Galway Football thread

Replying To Belclare:  "We're not very far off..
Pj confirmed to be staying on for 24..
Key is to freshen up back room team...
We do need a young forward to really shine in the club championship, and keep injury free.."
Funny enough Belclare I would love to see Kevin Johnston involved. How he hasn't been picked up by an inter county set up before now is a mystery. One of the best coaches and football brains around. Would hate to see him end up in a role outside the county

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 289 - 31/07/2023 12:17:16    2498001

Looking at Dublin and Kerry yesterday - Galway team were nowhere near either of them in skill, character or experience. The experience showed on Dublin team - these are much older & much strong lads had such power on the pitch against the young ones. Mick Fitz is 35 - he had a stellar game, you can forget about any galway forward getting past him. Not even Clifford could. M Then they've James McCarthy in his mid 30s. Real leadership, strong, powerful, real commitment. Then you've Claxton - he is a 41 year old man and brings huge leadership and experience. Did anyone else notice Claxton running out of his goals, pushes Cormac Costello on the back and tells him to wake up, get your head in the game? Then you've Mannion in his 30s, Dean Rock is mid thirties. We could go on. They make the Galway lads look like weak little boys - with the exception of Comer and Sean Kelly maybe. You'd wonder why Padraig Joyce got rid of solid players and brought in a young panel. Dublin to me had real character out there yesterday, no egos, and actually gel as a team unit. You could see it in Dublin even in the warm ups. That is the extra what's needed to win. Our Galway goalie was an absolute joke - he just kicked it and hoped for the best. It's all a joke. Shane Walsh should be old enough to be a leader out on the pitch but he has no character whatsoever, he doesn't even look like he has respect from the team. Sean Kelly and Comer both injured. It was obvious half the players didn't even get on. Big things need to change.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 31/07/2023 13:24:01    2498025

Replying To smallfrank:  "How far away are we lads. Watching that yesterday I dont think we could have lived with either team.
We are crying out for a young forward to come through. I think we have options at the back and in midfield."
You're correct - Galway are a long way behind Dublin and Kerry in terms of power, pace, support play, tackling / forcing turnovers, support play, goal-keeping, kick-outs, free-taking, stamina etc. and I can't see that gap being narrowed in the short team at least.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3142 - 31/07/2023 13:35:08    2498031

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Looking at Dublin and Kerry yesterday - Galway team were nowhere near either of them in skill, character or experience. The experience showed on Dublin team - these are much older & much strong lads had such power on the pitch against the young ones. Mick Fitz is 35 - he had a stellar game, you can forget about any galway forward getting past him. Not even Clifford could. M Then they've James McCarthy in his mid 30s. Real leadership, strong, powerful, real commitment. Then you've Claxton - he is a 41 year old man and brings huge leadership and experience. Did anyone else notice Claxton running out of his goals, pushes Cormac Costello on the back and tells him to wake up, get your head in the game? Then you've Mannion in his 30s, Dean Rock is mid thirties. We could go on. They make the Galway lads look like weak little boys - with the exception of Comer and Sean Kelly maybe. You'd wonder why Padraig Joyce got rid of solid players and brought in a young panel. Dublin to me had real character out there yesterday, no egos, and actually gel as a team unit. You could see it in Dublin even in the warm ups. That is the extra what's needed to win. Our Galway goalie was an absolute joke - he just kicked it and hoped for the best. It's all a joke. Shane Walsh should be old enough to be a leader out on the pitch but he has no character whatsoever, he doesn't even look like he has respect from the team. Sean Kelly and Comer both injured. It was obvious half the players didn't even get on. Big things need to change."
Glass half empty eh...............!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3302 - 31/07/2023 13:59:22    2498040

