Galway Football thread

I see the world is ending again and the doom merchants are out.

On the Donegal game
Thought Gleesons kick outs were much improved. But they obviously needed to be. He was badly at fault for the penalty. It should have been a kick out because of the foul on McDaid (I think it was Mcdaid). He was pushed in the back and into the keeper. however Gleeson should have been much more dominant and taken all before him. He was passive on the line.

P Kelly looks miles off the pace. He is a good footballer and definitely I/C level so I think it is worth giving him the minutes he needs to get back up to speed even if there is short term pain.

Great to see Tierney being so good again. He looks to have a bit more meat on him this year. I think he has a huge ceiling.

Davoren didn't seem to impact much. Probably give him another run to be fair to him.

People complaining about PJ's substitutions. I am happy enough to see him trying players. I thought Sweeney was reasonable impressive again. Brings a bit of dash to the game. I think it will suit him even more when the ground gets a bit better.

If we find a couple of players, and I think we have, we will be there or there abouts come championship. We seem to have found a few defenders. And Cooke isn't a find as such but certainly a big addition.

A lot of people have rightly pointed out that our depth of scoring forwards is now our problem. We are better than most with our main men injury free but we cannot depend on that. Ian Burke has not got back to his previous levels yet. I think he is worth persisting with because he has the class and it will be worth it if we can get him back to his best.

The way the league is going we need a minimum of 1 more win. Next week has to be all about the win. Park trying lads out and go all out to put Monaghan away. then we can experiment a bit in last 2 games. I wouldn't like to be going away to Armagh or last game against Kerry needing to get something.

Championship is all about confidence and momentum and if we can finish the league with a couple of new players, injury free panel and a mid table position .....mission accomplished.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 27/02/2023 10:16:57    2460556

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Thought he was due back for Monaghan game.Is there something going on?"
He is playing for Michael Cusacks Sydney next weekend!

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 27/02/2023 10:21:00    2460559

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "just saw on fb there that Shane is in Syney and got engaged.Congrats to him and looks like we defimitely won't see him next week anyway."
Bad form. All the players are giving up loads of family events, nights out, holidays with girlfriends etc.,How much of a break does he need,

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 27/02/2023 10:25:48    2460560

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Bad form. All the players are giving up loads of family events, nights out, holidays with girlfriends etc.,How much of a break does he need,"
Yeah I'm all for lads getting a break but Clifford was back weeks ago and he played in a club final the weekend before kilmacuds one.
I think it'd be better for the panel if Walsh played in a league match or 2 to at least not make it look like he's only turning up when the slogging in the league is out of the way.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 27/02/2023 10:33:47    2460568

lucky to get a point yesterday. Ball handing by forwards was poor.
Championship team will be more ruthless no doubt. Excellent MOTM
Mathew Tierney.
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 27/02/2023 10:35:36    2460569

Of the 4 games played in the League so far, after the clock went past 70 minutes Galway have been ahead in 3 of them games and level with Roscommon but has only been able to win 1 game (Tyrone). Surely that's a worry for the management team. Especially after they finished very poorly in some championship games last year.

HopBall22 (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 27/02/2023 10:55:52    2460580

Replying To Mayonman:  "I see the world is ending again and the doom merchants are out.

On the Donegal game
Thought Gleesons kick outs were much improved. But they obviously needed to be. He was badly at fault for the penalty. It should have been a kick out because of the foul on McDaid (I think it was Mcdaid). He was pushed in the back and into the keeper. however Gleeson should have been much more dominant and taken all before him. He was passive on the line.

P Kelly looks miles off the pace. He is a good footballer and definitely I/C level so I think it is worth giving him the minutes he needs to get back up to speed even if there is short term pain.

Great to see Tierney being so good again. He looks to have a bit more meat on him this year. I think he has a huge ceiling.

Davoren didn't seem to impact much. Probably give him another run to be fair to him.

People complaining about PJ's substitutions. I am happy enough to see him trying players. I thought Sweeney was reasonable impressive again. Brings a bit of dash to the game. I think it will suit him even more when the ground gets a bit better.

If we find a couple of players, and I think we have, we will be there or there abouts come championship. We seem to have found a few defenders. And Cooke isn't a find as such but certainly a big addition.

