Hurling Managerial Merry Go Round

Replying To katser:  "Oh please take SON...we will throw in a bag of rotten tomatoes as a bit of luck!!"
Why did the Galway County Board engage SON anyway. What did any outside manager ever achieve with Galway. The four All Irelands they won in modern times were all managed by Galway men. Such successful managers as Babs and Loughnane failed there before so why blame SON who had no track record at this level. Anyway, how can a county with such a pool of players fail to Waterford in eleven out of twelve meetings.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 25/08/2021 16:46:30    2374722

I'm looking forward to all the new managerial appointments in next few weeks..I don't know what I'd do in Liam Cahill position..he wanted the job but then when sheedy said he was interested tipp county board said thanks very much and left Cahill go..tipp is a rebuilding job as I expect a few more to go and due to success at under 21/20 a lot of those players would get a chance with Cahill.. Maher is an interesting one,had some great success at under age but never got a chance to go further..the big one for me is does Cody stay on?if he goes a lot of names linked to Wexford/Waterford will want kk job..will Mattie Kenny stay in Dublin?i could see davy there due to no problem with funding whatever he wanted..interesting few weeks ahead..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 25/08/2021 17:16:48    2374733

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Rumour mill in Wexford is going gang busters. Every sort of name and face being mentioned.
I was out in the town today and apparently somebody thought they saw Henry Shefflin driving through the town recently (he might also have seen a moving statue earlier in the day mind), never mind the fact that he works with a finance company and probably had some business in the place, he was definitely down for the job!!!
I have no preference but I do not want Derek McGrath.
JJ Doyle has a vital role as underage coaching manager or something which to me is what he is best at.
I don't know who is best placed to take over, I think winning Leinster will be as good as it gets for whoever it is, but once they bring back a bit of excitement to watching them hurl, I will be happy.
Since 2019, Wexford have been terrible to watch and unfortunately, we missed our chance to win an All-Ireland that year."
I liked Derek and he did a reasonable job at the time but have lost faith in him recently. He says a lot but saying nothing and quiet frankly his analysis of games lately have been poor. Everyone has an opinion but if you are going to be a manager against the teams out there, you need to asses them better. What reading of the game led him to think Cork would beat Limerick. The smart ones picked Limerick and pointed out what Cork would have to do to beat them. No I would pass on him in Waterford also because he is too close to the last team he had. If going to climb the ladder again he needs to prove himself at minor or U20. If Cahill leaves there are going to be more changes required and someone with the liathroidi to do that required.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 25/08/2021 17:21:03    2374735

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm looking forward to all the new managerial appointments in next few weeks..I don't know what I'd do in Liam Cahill position..he wanted the job but then when sheedy said he was interested tipp county board said thanks very much and left Cahill go..tipp is a rebuilding job as I expect a few more to go and due to success at under 21/20 a lot of those players would get a chance with Cahill.. Maher is an interesting one,had some great success at under age but never got a chance to go further..the big one for me is does Cody stay on?if he goes a lot of names linked to Wexford/Waterford will want kk job..will Mattie Kenny stay in Dublin?i could see davy there due to no problem with funding whatever he wanted..interesting few weeks ahead.."
The Davy one is interesting. Realistically who'd be interested, most of the top teams would have a few options in front of them. Dublin could well be the only viable option as you pointed out the funding would love there. He'd definitly raise the profile of Dublin hurling. That said I think all the razamartaze/siege mentality associated with Davy Fitz teams would wear off after a while and it could be to the detriment of Dublin Hurling in the long run.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 25/08/2021 17:43:39    2374741

Replying To Bon:  "The Davy one is interesting. Realistically who'd be interested, most of the top teams would have a few options in front of them. Dublin could well be the only viable option as you pointed out the funding would love there. He'd definitly raise the profile of Dublin hurling. That said I think all the razamartaze/siege mentality associated with Davy Fitz teams would wear off after a while and it could be to the detriment of Dublin Hurling in the long run."
Davy reminds me of a manager in another sport. Brings instant improvement and is technical good. Somehow or other I think the students get tired of the message or shut off to how it is delivered. The leopard does not change his spot and his waffle after games must be the same within the player group. Looks like he does not like to change his approach once established which can be a mistake. Sounds a lot of negatives but I still see him as a good manager and he has the C.V. to prove it. It's a pity he would not pivot. Get him in and get him out quickly.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 25/08/2021 19:15:55    2374761

Replying To Bon:  "The Davy one is interesting. Realistically who'd be interested, most of the top teams would have a few options in front of them. Dublin could well be the only viable option as you pointed out the funding would love there. He'd definitly raise the profile of Dublin hurling. That said I think all the razamartaze/siege mentality associated with Davy Fitz teams would wear off after a while and it could be to the detriment of Dublin Hurling in the long run."
I think this is what happened in Wexford. People tired of the antics, the constant moaning, the anonymous lad in the stand from Clare, this sort of stuff.
I want a hurling man and a man not afraid to fight his corner, but not someone with a chip on his shoulder with everyone.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 26/08/2021 09:46:55    2374855