Replying To smallfrank:  "Funny enough Belclare I would love to see Kevin Johnston involved. How he hasn't been picked up by an inter county set up before now is a mystery. One of the best coaches and football brains around. Would hate to see him end up in a role outside the county"
You're onto something there, but when PJ pulls out of his house in Tuam for training at Loughgeorge he should turn left for Corofin on the N17 and get Kevin O'Brien and David Morris, he needs people that will challenge him and the players. I've seen Morris with the Galway hurlers, now if he can imput there imagine what he would do with the footballers. Conroy has a year or two left, Comer, Silke and Walsh are 30, there aren't many years left for these players before jobs and living life have to be addressed. We also need Michael Daly back when he is fit, I also think their is a place for Barry McHugh.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 31/07/2023 14:07:42    2498042

Yeah Galway have a lot to do to compete in a match like yesterday's. Pace can't be coached. We lack a real burst of pace in a few forwards. Tierney really had a goal chance against mayo when he got the ball 60 yards out with a head start, but he was easily caught for pace.

I think if we were there yesterday we would have gotten plenty of turnovers off Dublin, we have a good unit in the backs and our tackling has improved hugely, that Cian O'Neill?
Our forwards if they were there yesterday would've been eaten alive. Any forward on his own got surrounded yesterday, and we play as individuals. Or else we turn backwards. We would've been beaten well yesterday, no doubt about it.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 31/07/2023 14:09:14    2498044

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Looking at Dublin and Kerry yesterday - Galway team were nowhere near either of them in skill, character or experience. The experience showed on Dublin team - these are much older & much strong lads had such power on the pitch against the young ones. Mick Fitz is 35 - he had a stellar game, you can forget about any galway forward getting past him. Not even Clifford could. M Then they've James McCarthy in his mid 30s. Real leadership, strong, powerful, real commitment. Then you've Claxton - he is a 41 year old man and brings huge leadership and experience. Did anyone else notice Claxton running out of his goals, pushes Cormac Costello on the back and tells him to wake up, get your head in the game? Then you've Mannion in his 30s, Dean Rock is mid thirties. We could go on. They make the Galway lads look like weak little boys - with the exception of Comer and Sean Kelly maybe. You'd wonder why Padraig Joyce got rid of solid players and brought in a young panel. Dublin to me had real character out there yesterday, no egos, and actually gel as a team unit. You could see it in Dublin even in the warm ups. That is the extra what's needed to win. Our Galway goalie was an absolute joke - he just kicked it and hoped for the best. It's all a joke. Shane Walsh should be old enough to be a leader out on the pitch but he has no character whatsoever, he doesn't even look like he has respect from the team. Sean Kelly and Comer both injured. It was obvious half the players didn't even get on. Big things need to change."
"It was obvious half the players didn't even get on"...
Now whatever about anything else in that post - that line is just plain bull.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1185 - 31/07/2023 14:44:22    2498061

Replying To tommy k:  "You're correct - Galway are a long way behind Dublin and Kerry in terms of power, pace, support play, tackling / forcing turnovers, support play, goal-keeping, kick-outs, free-taking, stamina etc. and I can't see that gap being narrowed in the short team at least."
Next year Dublin won't have Cluxton, Rock, Mc Carthy and probably Fitzsimons... take them out and they're irreplaceable..
They won that game for Dublin yesterday..
Underage not as strong in the capital...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 31/07/2023 14:47:01    2498063

Replying To GDL:  "You're onto something there, but when PJ pulls out of his house in Tuam for training at Loughgeorge he should turn left for Corofin on the N17 and get Kevin O'Brien and David Morris, he needs people that will challenge him and the players. I've seen Morris with the Galway hurlers, now if he can imput there imagine what he would do with the footballers. Conroy has a year or two left, Comer, Silke and Walsh are 30, there aren't many years left for these players before jobs and living life have to be addressed. We also need Michael Daly back when he is fit, I also think their is a place for Barry McHugh."
Can't understand how people are still on about michael Daly is he not injured plus he was in with county for few years not a county footballer Barry mchugh has got lots chances not good enough either can't stay bringing back same players every year for the sake of it ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 31/07/2023 14:50:42    2498067

