Deliberate Tearing Of An Opponents Jersey -Should Be A Red Card Offence

A good chuck will tear a Jersey as its cut in a v at the neckline. Even though its well finished off the cut is already there so it's easy to tear.. I have seen it happen in under 14 s. A player falling down will grab something and if its the Jersey something will have to give.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 30/08/2021 22:47:14    2376615

Replying To DelganyUpper:  "Catch a grip of yourself !"
as above, you may not agree, no condescending please and thanks..its a genuine post...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 31/08/2021 11:41:21    2376696

Replying To border Gael:  "A good chuck will tear a Jersey as its cut in a v at the neckline. Even though its well finished off the cut is already there so it's easy to tear.. I have seen it happen in under 14 s. A player falling down will grab something and if its the Jersey something will have to give."
what I am referring to is lads collaring one another (assault to be blantant about it) and hanging on for a minute or two...its not the accciendtal tearing, of course that happens I am on about where a scuffle starts and some players have the shirt ripped off them, alot of posters playing it down and its always going on, its happening a lot lately from what I see...the Fitzgerald/Ciaran Duff in the Offaly Dublin game in 1983 Leinster final was so rare it was talked about for years after, now its every other weekend in football in particular, a fellah is collared and held like a dog almost for a mintue or two and the shirt ripped off him...will we just accept that now as part of the game and get on with it..if it happened in the street it would be assault..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 31/08/2021 11:45:29    2376697

Not a red card, but maybe we should bring in a blue/green/pink or some kind of patterned card and the player has to leave the field until they themselves have stitched the jersey back together on the sideline? Just spitballing ideas here.

This has been a blight on the game since a Tyrone player did it a couple of days ago and has to be stamped out before, god forbid, other teams start to do it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/08/2021 13:04:40    2376742

Replying To Breffni40:  "Not a red card, but maybe we should bring in a blue/green/pink or some kind of patterned card and the player has to leave the field until they themselves have stitched the jersey back together on the sideline? Just spitballing ideas here.

This has been a blight on the game since a Tyrone player did it a couple of days ago and has to be stamped out before, god forbid, other teams start to do it."
mmm...I remark some counties (alot of North/North East etc.) more than others seem not to like this topic at all I notice, posters will know I row in behind Ulster football when other provinces try to make little of them etc...I will continue to do so regardless...jaysus some are taking this very serious...ripping a jersey off a fellah in a scuffle on the ground is acceptable apparently (no tearing it in a tackle or tug in posession etc. is not the same thing and some are trying to pass it off as "it can easily happen" etc..what I am repeating is doing so in a scuffle, its thuggish and disrespectful...if people think its not why not go over and pull down the flag pole with a county flag on it and tear up the flag when a scuffle starts..see how that would be viewed upon..is tearing the shirt off a player it violent behaviour, I think so, some posters here think not, wouldnt like to meet them on a night out after a few pints...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 31/08/2021 15:08:32    2376786

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "mmm...I remark some counties (alot of North/North East etc.) more than others seem not to like this topic at all I notice, posters will know I row in behind Ulster football when other provinces try to make little of them etc...I will continue to do so regardless...jaysus some are taking this very serious...ripping a jersey off a fellah in a scuffle on the ground is acceptable apparently (no tearing it in a tackle or tug in posession etc. is not the same thing and some are trying to pass it off as "it can easily happen" etc..what I am repeating is doing so in a scuffle, its thuggish and disrespectful...if people think its not why not go over and pull down the flag pole with a county flag on it and tear up the flag when a scuffle starts..see how that would be viewed upon..is tearing the shirt off a player it violent behaviour, I think so, some posters here think not, wouldnt like to meet them on a night out after a few pints..."
A red card, for ripping a piece of cloth, that can be instantly replaced? It's a ludicrous suggestion.

If I ever meet you on a night out I'll not rip you shirt off, I'll line you up for a fair blindside shoulder. I presume that would be acceptable to you.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/08/2021 15:59:21    2376805

Replying To Breffni40:  "A red card, for ripping a piece of cloth, that can be instantly replaced? It's a ludicrous suggestion.

If I ever meet you on a night out I'll not rip you shirt off, I'll line you up for a fair blindside shoulder. I presume that would be acceptable to you."
the piece of cloth you refer to is (in most counties anyway) a priviledged garmant to be given the opportunity to wear, I compare it to the county flag again..is it any wonder society is as it is with such disregard for people and property etc...such attitudes...I hope you go on that night out and meet someone like minded, you might change your tune...location location is a big factor I notice in the "nothing wrong with it" replies...no regards for county jersey of opponent is low...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 31/08/2021 17:04:23    2376826

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "the piece of cloth you refer to is (in most counties anyway) a priviledged garmant to be given the opportunity to wear, I compare it to the county flag again..is it any wonder society is as it is with such disregard for people and property etc...such attitudes...I hope you go on that night out and meet someone like minded, you might change your tune...location location is a big factor I notice in the "nothing wrong with it" replies...no regards for county jersey of opponent is low..."
Society lol. SOMEBODY THINK OF THE CHILDREN

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/08/2021 17:56:37    2376845

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Its a thuggish behaviour creeping into the game, lets call it what it is...only a certain type of charachter will drop to that level...yes there are other issues, not necessarily more important...thats your view.."
Or maybe the jerseys are of poorer quality than they were in the past and rip more easily than they did in the past. There are much more important issues to deal with.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6030 - 31/08/2021 18:28:50    2376854

Replying To Breffni40:  "Not a red card, but maybe we should bring in a blue/green/pink or some kind of patterned card and the player has to leave the field until they themselves have stitched the jersey back together on the sideline? Just spitballing ideas here.

