Galway Football thread

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "It's Sean Kelly; hes capable to win both. Would rather see him do it with Maigh Cuillin than Walsh with Kilmacuds. He got a bit of a rest, only played 2 club matches so far. The injuries also got as bad as it did because of the absolute thug from Mayo who kicked him in the ankle."
It didn't exactly help Walsh this year.
Some of these lads need a rest not an intense club run up until January. Kerry and Dublin peaked in July, Galway were a busted flush by then after getting to league and Connacht final.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 25/10/2023 09:23:14    2510164

Replying To anotheralias:  "What do you mean by "pound for pound" in this context? Are you suggesting that heavier players should be better?"
I think they mean that Oliver Hardy may have been a better footballer than Stan Laurel, but Oliver may not have been as good as Stan on a 'pound for pound' basis!! Colin Corkery was a better footballer than AN Other, but was he better than AN on a 'pound for pound' basis?

Difficult enough area the old 'pound for pound' comparative, and probably best avoided.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 25/10/2023 10:11:52    2510170

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Ian Burke has been finished as a footballer for the best part of a decade.

Club or county - point me to the last time he had a good game ?"
All Star in 2018 and pretty sure he won a few All Ireland club's - pretty sure he wasn't playing on those teams for no reason.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 25/10/2023 10:21:05    2510174

Replying To justanotherpoint:  "Semi finals at weekend

Mounbellew Moylough again Moycullen. Cook very strong . pJ will have plenty to think about for Galway team. Hard luck for young Daly, only 2 points in the end but Dessy Conneely did the business for moycuellen.Owen Gallagher is a big addition to them. Barret found it hard. Eoin finnety got 3 from play and be hard bet in final. Sean Kelly had space to score but he can do the same runs for county. Barry McHugh and Gary sweeney showed the effort
Miltown v Corofin. Corofin with experience of Sice and Tony Gill was on form. Catal Blake was not fit for midfield, old and slow. Then sam Blake sent off went again corofin. He done nothing anyway. But Miltown goals were soft. Corofin nearly let it slip. Jack Kirrane will be seen by PJ for galway and the Costello brothers. Lucky that Miltown took of Colm Brennan who was their best player. Moycullen will probably beat corofin now but they not as good as their golden years.
The Galway bay reports on the matches seem like no of the two men were at the matches. Very poor. Why can they not cover the match? Mid west are professional"
You might consider a career with Galway bay FM yourself!
Great post, you really covered the 2 matches well.

ned_flanders (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 25/10/2023 12:01:49    2510208

Replying To ned_flanders:  "You might consider a career with Galway bay FM yourself!
Great post, you really covered the 2 matches well."
Did anyone else listen to the Maroon and White podcast? They honestly haven't a clue. It's embarrassing really. No research done, no facts checked, no real insight or analysis . Someone needs to start up their own one. Galway FM are worse.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 25/10/2023 14:11:53    2510244

Replying To LetsPlayBall:  "Take off your Moycullen hat"
Yes I am a Moycullen supporter. I think Gallagher is tougher and more skilled player than half the lads who are on the galway panel. Paul Kelly, Jamie McLaughlin and Tomo for starters. It's valid enough to say he's seen as possibly the strongest player (physically) on the Moycullen team. I don't understand it. Galway needed a player like him in the quarter final. He gets the points too.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 25/10/2023 14:21:38    2510247

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Did anyone else listen to the Maroon and White podcast? They honestly haven't a clue. It's embarrassing really. No research done, no facts checked, no real insight or analysis . Someone needs to start up their own one. Galway FM are worse."
I listened yes, is it true that Dessie Connealy and Eoin Finnerty have opted out of the Galway panel for the season ahead?

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 25/10/2023 14:46:35    2510258

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Did anyone else listen to the Maroon and White podcast? They honestly haven't a clue. It's embarrassing really. No research done, no facts checked, no real insight or analysis . Someone needs to start up their own one. Galway FM are worse."
It can be very bad.

Lacks a sense of conversation. It runs off pre-determined questions and very basic top-level stuff at that.

Maurice Brosnan is very knowledgeable though. He should start up his own podcast for Galway GAA related content.

There is certainly a market for one. I see across the border in Mayo 'Ah Ref' and his sidekicks cover everything from senior to the junior grades in detail. They are off the cuff and a bit raw, but have a great depth of knowledge on players, and adds to a bit of craic about the whole thing.

It may be harsh criticising the Maroon and White pod guys because it is not easy to put yourself out there like that, but if any budding journalist has the interest they could take over. That said, it is certainly better than Galway Bay FM calling average club players (and former Galway 'greats') 'pundits' or 'analysts'.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 25/10/2023 14:46:43    2510259

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Yes I am a Moycullen supporter. I think Gallagher is tougher and more skilled player than half the lads who are on the galway panel. Paul Kelly, Jamie McLaughlin and Tomo for starters. It's valid enough to say he's seen as possibly the strongest player (physically) on the Moycullen team. I don't understand it. Galway needed a player like him in the quarter final. He gets the points too."
Gallagher was very good the last day for sure. I am a big fan of both Cooke and Mcloughlan but thought they had poor games this time round, Peter was stripped of the ball a few times quite easily. Mcloughlan is coming back from a bad injury so still hoping he can offer Galway something in 2024. I hope PJ will take a good look at the Intermediate final as both teams a big on pace, which the county team needs much more of.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1251 - 25/10/2023 15:34:09    2510272