A lot of people have rightly pointed out that our depth of scoring forwards is now our problem. We are better than most with our main men injury free but we cannot depend on that. Ian Burke has not got back to his previous levels yet. I think he is worth persisting with because he has the class and it will be worth it if we can get him back to his best.

The way the league is going we need a minimum of 1 more win. Next week has to be all about the win. Park trying lads out and go all out to put Monaghan away. then we can experiment a bit in last 2 games. I wouldn't like to be going away to Armagh or last game against Kerry needing to get something.

Championship is all about confidence and momentum and if we can finish the league with a couple of new players, injury free panel and a mid table position .....mission accomplished."
It's not fair to be calling posters doom merchants.
Our kickout strategy is the same as when Ruairi Lavelle was in goal and Tom Flynn was midfield 5 years ago. Overload 1 side, kick it to them and try and win the break. It didn't work then and everyone blamed Lavell and it doesn't work now and it's really not Gleesons fault.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 27/02/2023 10:56:03    2460582

Replying To jam83:  "I'm totally perplexed about the kickouts. I don't know is it management or the goalie at fault. Midfielders would surely be moving into rehearsed positions if they were being bollocked out of it every week for not following instructions. So how are we still so bad at them?
I remember one today where Gleeson went long and straight down the middle but there was 1 Galway man on his own competing against a few others and it just went over them all and Donegal gathered it. Seems like Gleeson didn't have a pre rehearsed routine there to aim at, but surely to God if he had a bit of smarts he wouldn't aim a kickout at a sitting duck on his own in midfield?
The draw today is purely down to Donegal having outrageous wides. A 6 point loss wouldn't have flattered Donegal. It's early in the year and all that, but this isn't what I was expecting from Galway this year. The lack of quality outside the first choice full back, centre back, midfielders and all forward positions is very worrying. Over half way through the league and we haven't unearthed an inside forward that could've made a difference in last year's final. I know Culhane is knocking around but we need to see him in this league to see if he has balls like Tierney to take a shot on, or take a man on."
Going by what I have seen re the forwards this year / last year the best 6 that Galway could field currently IMO would be: Shane Walsh, Damien Comer, Rob Finnerty, Matt Tierney (has really stepped it up the last 2 games and fair play to him), Tomo Culhane and Cathal Sweeney (I know he played at half back yesterday but is more of a half forward). Most of the others I have seen e.g. Ian Burke (gone back a long way from where he was was 5 / 6 years ago), Patrick Kelly, Paul Kelly, Johnny Heaney, Eoin Finnerty, Ger Davoren (not a full forward anyway in fairness to him), Dessie Conneely and Owen Gallagher have been disappointing. Peter Cooke is mixing the sublime (each of his points in the last 2 games) with the awful (some poor kick-passes and miskicks into the goalie or wides) so he has to step it up big time as its in him and Cillian McDaid was not at his best yesterday for whatever reason (probably seen as a real danger-man now and is being closely marked / targeted). Paul Conroy is regaining some form in the last 2 games but is no longer the excellent player he was as time is catching up with him sadly.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/02/2023 11:33:46    2460605

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Bad form. All the players are giving up loads of family events, nights out, holidays with girlfriends etc.,How much of a break does he need,"
Maybe another few months !!!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/02/2023 11:38:27    2460608

A draw a fair result yesterday in the end. If Conroy had nailed that free I'd have been sickened. I think the key period was us not increasing our lead just before half time when we shot some awful wides. It was a lot harder kciking into that wind second half and we did well in that last 10 minutes or so to land three points when it looked like we'd go the entire second half scoreless.

Big Tierney has come on an awful lot for you and Finnerty was very lively when introduced. I was surprised seeing Peter Cooke hooked. He was having a decent outing. Maybe he was a bit gassed second half? I think if ye maybe had our goal keeper and his kick outs bheadh sibh ar mhuin na muice.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 27/02/2023 11:51:32    2460610

