Wexford Football Championship

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I was in Ross today and I'd be fancying Horeswood slightly based on their respective displays Taghmon missed 2 gilt edged goal scoring chances on top of the 2 they got while except for a black card spell Horeswood kept Cushinstown at arms length, Cian Byrne, Richie Waters and Turbitt were all impressive for Fethard while Horeswood were more workmanlike than having 2 or 3 standouts."
Unfortunately couldn't make it to Ross I was working in Dublin. Heard Taghmon had the chances to win but were a bit unlucky hitting the post etc. Overall its been a great year for the club. Our team who play both codes have a great age profile and some very talented players so hopefully the team will improve over the next few years as the lads get more experienced.
Overall I think I'll stick with my predictions, except Taghmon, as I've felt Horeswood would win Intermediate if we didn't from before a ball was kicked.
Sticking with Shels and Cloughbawn still also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 10/10/2022 08:59:40    2443343

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "lyng and waters retired? sad end for 2 great serverts of football to st martins and wexford, thank you to both of ye, ye gave us some great days on pitches from leitrim to croke park to wexford park and 2 nicer men u would not meet"
2 great Footballers well done to them hope they enjoy their retirement. Wexford still looking for the players to replace them sadly!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 10/10/2022 09:01:41    2443344

Replying To Viking66:  "Unfortunately couldn't make it to Ross I was working in Dublin. Heard Taghmon had the chances to win but were a bit unlucky hitting the post etc. Overall its been a great year for the club. Our team who play both codes have a great age profile and some very talented players so hopefully the team will improve over the next few years as the lads get more experienced.
Overall I think I'll stick with my predictions, except Taghmon, as I've felt Horeswood would win Intermediate if we didn't from before a ball was kicked.
Sticking with Shels and Cloughbawn still also."
It looked in the 1st 10-15 mins Fethard would run away with it but even though ye were always chasing the game ye hung in there, 2 missed goal chances before half time could have been game changers, Stephen O'Gorman impressed me was a good outlet up front.

Looking at the fixtures next weekend I think the Intermediate A/ Intermediate finals double header on Saturday look very appetising 2 50-50 type games, on what I seen yesterday hard to see the Shels been beaten, they just play at a tempo and intensity a level ahead of everyone else and can hurt you through so many avenues.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 10/10/2022 10:33:36    2443357

Replying To beano:  "Was told today that the winners of the senior, intermediate and inter A finals next weekend, will be straight into Leinster action the following weekend, and in the event of a draw, any replay will be played mid-week to accommodate the province. So the respective hurling representatives have three months prep time, football reps don't even have a week's rest. Flipping it around would still mean that the hurling have about a month between county final and Leinster.

Perhaps next year, the fixtures committee should be aware of the start times of Leinster before making a decision."
Beano, you're very knowledgable about the games themselves (as shown by the detailed predictions you put up each week), but will all due respect, you don't always have the same level of knowledge about the other side of things.

As far back as January/February, County Board was so aware of Leinster Championship dates that ahead of the meeting where clubs decided to run with two groups of six (meaning 16 rounds of matches in total), they distributed a master fixtures list showing how these 16 rounds would have to fit into the calendar. It was so detailed that it set out three or four different scenarios, based on different levels of progress of our inter-county teams.

Clubs were supposed to consider it before voting (granted, it's doubtful that all of them gave it the attention it deserved), and then they voted for it anyway.

In relation to the replays, there were calls leading up to the hurling finals that any draws should go to a replay instead of extra time and possible penalties, since there was a free week afterwards. The option was put to clubs at a County Board meeting, and they voted for replays. Some then asked what would happen with football finals, and it was pointed out there could be replays too if necessary, but they'd have to be midweek and just a few days before Leinster matches. Clubs still indicated a preference to have replays rather than "winner on the day" regulations the first time out.

Once more, in relation to hurling first/football first/alternate weeks or blocks, clubs voted roughly 80-20 in favour of hurling first.