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why did the Galway County Board engage SON anyway. What did any outside manager ever achieve with Galway. The four All Irelands they won in modern times were all managed by Galway men. Such successful managers as Babs and Loughnane failed there before so why blame SON who had no track record at this level. Anyway, how can a county with such a pool of players fail to Waterford in eleven out of twelve meetings."
They simply couldn't get anyone. There was no interest in the job and I'm not saying that to be smart. Even now is there any Galway man seriously interested and I don't think they would or should take Mattie kenny.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 10:48:39    2374878

Replying To Canuck:  "Davy reminds me of a manager in another sport. Brings instant improvement and is technical good. Somehow or other I think the students get tired of the message or shut off to how it is delivered. The leopard does not change his spot and his waffle after games must be the same within the player group. Looks like he does not like to change his approach once established which can be a mistake. Sounds a lot of negatives but I still see him as a good manager and he has the C.V. to prove it. It's a pity he would not pivot. Get him in and get him out quickly."
I think he reminds most people of that manager Canuck. Same man still gets big jobs but the hurling pool is smaller. I think his best bet is Dublin with Galway being an outside chance but neither roles are available right now.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 11:51:05    2374903

The Irish Examiner is now reporting that Liam Cahill is staying with Waterford. Good for the Deise? Certainly opens up the managerial contest in Tipp. Might any of the outgoing management team (someone like Darragh Egan or Tommy Dunne) be interested in stepping up? Or Brendan Cummins?

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 26/08/2021 12:11:00    2374908

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I think this is what happened in Wexford. People tired of the antics, the constant moaning, the anonymous lad in the stand from Clare, this sort of stuff.
I want a hurling man and a man not afraid to fight his corner, but not someone with a chip on his shoulder with everyone."
Agree 100%. There's only so much of that carry on you can listen to. He's his own worst enemy which is a shame.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 26/08/2021 12:28:48    2374919

Wasn't expecting that news at all that Cahill would stay on. Leaves Tipp in a very tricky place. Money take I'd assume.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 12:36:59    2374925

Replying To football first:  "The Irish Examiner is now reporting that Liam Cahill is staying with Waterford. Good for the Deise? Certainly opens up the managerial contest in Tipp. Might any of the outgoing management team (someone like Darragh Egan or Tommy Dunne) be interested in stepping up? Or Brendan Cummins?"
Heard Cahill staying in Waterford. Fair play to him to try see the job through. What management experience/success has Cummins got?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12043 - 26/08/2021 12:45:28    2374930

Replying To tiobraid:  "Wasn't expecting that news at all that Cahill would stay on. Leaves Tipp in a very tricky place. Money take I'd assume."
Doubt it. Tipp would be far better off financially than Waterford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12043 - 26/08/2021 12:46:17    2374931

Replying To Viking66:  "Heard Cahill staying in Waterford. Fair play to him to try see the job through. What management experience/success has Cummins got?"
Was a "coach" with Kerry and Laois on and off for the last 6/7 years. But was more likely to be on The Sunday Game than at actual matches

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 26/08/2021 13:23:00    2374950

Replying To oneoff:  "Was a "coach" with Kerry and Laois on and off for the last 6/7 years. But was more likely to be on The Sunday Game than at actual matches"
Exactly oneoff. If I was a Tipp man hed be low on the list of lads I'd want to see take over. Apart from Cahill and Darren Gleeson who is staying on in Antrim Maher would be my next choice.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12043 - 26/08/2021 13:54:18    2374967

Is Cahill after getting his own back on tipp county board?after all he was more or less told 3 years ago thanks but no thanks..now it makes it interesting as the man getting job now is not the first choice..the Cummins situation I can't fathom,he has no record at minor or under20/21 level..I know he has coached Laois and Kildare,this is surely a step to far..I've said about Galway job is there some one down there to take it?lynskey,Hanley,go back to donohue or leave son,huge decisions..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 26/08/2021 14:00:04    2374969

Cummins isn't anywhere near any kind of shortlist - and yes he has put the Sunday Game first all of time - i hope for his sake hes a better coach than commentator. Gleeson, Egan or Dunne are not suitable candidates either. There's been strong rumours of an outside manager the last few days which suggests Cahill had his mind made up before today or yesterday. Donoghue is supposedly in the running.
There are certainly not a list of names jumping out from inside the county. I'd imagine Maher now is the clear front runner and will be offered the job. Remains to be seen what he can do either.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 14:15:38    2374972

Fair play to Cahill. He's going to try and finish what he started. Davy Fitz for Tipp...!

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 26/08/2021 14:16:08    2374973

Replying To Viking66:  "Doubt it. Tipp would be far better off financially than Waterford."
Its well known that outside managers get well looked after. "inside" managers would never get the same. Not a chance. You think John Kiely or Brian Cody would be getting what Davy was getting? Not even 10% of it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 14:17:31    2374975

Replying To bloodyban:  "Fair play to Cahill. He's going to try and finish what he started. Davy Fitz for Tipp...!"
I'll do a John Mullane on the quay in Waterford on the horse if that happens!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 26/08/2021 14:20:39    2374977