2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Afinestick:  "How did you manage to get tickets when half of us looking to go in Wexford can't"
anyone can get a ticket to a match you dont have to be from wexford or clare galway or cork......and i got a ticket for last years munster final too with only 7000 capacity.))).....surely you have some contact in wexford or are you not involved in a club.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 14/06/2022 15:30:41    2424978

Look lads, we are up against it Saturday. They are the form team of the championship and are most peoples favourites to be in the all ireland final (at least). They have knocked us out of the championship 3 times in the last 5 years and they are playing better this year then the last few years. I was working in Clare for the last week or so and it was hard listening to a lot of their supporters giving it large, confident as you can get. They have very little respect for leinster hurling, never mind wexford hurling (maybe they are right.) I also don't buy into all this talk that they wouldn't be able to maintain the same intensity levels as the munster final, Rubbish, of course they will. After two week break they will be flying.
Yet, not all is lost......:)

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 931 - 14/06/2022 15:39:08    2424982

Replying To munsterchamps:  "anyone can get a ticket to a match you dont have to be from wexford or clare galway or cork......and i got a ticket for last years munster final too with only 7000 capacity.))).....surely you have some contact in wexford or are you not involved in a club."
There were around 200 tickets requested in our club and each club in Wexford are only getting 90. Hoping to get sorted but not certain of a ticket yet

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 14/06/2022 15:47:50    2424984

Replying To Doylerwex:  "This stuff is all fairly subjective.

Had the Galway game gone on another few minutes we'd have won.

Thought Dublin were just a little more focused but nothing between us.

We got what we deserved against westmeath, yet nobody mentioned the square ball.

None of it matters come Saturday, but a bounce here or there and we might be in a semi already."
No guarantee we would have beaten Galway that day if the game went on a few more minutes longer.Fact is they were a point up with time running out. That free that Cooney was delaying over would have put them 2 points up. Ball thrown in, we got the break and got the leveller. No sense saying if this and if that. The game lasted 70+ minutes and none of us are physique and we simply don't know what would have happened if the game had gone on longer.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 14/06/2022 15:55:52    2424988

Replying To hunting:  "Look lads, we are up against it Saturday. They are the form team of the championship and are most peoples favourites to be in the all ireland final (at least). They have knocked us out of the championship 3 times in the last 5 years and they are playing better this year then the last few years. I was working in Clare for the last week or so and it was hard listening to a lot of their supporters giving it large, confident as you can get. They have very little respect for leinster hurling, never mind wexford hurling (maybe they are right.) I also don't buy into all this talk that they wouldn't be able to maintain the same intensity levels as the munster final, Rubbish, of course they will. After two week break they will be flying.
Yet, not all is lost......:)"
Good man hunting. Hopefully we can shut them up and if we win we will do just that.
Of course you will hear all the excuses if they lose. The referee, the suspensions, the tough game they had against Limerick and so on.
Of course most people in Clare are decent folk and wouldnt go down that road.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 14/06/2022 16:10:11    2424994

Replying To hunting:  "Look lads, we are up against it Saturday. They are the form team of the championship and are most peoples favourites to be in the all ireland final (at least). They have knocked us out of the championship 3 times in the last 5 years and they are playing better this year then the last few years. I was working in Clare for the last week or so and it was hard listening to a lot of their supporters giving it large, confident as you can get. They have very little respect for leinster hurling, never mind wexford hurling (maybe they are right.) I also don't buy into all this talk that they wouldn't be able to maintain the same intensity levels as the munster final, Rubbish, of course they will. After two week break they will be flying.
It is a tough assignment for ye alright. However I have that sneaky feeling I get from time to time. They came out of the traps flying and Wexford a bit slower but coming up the back stretch it is now close. I would not begrudge either but probably want my neighbours a stone's throw from Passage to do it. That province thing is nonsense to me especially now that it is Leinster/Connaught against Munster.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 14/06/2022 17:17:00    2425011

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Are you bringing league the league into the discussion again? Has league performance not been turned upside down and shaken apart so far?"
Ah I'm just being positive LRH. It's what I do before big games. Plenty of time to be negative after a defeat without ruining the buzz of the buildup by being negative before it!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 15/06/2022 07:41:06    2425064

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Initially, on the face of it, it might seem generous. But let's look at it with a bookies eye.
On the one hand you have Clare. Unbeaten in the Munster round robin group, winning 3 games and drawing 1.
It took a very good/exceptional Limerick team two games plus extra-time to beat them.
On the other hand you have Wexford. They beat Kilkenny, an average to good team. That's it. So, 3/1 is probably a fair price. Luckily, sport and hurling games in particular, don't always go the way of logic or form.
While Clare are odds on to win, this is not a Kerry v Wexford, or Antrim v Cork type of game. So of course Wexford have a chance. I will be shouting for Wexford (and Galway) on Saturday, as I always do when a Leinster team plays a Munster one. But I won't be backing Wexford. If I was to have a bet I'd use the handicap betting, Wexford +6 points 8/13.
Anyway, good luck on Saturday, it would be great to shut up a few of our noisy (Munster) neighbours on here."
Would for sure CC. Would be great to see 2 Leinster and a Connacht team in the last 4!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 15/06/2022 07:43:08    2425065

Replying To Afinestick:  "There were around 200 tickets requested in our club and each club in Wexford are only getting 90. Hoping to get sorted but not certain of a ticket yet"
Same in our club. Disappointing as could have easily been avoided if Galway-Cork played in Limerick.
Saturday fixtures don't tend to bring out huge support though. Cousin living in Cork has chap involved with the Rebel Og academy and they have fixtures on Saturday morning. Might be cancelled he thought.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 15/06/2022 10:28:49    2425083

Slight tangent here lads ... I saw this on twitter the other night and maybe it passed under the radar of most people.
I am posting this here because there is probably a lot of eye balls on this thread, given the week that is in it.

