Donegal Football Championships

Replying To peiledoir20:  "He must be in his late 20s at this stage. I know he is based down the country as well so not sure if that commute and commitment would appeal to him at this stage of life.

What about some of you own men NC? Ultan Doherty has been an impressive performer for you this past two seasons. Strikes me as a tough teak no nonsense defender and can kick a score when needed as he showed on Sunday. At the right age also. I don't see any reason why he couldn't join his two brothers in the Donegal set up.

I can't see Kilcar having McHugh on the edge of the square on Sunday if big McGuinnes is inside for Glenties. Complete mis-match. Kilcar haven't many big men to put back there and I am sure it's an area Glenties will be targeting."
yeah going by that we wont be seeing griffin unfortunate tbh.
Ultan is a great player and as you say no nonsense defender his two brothers although get in defence are a lot more attack minded. I don't think Ultan kicked a score at the weekend he fisted over and he will admit himself shooting wouldn't be his expertise at all.

The issue I think with the NC lads you mentioned and add in Ethan and Jack to that as well, is that Donegal have to many of them type players we could easily fill a team of half backs and half forwards who run the ball.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 22/10/2021 13:12:24    2386811

Replying To peiledoir20:  "He must be in his late 20s at this stage. I know he is based down the country as well so not sure if that commute and commitment would appeal to him at this stage of life.

What about some of you own men NC? Ultan Doherty has been an impressive performer for you this past two seasons. Strikes me as a tough teak no nonsense defender and can kick a score when needed as he showed on Sunday. At the right age also. I don't see any reason why he couldn't join his two brothers in the Donegal set up.

I can't see Kilcar having McHugh on the edge of the square on Sunday if big McGuinnes is inside for Glenties. Complete mis-match. Kilcar haven't many big men to put back there and I am sure it's an area Glenties will be targeting."
Eoin will start at full back, he has bulked a lot over the last 12 months and is playing well at no. 3. Besides which as you say Kilcar don't have a lot of options as they are not a big team. Glenties may well try lumping balls in but I would be surprised as it isn't a tactic that usually yields rewards these days.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/10/2021 14:44:18    2386831

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think the bookies have this backways, I would be making NC favs, there's serious power in that team, not sure if Kilcar will be able to match them for strength.
where's this social media abuse that Bonner's on about? hardly on the likes of here is it?
I like Bonner myself but I think we needed a change of management, if you keep doing the same thing you'll keep getting the same results more or less, I think he should have gone after the Cavan defeat last year, just my opinion which we are all entitled to.
Look at the Galway hurlers, that's thinking outside the box getting Sheflin in, I think with the talent that we have on tap in Donegal we shouldn't be getting beaten by the likes of Cavan, no disrespect to Cavan."
Bookies are rarely wrong and in the 2020 final Kilcar got 13 scores as opposed to 9 for NC.
Having said that I think both sides have improved since then and I really don't think there is anything much between them.
A lot will depend on the injuries that NC are contending with. Kilcar will be at full strength with only a slight question mark over McClean.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/10/2021 14:48:48    2386832

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Eoin will start at full back, he has bulked a lot over the last 12 months and is playing well at no. 3. Besides which as you say Kilcar don't have a lot of options as they are not a big team. Glenties may well try lumping balls in but I would be surprised as it isn't a tactic that usually yields rewards these days."
McHugh may well have bulked up but I doubt he has grown half a foot or more which is exactly the height difference that McGuinness has over him! Nathan Byrne is another 'tower' option they have. The forward mark may well be utilized by the Glenties mention on Sunday.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 22/10/2021 16:22:15    2386854

Replying To peiledoir20:  "McHugh may well have bulked up but I doubt he has grown half a foot or more which is exactly the height difference that McGuinness has over him! Nathan Byrne is another 'tower' option they have. The forward mark may well be utilized by the Glenties mention on Sunday."
You may well be right, we'll know soon enough.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/10/2021 12:59:36    2386929

That's Eunans through anyway, listened to it on the radio, by the sound of it the ref done St Michaels no favours,
as I said I think the final is tomorrow, either Kilcar or NC will beat this Eunans team.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 23/10/2021 18:41:40    2387037

Watching Donegal final on TG4 half time what manure it would be more enjoyable getting a tooth filled

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 24/10/2021 14:21:14    2387143

Fair play to NC, I thought they deserved the victory on the balance of play, think McBrearty's goal should have stood though, he wasn't in the square from what I could see, his point looked a bit dubious though earlier on though but who'd be an umpire.
I think they'll beat Eunan's as long as there's no complacency after today, think they are to well managed and focused to get complacent though, exciting game some great scores in very difficult conditions, young McGuinness had some game at 14.
NC have the potential to win Ulster for sure imo.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 24/10/2021 15:18:47    2387155

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Watching Donegal final on TG4 half time what manure it would be more enjoyable getting a tooth filled"
About as much manure as your analysis. It wasn't even a final.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 24/10/2021 16:41:51    2387164

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Fair play to NC, I thought they deserved the victory on the balance of play, think McBrearty's goal should have stood though, he wasn't in the square from what I could see, his point looked a bit dubious though earlier on though but who'd be an umpire.
I think they'll beat Eunan's as long as there's no complacency after today, think they are to well managed and focused to get complacent though, exciting game some great scores in very difficult conditions, young McGuinness had some game at 14.
NC have the potential to win Ulster for sure imo."
From a free the rule is you cannot go in until after the ball has gone in.

