Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals.

Very worrying situation still. Vaccinated people have a reduced risk not complete protection , as it was stated from the outset. Therefore mingling and not social distancing would offset the benefit of the vaccine.

Having 40k in Croke park was pushing it. Covid does not distinguish between an all ireland final and a run of the mill match.

Serious situation coming up with football as it is not all from the south of the country. Tyrone are coming from a blackspot for infections as situation is very bad in the occupied 6 counties. It is becoming very risky going to croke park.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 23/08/2021 17:36:19    2374190

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "I have a number of close friends, relatives, work colleagues that have picked up the delta variant in the last month. Doctors, Nurses, Teachers, Footballers, Barmen, students etc. Most have been vaccinated. Some have been floored and even hospitalised.

I'm aghast at some of the commenters on this piece and how small their bubble must be to not be gravely concerned about developments lately. I think it's buck crazy that 24,000 people are attending the semi final this weekend, nevermind a full house in a few weeks time when the schools are back!"
Regardless if it's 24,000 or 40,000 there's thousands of people congregating side by side outside Croke Park anyway before going in to the stadium so they may as well either open the place up completely or don't bother at all.

GAA cashing in selling "pods", absolute waste of time. When in the stadium lots of people are just moving to better seats anyway that are free and taking their masks off.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 23/08/2021 18:19:07    2374199

I live in Drumcondra, probably leave for weekend, a nightmare yesterday.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 23/08/2021 18:22:20    2374201

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some shower of comedians on this thread. I hope no one close to any of you get struck down or out with covid.
Numerous countries have tightened up again on covid and then you have irish people saying "well they are allowed into premier league stadiums and we are a laughing stock"
Go find me one english person or other nation laughing at Ireland. Get a grip. It's fools like ye that are the reason why cases spiral every time you're given an inch... Far too many people are too self centred to give a sh1t about the old people, health care workers, or anyone else who doesnt want to get sick. It's just a game of football or hurling for gods sake. Go support your local underage and adult teams if you even know where your local club pitch is."
Talking to me?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2021 20:27:20    2374229

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I think people need to stop using these terms "with" or "of" Covid.

The best term to use in my opinion is "because" of Covid because there are many people who have died, who never contracted the virus but would be alive today had this horrible virus not emerged from China.

But we cant blame China for Ireland having an under funded and neglected health service.

The real death toll "because" of the virus may never be known.

In a war zone if you die from a bullet or die because of starvation or by taking your own life, it's immaterial because you have died "because" of the war.

If a country doesn't have the hospital capacity to handle large numbers of admissions who require an ICU bed then what are they supposed to do?

Allow people to die in the street or try to control the number of admissions ?

It's easy for me to see why Ireland is an outlier, it's common sense, an under funded and neglected health service."
No way should we stop using of or with, if anything it should be the opposite and 100% transparent.
This will stop the very unnecessary scaring the sh*te out of people. I mean 0.05 %? Cmon.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2021 20:37:44    2374233

Replying To arock:  "I live in Drumcondra, probably leave for weekend, a nightmare yesterday."
Jaysus you not used of the match crowds yet?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2021 20:46:52    2374235

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some shower of comedians on this thread. I hope no one close to any of you get struck down or out with covid.
Numerous countries have tightened up again on covid and then you have irish people saying "well they are allowed into premier league stadiums and we are a laughing stock"
Go find me one english person or other nation laughing at Ireland. Get a grip. It's fools like ye that are the reason why cases spiral every time you're given an inch... Far too many people are too self centred to give a sh1t about the old people, health care workers, or anyone else who doesnt want to get sick. It's just a game of football or hurling for gods sake. Go support your local underage and adult teams if you even know where your local club pitch is."
I hope no one close to me gets covid either but I can think of a whole bunch of things I'd fear them getting more than covid, things that get nowhere near the attention , and the media wouldnt have to play fast and loose with statistics to generate the fear either.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 23/08/2021 21:27:22    2374242

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I think people need to stop using these terms "with" or "of" Covid.

The best term to use in my opinion is "because" of Covid because there are many people who have died, who never contracted the virus but would be alive today had this horrible virus not emerged from China.

But we cant blame China for Ireland having an under funded and neglected health service.

The real death toll "because" of the virus may never be known.

In a war zone if you die from a bullet or die because of starvation or by taking your own life, it's immaterial because you have died "because" of the war.

If a country doesn't have the hospital capacity to handle large numbers of admissions who require an ICU bed then what are they supposed to do?

Allow people to die in the street or try to control the number of admissions ?

It's easy for me to see why Ireland is an outlier, it's common sense, an under funded and neglected health service."
That's true, the real death toll will never be known , we'll never know the real extent to which the figures have been inflated.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 23/08/2021 21:47:21    2374248

Replying To Galway9801:  "I hope no one close to me gets covid either but I can think of a whole bunch of things I'd fear them getting more than covid, things that get nowhere near the attention , and the media wouldnt have to play fast and loose with statistics to generate the fear either."
If governments all over the world spent as much on cancer research and other ailments we'd be better off. It's as if they don't want a cure for cancer because of the money racket on drugs.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 23/08/2021 21:54:19    2374250

Replying To realdub:  "Talking to me?"
"Comedians" is a plural word so unless you share your username I'm probably not talking directly to you.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2021 22:59:16    2374267

Replying To Saynothing:  "If governments all over the world spent as much on cancer research and other ailments we'd be better off. It's as if they don't want a cure for cancer because of the money racket on drugs."
I don't know. There are probably suits that don't want it but your talking about 1000s of scientists who work for these drug companies who are constantly improving and coming up with new treatments and medications….imagine the company or person that comes up with a "cure for cancer"….that's the prize. The reality is though there is cure and unlikely to ever be one due to the complex nature and number of different types of cancers.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/08/2021 23:03:49    2374269

Replying To realdub:  "No way should we stop using of or with, if anything it should be the opposite and 100% transparent.
This will stop the very unnecessary scaring the sh*te out of people. I mean 0.05 %? Cmon."
"I mean 0.05 %"

Tell us all what you mean by 0.05 %.

