Galway Hurling thread

You have to remember galway clubs have a great advantage by going to straight through to all ireland semi final. No rush in playing county final, more time to prepare between big games etc. I realise you still have to win semi and final but it is a serious advantage

Nogoal (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 07/12/2021 18:36:49    2392027

Replying To Oldtourman:  "As regards Limerick, it is not really that surprising. At any one time there are only three or at most four clubs capable of winning the county title. Many big clubs of the past have either disappeared or all but. I am talking of clubs of clubs like Croom, Treaty Sarsfield, Young Irelands, Fedamore, Cappamore and Claughaun, among others. The days when Ahane brought 11 All Irelands to the parish on the one day are long gone. If the club championship had started 40 years earlier that club would probably have won a good few. The fact is our county teams' successes are truly amazing, considering that the game is no longer played at a serious over vast tracks of the county. As I have often said before Cork have at least five to one for every hurler we have."
Correct. In fact - for the last five years the same four teams have contested the Limerick semifinals. And who is to say this won't continue next year

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 07/12/2021 21:02:46    2392036

Replying To Nogoal:  "You have to remember galway clubs have a great advantage by going to straight through to all ireland semi final. No rush in playing county final, more time to prepare between big games etc. I realise you still have to win semi and final but it is a serious advantage"
It's often stated that the opposite is true, to be idle for more than three weeks, without even the prospect of a challenge match is a huge disadvantage.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/12/2021 09:41:16    2392046

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Correct. In fact - for the last five years the same four teams have contested the Limerick semifinals. And who is to say this won't continue next year"
Apart from Cork where the divisional team setup seems to work well, about 4 top teams is all that any county has. Since it happens that we're discussing this on a forum about Galway hurling, I'm sure few Galway hurling people would disagree with me that currently there's only 3-4 teams in the county with a realistic chance of winning the senior club championship.

As regards Limerick, isn't it better OTM, to have 4 teams capable of winning it, than having one team dominate, like Ahane once did, winning every title from 1931 to 1948, bar Young Irelands in 1932 , and Croom in '40 and '41. For non-Limerick people (and technically I'm not one either), Ahane was a club side, which in reality was a divisional side; virtually any hurler at the time in East Limerick hurled for Ahane.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 08/12/2021 09:43:46    2392047

Replying To baire:  "It's often stated that the opposite is true, to be idle for more than three weeks, without even the prospect of a challenge match is a huge disadvantage."
Galway winners play county teams over the winter break, they never sit idle. I do agree Galway are at an advantage getting into semi finals each year, i wouldnt like for it to change mind just expressing my view

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 08/12/2021 10:09:21    2392051

Replying To ML89:  "Ya, the Limerick and Wexford ones are especially bad. Na Piarsiagh are a super club and could well add to that total but their by far the best club Limerick have ever produced. Tipperary without a winner since 87 and the poor level of Cork clubs the last 10 years is another big surprise."
No Ahane- Mick Mackey's club, with fifteen county titles in seventeen years, when Limerick hurling was going through another golden era- is by far and away the best club Limerick has ever produced. In the All Ireland winning team of 1940 they had seven starting Paddy Scanlan, Mick Hickey, Timmy Ryan, Mick and John Mackey, Jackie Power and Paddy McMahon (about five of these men were strong candidates to be included in the team of the last Century) and Tony Herbert came on as a sub. Paddy Kelly, Dan Givens and Paddy Mackey were on the subs bench, so 11 All Ireland Medals came to Castleconnell Parish in one day. Lads, Hurling did not start fifty years ago.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 08/12/2021 11:52:32    2392069

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Galway winners play county teams over the winter break, they never sit idle. I do agree Galway are at an advantage getting into semi finals each year, i wouldnt like for it to change mind just expressing my view"
I wonder how many matches the typical Galway Champions play in comparison to the typical Kilkenny or Cork Champions. Is there that much of a difference? Would playing the Mayo or Roscommon Champions satisfy everyone?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 08/12/2021 11:54:59    2392071

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Apart from Cork where the divisional team setup seems to work well, about 4 top teams is all that any county has. Since it happens that we're discussing this on a forum about Galway hurling, I'm sure few Galway hurling people would disagree with me that currently there's only 3-4 teams in the county with a realistic chance of winning the senior club championship.

As regards Limerick, isn't it better OTM, to have 4 teams capable of winning it, than having one team dominate, like Ahane once did, winning every title from 1931 to 1948, bar Young Irelands in 1932 , and Croom in '40 and '41. For non-Limerick people (and technically I'm not one either), Ahane was a club side, which in reality was a divisional side; virtually any hurler at the time in East Limerick hurled for Ahane."
Well as regards 1940, which I mentioned, all of the heavenly 11 were natives of Castleconnell Parish except one, Paddy McMahon. Remember too that Young Irelands, Fedamore and Croom also had fine teams over those years. It was only in the latter days of that run that Ahane started getting any major number of players from outside the parish and they lost Paddy Mackey to a very premature death, Tony Herbert went to Dublin, while still very young, and Scanlan went to Galway, so they lost great players as well.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 08/12/2021 11:59:22    2392072