CCCC/fixtures committee can sometimes be criticised for certain things all right, but it's unfair to criticise them for simply implementing the decisions made by clubs at full County Board meetings. If they went against those decisions, then they'd be absolutely roasted, and rightly so.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 10/10/2022 10:54:39    2443361

I got into Ross on Saturday for both games and I thought both were very similar. Both winners I thought always looked like winning but were scrappy at times and looked like letting there opponents back in to the game, Horeswood not as much but I thought Cushinstown were very poor in the second half.

Fethard started the game very well, they would of been disappointed to not have more scores after 15 minutes, they need to improve there decision making around the goal but when they move it quick they are brilliant and are very hard to stop. Taghmon got back into by playing long route one balls to Stephen o Gorman on the edge of the square, he was excellent. Overall Fethard were the better team but fair play to Taghmon, every time it looked like slipping away from them they would get a score or two to keep the game alive. They have a good bunch of young players who won't be far off it in the next few years.

The first half of the Horeswood game was similar, Horeswood started very well, they looked very sharp in the first 15 minutes and then seemed to loose concentration and done some stupid things. They got two black cards mid way through first half and while Cushinstown got afew scores they will be disappointed not to have fully taken advantage of it. I thought the second half was very one sided, Cushinstown got destroyed on there own kickout and struggled for the majority of this.

I am really looking forward to the final, both are definitely the best teams in the grade and have some quality players - in particular the forwards on both sided are excellent. I said I fancied Fethard from the start of the year and still think this. Fethard by two for me

JT22 (Wexford) - Posts: 31 - 10/10/2022 18:17:09    2443470

Replying To hunting:  "Two very poor games in the park today. The standard at times was shocking. The Shels look a class above everyone else though. Ben will be a massive loss in the final."
Anyone know what he was sent off for?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 10/10/2022 21:45:52    2443503

Saw all four semi-finals across senior and intermediate myself last weekend, and I'll head for Wexford Park both next Saturday and Sunday too.

I fully expect the Intermediate final to be the pick of the two main ones. There's little to separate Horeswood and Fethard, and it wouldn't surprise me if it goes to one of those dreaded midweek replays mentioned above, but overall I fancy Horeswood to just about shade it by a point or two.

In the senior, I just can't see Castletown stopping Shels, particularly if they're without Brosnan. Didn't see the incident myself on Sunday and the cameras for the streaming didn't pick it up either. Don't know either if there's an appeal lodged or how strong a case Castletown might have, but doesn't take a genius to realise that if Brosnan isn't playing, their job will be all the tougher.

Incidentally, there's been several arguments on this forum for expanding senior hurling to 16 clubs, but can't help wondering if the same idea would be better suited to football? Intermediate next year will have St. Martin's, either Horeswood or Fethard, Taghmon-Camross (who are disappointed with their semi-final showing and who are capable of improving), and another two or three teams who might hold their own in senior too, without actually being among the major contenders there.

Would it be far too radical for Wexford to have different structures for the hurling and football championships?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 10/10/2022 21:49:25    2443506

Brosnan sent off for off the ball incident in quarter final last year
sent off for off the ball incident this year v glynn he did get this revoked on appeal
now sent off for another off the ball incident sunday, if no video evidence he is prob screwed,
Linesman Sean Whelan was the one who notified John Carton of what allegedly happened,
Huge loss if missing cant see castletown staying with shels at all

lefty (Wexford) - Posts: 185 - 11/10/2022 08:11:06    2443509

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Saw all four semi-finals across senior and intermediate myself last weekend, and I'll head for Wexford Park both next Saturday and Sunday too.

I fully expect the Intermediate final to be the pick of the two main ones. There's little to separate Horeswood and Fethard, and it wouldn't surprise me if it goes to one of those dreaded midweek replays mentioned above, but overall I fancy Horeswood to just about shade it by a point or two.

In the senior, I just can't see Castletown stopping Shels, particularly if they're without Brosnan. Didn't see the incident myself on Sunday and the cameras for the streaming didn't pick it up either. Don't know either if there's an appeal lodged or how strong a case Castletown might have, but doesn't take a genius to realise that if Brosnan isn't playing, their job will be all the tougher.