Replying To LetsPlayBall:  "I listened yes, is it true that Dessie Connealy and Eoin Finnerty have opted out of the Galway panel for the season ahead?"
I know for a fact this is 100% not true regarding Dessie. It's in fact the opposite, he hopes to be on team again. Who spreads this gossip? It's lethal. Bad form for an actual podcast to be saying that kinda gossip stuff. The lads haven't a clue.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 25/10/2023 15:49:27    2510281

I actually thought it was very good. Very knowledgable , accurate and interesting , and a lot better than the stuff we are subjected to on GBFM. I acually agreed with 98% of the statements made by MB.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 25/10/2023 15:53:01    2510284

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Yes I am a Moycullen supporter. I think Gallagher is tougher and more skilled player than half the lads who are on the galway panel. Paul Kelly, Jamie McLaughlin and Tomo for starters. It's valid enough to say he's seen as possibly the strongest player (physically) on the Moycullen team. I don't understand it. Galway needed a player like him in the quarter final. He gets the points too."
Yes much of what you say are is true, but management could not use him in any meaningful way in 23 after forfeiting the chance to get a result in the 22 final by not doing, so having him on the panel was just wasting everyones time.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 25/10/2023 16:04:32    2510289

Replying To backtooldwall:  "Yes much of what you say are is true, but management could not use him in any meaningful way in 23 after forfeiting the chance to get a result in the 22 final by not doing, so having him on the panel was just wasting everyones time."
Did he even get one game in 23?

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 25/10/2023 18:00:45    2510316

Replying To giveitlong:  "Gallagher was very good the last day for sure. I am a big fan of both Cooke and Mcloughlan but thought they had poor games this time round, Peter was stripped of the ball a few times quite easily. Mcloughlan is coming back from a bad injury so still hoping he can offer Galway something in 2024. I hope PJ will take a good look at the Intermediate final as both teams a big on pace, which the county team needs much more of."
I agree . I said it here but a few disagreed. After a superb Salthill game, Cooke wasn't fully on form , but he's still a very classy player to watch, especially when he goes for points himself. James McLaughlin still young & hadn't much time to develop when he was out injured for so long. Give him 2/3 years. Dessie, Wynee and Gallagher have been the most consistent players for maigh cullin . For me, they peaked against Wesport last year, and I haven't seen any great momentum since. They only 'just about' win every match and you'd fall asleep looking at them toss the ball back and forth between themselves. They're missing backbone. Sean kelly used to bring that intuition and grit to the game for them, but he hasn't got any momentum yet either. Maybe he's already peaked. Corofin have fierce battle in them and they're not going to let them away with much. The Farraghers etc bring huge experience. If Corofin can manage goals, then Maigh Cuillin can forget about it. It will be down to whoever here's a goal come Sunday.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 25/10/2023 18:14:01    2510320

Replying To anotheralias:  "I actually thought it was very good. Very knowledgable , accurate and interesting , and a lot better than the stuff we are subjected to on GBFM. I acually agreed with 98% of the statements made by MB."
It was brutal but last week's preview was so desperately bad for the semi finals for the football, the 3 of them hadn't a clue what they were talking about

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 25/10/2023 20:00:02    2510330

You're actually dead right, it's the worst thing out there. The presenter is shocking and he has zero rapport with any of the guests. His go-to question is, do you think they should get a called up to Galway. Hard for a guest to come back and say, "Jesus no, your man is not good enough." So, they always just say he's worth a look.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 184 - 25/10/2023 20:09:40    2510331

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "It can be very bad.

Lacks a sense of conversation. It runs off pre-determined questions and very basic top-level stuff at that.

Maurice Brosnan is very knowledgeable though. He should start up his own podcast for Galway GAA related content.

There is certainly a market for one. I see across the border in Mayo 'Ah Ref' and his sidekicks cover everything from senior to the junior grades in detail. They are off the cuff and a bit raw, but have a great depth of knowledge on players, and adds to a bit of craic about the whole thing.

It may be harsh criticising the Maroon and White pod guys because it is not easy to put yourself out there like that, but if any budding journalist has the interest they could take over. That said, it is certainly better than Galway Bay FM calling average club players (and former Galway 'greats') 'pundits' or 'analysts'."
That's on the money to re Galway Bay. Some awful awful stuff on there. With one "commentator" obsessed with using "pocket of space", "game of chess" and everything is a "feast of football." Painful really.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 184 - 25/10/2023 20:12:56    2510333

Michaels in serious trouble. L Mor to beat the Spiddalers who are utterly rudderless to retain senior status.

Monivea luck ran out with McDaid injury. How they made the final is beyond me. Kilconly in a canter for a return to senior.

northbouind (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 25/10/2023 20:21:20    2510334

If you don't like a show, or in particular, podcast, you're not obliged to listen. Anyone who wants to create Galway football content free of charge is ok in my book. The guests on the podcast can be insightful also, and its a decent place to hear about the latest injury news etc

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 233 - 26/10/2023 09:39:18    2510361

Replying To northbouind:  "Michaels in serious trouble. L Mor to beat the Spiddalers who are utterly rudderless to retain senior status.

Monivea luck ran out with McDaid injury. How they made the final is beyond me. Kilconly in a canter for a return to senior."
I'd imagine it's because they topped their group, won their Quarter-Final, won their Semi-Final and logically that would place them in the final ..

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 26/10/2023 10:10:16    2510367