Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Kerry were also shocking and if they had taken their points instead of trying to work goal chances they would have been out the gate. And also the open goal they absolutely butchered. I do enjoy the narrative on here. Dublin were shocking but Tyrone were brilliant not that Kerry were also poor."
I said Mayo were shocking in the first half they didn't have a wonderful performance. This is what I was referring to in my initial comment. I never mentioned Dublin being poor, or Kerry.. get off your high horse. I also didn't say Tyrone were brilliant , far from it, destroyed on kick outs, inside ff line were well handled especially McCurry in first half.

Do you think it was anything to do with Tyrones matchups - Myler on Paudie Clifford/ Hampsey on O'Shea etc.. that Kerry were poor.

However, Mayo don't posses a Clifford, take Clifford out of yesterdays game then Kerry were nowhere near it. Tyrone finished with a stronger team.

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 30/08/2021 12:06:04    2376341

Replying To conman1282:  "Good maybe someone will have the balls to send off keegan for his antics year on year"
Still upset he had a bit of rough and tumble with Cavanagh?

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 30/08/2021 12:06:16    2376342

Have to say that I think this is Mayo's best chance ever, and indeed it will be the first time since 1951 that they will start a final as bookies favourites. Yes, they were outsiders in every final they have played in since, but performed better than expected in recent years v the Dubs. Mayo, I believe have better players in most positions and going by the amount of ball Kerry won from kick outs you would have to believe they will win at least 50%. While Kerry were vigorous in the tackle on occasion and turned over plenty of ball they gave Tyrone runners much more time on the ball than Mayo will. Unlike the Dublin epic game this could turn out to be dull from a neutral observers point of view, with lots of cards dished out. Mayo are close to or equal to the Dubs when it comes to picking the lock of tight defences. I think the level of hunger they will bring this time will be un-paralleled and that they will do whatever it takes. Tyrone will bring a new dimension to their game for the final for sure, what it will be is anyone's guess, but regardless I feel and hope our green and red rivals prevail.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1287 - 30/08/2021 12:19:17    2376348

Replying To jonjon:  "Still upset he had a bit of rough and tumble with Cavanagh?"
not just cavanagh, seems to be centrally involvde when opposition star men get sent off. Funny that, Ask Connolly as well and lets not forget the money he owes Statsports for the broken GPS

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 30/08/2021 12:25:12    2376350

Replying To CartaDubh:  "The likes of Cork have no chance of winning or for several next year, need a new management team. Have good underage teams, but have had really good underage teams the last 10 years and done nothing. Kildare also are nowhere near challenging, Meath are improving but a bit away. Armagh probably need a better defence and some man markers, or need to get a better defensive structure in place to challenge. Derry have a lot of good players and could cause a shock in Ulster in the coming years. Both Donegal and Monaghan will take something from Tyrone getting to the All Ireland and winning as they are never far away from Tyrone. Galway just seem to be lacking something it's hard to pinpoint the likes of Conroy, Comer and Walsh are serious and the likes of Cooke and Tierney are also very good. If they can get the likes of Cillian McDaid, Micheál and John Daly, Adrian Varley and Ian Burke back they will add depth back into their squad.
I think both Tyrone and Mayo play a fairly similar type of game, and are strong at the running game, very good backs and man markers, also have some neat and lively forwards. Both overall I think Tyrone might shade it, Mayo I think for some reason would have preferred Kerry as they would have been able to do something similar to them that Tyrone done."
Yeah some of the teams are a good bit off All Ireland level yet but surely the likes of Kildare and Meath in Leinster will take some hope from this year? Dublin obviously aren't at the same level so if Kildare and Meath really upped it another few notches who is to say that either might finally dethrone the Dubs? Meath definitely have the pedigree and history to draw on.

Derry were impressive this year too and the experienced they gained will stand to them. I'd be very wary of them when the Ulster draw for 2022 is made.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9844 - 30/08/2021 12:31:02    2376351

Replying To conman1282:  "I said Mayo were shocking in the first half they didn't have a wonderful performance. This is what I was referring to in my initial comment. I never mentioned Dublin being poor, or Kerry.. get off your high horse. I also didn't say Tyrone were brilliant , far from it, destroyed on kick outs, inside ff line were well handled especially McCurry in first half.

Do you think it was anything to do with Tyrones matchups - Myler on Paudie Clifford/ Hampsey on O'Shea etc.. that Kerry were poor.

