2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Viking66:  "Kilkenny are looking good too. And the Dubs will be back to top form after recharging their batteries they used alot of the same players all through the league. Galway wont be bad either. Very hard to call the top 3 and any of the 4 could win Leinster this year."
Leinster championship looks unbelievably hard to call at the moment, if you look at the games Wexford, KK, Galway and Dublin have against each other ourselves and Galway have 2 at home while Kilkenny and Dublin have only 1 at home, that could be a factor.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 23/03/2022 12:57:17    2406668

Replying To Viking66:  "Kilkenny are looking good too. And the Dubs will be back to top form after recharging their batteries they used alot of the same players all through the league. Galway wont be bad either. Very hard to call the top 3 and any of the 4 could win Leinster this year."
Any of Galway, Kilkenny, Wexford or Dublin can win Leinster.
Dublin were not far off making the National league semi finals and they gave Wexford a trimming in the Walsh Cup.
Galway are full of talented hurlers and they have a great manager.
Kilkenny (the current Leinster Champions) have found a few new hurlers and have the greatest hurling manager of all time.
Leinster is a bear pit this year. Nothing between these sides.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 23/03/2022 13:09:29    2406671

Replying To StoreysTash:  "We really need to hit the ground running in the championship. A league final would really bring us on more than 2 weeks of training which we would have otherwise.
If we don't beat Galway and Dublin, I can't see us getting enough from the Kilkenny match to make a Leinster final and there is always a chance of a shock away to Laois, even though on all known form we should take them too.
I hope we go all guns blazing on Sunday, and at very least are there in the last 10 minutes. The way we are hurling I think we have every chance and it is good to see some guaranteed starters under Davy coming under some pressure for their starting positions."
I think the panel is looking good for sure. Although leaving aside the u20s I think O Foley and Charlie Mcguckin are the only players who didnt see gametime under Davy. And Mcguckin is definitely a good bit stronger looking since this time last year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 23/03/2022 13:11:49    2406672

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Having a quite chuckle to myself seeing this, as I'm sure is mooncat himself. Cody has unearthed a few extra gems during the league. And that's all that man needs."
Who has he unearthed that will be a championship starter??? David Blanchfield??

Planning without TJ playing Padraig Walsh centre forward.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 23/03/2022 14:02:36    2406684

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Who has he unearthed that will be a championship starter??? David Blanchfield??

Planning without TJ playing Padraig Walsh centre forward."
Mikey Butler and Cian Kenny have got a good few chances too, Adrian Mullen and Eoin Cody both only made there 1st appearances last Sunday. Watler Walsh and Cillian Buckley look renergised a bit like a few of our lads around a similar age, Kilkenny never too far away.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 23/03/2022 14:28:23    2406690

Replying To countyman2022:  "We will be waiting for you to call that out so Monday morning."
I don't want either team having someone red carded but if it is Waterford I am sure you will be back to your "townie" b.s. again. Don't see why I would change what I interrupt as nasty play but sharing an opinion with a hater like you is a waste of time.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3133 - 23/03/2022 14:43:34    2406695

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Who has he unearthed that will be a championship starter??? David Blanchfield??

Planning without TJ playing Padraig Walsh centre forward."
I remember the 1st time I saw him play was the u20 Leinster final in 2019 he played well. Hes a good young player but not necessarily a championship starter for them. Think TJ will be on the edge of the square. Padraig Walsh has only been moved back to where he was playing underage and still plays for his club. Centre forward would be his best position. Agreed though Larry, their championship starting 15 against us wont have too many championship debutants in it. If any at all.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 23/03/2022 14:53:22    2406699

Replying To bloodyban:  "Strongest Wexford squad iv ever seen. And the style of hurling is suiting you guys. It's a huge improvement on last year. I dont see your squad being as talented as Waterfords. They've minor and under 20 All Ireland winners and the likes of Gleeson and Hutchinson are top top class. But I see great improvement and maybe the class is there. I just thought that Wexford didn't have the class of the top 4 teams . Now I'm not certain on that anymore. The one thing I ll say and it's not to dampen down expectations is when the ground hardens can ye keep improving. And for Wexford to have no All Ireland underage success in so long well that would buck the trend too. Even your Leinster championship winning under 21 teams were well beaten in the All Ireland series. Sunday we will know for sure where Wexford are. I certainly see it as both teams going all out for the win. Nowlan Park is abit mucky looking."
I don't fear Waterford at all to be honest.

If you consider fanning, o Hanlon, Ryan, Foley, dee o Keeffe, Rory o connor and Conor mac with chin to come back. They're as good as anything that's out there.

If I had to say what we're lacking it's one more top class defender.

Take the point on underage but that 21 team was closer to Clare than it looked in the first final. A poor game plan and an absence of confidence.