Replying To Trump2020:  "I wonder how many matches the typical Galway Champions play in comparison to the typical Kilkenny or Cork Champions. Is there that much of a difference? Would playing the Mayo or Roscommon Champions satisfy everyone?"
There was some awful hammering given out especially over the final 10 or so years of the Connacht senior club hurling championship so it wasn't really amounting to anything other than a training game and hope there'd be no injuries. Think Joe Rabbitte got an awful injury in Athleague one year. The only thing with Galway going into Leinster is there would be an unbalanced amount of teams for semi final with 3 provinces and one winner would have to go straight to all Ireland final which would probably even more unfair than the Galway champs going to a semi final. Munster produced as many winners as Ulster in the last decade and 00s weren't much better with only 1 winner there as well so you'd imagine even if Galway were in Leinster they'd have done fine with the winners for nearly 30 divided up amongst Galway/Leinster winners and often the case it was only each other beating the other in finals/semi finals

ML89 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 08/12/2021 12:51:22    2392082

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well as regards 1940, which I mentioned, all of the heavenly 11 were natives of Castleconnell Parish except one, Paddy McMahon. Remember too that Young Irelands, Fedamore and Croom also had fine teams over those years. It was only in the latter days of that run that Ahane started getting any major number of players from outside the parish and they lost Paddy Mackey to a very premature death, Tony Herbert went to Dublin, while still very young, and Scanlan went to Galway, so they lost great players as well."
Again OTM, I feel healthier (probably many others too) for it when you're drawn out a little bit. You are an in spirit knowledge of Limerick hurling prior to say… 1973. A lot of what you know about has not ever been put down in print, and most likely never will. It's one of the reasons why I really value your posts on this forum. And what I totally like is that your information about the part are factual not opinionated.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 08/12/2021 14:19:52    2392096

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Again OTM, I feel healthier (probably many others too) for it when you're drawn out a little bit. You are an in spirit knowledge of Limerick hurling prior to say… 1973. A lot of what you know about has not ever been put down in print, and most likely never will. It's one of the reasons why I really value your posts on this forum. And what I totally like is that your information about the part are factual not opinionated."
Thanks forever- I just happy to be an 'auld' fanatic.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 09/12/2021 11:58:41    2392174

Replying To katser:  "King Henry is our new manager!
Brilliant hurling man, We definitely have the hurlers.... all this talk of the hurlers are gone is rubbish! They are not gone and haven't left the Country. There is Brilliant talent right here in front of our eyes!
He is ideal to get the best out of them."
If Galway want to win an all Ireland they will have to meet Limerick at some stage.It doesn't matter who ye have managing ye the current bunch aren't an Honest enough group to come within 10 points if the Limerick men..forgot about it.

PatKeyes73 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 09/12/2021 19:06:24    2392239

Replying To PatKeyes73:  "If Galway want to win an all Ireland they will have to meet Limerick at some stage.It doesn't matter who ye have managing ye the current bunch aren't an Honest enough group to come within 10 points if the Limerick men..forgot about it."
Raving.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 10/12/2021 11:59:28    2392285

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Raving."
there is a few of them Limerick folk about here TanCanRan, don't rise to it. You're only as good as your last performance as they say, it can all unravel very quickly.

Bring on 2022. Gaillimh Abu.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 10/12/2021 15:26:10    2392321

Hope this puts paid to any mad notions of Joe's return. The man did enough, and even more, for Galway hurling in his day. Do ye want see him out there with a walking stick in one hand and a hurl in the other? Let him retire in pace!

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/321458

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 11/12/2021 13:01:42    2392387

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Hope this puts paid to any mad notions of Joe's return. The man did enough, and even more, for Galway hurling in his day. Do ye want see him out there with a walking stick in one hand and a hurl in the other? Let him retire in pace!

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/321458"
Good to see you have the good of Galway hurling always on your mind youngeen - not!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 11/12/2021 13:15:28    2392390

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Hope this puts paid to any mad notions of Joe's return. The man did enough, and even more, for Galway hurling in his day. Do ye want see him out there with a walking stick in one hand and a hurl in the other? Let him retire in pace!

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/321458"
I'm glad he's staying around the game somewhat. Fair play to him.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 11/12/2021 14:53:16    2392397

Replying To Trump2020:  "I'm glad he's staying around the game somewhat. Fair play to him."
Indeed, great to see Joe, staying involved. Let him get a few years experience under his belt, and perhaps he'll then drive on at a higher level. More power to Joe!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 11/12/2021 15:24:54    2392402

Delighted with ourselves after winning the connacht title v Easkey. Roll on Croke Park! I have every confidence in the lads that they will be the first Galway team to make the All Ireland! Salthill knocknacarra abu!

thecut (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 11/12/2021 16:10:21    2392411

Toreen are a fine fine team but surely their recent dominance of the Connacht intermediate championship is another sign of the over inflation of the senior championship with average teams. What good is adding teams who are about 20 points worse than the top teams. Introducing Senior B and swelling the overall championship to 24 teams in madness. When you're going down to your 25th ranked team in Kilkenny, Cork, Limerick, Wexford etc your going down to junior ranks. Which is essentially the standard of intermediate in Galway atm. Looking for an extension on the capping of 16 teams after not even attempting to sort it is the most Galway thing ever. Tipp managed to get there's down to 16 from 32 in a year, madness. All this so teams can say their a senior team...if you're a senior team then prove it. Some clubs win 1 game out about 5 a year and stay up. My own club would probably be one that could go down in the cut but staying the way it is is not good. Intermediate hurling in Galway is at the lowest standard it's ever been, the amount of second teams in it as well is sure sign of that. It's essentially the standard of Junior A 10/15 years ago

ML89 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 12/12/2021 10:30:28    2392511