Galway Football thread

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Thats been the case for a while now the forward play is disjointed. Dire match on now Tyr vs Arm its a poor championship. Kildare and Cork both poor teams, Kerry average too but Dubs at least trying to make it attractive to watch. If Mayo dont win this year they never will but its easy to see them fill the togs in a final against say Derry or Dublin. Im not convinced about Galway this year but its 2/2 we are as good as about 6 other teams."
Derry won't be next, nigh or near an AI final for a start.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 03/06/2023 21:55:26    2483839

Im sure Shane will play against Armagh. Its at the business end we need him firing like he did last year. Lets hope ref stops Armagh from dragging out of him like they did last year. The whole forward line is constrained by the way we are set up defensively. We need to get more ball into them quick at angles and not lateral passes around the 50.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 03/06/2023 22:08:08    2483841

Replying To Triffic:  "Derry won't be next, nigh or near an AI final for a start."
On this I would have to agree. Not sure Meenagh has the in game ability to tweak it as necessary. However any team with McKaigue, Rogers, Glass, McFaul and McGuigan can't be written off too handy.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 03/06/2023 22:33:44    2483844

Any word on how Finnerty is? Plenty positional switches to get him into the team and then similar when he had to go off and later for Maher which moved Cooke further up. The line have been acting quicker this year and will do what's needed which is positive (albeit finnerty a forced change)

daveof84 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 03/06/2023 23:42:11    2483853

Comer/Maher excellent on introduction but for me, McGrath man of the match. Some player.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/06/2023 23:51:58    2483855

Job done, 20 scores from 10 different players and only conceeded 12, the injury to Finnerty is a worry. The creation of goal chances is a positive and shows the work been done at training. The improvement of Cooke is great to see. I thought Cillian McDaid did a great job on 'O'Toole after the switch with Sean Kelly and this gave Kelly greater freedom to do what he does best and attack from deep.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 722 - 04/06/2023 08:31:09    2483864

Westmeath v Galway Highlights https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iL6Q7Llkpq4

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 04/06/2023 12:22:26    2483893

Replying To GDL:  "Job done, 20 scores from 10 different players and only conceeded 12, the injury to Finnerty is a worry. The creation of goal chances is a positive and shows the work been done at training. The improvement of Cooke is great to see. I thought Cillian McDaid did a great job on 'O'Toole after the switch with Sean Kelly and this gave Kelly greater freedom to do what he does best and attack from deep."
tbh, with regards to fulfilling any specialised role, Kelly is struggling. Westmeath had a decent centre-forward and full-forward that tested the central channel.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 04/06/2023 14:11:20    2483906

Mayo togs binned out the back of McHale after that performance. You would be some mug punter to back them to win at 7/2. There is more chance of Padraig Joyce togging at 14 for the Dubs as Mayo ever winning Sam.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 04/06/2023 16:16:22    2483943

It took a while to get going and some of the marking by the backs was very loose at times particularly in the first half but Galway could / should have scored 3 goals at least in the game to make it more comfortable. Its good to see that even with Shane Walsh playing poorly and Finnerty also not at the same level as last year (both seemed to be carrying injuries into the game) that other players like McGrath, Hernon and Cooke as well as Maher and Comer when they came on made such a big difference. Kelly, Daly and Heaney were solid. Conroy and Tierney had quiet games by their normal standards.
Good to see Mulkerrin back also and Molloy is not too far off from getting back to full fitness it appears. We will need all these players to be fully firing when the heat comes on later in the championship in order to get over the line.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 04/06/2023 18:08:02    2483988

Does anyone know when they are doing the club championship draw? Why is it left so late this year?

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 06/06/2023 07:58:32    2484264

Replying To LetsPlayBall:  "Does anyone know when they are doing the club championship draw? Why is it left so late this year?"
After the league is finished. One of the reasons for it to stop clubs playing shadow teams if they draw a current league opponent in their championship group. It ensures the latter stages of the league stay as competitive as possible. I can see the logic in it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 06/06/2023 11:19:50    2484330

A lot of positives from the game, even though they went toe to toe with us for much of the game until the sending off and final stretch, when Comer and Maher really took the game by the scruff of the neck. Direct football helps!
A big question mark for me remains this, our forward interplay and cohesive movement isn't happening to anywhere near full effect. It's too disjointed and just doesn't look like a number of go-to attacking plays are being ran like they are and have been for years in Dublin training, for example. Sure U12 teams are doing three man weaves and loops in training, I think we can go a bit beyond that in our prep! We've the players to do it, but half the time they just don't seem to know where to be or who to hit and when. An orchestra of brilliant musicians needs a conductor, who is putting this in place with our forward unit? It's not obvious.
And this is all culminating in our now obvious inability to efficiently score goals. This aspect of our game was beyond poor against Westmeath. Let's face it, for a team with this ability our goal taking is in really poor order. Blasting over the bar repeatedly - intermediate stuff. This needs some serious training ground work. Tier 1, elite IC forwards must practice again and again until they find either of those two bottom corners, then we'll be at something. Galway will not win an all ireland unless we can put the majority of our goal chances away - it simply has to be rectified. I think we can but it won't happen by magic - work on it please lads and then ye can do yourselves full justice on the field. A goal is worth more than 3 points! It's a psychological hammer to another team and a rocket under your supporters! Let's see them.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 06/06/2023 12:34:43    2484372