However, Mayo don't posses a Clifford, take Clifford out of yesterdays game then Kerry were nowhere near it. Tyrone finished with a stronger team."
I had to read the first part back, fair enough. Calm down. Mayo were able to shut down Dublin key men as well. You mention Tyrone getting match ups right, Mayo do the same more often than not against big teams. Mayo never had a Clifford, it's always a collective effort and their strength is always from 1-8 but we are also the best team at shutting down opposition kickouts. The narrative here from most people is that Tyrone were brilliant and beat Kerry and that Dublin were poor and Mayo took advantage.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8456 - 30/08/2021 12:35:37    2376356

Replying To daytona11:  "A certain amount of the Mayo squad love the spotlight and the media frenzy that comes pre match and post match losses. They thrive on it and being poster boys for hard luck stories. A lot of the previous Mayo teams who have thrived on the same failures and media hype have now retied. The youngsters in the team now don't seem to be buying into that as of yet. A lot to do with James Horan I would think and his back room team. I'd imagine the hype is starting now though an as I have said all of the talk will be about Mayo and their previous losses and when they will get over the line. We will hear all about the previous heartache. Former players will be rolled out and all the jazz.

They have also beaten a Dublin side which were going for seven in a row. They look like a different animal this year but selection on the day will be crucial. I'm not really sure what Aidan O'Shea would give you against Tyrone.

That's why I think Tyrone will be coming in under the radar. There won't be huge talk about them and members of their squad won't have the same baggage coming into the game."
You can't beat the All-Ireland favorites and the most successful county in the history of the game and "come in under the radar".

Surely the two semi final results have taught people by now to pay absolutely no heed to the bookies, Tyrone are now genuine favorites to beat Mayo and rightly so.

Anyone who needs to use bookies odds to tell them why one team will win frankly know nothing about Gaelic football.

Tyrone will be at full strength, Mayo will not. Mayo will also struggle to get scores playing against such a defensive set up and will be wide open to the Tyrone counter attacking football so Horan has a hell of a lot more to work on than what Dooher and Logan have.

I honestly believe Mayo would have had a better chance of beating Kerry in a final than beating Tyrone.

As for the talk of Aidan O'Shea starting or not, of course he will start.

I think one of the biggest problems for O'Shea is that some people expect too much from him and are unable to recognize what he contributes to the set up generally and will always focus on his off days or fail to recognize it's not all rosy when you have two or three players hanging out of you.

He doesn't have the pace or a eye for a score of a Fenton, never had, he is not a full forward either but what he has is height and physicality, the ability to win primary possession and set up scores and that's why he will start 100%.

Horan has shown he is not afraid to reel him in if he's having an off day though.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 30/08/2021 12:40:44    2376358

So after all that, it is Mayo and Tyrone in the All Ireland final. Refreshing to see a new All Ireland pairing even if both have been in the final in recent years. Looking about both semi-finals from a neutral point of view, I think Tyrone have to be favourites ahead of the final as they beat the team that had performed best since inter-county action resumed. I know people will say they played nobody in Munster but even in Division one of the league, they were the best team. Of course, there is a lot of romance around Mayo and most neutrals will want to see Mayo win at last after all the near misses in recent years but Mayo were poor in the first half versus Dublin and only began to play in the second half. Something similar happened against Galway. Unless Mayo can put in a solid seventy minutes performance in the final then I think Tyrone will be victorious.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2114 - 30/08/2021 12:42:25    2376360

Replying To daytona11:  "A certain amount of the Mayo squad love the spotlight and the media frenzy that comes pre match and post match losses. They thrive on it and being poster boys for hard luck stories. A lot of the previous Mayo teams who have thrived on the same failures and media hype have now retied. The youngsters in the team now don't seem to be buying into that as of yet. A lot to do with James Horan I would think and his back room team. I'd imagine the hype is starting now though an as I have said all of the talk will be about Mayo and their previous losses and when they will get over the line. We will hear all about the previous heartache. Former players will be rolled out and all the jazz.

They have also beaten a Dublin side which were going for seven in a row. They look like a different animal this year but selection on the day will be crucial. I'm not really sure what Aidan O'Shea would give you against Tyrone.

