarre move as its rarely something he ever does.

It will be a All-Ireland quarter final at best for us now and Galway should at least reach the semi final, that was different between wining and losing Sundays final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 02/06/2022 16:34:46    2421832

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "I am amused to read about the need for teak tough aggressive defenders in the shape of Eoghan Kerin or Ciaran McGrath. It is a different game now. The main requirement all over the field is for speed, athleticism, endurance and heart. You could be teak tough but unable to get anywhere near the player you're marking and left sitting on your backside. This results in giving away needless fouls and risk of black cards. In years gone by you would never waste a player of Sean Kelly's ability by putting him in at fullback. You would reserve that spot for the big hefty slow player (mullacker) who was able to command the square and frighten the life out of any forward who had the temerity to encroach too near. The game is now all about retaining possession and running, running and more running. The old-style man markers, even great players in their era such as Mick Lyons, Meath or Paddy McCormack, Offaly, wouldn't get a place on the team at all now. This is down to the evolution of the game whether we like it or not."
My main point is that even though as you say the game has changed and now the players are more into "running, running and more running" they still have to tackle their opponents and from what I saw there was a lot of standing off and running alongside Roscommon players coming through without any tackles going in which led to 2-16 being conceded. As Sean Cavanagh was saying at half-time there is no point in significant numbers of Galway players back in their own half "to look good" - they have to track their men and put them under pressure by tackling them (legally of course), causing turnovers or dispossessing them if possible.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 02/06/2022 17:21:12    2421839

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Galway are and always will be the more high profile team than Roscommon and the key players on a more high profile team always rolls off the tongue much easier for any neutrals.

Around for years also helps, Conroy in his 30s,Walsh,Comer are in their late 20s meanwhile Sean Kelly not around as long as that trio doesn't get the same credit from the majority of neutrals even though he's just as important to the team.

Plenty of neutrals and I include journalists in that, struggled to tell the difference between Ciaran and Diarmuid Murtagh and for a while Donie and Enda Smith even though there is a foot in the difference in height. So they stick with the Smiths and Murtaghs to save any confusion.

Not getting into the debate as to who is better however for comparison.

Sean Kelly and Brian Stack. Both will do a job in any position because are pure footballers but are probably wasted at full back. Kelly had a good game Sunday with plenty of protection around him it was the opposite for Stack with such exposed full back line.

Paul Conroy and Ultan Harney both leaders that can deliver a high influence on a game and kick long range points. Comer won the duel in the league final, Harney on this occasion.

Shane Walsh and Enda Smith both pure athletes who have the capabilities of destroying opposition with his speed,direct running and skillset. On Sunday Enda Smith was man marked his direct running curbed. Shane was given the freedom of Pearse Stadium.

Damien Comer and Conor Cox, both as strong as an ox. team players and leaders. Galway double marked Cox while Roscommon left their smallest defender on Comer."
Grand. It's all down to tactics so. Joyce, routinely derided for his tactics in the past, played a tactical masterclass that caused Galway to be 9 up with 10 mins of normal time left

We'll forget that Galway have 3 u20/u21 titles to Roscommons zero in the last 11 years, or established themselves as a D1 side for 3 seasons when Roscommon yoyo up and down, or have generally a far better club championship. Forget that Galway go into every game against Ros rated about 1/2 by the market.

This isn't actually a dig at Roscommon, which as a county punches far above is weight, generally has exciting underage teams and a good club scene, and in general is a likeable team. But your post is exactly evident of the nonsense from a significant portion of fans, evident from endless stuff posted on Stolen Sheep and the like all week in the run up. 'we have the much better players and stop their 3 good lads and we'll win easy'. On what known evidence had Roscommon better players, or even comparable players? That's two comfortable championship victories in a row for Galway

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 02/06/2022 18:29:45    2421848

Replying To tommy k:  "I have said it here before that we are missing teak tough, dogged defenders like Eoghan Kerin of Annaghdown or Kieran McGrath of Corofin i.e. they may not be fancy ball players but they can get in the face of forwards albeit Kerin had a tendency to overdo it at times getting himself booked or giving away soft frees."
And maybe David Finnegan too.. Have you got your ticket for the Sawdoctors gig in Claremorris??

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 02/06/2022 21:55:59    2421880

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "And maybe David Finnegan too.. Have you got your ticket for the Sawdoctors gig in Claremorris??"
I knew some smartass would mention David Finnegan but he was a very good defender in his day when the Sawdoctors were in their prime - you were only a little mannín in short trousers back then!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 03/06/2022 10:24:48    2421912

Replying To PressureKick:  "Grand. It's all down to tactics so. Joyce, routinely derided for his tactics in the past, played a tactical masterclass that caused Galway to be 9 up with 10 mins of normal time left

We'll forget that Galway have 3 u20/u21 titles to Roscommons zero in the last 11 years, or established themselves as a D1 side for 3 seasons when Roscommon yoyo up and down, or have generally a far better club championship. Forget that Galway go into every game against Ros rated about 1/2 by the market.