Replying To tommy k:  "Going by what I have seen re the forwards this year / last year the best 6 that Galway could field currently IMO would be: Shane Walsh, Damien Comer, Rob Finnerty, Matt Tierney (has really stepped it up the last 2 games and fair play to him), Tomo Culhane and Cathal Sweeney (I know he played at half back yesterday but is more of a half forward). Most of the others I have seen e.g. Ian Burke (gone back a long way from where he was was 5 / 6 years ago), Patrick Kelly, Paul Kelly, Johnny Heaney, Eoin Finnerty, Ger Davoren (not a full forward anyway in fairness to him), Dessie Conneely and Owen Gallagher have been disappointing. Peter Cooke is mixing the sublime (each of his points in the last 2 games) with the awful (some poor kick-passes and miskicks into the goalie or wides) so he has to step it up big time as its in him and Cillian McDaid was not at his best yesterday for whatever reason (probably seen as a real danger-man now and is being closely marked / targeted). Paul Conroy is regaining some form in the last 2 games but is no longer the excellent player he was as time is catching up with him sadly."
I think Eoin Finnerty has done reasonably well, could be an option off the bench.

Ian needs big players around him, he will take chances and create them. Another good option of the bench.

Sweeney was very impressive yesterday.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 27/02/2023 12:01:32    2460617

Replying To HopBall22:  "Of the 4 games played in the League so far, after the clock went past 70 minutes Galway have been ahead in 3 of them games and level with Roscommon but has only been able to win 1 game (Tyrone). Surely that's a worry for the management team. Especially after they finished very poorly in some championship games last year."
Replying To anotheralias: "I know that we all recognise how poor we have been at closing out games but when you do the stats over the last 9 competitive games ( ignoring FBD league) it is frightening .

Scoring stats in latter end of games.
2022 CQF -- Mayo 0-5 Galway 0-0
2022 CSF - Leitrim 0-2 Galway 1-0
2022 CF - Roscommon 1-1 Galway 0-0
2022 AI QF Armagh 2-1 Galway 0-1
2022 AI SF Derry 1-0 Galway 0-0
2022 AI Final Kerry 0-4 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Mayo 0-1 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Roscommon 0-5 Galway 0-1
2023 NL Tyrone 0-4 Galway 0-0

Cumulative
Opponents 4-21 Galway 1-2

Now the only positive I can take out of this stat is that given that we won, drew or lost very narrowly in all of these games , image what our scoring difference would be if we had not had end of game fade outs.
But that would really looking at this with rose tinted glasses and ignoring a real problem."

I had mentioned that here a couple of times recently and anotheralias posted the above so yesterday's game was yet another to add to the long list where Galway let a lead slip to draw / lose most games that should have been won fairly comfortably. Is it a fitness issue leading to a lack of concentration or just being complacent thinking the "job is done" with about 10 mins to go as this is becoming too predictable at this stage?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/02/2023 12:12:25    2460624

Replying To smallfrank:  "
Replying To Mayonman:  "I see the world is ending again and the doom merchants are out.

On the Donegal game

Championship is all about confidence and momentum and if we can finish the league with a couple of new players, injury free panel and a mid table position .....mission accomplished."
It's not fair to be calling posters doom merchants.
Our kickout strategy is the same as when Ruairi Lavelle was in goal and Tom Flynn was midfield 5 years ago. Overload 1 side, kick it to them and try and win the break. It didn't work then and everyone blamed Lavell and it doesn't work now and it's really not Gleesons fault."
Of course it is fair calling out the doom merchants. Posts on here go from we are brilliant to everything is wrong. Very little nuance.

You make a fair point about the kick out strategy. I thought it was ok yesterday but in general I agree with you.

Look back over the forum after the Ros game and again after the Donegal game. some posters making fair comment (like your post above) but there are a lot that are way over the top.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 27/02/2023 12:29:19    2460627

Replying To tommy k:  "Replying To anotheralias: "I know that we all recognise how poor we have been at closing out games but when you do the stats over the last 9 competitive games ( ignoring FBD league) it is frightening .

Cumulative

Now the only positive I can take out of this stat is that given that we won, drew or lost very narrowly in all of these games , image what our scoring difference would be if we had not had end of game fade outs.
But that would really looking at this with rose tinted glasses and ignoring a real problem."

