Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals.

Replying To dingle2:  "Israel a highpoint in vaccine failure. Smugly they pre arranged to receive Pfizer vaccines before any other country. Started vaccinating whole population from December 27th 2020. Whooo Hooo! Now 9 months later they have the highest case load that they have ever experienced. Now giving 3rd & "booster" dose to whole population. Still they try to say that original vaccine worked but anyone with any splink of cop on can see they didn't. Check out Johns Hopkins website for figures. Biden's America also in state of chassis.....the magic bullets didn't work. Sweden only country to reject all lockdowns and masks etc. Their "Covid death rate" now lowest in Europe. See ECDC website for figures. Hon de Rebels tomorrow and de Kingdom against Tyrone.

Tony needs to go as does the Communist WHO boss. Awful repressive minister in Ethopia and no medical back-round but a political Chinese pawn. Please check this charlatan out. No medical degree and only published papers are on localised malaria outbreaks in water supplies in Ethopia. Yet we have succumbed to his utterances. As a Tigray he is now clinging on for his life. Imagine that one of his first acts was to confer a WHO Humanitarian Award to the despot Mugaby in Zimbabwbe (for his service to children's health I think). This had to be overturned due to international abhorrence but the intent and mentality remains.

So again I say 82.500 for Mayo v Kerry/Tyrone.

Hopefully it be Mayo v Kerry.

Ciarraí Abú.

Dr. P."
Put the pint down,put a few songs on and enjoy night kid.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 21/08/2021 22:23:38    2373736

Replying To Jinxie:  "Your some scientist i can tell ya that....

Explain how there can be 40k next week, then down to 24 for no reason, then back up to 40.....

Apply your science to that....

And none of your waffling nonsense about Israel or the UK, just explain 24 in between 2 40k games..."
When did I claim to be scientist ? Put the toys back in the pram . I imagine it was because that is what was agreed, 24 for semi and 40 for finals. Don't think anyone is saying it's safe! Even you can understand that the more you increase the crowd the more dangerous it is and the risk of infection increases. So having 2 40 thousand attendances is less riskier that 3.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 21/08/2021 22:35:55    2373738

Full stadium for sure for the finals, Kerry semi final with Tyrone doesn't really matter, with covid so bad in Tyrone and the fact Kerry fans rarely travel in big numbers for semi finals the 24k crowd should be fine.
There'll be some scramble for tickets for the football final of it's only 40k allowed in.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 21/08/2021 22:49:55    2373741

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It don't make sense."
Do they think Covid knows the difference between a final and a semi final , seems so.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 21/08/2021 23:58:18    2373759

Replying To cityman73:  "Put the pint down,put a few songs on and enjoy night kid."
Would do if NEPHET allowed. Singing banned cause singing could possibly spread Covid don't you realise? Even in schools singing banned!!! Wake up and smell the roses.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 22/08/2021 00:07:57    2373760

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Full stadium for sure for the finals, Kerry semi final with Tyrone doesn't really matter, with covid so bad in Tyrone and the fact Kerry fans rarely travel in big numbers for semi finals the 24k crowd should be fine.
There'll be some scramble for tickets for the football final of it's only 40k allowed in."
Can we take some of the tickets for the hurling,short here in limerick.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 22/08/2021 01:28:11    2373767

In fairness social distancing and mask wearing should be made permanent,, even now, right now, as you're reading this, right now, another more deadly virus than covid (and the extreme deadliness of the hells devil's nightmare virus is not in question) could be spreading as we speak without our knowledge,,right now,, better to be safe than sorry.
If it saves even one life.....

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 22/08/2021 11:45:13    2373797

Replying To Saynothing:  "Do they think Covid knows the difference between a final and a semi final , seems so."
That must be it :-) Covid probably told nephet that it wont show up for the finals if they keep the attendance at 40k :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2021 12:45:48    2373810

Looking at that game today, it as awful to see the empty seats, it almost looked perfect. And then flicking to Sky for the soccer, only because it was so one-sided, to look at the full stadiums over there only made it worse :(

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/08/2021 21:32:30    2373989

Replying To realdub:  "Looking at that game today, it as awful to see the empty seats, it almost looked perfect. And then flicking to Sky for the soccer, only because it was so one-sided, to look at the full stadiums over there only made it worse :("
It's ridiculous. Declan Hannon was not allowed to take the cup down the hogan steps after lifting it. An official the stopped Limerick doing a lap of honour with the cup.

