Donegal Football Championships

Replying To greenfan:  "I see all the championship games are all-ticket and the only way to get a ticket is to buy it online. Really bad from the county board, no concessions for pensioners and also charging 5 euro for children. 12 euro for an adult to attend a quarter final is a bit steep at a time when families all over the country are struggling with rising cost of living. A couple with 2 young children will have to fork out 34 euro to watch their club in action this weekend."
Yeah €20 for a family of 4 would be plenty you'd think. Maybe it's because there are two games?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 13/10/2021 13:25:55    2385500

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Well we're getting into the business end of things now. I see the bookies have Kilcar favourites followed by St. Eunans and then Gweedore and then Naomh Conaill.

Very tough ask for Gweedore and NC considering the route they have. Eunans should get a crack at the final this year but have the enough to beat Kilcar? Fair to say Kilcar have been the form team so far beating St.Eunans and Gweedore and putting up a massive points difference in the 4 games so they are rightly favourites.

Gweedore and NC a hard game to call, have a feeling Gweedore will edge it but what a semifinal we would have if NC go through!"
Hi FootballGuy: A Naomh Conaill man telling me they desperately want to play Kilcar again. Gweedore could find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time this weekend.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 13/10/2021 13:36:07    2385508

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi FootballGuy: A Naomh Conaill man telling me they desperately want to play Kilcar again. Gweedore could find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time this weekend."
I'm sure they do, could well be a grudge match that one!

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 13/10/2021 15:25:20    2385546

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah €20 for a family of 4 would be plenty you'd think. Maybe it's because there are two games?"
I see an update now on donegal gaa site saying OAP's and under 12's are free now

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 13/10/2021 15:34:39    2385547

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Well we're getting into the business end of things now. I see the bookies have Kilcar favourites followed by St. Eunans and then Gweedore and then Naomh Conaill.

Very tough ask for Gweedore and NC considering the route they have. Eunans should get a crack at the final this year but have the enough to beat Kilcar? Fair to say Kilcar have been the form team so far beating St.Eunans and Gweedore and putting up a massive points difference in the 4 games so they are rightly favourites.

Gweedore and NC a hard game to call, have a feeling Gweedore will edge it but what a semifinal we would have if NC go through!"
The draw has been very kind to eunans and ok for kilcar, and tough for NC and gweedore. From looking at recent results stephen mcbrearty looks to be scoring well again which is good to see. A firing on all cylinders stephen mcbrearty or mathew mcclean scoring well like he did against eunans could be the difference maker in the big games. Interesting also to see how eoin mchugh goes in the fb back line in the bigger games also. Hope mccumaills and oisin gallen can though give them a bit of a rattle.
Maybe st nauls can find another angle to get their backs up. It's Glenfin that were hard done now this time!
The long term injury to mcgettigan and Gallagher probably being out could be a factor against gweedore. Also wonder were NC maybe at too high a level in the league and have come back a bit since. Gweedore also have a bit of unfinished business from 2019. Maybe not a match for open football but very intriguing and hard to call. Also Michaels v aodh ruadh also hard to call. You'd probably back a fully fit Michaels but they're not that.

Intermediate and junior are plenty Interesting too. Naomh columba favorites but dungloe have turned a corner and cloughaneely should be pushing as well.
Carndonagh have improved hugely and suppose it helps having conor o'donnell. A talented committed player like him must be great for a club.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 13/10/2021 19:12:02    2385574

St Michaels v Aodh Rua Friday night at 8.30 it says, is there a game on before it? thought it was going to be a double header with Glenswilly v Ardara on before it,
now I see that game listed to be played in Convoy on Sat at 1pm, is the grab all association afraid we'll get to see 2 games for one admission fee, miserable shower.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 13/10/2021 20:33:18    2385581

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah €20 for a family of 4 would be plenty you'd think. Maybe it's because there are two games?"
Could be to cover this new fancy 'Athletics Coach' post? They could get Patsy McGonagle to do it and save themselves a few bob.

The grassroots and ethos of the GAA is slowly diminishing into the ether, sad to see.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 14/10/2021 09:10:59    2385593

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "St Michaels v Aodh Rua Friday night at 8.30 it says, is there a game on before it? thought it was going to be a double header with Glenswilly v Ardara on before it,
now I see that game listed to be played in Convoy on Sat at 1pm, is the grab all association afraid we'll get to see 2 games for one admission fee, miserable shower."
Don't let the facts get in the way of a good rant.
Ardara invoked a 120 hours notice rule to have the match rearranged.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 14/10/2021 09:41:40    2385598

Replying To themaddog:  "Don't let the facts get in the way of a good rant.
Ardara invoked a 120 hours notice rule to have the match rearranged."
I see that now, don't know why Ardara wanted it moved, more pettiness from them, Glenswilly will beat them easily anyway doesn't matter how long they delay it.
Double header on Sunday anyway is the pick of the weekend, GD v NC will be fascinating. Think GD will take them by a point or 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 14/10/2021 13:51:56    2385637