Replying To GDL:  "You're onto something there, but when PJ pulls out of his house in Tuam for training at Loughgeorge he should turn left for Corofin on the N17 and get Kevin O'Brien and David Morris, he needs people that will challenge him and the players. I've seen Morris with the Galway hurlers, now if he can imput there imagine what he would do with the footballers. Conroy has a year or two left, Comer, Silke and Walsh are 30, there aren't many years left for these players before jobs and living life have to be addressed. We also need Michael Daly back when he is fit, I also think their is a place for Barry McHugh."
"Conroy has a year or two left, Comer, Silke and Walsh are 30, there aren't many years left for these players before jobs and living life have to be addressed" - why do you have this option? The Dublin team well into their 30s and all way stronger & more experienced for it.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 31/07/2023 14:51:11    2498068

Replying To jam83:  "Yeah Galway have a lot to do to compete in a match like yesterday's. Pace can't be coached. We lack a real burst of pace in a few forwards. Tierney really had a goal chance against mayo when he got the ball 60 yards out with a head start, but he was easily caught for pace.

I think if we were there yesterday we would have gotten plenty of turnovers off Dublin, we have a good unit in the backs and our tackling has improved hugely, that Cian O'Neill?
Our forwards if they were there yesterday would've been eaten alive. Any forward on his own got surrounded yesterday, and we play as individuals. Or else we turn backwards. We would've been beaten well yesterday, no doubt about it."
Mike Fitz was 11 years older than Clifford yesterday. In 2023, our players shouldn't be retiring when they hit 30.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 31/07/2023 14:53:36    2498070

Liam Silke is 28 . Will turn 29 sometime late in the year, Damian Comer wont turn 30 until 2024. Shane Walsh is 30 but there is loads of years left in him. Lets keep the head up. We beat Kerry in League, ran them a close 4 points last year AI ( it was closer than 4 in reality) and that was when DC was on fire for them.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 792 - 31/07/2023 15:18:49    2498088

Replying To anotheralias:  "Please expand. Are you referring to the selection process or the post. If its the post then I would definitely like you to expand on which point you think as being nonsense, as several others seemed to agree with the post based on the number of likes."
Why would a player who only reached the last 16 be picked as an all star? Mayo got to the last 8 and also won't have any all stars. Sean had zero impact on the Mayo game and arguably shouldn't have played at all if injured. Awful call by PJ if he's playing an injured player whether he's captain or not. He is not in the top 10 players in the country this year : Would he be picked over Clifford, McCarthy, Fenton, Rodgers, Basquel, Mannion, McKinless, Diarmuid O'Connor, Fitzsimons, McGuigan? Not in a million years.
He probably didn't get an all star last year as Clifford dominated in the final , he was Sean's direct opponent , Tom O Sullivan didn't get one for Kerry after Shane roasted him. Kelly had a great league campaign but for a player who got knocked out in the last 16, to get an all star he would need to be man of the match in every championship game he played this year, don't remember Kelly getting man of the match in any of the championship games.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 31/07/2023 15:23:38    2498092

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "That is pure and unadulterated bulls**t Kickitout. If all you can do is throw brickbats and lay the blame at the door of our excellent goalkeeper Connor Gleeson, then it's quite clear you don't have much insight at all into the way the game is currently played. We have a team fully capable with a small bit of luck of winning the All Ireland. We demonstrated this in 2022. Injuries unfortunately caught up with us this year. Why don't you instead criticise Cluxton, the infallible, for fumbling a dropping ball against Monaghan almost into his own net. If Gleeson did that the knockers would have a field day. And in case of any doubt, I have no connection whatever with Dunmore, contrary to the assumptions made by some posters to this forum. It is an amateur game. Players are entitled to respect and fair play. If you have nothing constructive to say please say nothing at all. Gaillimh Abû."
I hope you watched cluxton yesterday 23 kickouts and 23 won 2 points from 45s and ask yourself is there a keeper in galway that would come even close to that and also the speed at which he got his kicks away for a man in his forties. without him dublin wouldn't be all Ireland champions today sheer class

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 211 - 31/07/2023 16:11:03    2498122

Replying To minor77:  "I hope you watched cluxton yesterday 23 kickouts and 23 won 2 points from 45s and ask yourself is there a keeper in galway that would come even close to that and also the speed at which he got his kicks away for a man in his forties. without him dublin wouldn't be all Ireland champions today sheer class"
There are elements to his game that Gleeson could copy.
How hard is it for the lad to realise that he should have the ball and tee left beside the goal so he can grab them quick and run out to get a quick kick out away?.