Was the young mother Samantha Willis who was buried in Derry yesterday part of your 0.05 %.

"Mouners at the funeral service for new mum, Samantha Willis, who died from Covid-19 after giving birth, were told of the "deep sadness" within the community and how "death and life were all interwoven".

During the service, at St Columb's Church in Londonderry, her two-week old daughter Eviegrace was also baptised.

The 35-year-old died in ICU at Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry on Friday after a 16-day battle with Covid-19.

Tragically, Samantha never got to hold her newborn baby girl"

And you and your cohorts use people like this young mother as part of your perverse argument, disgusting.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 24/08/2021 11:55:16    2374337

Replying To AfricanGael:  ""I mean 0.05 %"

Was the young mother Samantha Willis who was buried in Derry yesterday part of your 0.05 %.

"Mouners at the funeral service for new mum, Samantha Willis, who died from Covid-19 after giving birth, were told of the "deep sadness" within the community and how "death and life were all interwoven".

During the service, at St Columb's Church in Londonderry, her two-week old daughter Eviegrace was also baptised.

The 35-year-old died in ICU at Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry on Friday after a 16-day battle with Covid-19.

And you and your cohorts use people like this young mother as part of your perverse argument, disgusting."
Meant to say 0.05% of the worlds population. All deaths are sad, don't forget the poor lad from Waterford who died last week just after receiving the vax days earlier.
Never even mentioned in the news articles. Now that's disgusting!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/08/2021 13:11:16    2374353

Replying To realdub:  "

And you and your cohorts use people like this young mother as part of your perverse argument, disgusting."
Meant to say 0.05% of the worlds population. All deaths are sad, don't forget the poor lad from Waterford who died last week just after receiving the vax days earlier.
Never even mentioned in the news articles. Now that's disgusting!"
"Meant to say 0.05% of the worlds population"

Expand realdub, tell us about 0.05% of the worlds population.

As of now it's just a stand alone comment from you and means nothing.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 24/08/2021 14:02:03    2374366

But there are healthy people who die tragically from lots of different things,for example what about that young family who died on the motorway recently?
Should I be terrified of roads now?
I'm unaware of that ladies medical history but if she died from covid without any underlying condition then she is extremely extremely unlucky,and with due respect to her it doesn't change my mind one iota, the fact that so many headlines are being dedicated to it shows how rare an instance it is. Just too bad that the circumstances surrounding the death of young footballer from waterford hasn't been given the same level of attention.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 24/08/2021 14:29:47    2374385

Replying To Galway9801:  "But there are healthy people who die tragically from lots of different things,for example what about that young family who died on the motorway recently?
Should I be terrified of roads now?
I'm unaware of that ladies medical history but if she died from covid without any underlying condition then she is extremely extremely unlucky,and with due respect to her it doesn't change my mind one iota, the fact that so many headlines are being dedicated to it shows how rare an instance it is. Just too bad that the circumstances surrounding the death of young footballer from waterford hasn't been given the same level of attention."
If you are unable to tell the difference between a car accident and something which is contagious, then it is impossible to deal with you.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 24/08/2021 15:09:18    2374412

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To realdub:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  ""I mean 0.05 %"

Never even mentioned in the news articles. Now that's disgusting!"
"Meant to say 0.05% of the worlds population"

Expand realdub, tell us about 0.05% of the worlds population.

As of now it's just a stand alone comment from you and means nothing."]Ok world population = 7.9bn
'Covid' worldwide deaths = 4.43m

Basic maths.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/08/2021 15:28:41    2374422

Replying To AfricanGael:  "If you are unable to tell the difference between a car accident and something which is contagious, then it is impossible to deal with you."
Obviously I know the difference for heavens sake,, I'm talking about numbers,, in terms of a young fit, (as far as I know she was in good health anyway) person dying,
And whole road deaths are not contagious, they are preventable, anyone living within a city should be prevented from owning a car, and anyone who needs one should only be allowed to use it to go to work or do the shopping. Would lead to a big reduction in road fatalities.
Think of the lives wed save...

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 24/08/2021 15:52:56    2374429

Media showing still images of Jones road before and after the hurling final…of course the streets will be jammed u less they implant a system where only x amount are allowed out at a time. Ridiculous over reaction.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 24/08/2021 15:56:26    2374430

Replying To yew_tree:  "Media showing still images of Jones road before and after the hurling final…of course the streets will be jammed u less they implant a system where only x amount are allowed out at a time. Ridiculous over reaction."
Talking about streets being packed, if Mayo win Final, won't be easy keeping supporters of field. Ok all along while Dublin we're winning, but Mayo , long over due win. Who could blame them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 24/08/2021 17:02:44    2374451