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I see that now, don't know why Ardara wanted it moved, more pettiness from them, Glenswilly will beat them easily anyway doesn't matter how long they delay it.
Double header on Sunday anyway is the pick of the weekend, GD v NC will be fascinating. Think GD will take them by a point or 2."
Because the CCC did not give them sufficient notice of a game which did suit them or their players. They are entitled to protest and fair play to them for doing so. Friday night games are not going to work for most Donegal clubs with players working / studying away from home.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1070 - 15/10/2021 09:53:02    2385707

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Because the CCC did not give them sufficient notice of a game which did suit them or their players. They are entitled to protest and fair play to them for doing so. Friday night games are not going to work for most Donegal clubs with players working / studying away from home."
Stay Humble

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 15/10/2021 13:36:33    2385751

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Because the CCC did not give them sufficient notice of a game which did suit them or their players. They are entitled to protest and fair play to them for doing so. Friday night games are not going to work for most Donegal clubs with players working / studying away from home."
Can only agree here; the county is too big and each club has a large number of players in Dublin. It would only work if two local clubs, say Termon and Glenswilly agreed to it and that's about it really. It only works well in Down because the motorway runs through the county from Belfast to Dublin so journey times are only ever going to be one hour max for the vast majority of players.

whoareya (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 15/10/2021 15:14:24    2385762

Well what did we make of the action over the weekend?

St. Michaels were quite comfortable in the end against Aodh Ruadh. The Ballyshannon men have had a good year though. Promotion to Div 1 and a quarter final appearance is good progress. Saint Michaels have reaffirmed their status as 'best of the rest' outside to so-called top 4 in my opinion. If they were fully injury free they might have a chance against Eunans. But I just think Eunans may be a bridge (pun intended) too far for the Dunfanaghy men.

Eunans are grinding it out so far. I wouldn't say that they've been all that impressive but they won't care. If they avoid complacency they should find themselves in the final. It's not a bad place to be at all for Kavanagh, they have room for improvement and if they can ramp things up they'll definitely fancy their chances.

Kilcar brushed a disappointing MacCumhaills aside at their ease. Hard to know if they'll have learned an awful lot from that. Huge game this weekend obviously. Great to see Stephen McBrearty in good form. He has a pile of football in him. I wonder if Bonner will be approaching him again?

Naomh Conaill were Naomh Conaill against Gaoth Dobhair. Their system is so well honed and difficult to play against. Their work rate is phenomenal as well. Those Doherty lads, McGettigan and McKelvey cover some amount of ground. Then you have the class of Ciaran Thompson and the experienced heads like Tony & Leo. Just a really really well drilled team. Gaoth Dobhair were disappointing. There never looked like seriously troubling Naomh Conaill and that will hurt them the most.

Kilcar will hopefully test them a lot more this weekend. Needless to say that they'll need no extra motivation going into this one. It's so hard to call it. I'll hold off on a prediction until later in the week.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/10/2021 10:15:57    2386192

In the intermediate the results went as expected really.
A couple of good semi final clashes this weekend.

Naomh Columba & Dungloe is hard to call, if Dungloe can shackle Aaron Doherty they might just do it. Easier said than done though. Another man Bonner will surely will looking to get back into the county fold?

In the other semi final McGee and McGonagle will be a good battle to watch. It's so hard to call as well.

Gun to head I'll give Dungloe & Cloughaneely the nod.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/10/2021 11:15:07    2386217

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well what did we make of the action over the weekend?

St. Michaels were quite comfortable in the end against Aodh Ruadh. The Ballyshannon men have had a good year though. Promotion to Div 1 and a quarter final appearance is good progress. Saint Michaels have reaffirmed their status as 'best of the rest' outside to so-called top 4 in my opinion. If they were fully injury free they might have a chance against Eunans. But I just think Eunans may be a bridge (pun intended) too far for the Dunfanaghy men.

Eunans are grinding it out so far. I wouldn't say that they've been all that impressive but they won't care. If they avoid complacency they should find themselves in the final. It's not a bad place to be at all for Kavanagh, they have room for improvement and if they can ramp things up they'll definitely fancy their chances.

Kilcar brushed a disappointing MacCumhaills aside at their ease. Hard to know if they'll have learned an awful lot from that. Huge game this weekend obviously. Great to see Stephen McBrearty in good form. He has a pile of football in him. I wonder if Bonner will be approaching him again?

Naomh Conaill were Naomh Conaill against Gaoth Dobhair. Their system is so well honed and difficult to play against. Their work rate is phenomenal as well. Those Doherty lads, McGettigan and McKelvey cover some amount of ground. Then you have the class of Ciaran Thompson and the experienced heads like Tony & Leo. Just a really really well drilled team. Gaoth Dobhair were disappointing. There never looked like seriously troubling Naomh Conaill and that will hurt them the most.

