Galway Hurling thread

Replying To tommy k:  "That half forward line you picked will not win much possession Trucker and that has been Galway's main problem over the years apart from perhaps 2015 - 2018 when they had no player under 6 feet in that line."
Yes initially I had Joe Cooney wing forward with with either Grealish to start with P Mannion going to wingback or you could have Gearoid Mac with Fintan going to the corner(pace issue with that) but then I just thought what a beast of a half backline we would have with Cianan, Daithi and Joe. If Joe Cooney goes to wing forward, it is hard to know who to drop out, I think Niland has to start, in my view he is offering plenty from play and is better at frees than Conor Cooney and we have to nail our frees. Cathal Mannion maybe could go to midfield or have Cooney and Monaghan as your finishers. Great to have Glynn back no matter how we look at it, he could move out for the puck outs as could Whelan and leave one of them in there. All good options

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 08/03/2024 11:39:02    2530301

Replying To foreveryoung:  "He'll be in the starting 15 no prob. Nothing better than him for the half-forward line."
Not sure about that, depends on the strategy Shefflin wants to go with, that will determine if he starts. Shefflin saw Galway play Limerick out of it for 15 minutes last year. Limerick changed strategy and dominated the remainder of the game. Galway were left hitting long aimless balls into the Limerick half back line.
What Glynn offers more than anything is in game options that they didn't have last year. For example J Cooney could go center back/midfield and Glynn could come into forwards, totally different proposition to deal with, or push Cathal Mannion out as he can score from distance. Glynn is not the most skillful player, but great man to a ball and get a free or lay off a ball to the scoring forwards. Its really horses for courses. Good addition IMHO

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 08/03/2024 13:23:20    2530311

Good to see Cathal Mannion, Brian Concannon and Joseph Cooney back on the 26. Squad is taking shape gradually

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 676 - 08/03/2024 21:32:17    2530381

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Not sure about that, depends on the strategy Shefflin wants to go with, that will determine if he starts. Shefflin saw Galway play Limerick out of it for 15 minutes last year. Limerick changed strategy and dominated the remainder of the game. Galway were left hitting long aimless balls into the Limerick half back line.
What Glynn offers more than anything is in game options that they didn't have last year. For example J Cooney could go center back/midfield and Glynn could come into forwards, totally different proposition to deal with, or push Cathal Mannion out as he can score from distance. Glynn is not the most skillful player, but great man to a ball and get a free or lay off a ball to the scoring forwards. Its really horses for courses. Good addition IMHO"
I think the most positive outcome of Johnny coming back is we now have options, i think galway have really lacked options over the last few years. Looking at the last few posts theres the Glynn scenario will he start or not or where will he play, that also gives us to play Joseph Cooney wherever he fits best and if that is wing back that could be Grealish/Mac dropped and pushing for places. If Kevin Cooney came back eariler than expected we would be coming along nicely

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 09/03/2024 11:50:13    2530430

Replying To Galway456:  "I think the most positive outcome of Johnny coming back is we now have options, i think galway have really lacked options over the last few years. Looking at the last few posts theres the Glynn scenario will he start or not or where will he play, that also gives us to play Joseph Cooney wherever he fits best and if that is wing back that could be Grealish/Mac dropped and pushing for places. If Kevin Cooney came back eariler than expected we would be coming along nicely"
It will be important for the likes of Declan McLoughlin to get back from injury also as he could make a difference in a tight game.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 09/03/2024 19:22:09    2530505

Glad Galway won but we'll be missing Conor Whelan and Daithi Burke against Limerick thanks to Red Cards. Normally I'd be annoyed but I don't mind as two other guys will get a chance to play against a great team. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2123 - 10/03/2024 15:12:20    2530582

Grand win, nothing fancy about it. Scored ten points in a row once we went down to 13 men which is a good sign. Should be able to get Daithi's red overturned. Division 1 hurling secured for next year which is the main thing. Cianan good at 6 and Conor Cooney excellent. Dublin are very very limited, even hurling against 14 and 13 men. Can't see either ourselves or Limerick going all out next Saturday as there is no real benefit in getting to knockouts with championship coming up soon.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 676 - 10/03/2024 15:19:17    2530586

