Kerry GAA thread

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to St Finbarrs in winning today's Munster senior club football championship, the better team by far and I'd like to wish them well in the allireland series.

Also well done to Geenevguilla and Na Gaeil in winning the junior and intermediate munster football titles."
Are the Kerry clubs not artificially boosted in the Munster Championship?

There are only 8 senior clubs in Kerry. This means the 9th best club is playing intermediate and the 25th best is playing junior.

They are not competing at the same level at all.

Dublin has 32 senior.
Mayo has 16 seniors clubs and a smaller population.
Cork has 24 senior clubs.

The cork winners of intermediate were the 25th ranked club in Cork. They played in the intermediate championship. Gneevguillia played in the junior!

Actually I'll start a thread on it

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 247 - 17/01/2022 10:54:49    2395246

Replying To skirge7:  "Are the Kerry clubs not artificially boosted in the Munster Championship?

There are only 8 senior clubs in Kerry. This means the 9th best club is playing intermediate and the 25th best is playing junior.

They are not competing at the same level at all.

Dublin has 32 senior.
Mayo has 16 seniors clubs and a smaller population.
Cork has 24 senior clubs.

The cork winners of intermediate were the 25th ranked club in Cork. They played in the intermediate championship. Gneevguillia played in the junior!

Actually I'll start a thread on it"
Cork also have over 200 clubs and Dublin well over 100 so the point that's made every year about Kerry means nothing.

Kilkenny have I think 12 senior clubs yet that's rarely ever mentioned. Offaly I think is similar.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/01/2022 12:20:56    2395271

Replying To Kerry15:  "What's having Shaw starting based on? He's not on the panel anyway."
We need a target man for Clifford to play off.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 17/01/2022 15:23:08    2395323

Replying To CTGAA10:  "What do ye think of jack o Connor playing 2 last night who had already played in sigerson??doesnt show much for player welfare..were the said players really needed last night??"
If the lads want play for Kerry should be playing. Plenty of time to rest when they retired.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 17/01/2022 15:24:28    2395324

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There is no Kerry player called Joe Connors, there is a Kerry player called Joseph O'connor though."
Well aware of that Marty

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 17/01/2022 15:25:22    2395325

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "We need a target man for Clifford to play off."
Now I know you're having a laugh, Clifford doesn't need a target man to play off.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2022 19:29:46    2395373

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Well aware of that Marty"
If you're well aware of it why did you call him Joe Connors? Connors and O'connor are 2 different surnames altogether.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2022 14:46:11    2395453

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If you're well aware of it why did you call him Joe Connors? Connors and O'connor are 2 different surnames altogether."
Indeed. And every O'Connor I know, detests being called Connors. Very different indeed.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 18/01/2022 16:58:05    2395481

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Indeed. And every O'Connor I know, detests being called Connors. Very different indeed."
100%.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/01/2022 11:47:17    2395571

Strong team named by Jack for today.
Shane Murphy
Daniel O'Donaghue Jason Foley Tom O'Sullivan.
Paul Murphy Tadhg Morley Gavin White
Sean O'Shea Adrian Spillane
Micheál Burns Paudie Clifford Stephen ó Brien
Tony Brosnan Paul Geaney killian Spillane.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2022 12:43:32    2395939

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Strong team named by Jack for today.
Shane Murphy
Daniel O'Donaghue Jason Foley Tom O'Sullivan.
Paul Murphy Tadhg Morley Gavin White
Sean O'Shea Adrian Spillane
Micheál Burns Paudie Clifford Stephen ó Brien
Tony Brosnan Paul Geaney killian Spillane."
Good man Kingdomboy ploughing a lonely furrow here everyone gone to the kerry forum I have to join myself but not very good at the typing. Were you at the game I know its the Mcgrath cup but it was a nice warmup for the league. If we got a few new faces in the league that would be good. Dan donoghue doesn't look out of place a little bigger that what we have and jack savage looked good and killian definitely should be a starter this year.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 22/01/2022 18:37:01    2395973

Just listened to game on radio and saw a few highlights. Also read some reports on Kerry forum. Paul Geaney was excellenby excellent. Killian Spillane vg as was his bro Adrian and Morley had a fine game centre back. Cork were poor though although Brian Hurley was very good again for them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2022 20:44:13    2395992

Replying To chicago09:  "Good man Kingdomboy ploughing a lonely furrow here everyone gone to the kerry forum I have to join myself but not very good at the typing. Were you at the game I know its the Mcgrath cup but it was a nice warmup for the league. If we got a few new faces in the league that would be good. Dan donoghue doesn't look out of place a little bigger that what we have and jack savage looked good and killian definitely should be a starter this year."
Fine win for Kerry, but Cork are very poor; low intermediate level to be honest. Nothing to stop Kerry in Munster, unless Clare do a remake of 1992. The defence seems to be more solid and playing as a unit so far, under Jack.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 22/01/2022 20:58:37    2395994

Replying To chicago09:  "Good man Kingdomboy ploughing a lonely furrow here everyone gone to the kerry forum I have to join myself but not very good at the typing. Were you at the game I know its the Mcgrath cup but it was a nice warmup for the league. If we got a few new faces in the league that would be good. Dan donoghue doesn't look out of place a little bigger that what we have and jack savage looked good and killian definitely should be a starter this year."
Sound man Chicago i hope you're keeping well old stock.

Ya I went to killarney today to watch the game and it was grand, I wouldn't be getting too excited as we had a strong team out from the start and Cork went with a lot of inexperienced players but ended the game with more of their stronger lads.

Dan O'Donaghue was very good, reads the game well.

