Galway Football thread

Replying To TheBishop:  "Galways best 6 defenders are McGrath, S Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly & McHugh. That backline is very bit as good as Kerry's and Dublins', just don't think the likes of Gavin Burke or Wall are are better then Jack Glynn or Cian Hernon who would be my next 2 names on the list. Talent wise Galway in an excellent place defensively."
Jack Glynn - the young footballer of the year from 2022 is now all of a sudden now not in the top 6 defenders ?!?!?!?!

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 16/11/2023 09:17:17    2513275

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Jack Glynn - the young footballer of the year from 2022 is now all of a sudden now not in the top 6 defenders ?!?!?!?!"
I would agree that those would be our best 6

ned_flanders (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 16/11/2023 10:08:12    2513286

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Jack Glynn - the young footballer of the year from 2022 is now all of a sudden now not in the top 6 defenders ?!?!?!?!"
I would agree Jack Glynn is a better footballer than Molloy,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 16/11/2023 10:25:32    2513292

I wouldn't get too hung up about who's 'top6'. The important thing is that 9or10 of the top defenders remain fit for the gruelling 2024 schedule, especially the key tests when they arrive.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 16/11/2023 10:41:49    2513295

Very few top defenders were able to win the award, Jack is a class player and shows how strong Galway are that many others like me think he's not in the best 6. I was so impressed with Jonny McGrath last year and I would have him in the team ahead of Glynn. Silke is just outstanding when not up against raw pace, he has to start and there's no need to go into details on Sean Kelly.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 16/11/2023 11:03:48    2513305

Replying To Galway_1972:  "Is there any talks of who will take over claregalway and tuam stars? They are two jobs that would interest managers. Any word on if moycullen management are staying on or if they are stepping away? I'd imagine there will be a lot of senior clubs looking for managers for the coming year."
Are Mountbellew looking as well?

You'd think Claregalway definitely would be a post worthwhile taking with all the underage success.
Tuam a bit more work involved..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 16/11/2023 11:30:21    2513314

Replying To TheBishop:  "Galways best 6 defenders are McGrath, S Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly & McHugh. That backline is very bit as good as Kerry's and Dublins', just don't think the likes of Gavin Burke or Wall are are better then Jack Glynn or Cian Hernon who would be my next 2 names on the list. Talent wise Galway in an excellent place defensively."
I think McDaid is also best at 7, but we probably have to play him midfield.
Midfield and half forward line is where we will struggle against the top teams.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 16/11/2023 13:05:55    2513342

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "I would agree Jack Glynn is a better footballer than Molloy,"
Apples and oranges.
Jack is a man marking corner back - Kieran is an attacking half back.
Completely different types of players.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1264 - 16/11/2023 13:09:48    2513344

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Are Mountbellew looking as well?

You'd think Claregalway definitely would be a post worthwhile taking with all the underage success.
Tuam a bit more work involved.."
You'd think Claregalway would be but the way they are going about it is crazy, by having to apply for it instead of making a short list and going after the best guy possible,

Tuam are a bit different I can't think if they have ever gone outside manager I could be wrong on that but maybe now would be the time for it, you'd imagine John Donnellan would be a good fit for that job if they went for an in house manager,

Haven't heard anything on mountbellew

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 16/11/2023 13:28:13    2513348

Think Galway have lots of options in backs which is good need sort out goalie , get settled midfield and biggest problem is forwards scoring ones they need find 2-3 scoring forwards enough of lads running around the field ,, need get more out of rob Finnerty I think he should be center forward he good vision smart player and can score from distance he not an inside forward in my opinion,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 16/11/2023 13:51:21    2513352

Replying To galwayman2:  "Apples and oranges.
Jack is a man marking corner back - Kieran is an attacking half back.
Completely different types of players."
I can't have Jack Glynn not being one of our 6 best defenders. I don't think we have a "man marking corner back" on the panel. To me he is a class act in the corner. Any underage I saw him play he excelled in the half back line and was well able to take a score. I haven't seen him much with his club as I don't bother much with teams who can't do better than tame exits in quarter finals - at all age groups.

Only negative on him might be that he is a bit susceptible to injury.

Kieran is obviously very good but to me he's not yet back where he was pre injury. As others have highlighted, Liam Silke is just a class act. Gavin Burke has had a great year but was in with Galway before and didn't make much impact. Dylan Wall has loads to offer and I was always amazed he didn't do much with Galway over the years. A super player.

Sean Kelly has had a lot of injuries and I hope he's fit for the league. Would love to try him at centre field.

How did the Aran full back do at intermediate this year?