They were blown away by limerick the following year alright, but senior is not under 21.

Are we really in the mix? It's hard to say.

We have a much better bench than in previous years which really helps.

If we'd had it last year I think we'd have won another leinster.

If we had it in 19 we could have finished tipp and had beaten Kilkenny in a final only a few weeks before.

I'm looking forward with hope more than expectation, and would always look to Clare in 13.

If they could win one, there's no reason we can't with a bit of luck.

I will say this though.... A golden generation in wexford are running out of time.

That under 21 group aren't chaps any more.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3828 - 23/03/2022 14:57:19    2406703

Replying To wexico15:  "Mikey Butler and Cian Kenny have got a good few chances too, Adrian Mullen and Eoin Cody both only made there 1st appearances last Sunday. Watler Walsh and Cillian Buckley look renergised a bit like a few of our lads around a similar age, Kilkenny never too far away."
This 'Kilkenny never too far away' trope has been bandied about by so many for so long without any foundations of truth.

Since their last AI win in 2015, they have got played off the park in the two AI finals they have featured in, capitulated to an embroynic Limerick team, suffered a first significant championship loss to Waterford in however many years and even had an un-Kilkenny like fold despite battling back to force ET vs Cork last year.

Their puck-out routine remains stuck in the 'lump it long' era, and from following KK-focused fora elsewhere, the general conception amongst their fan base is that Cody hasn't moved with the times tactically either. They still seem unable to deal with teams that run at them (ourselves included).

It's their longest dry spell under Cody, and it's all gone a bit like Mickey Harte's final few years at Tyrone. I actually think a possible League final win could be the height of their success this year, and wouldn't be surprised if they don't get out Leinster. And am willing to stick my neck on the line in saying so!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 23/03/2022 15:46:17    2406715

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I don't fear Waterford at all to be honest.

If you consider fanning, o Hanlon, Ryan, Foley, dee o Keeffe, Rory o connor and Conor mac with chin to come back. They're as good as anything that's out there.

Take the point on underage but that 21 team was closer to Clare than it looked in the first final. A poor game plan and an absence of confidence.

They were blown away by limerick the following year alright, but senior is not under 21.

If we had it in 19 we could have finished tipp and had beaten Kilkenny in a final only a few weeks before.

I'm looking forward with hope more than expectation, and would always look to Clare in 13.

I will say this though.... A golden generation in wexford are running out of time.

That under 21 group aren't chaps any more."
It's a good generation of hurlers that's for sure. Golden generations win all Irelands. We have only 1 in any grade since the late 60s. Our golden generation was the 50s. Another nearly golden generation won minor and u21 all Irelands in the 60s but failed to win a senior if you discount 68. Though they came mighty close in the 70s.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 23/03/2022 16:22:40    2406723

Replying To beano:  "This 'Kilkenny never too far away' trope has been bandied about by so many for so long without any foundations of truth.

Since their last AI win in 2015, they have got played off the park in the two AI finals they have featured in, capitulated to an embroynic Limerick team, suffered a first significant championship loss to Waterford in however many years and even had an un-Kilkenny like fold despite battling back to force ET vs Cork last year.

Their puck-out routine remains stuck in the 'lump it long' era, and from following KK-focused fora elsewhere, the general conception amongst their fan base is that Cody hasn't moved with the times tactically either. They still seem unable to deal with teams that run at them (ourselves included).

It's their longest dry spell under Cody, and it's all gone a bit like Mickey Harte's final few years at Tyrone. I actually think a possible League final win could be the height of their success this year, and wouldn't be surprised if they don't get out Leinster. And am willing to stick my neck on the line in saying so!"
Since 2015 KK have won 3 Leinster and made 2 finals, in that period we've 1 Leinster and 1 semi final appearance, we all know they don't have the talent of 10-15 years ago but the commentary around them you'd think they've fallen off a cliff in the last few years like the Cork footballers, ofcourse they're not as good as they were but there still well in the mix to win Leinster, I do agree they might not get out of leinster but its that tight you couldn't put the mortgage on us, Dublin or Galway either.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 23/03/2022 16:39:12    2406729

Replying To wexico15:  "https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/minor-hurlers-meet-dubs-in-championship-start-41475601.html

Details on who is involved in the minors this year,"
It's curious that there is just one player each from St.Martin's and Naomh Eanna, and none at all from two urban centres in Rapps and Harriers.

Given the wide array of rural clubs represented, the management clearly spread their search far and wide. Maybe the taegeted development work being done in the smaller clubs is starting to bear fruit.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 23/03/2022 17:20:06    2406741

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I don't fear Waterford at all to be honest.