Here is a link to 2 new Wexford GAA roles supporting the development of Wexford players.
http://www.wexfordgaa.ie/2022/06/coach-player-development-manager-athletic-development-lead-coach/
One of them is a strength and conditioning job role.

You never know, there could be a poster/lurker on here who is perfect for either of these roles or maybe that poster/lurker knows somebody who might be perfect for either role.
So here's your chance to make a difference!

Up Wexford!

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 315 - 15/06/2022 11:02:57    2425100

A tough place to work alright when they are flying, listening to all their giving out about everything and everyone bar their own lads use of the hurley. Best of look on Saturday, I have a sneaky feeling ye'll do a bit more than sneak it.

rualach (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 15/06/2022 11:09:11    2425104

Replying To Viking66:  "Ah I'm just being positive LRH. It's what I do before big games. Plenty of time to be negative after a defeat without ruining the buzz of the buildup by being negative before it!"
Right you are Viking. Wexford needs supporters to be more positive about their team. As an outside in viewer, I always sensed the reaction on here was "grand" when the team win, but "blame everybody" when the team loses.
It might be that supporters don't want to get carried away. A bit like Dublin, a terrible display is often only around the corner.
I think Wexford can give Clare a right battle at the weekend. Yes Clare emptied the tank in the Munster Final but teams often rise to the occasion which Clare unquestionably did that day. But Wexford rose to the occasion also v Kilkenny and while Clare won't give the Wexford backs the sort of ball Paddy Deegan and Richie Reid did all day, Wexford have enough to give them everything. But at least there should be handshakes on the line afterwards.
My prediction is Clare by 3-4 points but Wexford are in a great place now with the expectation all around that Clare will win.
Just need the tickets now. How the GAA let this develop for an All-Ireland quarter final, daft.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 15/06/2022 11:12:48    2425106

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Right you are Viking. Wexford needs supporters to be more positive about their team. As an outside in viewer, I always sensed the reaction on here was "grand" when the team win, but "blame everybody" when the team loses.
It might be that supporters don't want to get carried away. A bit like Dublin, a terrible display is often only around the corner.
I think Wexford can give Clare a right battle at the weekend. Yes Clare emptied the tank in the Munster Final but teams often rise to the occasion which Clare unquestionably did that day. But Wexford rose to the occasion also v Kilkenny and while Clare won't give the Wexford backs the sort of ball Paddy Deegan and Richie Reid did all day, Wexford have enough to give them everything. But at least there should be handshakes on the line afterwards.
My prediction is Clare by 3-4 points but Wexford are in a great place now with the expectation all around that Clare will win.
Just need the tickets now. How the GAA let this develop for an All-Ireland quarter final, daft."
When are clubs being given their tickets does anybody know?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/06/2022 11:38:00    2425117

Replying To Canuck:  "It is a tough assignment for ye alright. However I have that sneaky feeling I get from time to time. They came out of the traps flying and Wexford a bit slower but coming up the back stretch it is now close. I would not begrudge either but probably want my neighbours a stone's throw from Passage to do it. That province thing is nonsense to me especially now that it is Leinster/Connaught against Munster."
The same discussion is going on in the football posts about Ulster and Munster it really is a joke but then again that's the GAA for you, tribalism at its best. For all the talk on here about provinces you would think they would be crying out for the return of the railway cup!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 15/06/2022 11:51:41    2425122

Replying To rualach:  "A tough place to work alright when they are flying, listening to all their giving out about everything and everyone bar their own lads use of the hurley. Best of look on Saturday, I have a sneaky feeling ye'll do a bit more than sneak it."
I suggest that you Leave Shannon then & find a job in Limerick

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 15/06/2022 11:56:15    2425126

Replying To Afinestick:  "When are clubs being given their tickets does anybody know?"
Still waiting Afinestick. Orders went in last night.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 15/06/2022 13:41:48    2425157

Replying To Afinestick:  "When are clubs being given their tickets does anybody know?"
Hi, I have being told by my club that I have got my tickets. They will send me a link through whatsapp/email and I then purchase my tickets. I have heard that what is left will be going on general sale thursday evening/friday morning

Wexgal96 (Wexford) - Posts: 11 - 15/06/2022 13:57:22    2425163

Replying To clooney:  "I suggest that you Leave Shannon then & find a job in Limerick"
Always though that banter was part of the craic, was poking fun all round me when Dublin beat Wexford only for it to come back to bite when the final standings arrived.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 15/06/2022 14:44:19    2425173

Replying To Wexgal96:  "Hi, I have being told by my club that I have got my tickets. They will send me a link through whatsapp/email and I then purchase my tickets. I have heard that what is left will be going on general sale thursday evening/friday morning"
Thanks . Hopefully hear later today

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/06/2022 15:20:26    2425179

just got 3 tickets in section 212 on ticketmaster

pretty sure it was just luck but for anyone who hasn't got a ticket i would advise to keep a constant eye on the ticketmaster website

wexford4liam (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 15/06/2022 15:54:42    2425194