Sure he can't replicate Cluxton and start kicking 45s but he can certainly be as prepared as him.. hell anyone with 4 limbs can replicate that aspect.

That's as much as on his shoulders than Joyce. It's Joyce's fault we haven't got the movement or work down on the outfield players but nothing is stopping Gleeson being prepared.

Also I would add Dublin wouldn't have got that many kick outs away had they not worked on it.
How many times was the ball clipped into the corner back position to Howard?, And how many times have we had a midfielder claim a ball there?
Our pathetic approach is to bunch our 6 backs and then have them slowly run back into their designated positions... amatuer hour stuff.
Dublin pull everyone outside their 45 so players can run back into space and you just need to put the ball in front of the runner.
You'd think our management team might think this is a better approach, considering a winning team has tried it, rather than their woeful approach which yields at best a dodgy kick to a static player pressed against the 22 under immediate pressure.

What did Dublin do in the 73rd minute after Clifford's miss?
They kicked the ball in quickly and wasted time with ball in hand.
If that was us, we would have tried to waste time with the kick out which means you kick it long and have to hope ye win it back.
This is exactly why in every winning game we have been reeled in near the end.
And no doubt next year, instead of looking at what the best team did, we'll do the exact same things that lead to us getting knocked out this year(attacking a 15 man Armagh defence when effectively winning and kicking an aimless kickout to Mayo to run back into our net).

We can talk about whatever players we have all we want, but we are so poorly prepared, coached and structured we're just giving up any inch that can be gained and turning it into a minus instead.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2023 16:52:59    2498149

otb said today Mark OConnor is returning to kerry next season. Kerry will be much stronger with him back. Also Gallagher was outstanding for Moycullen again, shame he has falling out with Joyce

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 656 - 31/07/2023 17:33:42    2498176

Replying To candlewax:  "Why would a player who only reached the last 16 be picked as an all star? Mayo got to the last 8 and also won't have any all stars. Sean had zero impact on the Mayo game and arguably shouldn't have played at all if injured. Awful call by PJ if he's playing an injured player whether he's captain or not. He is not in the top 10 players in the country this year : Would he be picked over Clifford, McCarthy, Fenton, Rodgers, Basquel, Mannion, McKinless, Diarmuid O'Connor, Fitzsimons, McGuigan? Not in a million years.
He probably didn't get an all star last year as Clifford dominated in the final , he was Sean's direct opponent , Tom O Sullivan didn't get one for Kerry after Shane roasted him. Kelly had a great league campaign but for a player who got knocked out in the last 16, to get an all star he would need to be man of the match in every championship game he played this year, don't remember Kelly getting man of the match in any of the championship games."
Thanks for clarifying. I think we are in agreement on almost everything , including the fact that Sean Kelly was never in consideration for an All Star this year. Where we disagree is that I believe consideration should be given to players on teams who only make QF or last 16 ( especially last 16 & provincial champs). The inter county season ignoring FBD & equivalents is a max of about 17 games. Galway played 13. Kerry played 15. Their should be a more holistic approach to All Star and Team of the Year selection. It would make it more interesting and less predictable. It would also give opportunity for individual accolades for players from teams less likely to win AI. The players that get to AI are rewarded enough for getting to the AI and, yes, they do deserve All stars if they deserve them , but not because their team progress further. Niall Scully is an example I often quote, a fine player, but there is not a notion in the world that he would have got his All Star if he was playing for anyone except Dublin. I would have Sean Kelly ahead of Mick Fitz anyday , and will still argue that his performances over the course of the year were at a consistently higher level.
And as a side note . Mick Fitz probably got the same roasting from DC as SK did. Its just that a) supply was poorer b) the covering players were better and c) DC left his A grade shooting boots at home.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 792 - 31/07/2023 17:34:48    2498177

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "There are elements to his game that Gleeson could copy.
How hard is it for the lad to realise that he should have the ball and tee left beside the goal so he can grab them quick and run out to get a quick kick out away?.