He was clearly in the square well before the ball came in. I'm not sure what were you looking at.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 24/10/2021 16:46:28    2387165

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Watching Donegal final on TG4 half time what manure it would be more enjoyable getting a tooth filled"
There's nothing like an objective comment, and that's [ ]

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/10/2021 17:14:59    2387168

The final's in 2 weeks. Get your gnasher filled before that.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 24/10/2021 17:49:13    2387174

Congratulations to Naomh Conaill. Better team by some distance, fully deserving of their win. They could teach the county team a thing or two about defending. The goal decision was marginal. Jarlath Burns was sure it was the right decision but he was talking nonsense because the camera was not definitive. I can't see Eunan's beating them, barring complacency. And I think they'll give Ulster a good rattle. Bonner should get their defensive coach on board pronto!

railwayman (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 24/10/2021 18:04:03    2387176

Congratulations to Naomh Conaill. Better team by some distance, fully deserving of their win. They could teach the county team a thing or two about defending. The goal decision was marginal. Jarlath Burns was sure it was the right decision but he was talking nonsense because the camera was not definitive. I can't see Eunan's beating them, barring complacency. And I think they'll give Ulster a good rattle. Bonner should get their defensive coach on board pronto!

railwayman (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 24/10/2021 18:20:20    2387181

The last 2 weeks has told me a lot about dgl football. One thing for certain Regan has to be the next senior dgl. Manager. Well organised, disciplined, never say die, game mgt that glenties team have everything and that comes from the management set up. Make no mistake this boy is a winner and exactly what we need leading the county team. A year or 2 at under 20 would be great now. Everything that's in this glenties team is total opposite to what's in dgl team at the minute. Some of the players not in county panel and not getting a look in shows how out of touch our current mgt is. I'm not going to even start naming as there is too many. Very concerning and frustrating to be honest

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 24/10/2021 18:33:17    2387182

Full congratulations to Naomh Conaill on a fully deserved win.
They were the hungrier team and after an even first half powered on in a way Kilcar couldn't match. Indeed a weaker team than Kilcar would have folded completely and it is to their credit that they hung in. Maybe if Michael Hegarty had come on sooner .... but hindsight is a great thing.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/10/2021 18:41:57    2387185

Replying To railwayman:  "Congratulations to Naomh Conaill. Better team by some distance, fully deserving of their win. They could teach the county team a thing or two about defending. The goal decision was marginal. Jarlath Burns was sure it was the right decision but he was talking nonsense because the camera was not definitive. I can't see Eunan's beating them, barring complacency. And I think they'll give Ulster a good rattle. Bonner should get their defensive coach on board pronto!"
The way Kilcar played kind of reminded me of the way the county plays a lot of the time, NC remind me of the way we used to defend and play when Mc Guinness was manager, we have to learn to defend again, hope Bonner learned something sitting there today but I doubt it.
Final should still be good with the tradition Eunans have but I think NC will still beat them, we'll see soon enough,
great for NC in their centenary year going for 3 County titles in a row, some team in all fairness.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 24/10/2021 19:33:20    2387198

Impressive from Naomh Conall. Ethan O Donnell was very good today from watching on TV. Stephen mc Brearty very good also for Kilcar.
The only way NC will lose Ulster is if they ship several goals which is doubtful. Very hard to break down. Remind me of Donegal around 11/12, a 2 point lead feels like a 7 point lead. If they win Donegal this year, they'll have Done it the hard way beating all 3 top teams en route,and that's minus their best forward. They've shown serious character coming from behind today and also vs Gdores early start vs them. Niall O Donnell will need the game of his life if Eunans are to run them close.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 24/10/2021 21:02:27    2387215

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The way Kilcar played kind of reminded me of the way the county plays a lot of the time, NC remind me of the way we used to defend and play when Mc Guinness was manager, we have to learn to defend again, hope Bonner learned something sitting there today but I doubt it.
Final should still be good with the tradition Eunans have but I think NC will still beat them, we'll see soon enough,
great for NC in their centenary year going for 3 County titles in a row, some team in all fairness."
Kilcar are exactly like donegal, nice footballers but when the going gets tough, they struggle physically. Every great team have their work horses and do the dirty stuff required to win games. Leo mcloone, Anthony Thompson, the dohertys, mcgettigan, all put there bodys on the line when it counts.
We were the better team by 6-7 points, if we take our chances.
As a naomh conaill man, we are blessed with such hard working, classy footballers. Who are in there fifth final in a row. It will not last forever, but we will enjoy it as long as it lasts.
Mcbrearty tried his best today, just needed a bit more help, but for a small club, kilcar can hold there heads up high. I mean no disrespect when calling them a small club, i am just referring to there pick.
Final will be another battle, no doubt

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 24/10/2021 21:26:20    2387217

Replying To The keeper:  "Kilcar are exactly like donegal, nice footballers but when the going gets tough, they struggle physically. Every great team have their work horses and do the dirty stuff required to win games. Leo mcloone, Anthony Thompson, the dohertys, mcgettigan, all put there bodys on the line when it counts.
We were the better team by 6-7 points, if we take our chances.
As a naomh conaill man, we are blessed with such hard working, classy footballers. Who are in there fifth final in a row. It will not last forever, but we will enjoy it as long as it lasts.
Mcbrearty tried his best today, just needed a bit more help, but for a small club, kilcar can hold there heads up high. I mean no disrespect when calling them a small club, i am just referring to there pick.
Final will be another battle, no doubt"
Well said kilcar should be proud of their achievements. For the pick they have and the quality of player they produce it's amazing really. It really is putting some of bigger clubs to Shame and these clubs know who they are themselves

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 25/10/2021 09:26:24    2387232