Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals.

Replying To KillingFields:  "Joke. Really needs people to cop on. I was at womens interpro in sportsground and the stewards were regularly telling people to put masks back up if they had them down for any length of time...

its that kind of thing that NPHET will notice and say as reasons to not open things up if theyre not policed right."
I wonder did NPHET notice the game yesterday where a team full of players who had the killer virus just 10 days ago out fought and out lasted a team who didnt.
Although I don't think GAA is St Tonys thing.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 29/08/2021 10:55:34    2375903

Replying To Galway9801:  "I wonder did NPHET notice the game yesterday where a team full of players who had the killer virus just 10 days ago out fought and out lasted a team who didnt.
Although I don't think GAA is St Tonys thing."
Your medical advice is that getting Covid makes you stronger ?

Hope you're not working in the Health service.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 29/08/2021 10:59:38    2375904

Replying To KillingFields:  "You ruined whatever little argument you had left when you brought up a road accident and compared it to an infectious disease...."
Galway poster
The FTs of the GAA forums.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 29/08/2021 11:01:38    2375905

Replying To carlovia:  "Your medical advice is that getting Covid makes you stronger ?

Hope you're not working in the Health service."
Lots of people in the age group of the Tyrone lads have gotten the virus and come through it well. Indeed, only knew they had it when they were tested. Same with players in other counties including Dublin.

Tyrone were right to look for postponement on grounds that isolation impacted on their training, but the lads were not "laid low."

Lots of people in health service will tell you the same. You don't need to be tested to discover you have any other sort of viral infection, including the flu. And if Tyrone had been affected by a bad flu strain, there is no way they'd have had the legs for yesterday.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 29/08/2021 11:15:30    2375917

Replying To carlovia:  "Your medical advice is that getting Covid makes you stronger ?

No but I was dating a woman in the middle of last year who does work in the health service and she said it wasn't as bad as was being made out (they had actually cut her and many others hours at the time).

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 29/08/2021 11:23:55    2375923

Replying To Galway9801:  "I wonder did NPHET notice the game yesterday where a team full of players who had the killer virus just 10 days ago out fought and out lasted a team who didnt.
Although I don't think GAA is St Tonys thing."
Had a lot of the team covid ? Some had alright but you have to remember that if you were a close contact and were vaccinated you had to still isolate as was the law in the UK before 17 August.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 29/08/2021 17:45:02    2376084

Replying To ecad123:  "Had a lot of the team covid ? Some had alright but you have to remember that if you were a close contact and were vaccinated you had to still isolate as was the law in the UK before 17 August."
It was the isolation and the effect it had on training that was the issue. Not that any of the players became very ill. Which goes to the nub of the whole thing really.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 29/08/2021 18:01:06    2376089

Replying To ecad123:  "Had a lot of the team covid ? Some had alright but you have to remember that if you were a close contact and were vaccinated you had to still isolate as was the law in the UK before 17 August."
Media pressure won out. Same as media pressure both social and mainstream has dictated public opinion on this so called "pandemic" since its inception,
We are all grown up adults, please all take a step back and analyse what we have been subjected to in the name of science. Most if not all has been a charade, an obfuscation of statistics to confuse, some downright lies and a failure of leadership.
NEPHET a humiliation (now apparently going to be pensioned off in October). Dr. Tony a disaster (but the cervical Cancer women already knew this). Our country will be broke, our health system archaic, our children scarred and terrified......our elders frightened out of their wits and we persist in digging a hole that has left our people crestfallen, confused and frightened!!!!
In the name of God or of Science we need to cop on. The BS we have been served up has placed us in an appalling place with no end in sight.
Please give us our freedom back. Our freedom whether a single person or 82,400 to watch Mayo v Tyrone in Croke Park. Good luck to anybody who feels uncomfortable with this as you have a simple remedy....stay locked up in your home for two weeks post the final. Why should the living well be locked up rather than the "paranoid well"?
Open up Croke Park to all Mayo and Tyrone supporters to want to "risk" being there on the day, It is their right and privilege,
My grand uncle died in the Liospóil Ambush, my children's great grand uncle died at Béal na mBláth. They were men of courage and leadership and would not have succumbed to the current media Covid paranoia,
Pity we haven't such leadership now.
There should be 82,400 Maigh Eo & Tír Eoghain supporters in Croke Park next week if we have any sense of bravery or manhood or womanhood.
Time to build "A Nation Once Again". Mayo and Tyrone people deserve nothing less!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 31/08/2021 01:30:55    2376641