That's why I think Tyrone will be coming in under the radar. There won't be huge talk about them and members of their squad won't have the same baggage coming into the game."
This is laughable stuff. Who loves the spotlight? Name me some players who have had a lot of interviews on paper or on radio? They had their All Ireland press conference 3 days after the Dublin game and sent Stephen Coen, nobody else. As for the comments on the retired players? Laughable again. The Mayo supporters build up the team and the team have no control over radio shows previewing the match with the likes of Brady or whoever else they roll out.

Mayo were beaten by Dublin in 15, 16 and 17 because they didn't have enough power off the bench. It wasn't anything to do with a lack of focus because they loved the limelight. Look at the starting teams from 16 and 17. How many of them have you heard speak on radio or tv? Or how many have done multiple paper interviews? O Shea maybe the only one? Andy Moran now that he has retired? You clearly just don't like Mayo.

O Shea is the only high profile player and he actually hasn't done that much media work. People like yourself don't like him and love to see him fail. I was delighted he was taken off the last day and if he is left out so be it but i trust Horan and if he starts I expect him to play well.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8456 - 30/08/2021 12:48:15    2376365

Replying To conman1282:  "I said Mayo were shocking in the first half they didn't have a wonderful performance. This is what I was referring to in my initial comment. I never mentioned Dublin being poor, or Kerry.. get off your high horse. I also didn't say Tyrone were brilliant , far from it, destroyed on kick outs, inside ff line were well handled especially McCurry in first half.

However, Mayo don't posses a Clifford, take Clifford out of yesterdays game then Kerry were nowhere near it. Tyrone finished with a stronger team."
Monaghan didn't have a Clifford either but Tyrone only beat them by a point.

Kerry were totally unprepared for that game and Tyrone took advantage of that as any team would and that's why Peter Keane will be gone.

They never laid a hand on Tyrone and deserved to be beaten on the day.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 30/08/2021 12:53:36    2376371

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah some of the teams are a good bit off All Ireland level yet but surely the likes of Kildare and Meath in Leinster will take some hope from this year? Dublin obviously aren't at the same level so if Kildare and Meath really upped it another few notches who is to say that either might finally dethrone the Dubs? Meath definitely have the pedigree and history to draw on.

Derry were impressive this year too and the experienced they gained will stand to them. I'd be very wary of them when the Ulster draw for 2022 is made."
I think Meath will, but next year might be a couple of years too soon, we getting there, the minor success will no doubt build confidence amongst the seniors and a couple of players will be added to senior panel, frayne if eligible will undoubtedly a addition, another yeah under Costello and hickeys belt will bring them on leaps and bounds, keoghan and menton are pushing on and that is a worry going forward. But I think that if Kildare are to pounce they need to go out and have a cut at dubs. Jack O'Connor needs to be pulled up on his tactics of keeping score tight v Dublin. At least Meath had a cut. And we were ones who have had horrendous defeats at the hands of them. I'm excited about next year. First things first though is a minefield in division 2. We need to get promoted. That has to be goal number one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2021 12:55:33    2376372

Load of bull. What hype? I'm here in Castlebar and seen two lads putting up a big flag…should I tell them to stop?
Hype was something that horned years ago but we are well used to being in finals these days. "A certain amount" - can you name the players your talking about?

Actually biggest hype o ever remember was Kildare in 1998 and Galway came along and spoiled the party for ye ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11661 - 30/08/2021 12:58:31    2376376

I think the final will be much different than either of the semis.

People talk about Tyrone's poor kickout strategy. I think the main aim was to get the ball as far away from goal to starve Kerry of quick ball close to goal. Kerry may have won the ball, but how often were they then turned over higher up the pitch.

I think people saying Mayo will have more motivation is debatable. I believe the Tyrone panel has more players who have lost out in numerous semi finals and one final. Mayo may be in the shadow of 'the curse', but this Tyrone team are very much in the shadow of the 03/05/08 team. They hadn't beat any of the other non-Ulster big teams since 2008 until Saturday. Kerry was a turning point for this team who I think has been given more confidence and trust under Dooher and Logan. They were really busting guts and throwing their bodies on the line which was reminiscent of Dooher himself. I think all the talk of Mayo being favourites to win and it being their best chance to finally do it. If there's a county/team that loves to spoil the party, it's Tyrone.

I think Tyrone will have a lot of options in how to set up and play. I suspect they may try and play some more direct balls into McShane and Donnelly if they are allowed the space. Canavan may be brought in too, to pick those passes. Tyrone have very versatile players and many who are excellent at nullifying the influence of players. I think there's a lot more to come from Tyrone attacking wise.

