Kerry GAA thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "My Kerry friends don't panic that Tyrone have beaten ye (again). Trust me, ye're in a far better position losing to Tyrone in a rather no-issue game by a point than hammering Tyrone out the gate, like ye did last year; no false securities now!

Football can be a funny ould game, can't it?"
No panic is right Forever. Rather lose now than later in year. Learn more by defeat than victory. Did nt see game but listened to radio and Tyrone the better team. Looking forward to next week and seeing how team reacts. In truth we were lucky enough v Mayo at home and Kildare should have beaten us in Newbridge.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 27/03/2022 19:15:24    2407496

Congratulations to the Tyrone team today they were the better team no doubt, we got what looked like a very soft penalty from where I was sitting but il have another look at it agaín later on if league Sunday decide to show highlights so it could have been a more comfortable win for the allireland champs but it was a useful workout for both teams all the same.

Best of luck in yer Ulster campaign.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2022 19:16:37    2407498

Replying To foreveryoung:  "My Kerry friends don't panic that Tyrone have beaten ye (again). Trust me, ye're in a far better position losing to Tyrone in a rather no-issue game by a point than hammering Tyrone out the gate, like ye did last year; no false securities now!

Football can be a funny ould game, can't it?"
Football is nearly as funny as the hurling foreveryoung.

I wonder would Donal Óg Cusack give us his predictions for the football championship! I see he got 3 out of 3 right in the hurling this week :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2022 19:23:31    2407503

Tyrone still team to beat this year, they beat both Kerry and Mayo in the league.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 27/03/2022 19:35:43    2407509

You would have to wonder about Kerry after today. If they don't have the gumption to get revenge on the team that beat them in last years All Ireland semi final there is something wrong. Nothing to do with league tables or points. You have to have something about yourself to want to lay down a marker. Kerry were on the way to answering a lot of questions in this league. They are back at square one now because they won't face another game where their heart is questioned until June. That's a long game to wait.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 27/03/2022 20:14:47    2407534

Replying To FootblockREF:  "You would have to wonder about Kerry after today. If they don't have the gumption to get revenge on the team that beat them in last years All Ireland semi final there is something wrong. Nothing to do with league tables or points. You have to have something about yourself to want to lay down a marker. Kerry were on the way to answering a lot of questions in this league. They are back at square one now because they won't face another game where their heart is questioned until June. That's a long game to wait."
Like I said before, the media have us built up to be something we're not but we haven't done anything of note since 2019, it's just the way it is. And the media will do the same thing again as we hammer our way through Munster and then we'll get bate by the first dacent team we meet.

It's Tyrones time now and fair play to them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2022 21:26:32    2407577

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Like I said before, the media have us built up to be something we're not but we haven't done anything of note since 2019, it's just the way it is. And the media will do the same thing again as we hammer our way through Munster and then we'll get bate by the first dacent team we meet.

It's Tyrones time now and fair play to them."
Kerry have 36 All Ireland senior football titles. That's why the media build ye up. No clear favourites for this year's championship. A good case can be made for Tyrone but Kerry won't be far away either. Ye only lost to them in extra time last year with David Clifford having gone off injured.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 27/03/2022 21:41:29    2407587

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Like I said before, the media have us built up to be something we're not but we haven't done anything of note since 2019, it's just the way it is. And the media will do the same thing again as we hammer our way through Munster and then we'll get bate by the first dacent team we meet.

It's Tyrones time now and fair play to them."
Yerra yerra Kingdomboy, Kerry won't be far away when Sam is being handed out.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 27/03/2022 21:59:19    2407601

Replying To FootblockREF:  "You would have to wonder about Kerry after today. If they don't have the gumption to get revenge on the team that beat them in last years All Ireland semi final there is something wrong. Nothing to do with league tables or points. You have to have something about yourself to want to lay down a marker. Kerry were on the way to answering a lot of questions in this league. They are back at square one now because they won't face another game where their heart is questioned until June. That's a long game to wait."
It's the league. Irrelevant as a guide to form. And you have to look at the differing contexts - one team motivated to stay up, another team already topped the table.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/03/2022 08:12:33    2407612

Posting here as there is no Cork forum, and Kerry are directly involved in this issue.

Fair play to the Cork management and players for refusing to go to Killarney. They've more bottle than I thought they had. PUR or nowhere is the correct stance.

It's no good to Ricken or some of the players to be told: next time you can play Kerry at home. They could be gone by then. In addition, they are first and foremost playing for the Jersey, themselves and their teammates. Supporters come well down the line, so what if some of them miss going to the game due to a smaller venue. It is none of the players' or management's fault that the Cork county board made a hames of things by putting on a concert at the same time as a game.

I've suddenly found some respect for these Cork lads.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 01/04/2022 10:41:52    2408796

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Posting here as there is no Cork forum, and Kerry are directly involved in this issue.