This isn't actually a dig at Roscommon, which as a county punches far above is weight, generally has exciting underage teams and a good club scene, and in general is a likeable team. But your post is exactly evident of the nonsense from a significant portion of fans, evident from endless stuff posted on Stolen Sheep and the like all week in the run up. 'we have the much better players and stop their 3 good lads and we'll win easy'. On what known evidence had Roscommon better players, or even comparable players? That's two comfortable championship victories in a row for Galway"
I don't disagree with much of that and agree Galway have a better squad than us. But bar Walsh who is as good as anyone in the Country at the moment if not the best. Smith and Harney are as good as anyone else Galway have.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 03/06/2022 10:26:13    2421914

Replying To tommy k:  "My main point is that even though as you say the game has changed and now the players are more into "running, running and more running" they still have to tackle their opponents and from what I saw there was a lot of standing off and running alongside Roscommon players coming through without any tackles going in which led to 2-16 being conceded. As Sean Cavanagh was saying at half-time there is no point in significant numbers of Galway players back in their own half "to look good" - they have to track their men and put them under pressure by tackling them (legally of course), causing turnovers or dispossessing them if possible."
Not alone that Tommy, but we're looking at Galway senior sides going to Croke Park for the last 20 years, and generally speaking, being run through for a short cut, by teams like Kerry*3, Cork, Tyrone, Donegal, and even Tipperary. With the exception of KW's 'park the bus' outfit in 2018, we've generally looked defensively inadequate for a generation in Croke Park. And of course, Walsh was told 'we wanted football played as it should be played', a year later.

The problems of the last 20 years in Croker often didn't start with the defense either, but possibly had links to a lack of midfield platform too. To be honest, I think this current side might have that very same problem right now, because Croker has never been a happy hunting ground for Paul Conroy as an intercounty midfielder, and this current side is completely reliant on him in that sector at the moment.

Let's hope 'the Fat Lady' is equally amused watching the Galway defense & midfield in upcoming q-final & hopefully s-final in Croker.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 03/06/2022 10:39:39    2421918

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Not alone that Tommy, but we're looking at Galway senior sides going to Croke Park for the last 20 years, and generally speaking, being run through for a short cut, by teams like Kerry*3, Cork, Tyrone, Donegal, and even Tipperary. With the exception of KW's 'park the bus' outfit in 2018, we've generally looked defensively inadequate for a generation in Croke Park. And of course, Walsh was told 'we wanted football played as it should be played', a year later.

The problems of the last 20 years in Croker often didn't start with the defense either, but possibly had links to a lack of midfield platform too. To be honest, I think this current side might have that very same problem right now, because Croker has never been a happy hunting ground for Paul Conroy as an intercounty midfielder, and this current side is completely reliant on him in that sector at the moment.

Let's hope 'the Fat Lady' is equally amused watching the Galway defense & midfield in upcoming q-final & hopefully s-final in Croker."
The key thing is the tackle or getting better at it
Galway are getting lots of players back
The reality is Galway have to do a lot better
There is just not doing enough tacklng going on in there
A t least 2 or 3 players have to be active in putting pressure on the ball
Getting more blocks in on shots something that has to be improved on
Getting the hand in to knock the ball away
We have to win more breaking ball around mid field
At times Paul Conroy had 2 Roscommon palyers jumping wirh him
Another Roscommon player waitng to collect the breaking ball
These are all areas Galway have to work on
Otherwise we will be found out again as in previous visits to Croke Park

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/06/2022 12:13:19    2421953

Replying To PressureKick:  "Grand. It's all down to tactics so. Joyce, routinely derided for his tactics in the past, played a tactical masterclass that caused Galway to be 9 up with 10 mins of normal time left

This isn't actually a dig at Roscommon, which as a county punches far above is weight, generally has exciting underage teams and a good club scene, and in general is a likeable team. But your post is exactly evident of the nonsense from a significant portion of fans, evident from endless stuff posted on Stolen Sheep and the like all week in the run up. 'we have the much better players and stop their 3 good lads and we'll win easy'. On what known evidence had Roscommon better players, or even comparable players? That's two comfortable championship victories in a row for Galway"
Joyce has surrounded himself with tactically shrewd people this year alone Cian O'Neill has been brought.