That under 21 group aren't chaps any more."
Good for you Doylerwex. Why would you fear Waterford ? You have a much better team there than us. Hopefully everyone else thinks the same.
I do have great time for this good Wexford team.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3133 - 23/03/2022 18:07:09    2406748

Hope its wrong but was told myself today that Reck's hamstring injury is a grade 3 so the more severe end of things.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 23/03/2022 18:45:30    2406753

Replying To Viking66:  "It's a good generation of hurlers that's for sure. Golden generations win all Irelands. We have only 1 in any grade since the late 60s. Our golden generation was the 50s. Another nearly golden generation won minor and u21 all Irelands in the 60s but failed to win a senior if you discount 68. Though they came mighty close in the 70s."
I might be shot down for this, the game has changed, but I'd argue this is a better crop than the last of ours than won an all Ireland in 96.

It's the best I've seen in my lifetime.

They may yet prove to be a golden generation might be a better way to put it.

In my view, they have 2/3 years left to realise their full potential.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3828 - 23/03/2022 18:50:13    2406755

Replying To Canuck:  "I don't want either team having someone red carded but if it is Waterford I am sure you will be back to your "townie" b.s. again. Don't see why I would change what I interrupt as nasty play but sharing an opinion with a hater like you is a waste of time."
It's not bs though when its true. How's Aussie's rehab going?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 840 - 24/03/2022 10:01:42    2406783

Replying To Viking66:  "It's a good generation of hurlers that's for sure. Golden generations win all Irelands. We have only 1 in any grade since the late 60s. Our golden generation was the 50s. Another nearly golden generation won minor and u21 all Irelands in the 60s but failed to win a senior if you discount 68. Though they came mighty close in the 70s."
Wexico, They dethroned Kilkenny as Leinster and All Ireland Champions in 1970 and were favourites to win the All Ireland. However they were hit with a massive injuries crises- far more severe that of KK in '73- and the failure to play Seanie Kinsella in '76 and '77 probably also cost them. In 1993, Wexford were well on top in the first with KK, with John O'Connor completely outplaying KK dangerman Eamon Morrissey. With about four minutes to go Wexford were four points up and seemed to have the game in control. Then KK switched Morrissey in on Ger Cushe. Cushe was a fine Full Back of that time, but no speed merchant and the match seemed all wrong from a Wexford viewpoint. From the word go I would have sent O'Connor after EM, but one after another he scored four points in a row. There was no attempt by Wexford players or Management to disrupt KKs comeback. I am sure if the boot was on the other foot some KK player would have gone down, after the second point with 'life threatening injuries'. I feel if they had held out that day they would have edged Galway in the final, but there you go.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4515 - 24/03/2022 11:00:46    2406795

Replying To wexico15:  "Hope its wrong but was told myself today that Reck's hamstring injury is a grade 3 so the more severe end of things."
Wex98 is a club mate of his. Possibly a close relative. I'd be inclined to believe him when he says 3 months.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 24/03/2022 11:17:55    2406800

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I might be shot down for this, the game has changed, but I'd argue this is a better crop than the last of ours than won an all Ireland in 96.

It's the best I've seen in my lifetime.

They may yet prove to be a golden generation might be a better way to put it.

In my view, they have 2/3 years left to realise their full potential."
For sure Doylerwex I'm hoping like mad they are the next golden generation as well!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 24/03/2022 11:18:44    2406801

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Wexico, They dethroned Kilkenny as Leinster and All Ireland Champions in 1970 and were favourites to win the All Ireland. However they were hit with a massive injuries crises- far more severe that of KK in '73- and the failure to play Seanie Kinsella in '76 and '77 probably also cost them. In 1993, Wexford were well on top in the first with KK, with John O'Connor completely outplaying KK dangerman Eamon Morrissey. With about four minutes to go Wexford were four points up and seemed to have the game in control. Then KK switched Morrissey in on Ger Cushe. Cushe was a fine Full Back of that time, but no speed merchant and the match seemed all wrong from a Wexford viewpoint. From the word go I would have sent O'Connor after EM, but one after another he scored four points in a row. There was no attempt by Wexford players or Management to disrupt KKs comeback. I am sure if the boot was on the other foot some KK player would have gone down, after the second point with 'life threatening injuries'. I feel if they had held out that day they would have edged Galway in the final, but there you go."
I'm Viking OTM. Wexico would be alot better informed than me! But I take your point. Those lads in the 70s were so close by all accounts. 93 was one of the 1st years I was following Wexford closely and we were desperately close in League and Championship. At least most of the lads got their medals in 96 unlike some of the team of the 70s. Lads like the Quigleys and Tony Doran definitely deserved more than the 1 medal they won in 68.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16550 - 24/03/2022 11:25:50    2406803