Big win for Galway and thanks to a solid defensive team effort. I think should beat Monaghan and win there will likely be enough to stay up. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3529 - 18/02/2024 17:50:28 2526728 Link 1 |
Big win for Galway and thanks to a solid defensive team effort. I think should beat Monaghan and win there will likely be enough to stay up. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3529 - 18/02/2024 17:50:29 2526729 Link 1 |
Great call on the scoring volume. Flaherty, McGrath and Heaney made big impacts, and Flah had only one half out there. Finnerty went into his shell it seemed, after a tremendous opening 10-15 minute spell. I thought he'd 'go mad' after that opening cameo, but it wasn't to be. The freetaking and 45m kicking was shambolic all through, as it has occasionally been even with Shane Walsh available. Good 2pts, but Tyrone aren't great.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3943 - 18/02/2024 18:23:57 2526742 Link 0 |
This is the team we need to get out and fit. Gleeson, Magrath, Fitz, Glynn, Mulkerrins, Daly, Mchugh. Maher and Conroy . Heaney, Tierney, Mcdaid. Sean Kelly, Comer and Shaneeey. Subs oran burke,silke, finnerty, flaherty , sweeney, darcy, hernon, cunnigham, o curraoin,o conghaile If you can get all those guys fit for April onwards we are in with a shout. What do ye think. Who did i leave out? Galway2001 (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 18/02/2024 18:45:57 2526750 Link 0 |
Might stay up with 5 points but it would depend on other results I'd say. Beating Monaghan away no sure thing though. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2330 - 18/02/2024 18:48:03 2526751 Link 0 |
Yeah Monaghan have a knack of pulling it out of the fire on the last day as we know all too well.Of Derry are well on top on last day they won't take a risk on their top stars with not long to go to championship.
Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 378 - 18/02/2024 19:00:11 2526757 Link 0 |
You left out Kieran Molloy and anyone that doesn't have Liam Silke on their first 15 needs a serious look at themselves.
GalwayLurker (Galway) - Posts: 109 - 18/02/2024 19:13:12 2526760 Link 0 |
Dubs would struggle too now missing that tio
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 576 - 18/02/2024 19:13:54 2526761 Link 0 |
Mickey Harte in his years with Tyrone is not noted for playing weakened teams and already this year he played a full strength Derry team apart from Glenn players in the McKenna cup.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3529 - 18/02/2024 19:33:21 2526767 Link 1 |
A great 2 points today in a tough battle we showed real spirit in the second half. conordee (Galway) - Posts: 451 - 18/02/2024 19:44:01 2526774 Link 1 |
A much-needed result today. Fair play to the lads for rolling up the sleeves and getting over the line. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 18/02/2024 20:10:40 2526786 Link 1 |
5 points on the board might be enough if you have the head-to-head advantage, so beating Monaghan, which is not a given up there is extra important to Galway. Galway will need more points on the table no matter what. it's wan game at a time. maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1219 - 18/02/2024 20:11:36 2526787 Link 1 |
Big big win, injection of pace provided by O'Flaherty and Kelly in the 3rd quarter the difference. We are motoring just fine for February. Well done lads, might shut up a few of the naysayers around here for a bit. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1642 - 18/02/2024 20:20:43 2526792 Link 1 |
I honestly didn't see D'Arcy do anything that an ordinary club player would've done out there. He just handpassed it off in non threatening situations. Apart from his final act of giving a suicidal hand pass to a marked Maher, which have Tyrone a late chance. He's carrying too much timber. The big man in Maher worked last year but Maher is mobile and can take on a man. D'Arcy is not gonna do what either Conroy or Maher offer so I dunno what he offers. jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 18/02/2024 20:22:24 2526793 Link 0 |
He offered fit hamstrings for the second half anyway, and Conroy didn't appear to be in that position.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3943 - 18/02/2024 20:29:01 2526795 Link 0 |
Rob Finnerty played well, but at the end made a back kick that lost possesion. He did the same a few years ago against Derry if I remember. Galway need to get better at closing out games. Ref did the a bit of a favour here imho. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2585 - 18/02/2024 20:30:14 2526797 Link 0 |
With the exception of Finnerty full forward line were terrible today and why did it take Padraig so long to whip them off. Far too much cross and back passing but Sean Kelly and Flaherty made a big improvement when introduced at least they drove goalwards anyhow. Why is'nt the goalie told not to dilly dally with the kick outs as he got blown up again today FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 18/02/2024 20:30:51 2526798 Link 3 |
Quit moaning, I will take the win anytime.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2585 - 18/02/2024 20:32:20 2526799 Link 0 |
Well, that was more of a battle where football occasionally threatened to break out. It has to be said Gaelic has become a tough watch for aulde fellas like me. They've taken Moneyball to heart and now it's all percentages and possession. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 18/02/2024 20:42:48 2526807 Link 1 |
Great to squeeze out the win and well done to the lads on getting the points. It doesn't get away from our lack of shape and options in attack. These forwards should be so much more effective. Those 39 mins of the first half were not good enough - that's not naysaying, it's patently obvious. No right football person on this county could argue otherwise. Yes, to the lads credit we picked it up in the second half but still making a meal of things up front, no angled full tilt runs, poor misses, recycling and several awful turnovers. Galway Forwards need serious work and this backroom aren't making it happen with them, at least as things stand. Yes we're missing key men, but Tyrone are poor at the moment and were missing some fairly important players too - McCurry, McShane, Meyler, M Donnelly. We got the points. We owe one to Monaghan. Let's see. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 998 - 18/02/2024 21:11:10 2526817 Link 2 |