For relevance are any of the Galway 2011 U21 players left on the senior panel? The 2020 U20s are just getting introduced to the starting team Tierney and Glynn starters. Galway and Roscommon U21s in 2013 there was very little between them with Galway winning in extra time. Roscommon lost U21 All-Ireland finals in 2012 and 2014 to star studded Dublin teams.

Both was Div 2 teams this and both promoted. Nothing i said was nonsense its a neutral view point from studying the two teams if you don't want to agree thats fine i don't expect many if Galway posters to do that, to quote Arsène Wenger everyone thinks they have the prettiest wife at home.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 03/06/2022 12:28:33    2421957

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I don't disagree with much of that and agree Galway have a better squad than us. But bar Walsh who is as good as anyone in the Country at the moment if not the best. Smith and Harney are as good as anyone else Galway have."
I agree about Enda Smith. I think Harney was close to MOTM v Galway and is having a very good year besides. I accept that injuries did impact him somewhat in previous years, but I think he needs to demonstrate the performance levels for a more prolonged period to in order to be considered in the conversation of being one of the top players in Connacht...Smith , Murtagh, Lavin, Conroy, Walsh, Comer, Kelly, R O Donoghue, Lee Keegan, M Ruane, P Durcan

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 03/06/2022 12:40:13    2421961

Replying To rhudson:  "The key thing is the tackle or getting better at it
Galway are getting lots of players back
The reality is Galway have to do a lot better
There is just not doing enough tacklng going on in there
A t least 2 or 3 players have to be active in putting pressure on the ball
Getting more blocks in on shots something that has to be improved on
Getting the hand in to knock the ball away
We have to win more breaking ball around mid field
At times Paul Conroy had 2 Roscommon palyers jumping wirh him
Another Roscommon player waitng to collect the breaking ball
These are all areas Galway have to work on
Otherwise we will be found out again as in previous visits to Croke Park"
All very good points rhudson - best summary of what is required posted here in a long time.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 03/06/2022 14:21:09    2422010

With the Club Football Leagues nearly over what decides promotion and relegation?

ref (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 03/06/2022 21:52:55    2422061

Replying To ref:  "With the Club Football Leagues nearly over what decides promotion and relegation?"
Just seen the results from last night, Corofin Intermediate team gone top in Division 3 after beating Monivea-Abbey seniors. Their Senior team are top of division one. Can they have teams in Division 1 and 2 next year?

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 04/06/2022 13:49:09    2422120

Replying To GDL:  "Just seen the results from last night, Corofin Intermediate team gone top in Division 3 after beating Monivea-Abbey seniors. Their Senior team are top of division one. Can they have teams in Division 1 and 2 next year?"
Given their resources and geographical catchment area, Corofin should be able to field 2 senior trams. Name one team - Corofin - and the other Belclare. Who knows with all the talent available, you could expect them to meet in a county senior final. How bad!....

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 05/06/2022 20:32:16    2422581

Replying To GDL:  "Just seen the results from last night, Corofin Intermediate team gone top in Division 3 after beating Monivea-Abbey seniors. Their Senior team are top of division one. Can they have teams in Division 1 and 2 next year?"
Why couldn't they have teams in div 1 & 2, what a silly statement, they couldn't have 2 teams in same div in league and champo so safe enough. Let them win promotion first

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 06/06/2022 07:24:55    2422618

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Given their resources and geographical catchment area, Corofin should be able to field 2 senior trams. Name one team - Corofin - and the other Belclare. Who knows with all the talent available, you could expect them to meet in a county senior final. How bad!...."
So most likely we will be meeting Armagh or Cork next, if we cant draw Mayo or Ross. I think Mayo will get over Kildare and Armagh looked really good yesterday. If the bookie is right there will be 3 Connacht teams in the last 8, which is great.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 06/06/2022 09:25:22    2422661

Was that a very inept display by Galway minor footballers last evening. Poor fetching, jogging out to meet the ball when a sprint was required, missing clear cut goal chances. They may not be good footballers but some of them had very nice hair styles (though prize of 'hair of the game' goes to the Mayo physio) and why bother with those gum-shields when they have them sticking out of the mouth like a cigarette. Watching that game I nearly pulled out my own little bit of hair !!

FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 07/06/2022 09:38:50    2422836

Replying To FieldsMaster:  "Was that a very inept display by Galway minor footballers last evening. Poor fetching, jogging out to meet the ball when a sprint was required, missing clear cut goal chances. They may not be good footballers but some of them had very nice hair styles (though prize of 'hair of the game' goes to the Mayo physio) and why bother with those gum-shields when they have them sticking out of the mouth like a cigarette. Watching that game I nearly pulled out my own little bit of hair !!"
100% agree! It was like a fashion show for some of the Galway lads.

Very poor display of football.

BigBadBill27 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 07/06/2022 09:48:58    2422845