Kilcar will hopefully test them a lot more this weekend. Needless to say that they'll need no extra motivation going into this one. It's so hard to call it. I'll hold off on a prediction until later in the week."
Really enjoyed the weekends football.

I need to start with a honourable mention for St. Nauls They had so much to be proud of on Sunday it was just a pity some things didn't go there way but they a good team. I thought Barry Griffen was immense and he took some hit in that game.

Kilcar didn't leave second gear on Saturday and at no point did they need to. I think they looked good all the same they seemed to be trying something different by constantly rotating players from the half forward line/half back line into full forwards this in turn pull McCools all over the show. Its a tactic our boys would need to watch out for cause if a player that was unmarked drifts in it could be a goal before you even know he is there.

Gweedore I really believe lost the game on the sideline the subbed off young Ethan Harkin in the first half when he was getting the most space out of all their forwards and brought on McGee which was ideal for our boys. What should have happened was wait until half time and get the experienced players around to help him and not isolate him when he was getting the space.

For NC the old heads stood up so much especially as you mention Leo/Tony but Marty as well you can tell the hunger is definitely still there in them boy and it was a performance that answered any doubters that we deserve to be better rated than 4th in the top four.

St.Micheals won't fear Eunans and if they can play like they did in towney last year this week the we could be in for a shock.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 19/10/2021 11:30:43    2386226

Excellent update as always Lockjaw . Didn't hear results and wondered how many of the big 4 reached semis. Your system guarantees every club 4 matches plus at least one more in QF/relegation which is good. Should there be an element of seeding in the draw ? ..read that 9th place team were drawn away to two of the top 4 teams but won two matches including beating a team that reached QFs and are now in a relegation scrap for survival. Some other teams avoided drawing against any one of the top 4 clubs or just one of them. How did Tirconaill1's bold prediction on Glenswilly/Ardara work out?
Hearing that your ladies final was a titanic struggle and was the most competitive match of the week end. Apparently they had an early throw in to avoid clashing with the men's but were only afforded 4 to 5 score updates over 80 mins of action on local radio /RnaG. Must be heartbreaking for a player to score 1.16 and still end up on losing team, serious talent.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 19/10/2021 12:46:37    2386240

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Really enjoyed the weekends football.

I need to start with a honourable mention for St. Nauls They had so much to be proud of on Sunday it was just a pity some things didn't go there way but they a good team. I thought Barry Griffen was immense and he took some hit in that game.

Kilcar didn't leave second gear on Saturday and at no point did they need to. I think they looked good all the same they seemed to be trying something different by constantly rotating players from the half forward line/half back line into full forwards this in turn pull McCools all over the show. Its a tactic our boys would need to watch out for cause if a player that was unmarked drifts in it could be a goal before you even know he is there.

Gweedore I really believe lost the game on the sideline the subbed off young Ethan Harkin in the first half when he was getting the most space out of all their forwards and brought on McGee which was ideal for our boys. What should have happened was wait until half time and get the experienced players around to help him and not isolate him when he was getting the space.

For NC the old heads stood up so much especially as you mention Leo/Tony but Marty as well you can tell the hunger is definitely still there in them boy and it was a performance that answered any doubters that we deserve to be better rated than 4th in the top four.

St.Micheals won't fear Eunans and if they can play like they did in towney last year this week the we could be in for a shock."
Yeah St. Nauls are tough. Losing Stephen Griffin early on was a disaster for them. But they stuck at it and certainly did not disgrace themselves in what was their first ever senior Championship QF appearance.

Marty Boyle is a tough operator surely. Serious hunger still there, along with the likes of Waide & McDyer too.

Young Harkin had a tough day at the office. He was finding space but had two attempts in a row that he put wide so maybe the head was starting to drop a little? He'll have better days, a great prospect.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/10/2021 14:08:05    2386254

Be great to see Stephen mc Brearty back in the panel. A physically strong lad who can play football.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 19/10/2021 14:30:34    2386259

Alright lads.. Now that we're down to the last 4 in the club championship.. I wanted to ask yous has any defender all though the championship not already on county panel put his hand up.. Be interested to hear your thoughts lads..

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 19/10/2021 15:54:37    2386287

Eunans are stuttering but I suppose it's all about winning games. The only thing is if it is put up to them by St. Michaels can they just turn it on? Time will tell. If he is fit to play a part, what a difference Colm Anthony could make if even sprung from the bench. I wouldn't rule out a win for the Cresslough/Dunfanaghy men.

Kilcar/Glenties will be an epic battle and the grudge match of all grudge matches. A lot will depend on whether Matthew McClean is fit enough to play a part. Stephen McBrearty is hitting form at the right time.

As far as the intermediate goes, I think the two teams burnt most badly in the past few years will draw on that hurt and make the 2021 Final.

In the Junior you would expect Downings and Gaels with home advantage will make amends for their surprise defeats in the group stages. Although, Moville might get closer than a lot of people expect.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 19/10/2021 17:26:42    2386322