Replying To dingle2:  "Media pressure won out. Same as media pressure both social and mainstream has dictated public opinion on this so called "pandemic" since its inception,
We are all grown up adults, please all take a step back and analyse what we have been subjected to in the name of science. Most if not all has been a charade, an obfuscation of statistics to confuse, some downright lies and a failure of leadership.
NEPHET a humiliation (now apparently going to be pensioned off in October). Dr. Tony a disaster (but the cervical Cancer women already knew this). Our country will be broke, our health system archaic, our children scarred and terrified......our elders frightened out of their wits and we persist in digging a hole that has left our people crestfallen, confused and frightened!!!!
In the name of God or of Science we need to cop on. The BS we have been served up has placed us in an appalling place with no end in sight.
Please give us our freedom back. Our freedom whether a single person or 82,400 to watch Mayo v Tyrone in Croke Park. Good luck to anybody who feels uncomfortable with this as you have a simple remedy....stay locked up in your home for two weeks post the final. Why should the living well be locked up rather than the "paranoid well"?
Open up Croke Park to all Mayo and Tyrone supporters to want to "risk" being there on the day, It is their right and privilege,
My grand uncle died in the Liospóil Ambush, my children's great grand uncle died at Béal na mBláth. They were men of courage and leadership and would not have succumbed to the current media Covid paranoia,
There should be 82,400 Maigh Eo & Tír Eoghain supporters in Croke Park next week if we have any sense of bravery or manhood or womanhood.
Time to build "A Nation Once Again". Mayo and Tyrone people deserve nothing less!"
it isnt their right or privilege.
you are so ignorant of the greater good its rather sad and pathetic and nothing to do with lack of bravery or man hood that we wont

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 31/08/2021 16:30:49    2376818

Replying To dingle2:  "Media pressure won out. Same as media pressure both social and mainstream has dictated public opinion on this so called "pandemic" since its inception,
Time to build "A Nation Once Again". Mayo and Tyrone people deserve nothing less!"
As Miley would have said, "Well Holy God." Can I have a pint of what you're drinking please.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 31/08/2021 17:34:46    2376836

Well said, I'll say this as a compliment, if Kerry had more like yourself you might be in for final now.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 31/08/2021 17:39:12    2376839

Open her up for the final, we're going that way very soon anyway. For the sake of Mayo fans, open up, this could be a party for the ages (if they win obviously)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/08/2021 22:14:43    2376890

Replying To KillingFields:  "it isnt their right or privilege.
you are so ignorant of the greater good its rather sad and pathetic and nothing to do with lack of bravery or man hood that we wont"
Please stay locked up in lockdown with your similar minded friends for the foreseeable and give us healthy people a chance at living while we can. Carpe Diem. We all only live once and we all only die once so we must seize the moment while we can,
Tír Eoghain by five!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 31/08/2021 22:26:04    2376893

The whole covid pandemic has been turned into a political, right/left issue every where. People who don't give a sh-t about anyone's rights are all of a sudden pioneering personal rights and screaming foul play. I believe there has been misinformation on both sides. Some can be excused from the lack of knowledge about the virus at the start. Social media the biggest contributor to all sorts of nonsense. There is one given fact people have died from it. Others have got extremely sick. Health workers have put their lives (and died) at risk dealing with sick people. Someone is going to tell me that it is their right to put my family at risk treating them when they go down with the virus. The next thing we will be asked to accept as a civil right is to shoot a gun across a highway. Both have the same effect. Killing people.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 31/08/2021 22:37:02    2376896

From personal experience of knowing first hand of a few situations at this stage getting covid provides you with far better protection afterwards than any of the vaccines.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 01/09/2021 09:20:02    2376933

That's a great post dingle2

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 01/09/2021 09:20:35    2376934

Congrats to Leona Maguire on her fantastic performance in the Sloheim Cup. 70,000 spectators there today and not a mask in sight!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 06/09/2021 23:21:45    2378398

Replying To dingle2:  "Please stay locked up in lockdown with your similar minded friends for the foreseeable and give us healthy people a chance at living while we can. Carpe Diem. We all only live once and we all only die once so we must seize the moment while we can,
Tír Eoghain by five!!"
Don't say I didn't warn ye 'bout Tyrone!!! Great county great people. I hope Beragh Red Knights celebrating tonight as they hosted us in Féile and what welcoming and generous hosts they were. Although they had an animosity for "the Carrick Boys" I bet both Carrickmore and Beragh are celebrating in unison tonight. Brian Dooher a wonderful GAA ambassador. As much as he broke my heart as a Kerry supporter he was a gentleman to the two Féile teams I was involved with in Tyrone (both girls teams from Clare) and stood for photos and autographs willingly after arriving at our camp unannounced. Comhgairdeas Brian and I hope no cow calving in Tír Eoghain tonight!!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 11/09/2021 21:20:28    2379778

Replying To Gleebo:  "They have also had a significantly higher number of deaths over the duration of the pandemic.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1104709/coronavirus-deaths-worldwide-per-million-inhabitants/"
Not anymore!!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 12/09/2021 22:48:14    2380104

Replying To Gleebo:  "They have also had a significantly higher number of deaths over the duration of the pandemic.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1104709/coronavirus-deaths-worldwide-per-million-inhabitants/"
Not anymore!!! Do stats on 32 county island and we now well behind Sweden on population incidence and supposed deaths.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 12/09/2021 22:49:49    2380105