Replying To galway19:  "Grand win, nothing fancy about it. Scored ten points in a row once we went down to 13 men which is a good sign. Should be able to get Daithi's red overturned. Division 1 hurling secured for next year which is the main thing. Cianan good at 6 and Conor Cooney excellent. Dublin are very very limited, even hurling against 14 and 13 men. Can't see either ourselves or Limerick going all out next Saturday as there is no real benefit in getting to knockouts with championship coming up soon."
I think it would be a benefit if we did get into the knockouts, its been years since we have been in a league semi final. We will piss through Carlow in the first round and then Kilkenny on the 28th of april. I wouldnt mind a few competitive games as chances are we will be in a leinster final regardless. Would like to see us up against clare/kk

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 10/03/2024 17:33:23    2530610

Replying To Galway456:  "I think it would be a benefit if we did get into the knockouts, its been years since we have been in a league semi final. We will piss through Carlow in the first round and then Kilkenny on the 28th of april. I wouldnt mind a few competitive games as chances are we will be in a leinster final regardless. Would like to see us up against clare/kk"
Galway didn't "piss through" Carlow too easily in 2019 and score difference ultimately cost them when the Dubs won in Parnell Park so you can't take anything for granted. This is especially true given Galway's continuing problems securing possession such as aerial ball in the half forwards and a glaring lack of pace in the backs. Dublin cut through them many times today because of lack of this lack of possession / pace and it was Dublin's wayward shooting that cost them the game. Also the lack of "new players" coming through and nailing down a place in the starting team (Gavin Lee was substituted in the second half today) is a reflection of zero success in the U20 / 21 grade since 2011.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 10/03/2024 18:27:31    2530620

Replying To Trump2020:  "Glad Galway won but we'll be missing Conor Whelan and Daithi Burke against Limerick thanks to Red Cards. Normally I'd be annoyed but I don't mind as two other guys will get a chance to play against a great team. Galway Abu."
Comfortable win in the end even if we made hard work of it.
Now win our last game and we are into a league Semi Final.....therefore eliminating our opposition who will have lost there 1st league game and still getting knocked out lol

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2206 - 10/03/2024 18:35:04    2530624

Replying To katser:  "Comfortable win in the end even if we made hard work of it.
Now win our last game and we are into a league Semi Final.....therefore eliminating our opposition who will have lost there 1st league game and still getting knocked out lol"
That may be a step too far katser given we could be without Daithí and Whelo along with our problems winning primary possession and lack of pace in the backs.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 10/03/2024 20:00:24    2530648

My Limerick contacts who were in attendance at the Ardrahan v Patrickswell challenge game told me Johnny Glynn played the first half and bagged himself 3-2 in the process while also catching the world of ball and did look physically ahead of everyone on show, before heading off at half time (surely to some training that extended panel members do on game day when not on match day 24) I know at early year challenge game but any day you bag that in 30 mins is a good sign.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 10/03/2024 21:53:01    2530671

Replying To tommy k:  "That may be a step too far katser given we could be without Daithí and Whelo along with our problems winning primary possession and lack of pace in the backs."
Been waiting 41 years to say this.Galway beat Dublin comfortably with 12 men..