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 16/11/2023 16:48:06    2513393

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "You'd think Claregalway would be but the way they are going about it is crazy, by having to apply for it instead of making a short list and going after the best guy possible,

Tuam are a bit different I can't think if they have ever gone outside manager I could be wrong on that but maybe now would be the time for it, you'd imagine John Donnellan would be a good fit for that job if they went for an in house manager,

Haven't heard anything on mountbellew"
Tuam,Claregalway,Salthill,An Spidéal,Mb,Aran all looking for manager I'm hearing in work today.

Castlebar2019 (Mayo) - Posts: 25 - 16/11/2023 17:09:21    2513402

Replying To Kickitout:  "Think Galway have lots of options in backs which is good need sort out goalie , get settled midfield and biggest problem is forwards scoring ones they need find 2-3 scoring forwards enough of lads running around the field ,, need get more out of rob Finnerty I think he should be center forward he good vision smart player and can score from distance he not an inside forward in my opinion,,"
He looks a bit lazy sometimes not sure if he has stamina for centre forward either but could play top of D. Think maybe move Shane Walsh out where he has a bit more space at centre forward.
McDaid Heaney midfield Tierney Walsh Cooke Finnerty Comer Sweeney

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 17/11/2023 08:30:45    2513438

Replying To hopballref:  "I think McDaid is also best at 7, but we probably have to play him midfield.
Midfield and half forward line is where we will struggle against the top teams."
McDaid shown in 2022 he's one of the best midfielders in the game, very surprised anyone would want to put him back at wing back again.

His skillset is perfect for midfield, its gets the best out of him. Athletically not many can match him and when he gets himself into a scoring position he doesn't miss. Would have thought his performances against Roscommon, Armagh, Derry & Kerry would have put to bed any talk of moving him again.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 17/11/2023 09:23:27    2513442

Replying To TheBishop:  "McDaid shown in 2022 he's one of the best midfielders in the game, very surprised anyone would want to put him back at wing back again.

His skillset is perfect for midfield, its gets the best out of him. Athletically not many can match him and when he gets himself into a scoring position he doesn't miss. Would have thought his performances against Roscommon, Armagh, Derry & Kerry would have put to bed any talk of moving him again."
Never said he didn't play well in midfield Mr Bishop. Having that versatility in middle third is important, as Dublin have shown over the years. I don't think he is a nailed down midfielder similar to the likes of Fenton. More so like James McCarthy/Brian Howard. As long as he is not in half forward line.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 17/11/2023 11:13:37    2513457

Was reading colm keys piece on counties changing back to under 18 for club it's a massive majority now 6 out 7 in ulster so far 3 out 5 in Connaught and I think Sligo voting on it this month as well I think Galway definitely should go under 18 and 20 in both codes hopefully clubs will see the sense in it ,, it's up to county board then to implement the will of the majority not 2 kick it down the Rd which unfortunately in Galway is something they like 2 do ,, in my opinion the tone to revert back is now

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 17/11/2023 13:23:46    2513488

Replying To hopballref:  "Never said he didn't play well in midfield Mr Bishop. Having that versatility in middle third is important, as Dublin have shown over the years. I don't think he is a nailed down midfielder similar to the likes of Fenton. More so like James McCarthy/Brian Howard. As long as he is not in half forward line."
Some craic in a thread where lads are on about options in defence that you want to put our all star midfielder to wing back. Who do we pick midfield then? Jonny McGrath?

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 17/11/2023 15:14:45    2513510

Replying To Kickitout:  "Was reading colm keys piece on counties changing back to under 18 for club it's a massive majority now 6 out 7 in ulster so far 3 out 5 in Connaught and I think Sligo voting on it this month as well I think Galway definitely should go under 18 and 20 in both codes hopefully clubs will see the sense in it ,, it's up to county board then to implement the will of the majority not 2 kick it down the Rd which unfortunately in Galway is something they like 2 do ,, in my opinion the tone to revert back is now"
I think it would be better, but the elephant in the room is whether 18 year-olds would then be allowed to play adult level with their clubs. They currently can as they're not minor.
However, if minor reverts to U18, will those players who are 18 but eligible for minor, still be allowed? If not, it will impact smaller clubs more significantly.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 17/11/2023 15:41:54    2513513

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I think it would be better, but the elephant in the room is whether 18 year-olds would then be allowed to play adult level with their clubs. They currently can as they're not minor.
However, if minor reverts to U18, will those players who are 18 but eligible for minor, still be allowed? If not, it will impact smaller clubs more significantly."
Is it not once the player turns 18 in that calendar year then he can play at adult level i could be wrong on that one

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 17/11/2023 17:46:40    2513533

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Some craic in a thread where lads are on about options in defence that you want to put our all star midfielder to wing back. Who do we pick midfield then? Jonny McGrath?"
McDaid would be an all star at wing back too. Class act. Although I do an agree with you that given the amount of options for the backs, midfield is where he will start if fit. He is like Sean Kelly, with their athletic ability, no matter where you put them they will have an impact

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 17/11/2023 23:13:05    2513567