Banty Reinstalled In Monaghan

I was hoping that Monaghan would take a look.at their neighbours and pick a new fresh voice with new ideas and give M Manus and the team.a real chance of a big shot at going the extra mile.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 16/09/2021 17:01:09    2381143

Replying To border Gael:  "I was hoping that Monaghan would take a look.at their neighbours and pick a new fresh voice with new ideas and give M Manus and the team.a real chance of a big shot at going the extra mile."
You weren't on your own.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/09/2021 10:19:07    2381572

Fairly predictable he would be reappointed. Problem is by all accounts Buckley won't be back as he is being lined up to join kerry set up. So Banty has to go out for 3rd year running and find a new coach. Not ideal in terms of continuity. Thought side were improved last year from 2020 although were ultimately disappointing again in croke Park when it really mattered.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 22/09/2021 14:08:17    2382325

Replying To seanie08:  "Fairly predictable he would be reappointed. Problem is by all accounts Buckley won't be back as he is being lined up to join kerry set up. So Banty has to go out for 3rd year running and find a new coach. Not ideal in terms of continuity. Thought side were improved last year from 2020 although were ultimately disappointing again in croke Park when it really mattered."
I have no issue with his re-appointment but it is very dependent on what sort of backroom team he has. I think Donie Buckley was a great addition and he would make up for a number of Seamus's shortcomings.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 24/09/2021 15:40:10    2382767

Very few posts on this topic, perhaps because it's on the main forum rather than the County one, which doesn't exist anymore, for a while anyway.
I loves me County Forum

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 01/10/2021 09:31:46    2383908

Looks like Buckley is back with his ticket in Kerry falling through.. But, if he was willing to put his name on a Kerry ticket it shows the investment he has in the players and the county, regardless of how good a coach he may be, can players really "get over" the fact he was a decision away from walking from them??

I said on the old forum after the Tyrone game players would walk if Banty remains on, and I know for a fact when he comes looking them in November/December they won't return, I suppose that won't annoy Banty, he still gets his time in the sun and getting his ego stroked. The Co. board however has a lot to answer for, keeping a man who is unfit for the title and role as senior co manager is on them and them alone! Penny pinching and lack of professionalism will see another year wasted under this "man". A year that will be all accounts no doubt be manzy, Hughes, kelly, walshe, Wylie, malones last. They are doing these servants a serious disservice keeping Banty at the helm.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 02/10/2021 20:13:17    2384190

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Looks like Buckley is back with his ticket in Kerry falling through.. But, if he was willing to put his name on a Kerry ticket it shows the investment he has in the players and the county, regardless of how good a coach he may be, can players really "get over" the fact he was a decision away from walking from them??

I said on the old forum after the Tyrone game players would walk if Banty remains on, and I know for a fact when he comes looking them in November/December they won't return, I suppose that won't annoy Banty, he still gets his time in the sun and getting his ego stroked. The Co. board however has a lot to answer for, keeping a man who is unfit for the title and role as senior co manager is on them and them alone! Penny pinching and lack of professionalism will see another year wasted under this "man". A year that will be all accounts no doubt be manzy, Hughes, kelly, walshe, Wylie, malones last. They are doing these servants a serious disservice keeping Banty at the helm."
Not having the right manager can be a lonely place.

Very lonely!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 05/10/2021 17:49:06    2384528

Replying To sam2008:  "Not having the right manager can be a lonely place.

Very lonely!"
Can I ask what you mean?

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 05/10/2021 20:23:33    2384546

Am I right in saying u20s are being managed by McCaugue (ie Banty)?
So this squad who looked so impressive at minor level winning a ulster title aren't even being give the opportunity to prepare for the year ahead with a full coaching team in place to help them, just a thrown together outfit, box ticking again by the county board.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 11/10/2021 15:05:24    2385256

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Am I right in saying u20s are being managed by McCaugue (ie Banty)?
So this squad who looked so impressive at minor level winning a ulster title aren't even being give the opportunity to prepare for the year ahead with a full coaching team in place to help them, just a thrown together outfit, box ticking again by the county board."
Is Donie Buckley staying with ye?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2021 16:21:20    2385264

I think it's sad for the great servants of Monaghan football that our county committee are so inward thinking to give this man another year at the helm.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/10/2021 21:52:12    2385298

His star could be further diluted as he has taken over Corduff and now they are in relegation playoffs from Intermediate to junior if they don't win 2 of their 3 matches.

carcracker (Monaghan) - Posts: 186 - 12/10/2021 10:51:13    2385326

Replying To border Gael:  "I think it's sad for the great servants of Monaghan football that our county committee are so inward thinking to give this man another year at the helm."
ah Banty is a top notch Manager with a good backroom team. Plenty of lads around Emyvale and Tyholland that need to be drafted in

TheBong1 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 12/10/2021 14:11:19    2385371

If Proposal B passes at congress I feel we may have shot ourselves in the foot by defeating Galway in the relegation playoff. Aiming to finish third in Division Two every season would be the ideal scenario for any county under these proposals

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 14/10/2021 10:02:16    2385599

Replying To border Gael:  "I think it's sad for the great servants of Monaghan football that our county committee are so inward thinking to give this man another year at the helm."
I agree with you. Who would you get to replace him? Malachy o'rourke, mickey Harte, Joe kernan? Anybody in monaghan up for it?

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 597 - 14/10/2021 12:40:02    2385631

Replying To updafaughs:  "If Proposal B passes at congress I feel we may have shot ourselves in the foot by defeating Galway in the relegation playoff. Aiming to finish third in Division Two every season would be the ideal scenario for any county under these proposals"
If Proposal B passes at congress I feel we may have shot ourselves in the foot by defeating Galway in the relegation playoff. Aiming to finish third in Division Two every season would be the ideal scenario for any county under these proposals

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 14/10/2021 10:02:16 2385599

Totally disagree.
(1) If Galway had beaten us, no way would we have got to Ulsre final. That win re-invigourated the whole team, & nearly won us an Uster title!

(11) While fiishing in top 3 of D2, will get you through, better off in D1 with better quality games, which set you up better for championship. If your good enough to get through from D1, then your probably good enough to win it!.... e.g .. Tyrone!... & we nearly beat them!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 14/10/2021 18:49:23    2385684

Is it true that Banty brought his own dressing room with him to Blackhill for Corduff in last weeks championship game?
Then proceeded to lose the game?

Another year without a trophy for Seamus.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 14/10/2021 19:49:37    2385688

Although I am not a fan of Banty, I was hugely impressed with Monaghan this year. After all they only lost the Ulster final by a point to Tyrone and that game could have gone any way. However Banty does feel old school and agree with other posters that he needs a good backroom team. Possibly he deserves another year. Monaghan have a good squad and if they can improve would be serious contenders for the All-Ireland.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 16/10/2021 15:49:40    2385832

Replying To Bernardo:  "I agree with you. Who would you get to replace him? Malachy o'rourke, mickey Harte, Joe kernan? Anybody in monaghan up for it?"
Mickie Harte is there for the asking. He would be a fresh voice, new ideas and maybe just what they need to take them one step further. Going backwards asking a man who was there for so long before. Joe Kiernan would be good too.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 16/10/2021 18:48:23    2385854

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Although I am not a fan of Banty, I was hugely impressed with Monaghan this year. After all they only lost the Ulster final by a point to Tyrone and that game could have gone any way. However Banty does feel old school and agree with other posters that he needs a good backroom team. Possibly he deserves another year. Monaghan have a good squad and if they can improve would be serious contenders for the All-Ireland."
If your that keen yous can have him up there.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 16/10/2021 18:52:07    2385855