Replying To WanPintWin:  "After the league is finished. One of the reasons for it to stop clubs playing shadow teams if they draw a current league opponent in their championship group. It ensures the latter stages of the league stay as competitive as possible. I can see the logic in it."
Ah ok, understandable.
Thanks for clearing that up

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 06/06/2023 12:39:09    2484373

Replying To togoutlads:  "A lot of positives from the game, even though they went toe to toe with us for much of the game until the sending off and final stretch, when Comer and Maher really took the game by the scruff of the neck. Direct football helps!
A big question mark for me remains this, our forward interplay and cohesive movement isn't happening to anywhere near full effect. It's too disjointed and just doesn't look like a number of go-to attacking plays are being ran like they are and have been for years in Dublin training, for example. Sure U12 teams are doing three man weaves and loops in training, I think we can go a bit beyond that in our prep! We've the players to do it, but half the time they just don't seem to know where to be or who to hit and when. An orchestra of brilliant musicians needs a conductor, who is putting this in place with our forward unit? It's not obvious.
And this is all culminating in our now obvious inability to efficiently score goals. This aspect of our game was beyond poor against Westmeath. Let's face it, for a team with this ability our goal taking is in really poor order. Blasting over the bar repeatedly - intermediate stuff. This needs some serious training ground work. Tier 1, elite IC forwards must practice again and again until they find either of those two bottom corners, then we'll be at something. Galway will not win an all ireland unless we can put the majority of our goal chances away - it simply has to be rectified. I think we can but it won't happen by magic - work on it please lads and then ye can do yourselves full justice on the field. A goal is worth more than 3 points! It's a psychological hammer to another team and a rocket under your supporters! Let's see them."
Agree re goal scoring the league final was a prime example 4 goal chances created and none scored made the mayo goalkeeper man of the match

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 224 - 06/06/2023 14:08:51    2484416

Replying To minor77:  "Agree re goal scoring the league final was a prime example 4 goal chances created and none scored made the mayo goalkeeper man of the match"
All those goal chances were hit straight at Reape. He shouldnt have even been on the pitch after his foul on Heaney. I notice a lot of shots straight at keeper, the odd one good by the Dubs and Derry but most are poor efforts but ic forwards.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 06/06/2023 17:17:41    2484508

If we get the win the next day we get 2 weeks off before a QF at a neutral venue first weekend in July.
The preliminary QF games don't get a break so would need the win even though with scoring diff we should still finish top regardless.
Now looking at the groups and the expected tables. They are ruling out repeat pairings from the groups and Provincial finals so we could end up with Kerry or Monaghan. Have I got that right.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 07/06/2023 13:11:30    2484730

Replying To smallfrank:  "If we get the win the next day we get 2 weeks off before a QF at a neutral venue first weekend in July.
The preliminary QF games don't get a break so would need the win even though with scoring diff we should still finish top regardless.
Now looking at the groups and the expected tables. They are ruling out repeat pairings from the groups and Provincial finals so we could end up with Kerry or Monaghan. Have I got that right."
Yes quite likely I'd say,unless they get Kerry id fancy Tyrone or Armagh to beat any other of the 2nd 3rd teams so of the four qualifiers through we may only be able to play 2 teams one of which is kerry. A lot could change of course who taught Roscommon Monaghan would get draws v Derry & Dublin and Mayo beat Kerry

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1160 - 07/06/2023 14:12:05    2484755

Sean Walsh out injured for the minors against Derry. Sounds like he won't be back for the remainder of the championship either even if they progress.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 07/06/2023 19:45:59    2484831

Any word on Finnertys injury. He would be a big loss even as a bench option.

Shane just doesn't look right. Looks to be playing in second gear like a lad is carrying some sort of niggle. Need to get him firing soon. We could have a tough QF (aiming even if we lose to Armagh our PD will keep us on top).

Good points made by a few of ye on the goal chances. This is becoming a trend and needs to be addressed. I'd say our conversion rate 1 on 1 must be less than 10%..... I didn't do the stats, that's just what it seems like!

Tomo had a lot of game time against both Tyrone and WM. I was very disappointed with him. Very static.

Hernon really took the WM game by the scruff of the neck. Thought he was very passive in league final, not backing himself to take on his man but glad to see the change. He has the talent, now that he is more settled in the squad maybe he can push on.

Puzzle - Conroy, Cooke, Mcdaid, Maher - do we start all 4?

Cooke was excellent when he moved to midfield last week. Was that because of the position or just because he has a run of games under his belt.

Is Mcdaid better in midfield than half back? I think we need to find run for Sweeney.

Conroy is class but he doesn't break lines like the others. Would his ball playing be better with 20 to go?

If we start all 4 do we leave ourselves exposed on the bench?

I leave that puzzle to PJ!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 09/06/2023 09:05:37    2485065