The topic, Mayo v Tyrone All Ireland football final. And Surprise surprise, Royal tries to make it about Meath....
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 02/09/2021 16:56:12 2377313 Link 11 |
That's true also. Hopefully always liked Wexford football.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2021 19:07:47 2377350 Link 0 |
Galway 9/13 [-4] Cork 7/16 [-9] Mayo 3/14 [-11] Tyrone 3/3 [0]"]Tyrone lost senior All Ireland football Finals in 1986 and in 2018."]Tyrone also of course lost the 1995 Final so you are correct. Interesting statistics. Mayo have a terrible record in All Ireland Finals. Galway hurlers have lost 20 out of 25 All Ireland senior finals."]I don't think comparing Galway's dismal record in hurling to their record in football is valid. In Connacht, the footballers had stiff competition from both Mayo and Roscommon for years whilst the hurlers had none. Kerry complained this year that the 5 week wait hampered their preparation for the Tyrone game but the Galway hurlers, for years, had to wait 8 weeks or more with no championship game as preparation for an All Ireland Semi-final. The system in the hurling was totally unfair to both Antrim and Galway."]That would be a good enough excuse for losing the semi final, not the final achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 584 - 02/09/2021 19:18:23 2377357 Link 0 |
Football is still a very popular game down this way. Most of the senior hurling panel are also among their clubs top footballers.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 02/09/2021 21:03:31 2377398 Link 1 |
Galway 9/13 [-4] Cork 7/16 [-9] Mayo 3/14 [-11] Tyrone 3/3 [0]"]Tyrone lost senior All Ireland football Finals in 1986 and in 2018."]They lost in 1995 against Dublin, 1-10, 0-12"]you have to be in them to lose them its time u focused more on cheering your own county on to get up to the level mayo are at contesting finals and semi finals every year very easy not to lose a final when u ar not there"]We know a fair bit about contesting All Irelands! Good luck in the final! baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 03/09/2021 08:39:33 2377450 Link 0 |
Rumour has it Mayo used the Meath template to bring down Dublin. Did ever ye hear the like? Ye couldn't make it up. He's living in dream land.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2355 - 03/09/2021 11:41:46 2377499 Link 13 |
We have loads of haters, especially one small county in Connacht who think they are our rivals, they're not, but they love to hate us…it's quite funny actually. Galway are the real rivals the real old firm. Some of them will be bricking it that we could possibly win. Some won't mind. Theirs a respect somewhere there between Mayo and Galway. Point is, their'll be a lot of neutrals roaring on the Red Hand men. We as much as ye couldn't gove a hoot who likes us or not. Enjoy ye're build up and savour it all, theirs 30 other Counties who'd bite our hands off to be in this position. May the best team win. Flyingintraining (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 03/09/2021 11:56:14 2377504 Link 3 |
Stalker alert. Again
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2021 12:17:54 2377518 Link 2 |
That's great to hear.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2021 12:18:16 2377519 Link 0 |
And football is still probably popular in Meath as well, even though it's yonks since they won anything at senior level. It's well over a decade now since their last Leinster and well over two decades since their last AI success. Would Meath even be in the top 10 in Ireland at the moment?
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2322 - 03/09/2021 12:34:31 2377529 Link 7 |
Most galway people I know want tyrone to win but I'll be rooting for mayo,, just this once lol
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 03/09/2021 12:42:49 2377531 Link 0 |
What makes you think it was you, this is about Mayo and Tyrone, so maybe we'll keep it about them. Anyways well done your minors.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2355 - 03/09/2021 12:42:59 2377532 Link 11 |
Mayo would be a popular team up this neck of the woods and would have our support every year when Tyrone are eliminated but not this year obviously. But don't worry you will have the support of our "noisy neighbours". tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 408 - 03/09/2021 13:31:48 2377546 Link 0 |
. What, are the marchers big Mayo fans? That is a surprise. timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 03/09/2021 13:35:54 2377549 Link 1 |
Indeed, there are people all over the country who love it when we lose and indeed several of them skulk around this site. Que sera sera, better to be hated than pitied or patronised. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2021 13:50:00 2377554 Link 1 |
Have no idea. Btw what county are you from Or are you a alter ego ?
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2021 14:16:49 2377565 Link 1 |
Says a lot about Tyrone that the "noisy neighbours" could be any one of ourselves, Derry, Armagh or Monaghan xD In all seriousness but I'd say yous have more support in Ulster than you might think, though I know the siege "us vs the world" mentality works a treat in Tyrone. I'm leaning towards Mayo but to be honest I think either of you would be a great champion, there is a lot of nonsense written and said about both counties and it'd be great for either side to shut up the eejits. JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/09/2021 14:22:43 2377566 Link 0 |
Only a bit of crack "JoeSoap", it was meant for the in-laws or should that be "out- laws "in Monaghan.
tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 408 - 03/09/2021 14:54:31 2377589 Link 1 |
This was not towards Mayo but more to install belief that Tyrone can beat Mayo - even in their back yard when needed - this would not of happened before - especially in a critical match.
Limerick (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 03/09/2021 16:25:25 2377615 Link 0 |
Seriously lad, a league match. Absolutely irrelevant.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8457 - 03/09/2021 17:32:15 2377624 Link 3 |