Incidentally, there's been several arguments on this forum for expanding senior hurling to 16 clubs, but can't help wondering if the same idea would be better suited to football? Intermediate next year will have St. Martin's, either Horeswood or Fethard, Taghmon-Camross (who are disappointed with their semi-final showing and who are capable of improving), and another two or three teams who might hold their own in senior too, without actually being among the major contenders there.

Would it be far too radical for Wexford to have different structures for the hurling and football championships?"
It probably would be far too radical but ive long felt that there should be no issues with having separate structures for both codes and i do think it would work for football.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 11/10/2022 08:37:03    2443514

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Saw all four semi-finals across senior and intermediate myself last weekend, and I'll head for Wexford Park both next Saturday and Sunday too.

Would it be far too radical for Wexford to have different structures for the hurling and football championships?"
Senior Football to 16 teams was basically your option F on the list of different options back a few pages ago. I listed it as my preferred option of the 6 you outlined so you have one supporter anyway.

4 groups of 4. There would be a few options on how this could be done.

1. Top team into quarter finals. 2 v 3 in preliminary quarter finals. 4 into relegation semis. Takes 7 weeks. Each team guaranteed 4 games.

2. Top 2 teams into quarter finals. 3rd finished, 4th into relegation semis. Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 3 games.

3. Top 2 teams into quarters. 3rd v 4th in relegation quarters. Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 4 games.

And then the 2001 to 2006 format:

First round - 8 games. 8 Winners into round 2A. 8 Losers into round 2B
Round 2A 4 games. 4 winners into quarter finals. 4 Losers into 3rd round
Round 2B 4 games. 4 winners into 3rd round. 4 Losers into relegation semis.
Third round - 4 games. Losers from 2A play winners from 2B. Winners into quarter finals. Losers finished.

Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 3 games.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 11/10/2022 09:22:17    2443519

I'd still like a 16 team championship for both codes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 11/10/2022 11:55:10    2443553

Replying To Onfor15:  "Senior Football to 16 teams was basically your option F on the list of different options back a few pages ago. I listed it as my preferred option of the 6 you outlined so you have one supporter anyway.

4 groups of 4. There would be a few options on how this could be done.

1. Top team into quarter finals. 2 v 3 in preliminary quarter finals. 4 into relegation semis. Takes 7 weeks. Each team guaranteed 4 games.

2. Top 2 teams into quarter finals. 3rd finished, 4th into relegation semis. Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 3 games.

3. Top 2 teams into quarters. 3rd v 4th in relegation quarters. Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 4 games.

And then the 2001 to 2006 format:

First round - 8 games. 8 Winners into round 2A. 8 Losers into round 2B
Round 2A 4 games. 4 winners into quarter finals. 4 Losers into 3rd round
Round 2B 4 games. 4 winners into 3rd round. 4 Losers into relegation semis.
Third round - 4 games. Losers from 2A play winners from 2B. Winners into quarter finals. Losers finished.

Takes 6 weeks. Each team guaranteed 3 games."
Great format.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 640 - 11/10/2022 12:56:33    2443564

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd still like a 16 team championship for both codes."
I would to but unfortunately there would be at least two-three average teams in senior hurling which would lower the standard and would be like years ago. I cant see why both championships cant be different, agree with poster above, top four teams in intermediate football wouldnt look out of place in Senior so there defo would be a case for it there. You could still keep the other grades at 12 teams if you so wished.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 11/10/2022 13:04:38    2443566

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd still like a 16 team championship for both codes."
16 teams in hurling would be crazy in my opinion.
It would lead to a very uneven championship big time. What purpose would it serve with teams from intermediate getting hammered and humiliated week in week out.
Of course there are many good players in the lower grades and some are on the county panel.
There are Kilkenny lads on the kilkenny team who don't play senior with their clubs. The same could be said for other intercounty sides.
No bringing intermediate teams up to senior who didn't earn promotion would be a retrograde step.
12 teams is the right number and should most definitely be left that way.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 11/10/2022 13:44:57    2443576

Replying To alwaysasub:  "I would to but unfortunately there would be at least two-three average teams in senior hurling which would lower the standard and would be like years ago. I cant see why both championships cant be different, agree with poster above, top four teams in intermediate football wouldnt look out of place in Senior so there defo would be a case for it there. You could still keep the other grades at 12 teams if you so wished."
Yeah, the bit you mention about certain intermediate football clubs probably not looking out of place in senior is what I was trying to get at here, rather than the mechanics of how a 16-team championship would work.