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 10/03/2024 22:16:54    2530676

Replying To katser:  "Comfortable win in the end even if we made hard work of it.
Now win our last game and we are into a league Semi Final.....therefore eliminating our opposition who will have lost there 1st league game and still getting knocked out lol"
That's a tall order if we had everyone but we won't have everyone so it's even tougher. It'll be a great game to help Shefflin pick a team though. Hon Galway!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2123 - 10/03/2024 22:44:33    2530680

Replying To tommy k:  "Galway didn't "piss through" Carlow too easily in 2019 and score difference ultimately cost them when the Dubs won in Parnell Park so you can't take anything for granted. This is especially true given Galway's continuing problems securing possession such as aerial ball in the half forwards and a glaring lack of pace in the backs. Dublin cut through them many times today because of lack of this lack of possession / pace and it was Dublin's wayward shooting that cost them the game. Also the lack of "new players" coming through and nailing down a place in the starting team (Gavin Lee was substituted in the second half today) is a reflection of zero success in the U20 / 21 grade since 2011."
Your right about carlow in 2019 but that Galway team wasnt playing well at all that year especially in the league. We only bet offaly by about 6 points in tullamore and drew away to carlow even with the likes of Canning starting that game. I just feel if we go through another leinster championship with little competitive games and go into another Leinster after giving out hammerings to antrim/carlow etc (hopefully)and getting bet by kilkenny it would be same story again. A test v clare/kk early in the year with something to play for would be beneficial in my opinion

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 10/03/2024 23:46:55    2530682

Replying To anotheralias:  "Been waiting 41 years to say this.Galway beat Dublin comfortably with 12 men.."
Good one. Ha ha ha.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2123 - 11/03/2024 04:52:08    2530688

Replying To Galway456:  "Your right about carlow in 2019 but that Galway team wasnt playing well at all that year especially in the league. We only bet offaly by about 6 points in tullamore and drew away to carlow even with the likes of Canning starting that game. I just feel if we go through another leinster championship with little competitive games and go into another Leinster after giving out hammerings to antrim/carlow etc (hopefully)and getting bet by kilkenny it would be same story again. A test v clare/kk early in the year with something to play for would be beneficial in my opinion"
Definitely agree with you on that but the time to be peaking is in a Leinster final (hopefully) and an AI final (even more hopefully!).

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 11/03/2024 09:40:50    2530700

Replying To tommy k:  "Galway didn't "piss through" Carlow too easily in 2019 and score difference ultimately cost them when the Dubs won in Parnell Park so you can't take anything for granted. This is especially true given Galway's continuing problems securing possession such as aerial ball in the half forwards and a glaring lack of pace in the backs. Dublin cut through them many times today because of lack of this lack of possession / pace and it was Dublin's wayward shooting that cost them the game. Also the lack of "new players" coming through and nailing down a place in the starting team (Gavin Lee was substituted in the second half today) is a reflection of zero success in the U20 / 21 grade since 2011."
Would disagree on the argument around new players. Declan McLoughlin was in cracking form prior to injury and was starting all games earlier before the hand injury and would be close to a starting spot in this team for championship. Gavin Lee was off the pace yesterday but was good against Tipp. Also don't see why we would be changing much when we have been in the top 4 with Limerick, KK and Clare the last few years. Its tweaks required rather than wholesale new faces. Clare not bringing through many new lads this year (maybe Sean Wrynn) and Kilkenny definitely won't be. Tipp the other night brought on Bonner Maher. Cork will try new lads but will still end up with Harnedy, Horgan and Lehane. When you have established players of an above average level it's very hard to bring in younger players who will be inconsistent. I suppose it's fine to blood loads of young lads if you have no interest in trying to beat Limerick.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 676 - 11/03/2024 13:44:00    2530745

Ourselves and Limerick not scheduled to be on television on Saturday so can probably can add a lot more to the expected crowd for the double header with the footballers playing the Dubs straight afterwards. Surely be at least 20k heading for Salthill on Saturday with it a bank holiday weekend. Traffic will be absolutely manic.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 676 - 11/03/2024 16:15:55    2530769

Replying To galway19:  "Ourselves and Limerick not scheduled to be on television on Saturday so can probably can add a lot more to the expected crowd for the double header with the footballers playing the Dubs straight afterwards. Surely be at least 20k heading for Salthill on Saturday with it a bank holiday weekend. Traffic will be absolutely manic."
Id say it will be more, great support from Limerick and Dublin, should be a cracking double header

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 11/03/2024 19:46:20    2530812