This has been a blight on the game since a Tyrone player did it a couple of days ago and has to be stamped out before, god forbid, other teams start to do it."
Stephen O'Neill's jerseys used to be regularly in ribbons, 15 years ago. Drive on

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2021 20:26:19    2376874

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "what I am referring to is lads collaring one another (assault to be blantant about it) and hanging on for a minute or two...its not the accciendtal tearing, of course that happens I am on about where a scuffle starts and some players have the shirt ripped off them, alot of posters playing it down and its always going on, its happening a lot lately from what I see...the Fitzgerald/Ciaran Duff in the Offaly Dublin game in 1983 Leinster final was so rare it was talked about for years after, now its every other weekend in football in particular, a fellah is collared and held like a dog almost for a mintue or two and the shirt ripped off him...will we just accept that now as part of the game and get on with it..if it happened in the street it would be assault.."
You are an interesting lad and post interesting posts usually but this thread really is nonsense. In 1983 it was quite an achievement to rip a new jersey. I still have some from that time and they would still be hard to rip. The modern s###e we are getting ripped off for anually wouldnt survive a tug of war between our 3 and 5 year olds. Lads getting broken fingers and wrists and hands back in the day would surely have preferred to have had a ripped jersey!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11683 - 31/08/2021 20:27:45    2376875

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "looking at the trend in recent games where lads jerseys are ripped off them almost, looks dispicable to be honest and says alot about the anyone that would resort to such a thing, of course yes, "sledging" may occur leading to it, but no more than our country flag, a county jersey, for any county should be treated with the utmost of respect by everyone, own team and opposition included. Where a player says someting to kick off a scrap, very hard to solve that unless players and ref etc. are put n mic..which of course will be next to be impossible I know, but regardless of what a fellah says to you, going and ripping the jersey off of him a thuggish thing to do and doesnt say a whole lot about anyone that goes down that road..where something does occur and two lads go at it, send both off maybe, but this thing of grabbing on and ripping jerseys off lads is a disgrace, yes some cases are genuinely triggered no doubt, but there needs be a way of addressing it,,or its worse it will get..."
Better than diggin lads in the face or something. Leave it alone I say. Not that big of a deal.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2021 21:14:15    2376883

A known fact some players and teams used to cut down the v neck slightly on their jersey so it would rip more easily in attempt to get the opposition in trouble.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 31/08/2021 22:43:52    2376902

Well it should definitely be a black card,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 31/08/2021 23:00:46    2376904

Replying To Breffni40:  "A red card, for ripping a piece of cloth, that can be instantly replaced? It's a ludicrous suggestion.

If I ever meet you on a night out I'll not rip you shirt off, I'll line you up for a fair blindside shoulder. I presume that would be acceptable to you."
Ah here of course it should be in a game. its not on. you are deliberately hampering a player from playing as officials will make player go get new jersey/throwing them off their game.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 01/09/2021 00:00:56    2376912

Absolutely needs red cards and 6 month suspension

The cost of replacing ripped jerseys for junior B clubs is astronomical - something needs to be done

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 01/09/2021 03:03:46    2376921

Replying To KillingFields:  "Ah here of course it should be in a game. its not on. you are deliberately hampering a player from playing as officials will make player go get new jersey/throwing them off their game."
Dont think any player who is up for the battle during a game will care less in that moment what number if any is on the back if his shirt , replacement or otherwise!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11683 - 01/09/2021 09:23:05    2376936

I'd give a red to the player who got his jersey torn. It shows disrespect to his county to allow it to happen.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 01/09/2021 11:09:30    2376960

Replying To Viking66:  "You are an interesting lad and post interesting posts usually but this thread really is nonsense. In 1983 it was quite an achievement to rip a new jersey. I still have some from that time and they would still be hard to rip. The modern s###e we are getting ripped off for anually wouldnt survive a tug of war between our 3 and 5 year olds. Lads getting broken fingers and wrists and hands back in the day would surely have preferred to have had a ripped jersey!"
no need to call the thread nonesense..if you dont agree with the point of the thread fine...dont comment or say such...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/09/2021 14:14:41    2377011

Replying To Viking66:  "Dont think any player who is up for the battle during a game will care less in that moment what number if any is on the back if his shirt , replacement or otherwise!!!"
disgrace to tear the jersey off of anyone...says more about the agressor than the player it happens to..why not give them thorny sticks and stones maybe and let them degenerate maybe altogether...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/09/2021 14:16:09    2377012