I think it's far more likely in football than in hurling that you'd be able to bring four teams up from intermediate and have them fairly competitive at senior level.

However, as I think I already said those few pages back, the problem I'd foresee with four groups of four in football (or the alternative "back door" format that Onfor15 puts forward) is that the mainly footballing community would complain that they're not guaranteed as many games as their hurling counterparts would get if hurling continues to be two groups of six.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 11/10/2022 13:53:33    2443578

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Yeah, the bit you mention about certain intermediate football clubs probably not looking out of place in senior is what I was trying to get at here, rather than the mechanics of how a 16-team championship would work.

I think it's far more likely in football than in hurling that you'd be able to bring four teams up from intermediate and have them fairly competitive at senior level.

However, as I think I already said those few pages back, the problem I'd foresee with four groups of four in football (or the alternative "back door" format that Onfor15 puts forward) is that the mainly footballing community would complain that they're not guaranteed as many games as their hurling counterparts would get if hurling continues to be two groups of six."
Championship is far better with twelve teams in both hurling and football

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 12/10/2022 08:50:21    2443663

I must say, after prior criticism (due to misinformation), that the coverage by Wexford TV of the football championships has been excellent. The previews are probably better than the hurling ones too, as by having current players who have first-hand experience of the competing teams, you get a better insight than the occasional 'they are a traditional team'. Fair play- I may pop into Sharkeys soon, that subliminal advertising is working.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 12/10/2022 09:35:08    2443673

I would have seen a good few intermediate games this year in football and I dont think there are 4 teams that would compete at senior to go up. Fethard and horsewood were both a level above all the other teams. Their pace and skill levels were a good chunk up on the rest of the teams. Of the 1/4 finalists who lost, none of them were unlucky really, bar maybe Ferns but I didnt see their game with Horsewood, but having seen them in the last group game, despite their attention maybe elsewhere, they didnt look anything great. A good intermediate team, but not a senior team. I saw Gorey in their first game and they were poor. Granted they got a draw against Fethard, but they lost to Taghmon who werent bad against Fethard, but they never lead nor ever really looked like winning. Anytime they got back within touching distance, Fethard just went down and scored to widen the gap again. Cushinstown were average in beating Clongeen, who I felt had the game for the taking there, but even at that, Clongeen are a bit away yet and a couple of years in Intermediate wont do any harm having only just come up. It may have been the case in years gone by that Intermediate teams may have been closer to senior, but I think the gap is widening and this years final only proves that to me.

I wouldnt have seen as much in the hurling intermediate, but seeing how easy Oulart won it would indicate that there is a big gulf there and unlikely to see 4 teams being able to step up. 12 teams in each is fine. And we need to stop the Intermediate A and just call it Junior like it actually is and how it is called in every other county.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 12/10/2022 09:47:04    2443677

No need for change in any of the championships. Our hurling championship is probably the most competitive hurling championship in the country these days.
Football was the most competitive championship in the country as well however I fear the Shels might be about to go on a run. But realisitically all of the other 11 teams would fancy their chances against each other on a given day.
No point in having Senior teams for the sake of it just to make up the numbers.
I think you rightly have to earn and maintain your senior status.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 12/10/2022 09:51:25    2443678

12 teams in Senior is fine, how Oulart railroaded in intermediate hurling shows the gap there while the 12 team grades creates stronger competitions the whole way down, I'm really looking forward to the 3rd tier/ Intermediate A final on Saturday between Adamstown and Cloughbawn, if Senior and Intermediate were 16 team grades i doubt I'd be looking forward to that equivalent final as much, the 2 games in the park on Saturday look like the games of the weekend on paper.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 12/10/2022 10:22:51    2443683