Tom O'Sullivan is an amazing player, he can do it all and a great football brain, he gor a lovely goal as well.

Foley at fullback I'm not sure if he's the answer as Hurley led him on a merry dance again today.

Morley did well at centreback imo, Murphy and White were OK.

O'Shea and Adrian Spillane were good at midfield without setting the place a light.

Burns got on a lot of easy ball but he's not to my liking as a player,

Paudie Clifford was good without having to push himself too hard,

Jack Savage impressed me, and with him Seánie and Paud Clifford we really have 3 keys that should unlock any blanket defence, and they can all add scores to the board.

Geaney was the best of the 3 in the full forward line and he looks really up for it but he needs to use his brain and take the handy mark when it's available.

So many subs today not enough time to go through them all but they all contributed and the pace didn't dwindle when they came on.

Gavin Crowley and Stephen ó Brien picked up injuries and I don't think they'll make the trip to Kildare.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2022 21:04:40    2395998

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Fine win for Kerry, but Cork are very poor; low intermediate level to be honest. Nothing to stop Kerry in Munster, unless Clare do a remake of 1992. The defence seems to be more solid and playing as a unit so far, under Jack."
Ya Cork are rebuilding under their new manager Keith Ricken, there is no doubt that they have the raw material so if he can get them organised they'll do damage, I'm not sure that they'll rattle div2 this year but i hope they do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 11:00:16    2396021

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya Cork are rebuilding under their new manager Keith Ricken, there is no doubt that they have the raw material so if he can get them organised they'll do damage, I'm not sure that they'll rattle div2 this year but i hope they do."
Read this comment from one of the posters:
"Tom O'Sullivan is an amazing player, he can do it all and a great football brain, he got a lovely goal as well.
Foley at fullback I'm not sure if he's the answer as Hurley led him on a merry dance again today."

Hurley was by far the best Cork player on view yesterday. He scored three points from play. Tom's man scored two from play. Felt the full-back did a great job on him. One of the Kerry players who seems not to meet peoples expectations of a full-back. I understand Foley plays outfield for his club and is is being pressed into full-back duty because no one else seems to be capable of filling the slot. Perhaps O'Sullivan should be tried there.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 23/01/2022 14:23:27    2396056

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Read this comment from one of the posters:
"Tom O'Sullivan is an amazing player, he can do it all and a great football brain, he got a lovely goal as well.
Foley at fullback I'm not sure if he's the answer as Hurley led him on a merry dance again today."

Hurley was by far the best Cork player on view yesterday. He scored three points from play. Tom's man scored two from play. Felt the full-back did a great job on him. One of the Kerry players who seems not to meet peoples expectations of a full-back. I understand Foley plays outfield for his club and is is being pressed into full-back duty because no one else seems to be capable of filling the slot. Perhaps O'Sullivan should be tried there."
Tom is probably 2 small both heightwise and physically for the fullback roll gaa fan, he's a good man marker and passer of the ball and great going forward, personally I'd love to see him at wingback where I think we'd see the best of him, I'd say Tom must be 1 of the highest scoring corner backs in the country.

Jason had some great games at fullback last year but Hurley made dust of him in the Munster final and Mcshane (on as a sub) in the semifinal, like some1 else mentioned he struggles with physical full forwards so I don't think he's the answer for us, I'm only hoping Dylan Casey gets a shot in there at some point in the league.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 14:54:06    2396058

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tom is probably 2 small both heightwise and physically for the fullback roll gaa fan, he's a good man marker and passer of the ball and great going forward, personally I'd love to see him at wingback where I think we'd see the best of him, I'd say Tom must be 1 of the highest scoring corner backs in the country.

Jason had some great games at fullback last year but Hurley made dust of him in the Munster final and Mcshane (on as a sub) in the semifinal, like some1 else mentioned he struggles with physical full forwards so I don't think he's the answer for us, I'm only hoping Dylan Casey gets a shot in there at some point in the league."
That is my point. He is not a full-back but is criticized when he does not meet expectations. Kerry had a natural full-back in Niall Sheehy, late fifties early sixties, and Barry O'Shea was the next natural full-back to play there. After Sheehy, Paud Donoghue was pressed into duty, an outfielder, then Johnno Keeffe, a brilliant centrefielder, was pressed into duly. Over the years Moynihan, McCarhy, Griffin, and others were played there. All were outfielders.
Perhaps if the corner backs stayed back and covered more, instead of assisting probably the best set of forwards in the country, the full-back would not be exposed as much.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 23/01/2022 15:16:15    2396062

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "That is my point. He is not a full-back but is criticized when he does not meet expectations. Kerry had a natural full-back in Niall Sheehy, late fifties early sixties, and Barry O'Shea was the next natural full-back to play there. After Sheehy, Paud Donoghue was pressed into duty, an outfielder, then Johnno Keeffe, a brilliant centrefielder, was pressed into duly. Over the years Moynihan, McCarhy, Griffin, and others were played there. All were outfielders.
Perhaps if the corner backs stayed back and covered more, instead of assisting probably the best set of forwards in the country, the full-back would not be exposed as much."
Ya you make a good point, Jason isn't a fullback and he could do with more help although Dan O'Donaghue seemed to be sweeping around him at times.

Casey appears to be a man that could fill the fullback position even if he's untested at this level, nothing to lose by throwing him in against Kildare next week and see how he does against Daniel Flynn.

Flynn will test him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 15:38:17    2396065

How about Gavin White at full-back, very strong, very physical, big, fast, and an excellent footballer.
Strong going forward ? With the forwards on hand not needed.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 23/01/2022 15:49:50    2396067