I had mentioned that here a couple of times recently and anotheralias posted the above so yesterday's game was yet another to add to the long list where Galway let a lead slip to draw / lose most games that should have been won fairly comfortably. Is it a fitness issue leading to a lack of concentration or just being complacent thinking the "job is done" with about 10 mins to go as this is becoming too predictable at this stage?"
I think when you compile a track record like that one, you can rule out the complacency idea, unless there's a 'slow learner' issue inherent in the squad/setup also.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/02/2023 12:44:16    2460635

Replying To tommy k:  "Replying To anotheralias: "I know that we all recognise how poor we have been at closing out games but when you do the stats over the last 9 competitive games ( ignoring FBD league) it is frightening .

Cumulative

I had mentioned that here a couple of times recently and anotheralias posted the above so yesterday's game was yet another to add to the long list where Galway let a lead slip to draw / lose most games that should have been won fairly comfortably. Is it a fitness issue leading to a lack of concentration or just being complacent thinking the "job is done" with about 10 mins to go as this is becoming too predictable at this stage?"
Wow them are some horrible endings. Sigh. Do you think it's nerves, lack of fitness, getting too conservative with a late lead?!? Wtf?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 27/02/2023 13:24:30    2460651

Replying To Trump2020:  "Wow them are some horrible endings. Sigh. Do you think it's nerves, lack of fitness, getting too conservative with a late lead?!? Wtf?"
Possibly a little bit of all the above! Whatever the reason it has to be sorted out along with the goalkeeper, kick-outs and winning midfield possession which are a long way short of the standards required at senior intercounty also.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/02/2023 13:48:41    2460658

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I think when you compile a track record like that one, you can rule out the complacency idea, unless there's a 'slow learner' issue inherent in the squad/setup also."
Of course there are a lot of "slow learner" issues in the current team and Galway football teams for a long time now with a good example being the kick-outs and losing about 70% to 80% of all the long ones which has been going on for at least 20 years now!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/02/2023 14:04:31    2460666

he did share that he was mentally drained and needed a break. If that's the case then it should be treated the same as a physical injury. I do think it's tough for management to deal with though when it comes to the other players. If I was going to training, missing family time and altering my diet etc I might be a bit put that the lad who won the club all ireland a dream come true for all of them is off gallivanting and will waltz back on to the team.

I don't know what's right or wrong in this situation but I do hope that if a lad who mainly featured on the bench said he was mentally not ok and needed a break he'd be given the same treatment. Players do need to look after their mental health. ALL players

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/02/2023 14:13:17    2460668

On the Donegal game

Its the League and still February. PJ and Co are hardly going to show their full hand at this stage both in terms of starting players and subs and also re kickouts. There is a chance that Molloy will be back for the championship, certainly the round robin games so baring injury that would be just one man down from what was available last summer, albeit a key all star L Silke. It was widely agreed that lack of depth was the difference between us and the kingdom in the final with their bench getting them over the line. We have to find 2 or 3 players. As of now it looks like Cooke is going to be involved in the big days. He had got a good spell already and was very good v Mayo in Limerick. The other newcomers are inexperienced with 3 making debut yesterday against a division 1 team at home in desperate need of points. All 3 were quiet poor but surely deserve at least 1 more chance. Eoghan Kelly has being doing well and should be fine tuned by the end of the league. Sweeney is also likely to be starting or close to starting though his defending needs work. Being without or first choice full forward line may yet be a blessing in disguise as it is allowing others get crucial game time. Other teams in the league are starting close to their top 15 at this stage while we are without one of the best players we have ever seen and Comer . Had they been playing it is fair to say we would be unbeaten thus far in the league. Indeed had Cooke or McDaid not been substituted we would have got the 2 points yesterday, but throwing the newbies in at the deep end was the right call. Re the kickouts, do any posters here really think that our management are not aware of the bad return we are getting from long kickouts? We have to have a plan in place for the big days in Salthill and hopefully crooker later on. If we can grind out a win next Sunday we should be ok.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 27/02/2023 14:20:12    2460673

Replying To Trump2020:  "Wow them are some horrible endings. Sigh. Do you think it's nerves, lack of fitness, getting too conservative with a late lead?!? Wtf?"
By the way fadeouts during key games has been going on a long time with Galway footballers also (at least 20 years) except with the current team the fadeouts are usually in the last 10 - 15 mins which is worse than in the second or third quarters for example when you still have time to make up the deficit if you are good enough of course.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/02/2023 14:21:11    2460674