Sure he can't replicate Cluxton and start kicking 45s but he can certainly be as prepared as him.. hell anyone with 4 limbs can replicate that aspect.

That's as much as on his shoulders than Joyce. It's Joyce's fault we haven't got the movement or work down on the outfield players but nothing is stopping Gleeson being prepared.

Also I would add Dublin wouldn't have got that many kick outs away had they not worked on it.
How many times was the ball clipped into the corner back position to Howard?, And how many times have we had a midfielder claim a ball there?
Our pathetic approach is to bunch our 6 backs and then have them slowly run back into their designated positions... amatuer hour stuff.
Dublin pull everyone outside their 45 so players can run back into space and you just need to put the ball in front of the runner.
You'd think our management team might think this is a better approach, considering a winning team has tried it, rather than their woeful approach which yields at best a dodgy kick to a static player pressed against the 22 under immediate pressure.

What did Dublin do in the 73rd minute after Clifford's miss?
They kicked the ball in quickly and wasted time with ball in hand.
If that was us, we would have tried to waste time with the kick out which means you kick it long and have to hope ye win it back.
This is exactly why in every winning game we have been reeled in near the end.
And no doubt next year, instead of looking at what the best team did, we'll do the exact same things that lead to us getting knocked out this year(attacking a 15 man Armagh defence when effectively winning and kicking an aimless kickout to Mayo to run back into our net).

We can talk about whatever players we have all we want, but we are so poorly prepared, coached and structured we're just giving up any inch that can be gained and turning it into a minus instead."
It's an enormous ask for any goalkeeper to replicate Cluxton as he has been the greatest influence on football in the T.V . age, I can't go back any further. in the earlier time members of the full back line often took kick outs and the sole aim was to kick as far as possible and let the middle line players fight for it.Cluxton was the one who made safe retention restarts the foundation for his teams next attack.He started to play short to the corners ,or chipped to the wings, left balls in space for a team mate to run onto and when teams got a handle on all that he can pick out his best fielding team mate with a long one.All of this was new and innovative at the time and the rest are still trying to play catchup.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 31/07/2023 20:23:15    2498227

Galways problem is there is too much individual stuff going on and they aren't on a collective mission working together towards their goal. Walsh's attitude this year was off he needed a break similar to mannion and mccaffery. Then you have lads using their exposure to run camps and courses and these things, I have a funny feeling you wouldn't see any current player from Dublin or Kerry doing such things. Too much individuality in Galway cashing in on last years lucky side of the draw to an AI. Do a Dublin cut the BS bring in some real leaders from clubs and see what can be done because after this years performance the top 5 have progressed and Galway regressed

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 201 - 31/07/2023 20:31:50    2498229

Replying To anotheralias:  "Liam Silke is 28 . Will turn 29 sometime late in the year, Damian Comer wont turn 30 until 2024. Shane Walsh is 30 but there is loads of years left in him. Lets keep the head up. We beat Kerry in League, ran them a close 4 points last year AI ( it was closer than 4 in reality) and that was when DC was on fire for them."
Absolutely, they are needed and I rate every one of them they are generational players, but if there isn't the correct resources or coaching around them they won't be around, why would they be up to their knees in mud in January and February to play with only a small chance of winning. Now in fairness the wheels fell off with the injuries to Molloy, the Kelly's, McHugh, Damo, Finnerty and the serious Heaney injury from the league final and Silke gone travelling. Dublin or Kerry couldn't have replaced the 7 or 8 starters we were down at times. The only benefits we got were the return of Maher and Cooke and the brilliant McGrath.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 31/07/2023 21:10:19    2498235