Deliberate Tearing Of An Opponents Jersey -Should Be A Red Card Offence

Would Lee Keegan ever finish a game if that was the case. Seems to be the only way he could get his hands on a Dublin jersey. Expect plenty of torn jerseys on Saturday. Could be some battle between McNamee and O'Shea

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/09/2021 09:18:08    2379237

Oh I say, steady on there.
We were discussing the roles of Dermo C & S Cavanagh in the introduction/development of this reprehensible behaviour in gaelic football - and Peter C was allegedly involved also.
I really don't see why poor Leroy should be dragged into it!
Lets stay on topic, for once.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 10/09/2021 09:59:45    2379250

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I have done as you said Dr. Breffni....still the same view:)"
Do you genuinely believe that a lad up for a game who grabs a handful of shirt as a lad breaks past him only does this to show contempt for the other lads jersey? That's some jump for a conclusion to make all by itself!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 10/09/2021 12:32:17    2379309

Replying To Viking66:  "Do you genuinely believe that a lad up for a game who grabs a handful of shirt as a lad breaks past him only does this to show contempt for the other lads jersey? That's some jump for a conclusion to make all by itself!"
You know full well I mean when lads square up to each other, grabbing and ripping the jersey off the other player like a tramp...that is what I mean..of course I dont mean in passage of play, and I never seen that happen in a passage of play..rough deliberate play off the ball...60 odd posts in and I still have to clarify what I meant ffs...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 10/09/2021 17:22:10    2379408

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "You know full well I mean when lads square up to each other, grabbing and ripping the jersey off the other player like a tramp...that is what I mean..of course I dont mean in passage of play, and I never seen that happen in a passage of play..rough deliberate play off the ball...60 odd posts in and I still have to clarify what I meant ffs..."
Lads were up to this squaring up since the 19th century and before no doubt. The jerseys just arent made the same anymore. And it's better to see them grabbing jerseys than pucking the heads off eachother which also has always gone on.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 10/09/2021 18:08:39    2379423

Replying To Viking66:  "Lads were up to this squaring up since the 19th century and before no doubt. The jerseys just arent made the same anymore. And it's better to see them grabbing jerseys than pucking the heads off eachother which also has always gone on."
grabbing is one thing, tearing it like a rag is blantant disrespect to the emblem of the other county..no time for it but as you say it goes on...Il move on..thanks for contributing..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 15/09/2021 14:31:58    2380910

Get a life lads.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 15/09/2021 15:02:08    2380915

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "grabbing is one thing, tearing it like a rag is blantant disrespect to the emblem of the other county..no time for it but as you say it goes on...Il move on..thanks for contributing.."
You got Matthew Ruane sent off, I hope you're proud of yourself :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 15/09/2021 15:19:50    2380926

Replying To Breffni40:  "You got Matthew Ruane sent off, I hope you're proud of yourself :)"
I seen that...he got himself sent off..I see alot of people saying "how Mayo could not win" but the flip side is fair dues to Tyrone...they were excellent on Saturday and very refreshing from the basket ball teams sent out by Jim Gavin for 6 years...it was a propper game of football..Tyrone excellent, Mayo missed chances but so did Tyrone except Mayos proved critical..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 16/09/2021 12:00:55    2381074

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "grabbing is one thing, tearing it like a rag is blantant disrespect to the emblem of the other county..no time for it but as you say it goes on...Il move on..thanks for contributing.."
You are around a long time Fairplayalways. So I'll assume you must have jerseys in the wardrobe from the 70s and 80s. Grab one out and compare them to the coloured clingfilm the lads are wearing these days and see for yourself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 17/09/2021 10:14:39    2381259

Replying To Viking66:  "You are around a long time Fairplayalways. So I'll assume you must have jerseys in the wardrobe from the 70s and 80s. Grab one out and compare them to the coloured clingfilm the lads are wearing these days and see for yourself."
chalk and cheese:) ..Mayo are jinxed surely...never looked like winning really on Saturday once Tyrone took the lead..yer own Wexford are after falling way back after making massive strides under Jason Ryan the time, another manager whom has fallen by the wayside, one never hears of him now at all..always liked Wexford in both codes..pity football is back so far after a few promising seasons and super team and indiviidual performances back in mid to late 2000's...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 17/09/2021 12:09:41    2381284

I do not like to see it either and some players mentioned are good at tearing jerseys and do not penalised. Now when ypu play the game its respect for your own jersey that counts and you should not be too concerned by the oppositions jersey.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/09/2021 22:07:39    2381402

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "It is I suppose if part of a Kerry jersey is somewhere in your county..not only Saturdays game I will add other counties too...its your opinion fine but dont be so insulting, stay away from the post if it offends you.Thanks."
Well in AI final I only saw one jersey pulled to shreds and that was Conn Kiloatrick's and he's a Tyrone man - what's your point ? Tyrone blamed for everything! Agree this is a stupid thread!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/09/2021 15:23:58    2381465

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "chalk and cheese:) ..Mayo are jinxed surely...never looked like winning really on Saturday once Tyrone took the lead..yer own Wexford are after falling way back after making massive strides under Jason Ryan the time, another manager whom has fallen by the wayside, one never hears of him now at all..always liked Wexford in both codes..pity football is back so far after a few promising seasons and super team and indiviidual performances back in mid to late 2000's..."
Jason is still coaching in Wexford. We had a great team in the late noughties, Forde, Barry, Lyng, Morris, and many more. Most were retired by the early teens. And many great Wexford footballers opted to play hurling intercounty. While it's possible to play both codes at club level in Wexford, where nearly all our clubs are genuine dual clubs from u7s upwards, sadly it's become impossible at intercounty level. We have a good squad of mostly youngish footballers at the minute maybe some of whom might turn out to be very good. We might not be getting to an AISF again in the next couple of years but I think we will get on a level footing with 3/4s of the other Leinster counties in the not too distant future. Hopefully!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 18/09/2021 21:12:52    2381527

How about wearing brightly coloured boots? Or a mullet and a 70s sweatband? Yellow card! Respect? You respect your opponents by training hard and preparing for them. During the game, your aim is to bury them. Then respect them again after the game. I think this thread is a troll fest. I hope it is.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/09/2021 22:01:56    2381531

Replying To essmac:  "How about wearing brightly coloured boots? Or a mullet and a 70s sweatband? Yellow card! Respect? You respect your opponents by training hard and preparing for them. During the game, your aim is to bury them. Then respect them again after the game. I think this thread is a troll fest. I hope it is."
your views...no need to ridicule anyone elses..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/09/2021 12:52:24    2382039

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "your views...no need to ridicule anyone elses.."
Ripped jerseys or brawls, what your view?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 04/10/2021 14:39:39    2384380

Say it's two small clubs. They're not gonna have any amount of jerseys unlike, say, the Dublin footballers. So say you have a squabble and a fella wants to throw a punch. He might decide instead to take satisfaction from tearing the guy's jersey in two down the middle, knowing it'll directly disadvantage him not just there and then but for the next game maybe. And it's almost like a slap in the face, albeit not literally. I dunno. I never played, so what do the rest of ye think?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 05/10/2021 11:00:46    2384465