Fair play to the Cork management and players for refusing to go to Killarney. They've more bottle than I thought they had. PUR or nowhere is the correct stance.

It's no good to Ricken or some of the players to be told: next time you can play Kerry at home. They could be gone by then. In addition, they are first and foremost playing for the Jersey, themselves and their teammates. Supporters come well down the line, so what if some of them miss going to the game due to a smaller venue. It is none of the players' or management's fault that the Cork county board made a hames of things by putting on a concert at the same time as a game.

I've suddenly found some respect for these Cork lads."
Its a dangerous precedent, putting gigs ahead of games in my opinion, be interesting looking at the chain of command around that decision, was it a decision made by Cork County Board or a decision taken by the GAA. I know Cork ned the money for the hole they got themselves in with PUC - but if the County Board priotised gigs only games, i think they only have themselves to blame, if its the GAA's decision to hole the gigs then Cork have the moral right.

Sure ideally, we all like the spirit of playing in PUR, but it will be packed to the rafters and there is a little matter of a pandemic still - that said Killarney will probably be the same.

My stance would come down to whether Cork Couty Board made the decision to priortise the gigs over games - if they did id have little sympathy and the beef should be between players and county board, if its the GAA they have a genuine beef.

Seems ridiculous to me, they spent so money on a ground they cant play in - just bananas. Is there no chance of moving the fixture date so it can be played in PUC, there always seem a lag in the Munster Championship compared to other provincials given there arent that many rounds of fixtures - so if any championship might have the flexibility its the Munster Championship. The whole thing seems poorly planned and totally avoidable, with the stadium lying vacant probably on most weekends in the year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2022 11:15:31    2408809

What's the story with Paul Murphy? Is he injured? I'm very surprised that's he's not on the panel for this league final.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 02/04/2022 13:48:52    2409051

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What's the story with Paul Murphy? Is he injured? I'm very surprised that's he's not on the panel for this league final."
yeah Paul is injured along with Dan O Donohue and Stefan Okunbar.Mike breen that was half back last year also injured and out for the year.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 02/04/2022 14:37:07    2409061

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "yeah Paul is injured along with Dan O Donohue and Stefan Okunbar.Mike breen that was half back last year also injured and out for the year."
Sound Mick, knew about O'Donoghue & Okunbar, but not about Murphy & Breen!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 02/04/2022 15:17:05    2409065

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sound Mick, knew about O'Donoghue & Okunbar, but not about Murphy & Breen!"
Welcome forever.Not sure how long Murphy or Okunbar out for.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 02/04/2022 15:41:10    2409066

Congratulations Kerry on a fine victory. I only just watched it back now. You guys are flying it. Clifford is indeed proving to be the real deal. I was wary of all the hype when he started out first (never saw him play underage), but certainly none of it was idle nonsense.

If ye keep the heads, it could be a great 2022.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 04/04/2022 15:20:45    2409559

Kerry are going well and while thrilled to win league the championship is a different ball game. We were going well too last year and got smacked by Tyrone. Yes Clifford is a special talent. I was lucky to see him play before he played Kerry minor and one could tell he was unique. His scoring as a minor was off the charts and in his two minor finals he scored 1-8 and 4-4 from play. As a senior he is getting better all the time. Still has flaws but he s brilliant to watch.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 04/04/2022 16:48:53    2409602

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Kerry are going well and while thrilled to win league the championship is a different ball game. We were going well too last year and got smacked by Tyrone. Yes Clifford is a special talent. I was lucky to see him play before he played Kerry minor and one could tell he was unique. His scoring as a minor was off the charts and in his two minor finals he scored 1-8 and 4-4 from play. As a senior he is getting better all the time. Still has flaws but he s brilliant to watch."
Kerry have waltzed themselves, or have been waltzed up blind alley-ways for the past 3-4 years, in one way or another. I think the player's themselves, and definitely JOC, have been around long enough now, to stay wide in 2022 so that it doesn't happen again!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 05/04/2022 11:12:56    2409706

Hopefully you are right Forever but while I do think we are a better team now than 19 20 or last year unless we lift Sam the year and the ré appointment of Jack will have been a failure..Man on man we have the capabilities of beating every team but cluster defenses might be a problem.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 05/04/2022 14:22:15    2409771

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Kerry have waltzed themselves, or have been waltzed up blind alley-ways for the past 3-4 years, in one way or another. I think the player's themselves, and definitely JOC, have been around long enough now, to stay wide in 2022 so that it doesn't happen again!"
Ya we're on the radar big time now foreveryoung, there is no grass long enough to hide in now, but we need to embrace it.

We're in a group of 5 teams that could win the Sam Maguire.

Hi forever you should join the kerry gaa forum, it's a great old spot for a bit of chat and a bit of craic and there are posters of all ages and from all over the country.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/04/2022 15:54:49    2409808