I haven't seen that much of Mayo this year, so I can't say too much, but I suspect it could be a great final. Really looking forward to it.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 30/08/2021 12:59:12    2376377

Replying To TheFlaker:  "How are Tyrone under the radar after winning Ulster and beating Kerry in a semi final? Laughable statement."
Thick as thieves

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 30/08/2021 13:16:27    2376388

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Monaghan didn't have a Clifford either but Tyrone only beat them by a point.

Kerry were totally unprepared for that game and Tyrone took advantage of that as any team would and that's why Peter Keane will be gone.

They never laid a hand on Tyrone and deserved to be beaten on the day."
lol they have the second best forward in the country and he was man marked well.. if you dont know who that is let me know.. Also tyrone had 4 starters missing and their manager with covid

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 30/08/2021 13:17:38    2376390

No real history between the teams, no real baggage - Mayo, like all of us, would have been expecting to face a rampant Kerry in the final, and will be OK about facing Tyrone instead. Too close to call for me. Obviously, most neutrals will be shouting for Mayo

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/08/2021 13:22:50    2376391

Replying To conman1282:  "Keep at it... Dooher is going to have your comments up in the wall in Garvaghy... Absolute tripe.."
After the display shown over the weekend Dooher has more than enough to worry about than whats being said on a GAA forum....

BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 30/08/2021 13:33:39    2376396

Wouldn't agree with this. Kerry scored 5 points in extra time without Clifford. That would be an average of 17.5 points in a full game. Not too bad.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 30/08/2021 13:49:07    2376405

Replying To daytona11:  "Hard one to call. If Mayo leave O'Shea on the line they have the upper hand. They're not bringing as much baggage to this game as previous years and the younger lads who have taken over seem a lot more reliable under pressure. I always feel the goalie has a clanger in him though.

Tyrone will relish going in as underdogs. All of the pre match talk will be about Mayo and the 70 years nonsense. This will suit Tyrone coming in under the radar. The management and psychologists will have the players believing that the whole country is for Mayo and against them. They will have a real going to war attitude and psyche about them.

I wouldn't begrudge either success on the day.

Going to go for Tyrone by 2."
Bloody hell if they have all those chips on the shoulders that you have listed out they wont be able to run at all.

As for hype, who would begrudge anyone for looking forward to an All-Ireland with huge excitement, should people go around with long faces on them or tie themselves to a cross.

Your comments re. O'Shea and under the radar suggest you're more of the Kildare horsey set type.

"They will have a real going to war attitude and psyche about them" I wouldn't expect anything less from both camps.

As the Irish should know by now a "real going to war attitude" doesn't guarantee you anything, if it did we wouldn't have one team coming across a border jingling shillings in their pockets.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 30/08/2021 13:51:37    2376406

Replying To TheFlaker:  "O Shea will start, and Horan will get a reaction from him, otherwise he will be sitting on the sideline early. Mayo are favourites, but just about as the bookies will tell you and you will have as many people backing Tyrone as you will have backing Mayo. But Tyrone are not under the radar, how can anyone say that?"
Mayo are the first team to finally beat Dublin since August 2014, that 7 years!! Mayo kept Dublin to 0-14 points, I think Dublin only scored 4 points from half time, Mayo also had no goals conceded. This is seriously impressive stuff by Mayo, they were nervous in the first half, but once they settled, they were unbelievable.

Looking at the Kerry v Tyrone match on Saturday, I don't think either of them could have beat this years Dublin team with how they both performed last Saturday, so to me there is no question of who I rate as the team to beat in this All Ireland final, its has to be Mayo as strong favorites now. Their direct running at Dublin caused major problems, the players coming off the bench were unreal, I just feel the Force is finally with Mayo.

I thought Tyrone were better than Kerry, I was shocked at how they managed to stay in that game despite being without a player for 20 mins and losing so many of their own long-kickouts. It was far from a polished performance, but they showed real character and grit and have definitely finally stepped up. However I'm just not sure they can beat this Mayo team, if Mayo dominate the Tyrone long kick-outs like Kerry did, I suspect Mayo will put Tyrone to the sword.

I'm backing Mayo for SAM

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1397 - 30/08/2021 13:59:43    2376411