They were instead allowed in for a group photo and the cup taken away. This is all covid restriction PR bull. Players hugging and kissing each other but not allowed pass the cup around…

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 22/08/2021 22:30:23    2374008

Shur NEPHET scientifically know that Mr. Covid has (a) No interest in attending Premier League games, (b) Not too much interested in hurling either unless more than 40,000 in attendance (which might spark his interest), (c) Mr. Covid gung ho to go to Gaelic Football games if a single sinner over 24,000 attends.
A very cute hoor this Covid buyo.

All based on the most up to date NEPHET "science".

Mo léir.

82,500 for Football Final please.

Ciarraí Abú.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 23/08/2021 01:02:45    2374032

Replying To arock:  "We faithfully mimick everything UK is doing, enough is enough, they a basket case, an outlier, steer well clear of them. That said look at Sweden, whose laughing now."
What you fail to take account of is culture and geography. Compared to the island of Ireland, Sweden has only a slightly larger population but more than 500% more land mass. Around half of all Swedish households are made up of one person. They have outdoor nursery schools and class sizes around 40% smaller than ours. Lots of Swedes have summer houses in the North to escape to; and they're more reserved in public to begin with. They don't need to form a large scrum in order to socialise (Google: "how the Swedes survive without small talk"), and they don't have a culture of covert admiration for rule-breaking. Not comparing like with like.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/08/2021 09:27:03    2374046

Replying To dingle2:  "All Premier League grounds packed to capacity this weekend. GAA should demand full capacity for Hurling and Football All Ireland Finals. No medical or scientific reason why this should not happen (unless the NEPHET gurus state that the now humanised Covid virus prefers GAA games rather than Premier League matches - ergo reduced attendances).

82,500 for Croker must be allowed and the GAA should insist on same.

Ciarraí Abú."
Unless there are 80,000 people from Kerry keen to travel to this game, not sure where the demand would be. V few Tyrone fans have much interest in travelling to a massacre; and most Kerry people I know prefer to go to a game that they perceive will be competitive.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/08/2021 09:33:17    2374049

St Vincent's hospital is admitting a 'worrying' amount of double-jabbed people who need treatment for covid. Wtf?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2021 14:02:16    2374151

Replying To essmac:  "What you fail to take account of is culture and geography. Compared to the island of Ireland, Sweden has only a slightly larger population but more than 500% more land mass. Around half of all Swedish households are made up of one person. They have outdoor nursery schools and class sizes around 40% smaller than ours. Lots of Swedes have summer houses in the North to escape to; and they're more reserved in public to begin with. They don't need to form a large scrum in order to socialise (Google: "how the Swedes survive without small talk"), and they don't have a culture of covert admiration for rule-breaking. Not comparing like with like."
So should we follow everything the UK does? No, we shouldn't, as I said UK is a basket case in every sense of the word. Sweden is uniquely different to most countries 40% of Swedes live alone and are happy to do so but most live in an urban setting, so size doesn't come into. But that is not really the point, every society is different. But If there is such a thing as a "vaccine bonus" I am seeing precious little of it. And after witnessing Gardai closing pubs in Dorset strete and Drumcondra I do not see a full house being allowed in Croke Park this year. I rely on tourists and have suffered hugely over the last 18 months (who hasn't) but we really cannot help ourselves we have blown this before and we are doing it again.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 23/08/2021 14:35:14    2374161

Replying To realdub:  "St Vincent's hospital is admitting a 'worrying' amount of double-jabbed people who need treatment for covid. Wtf?"
It must be mainly people who have been vaccinated many months ago and the protection is waning.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 23/08/2021 14:48:31    2374163

Replying To AfricanGael:  "It must be mainly people who have been vaccinated many months ago and the protection is waning."
Some vaccine huh? The ED consultant said its very worrying, so thats not good. The corona virus is not like your smallpox etc, which are stable viruses, so basically the vairant will keeping shifting so you will need a booster every few months?
The pandemic has to date wiped out 0.05% of the world's population, and most of that figure would be with covid as opposed to 'of' it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2021 15:30:59    2374167

Some shower of comedians on this thread. I hope no one close to any of you get struck down or out with covid.
Numerous countries have tightened up again on covid and then you have irish people saying "well they are allowed into premier league stadiums and we are a laughing stock"
Go find me one english person or other nation laughing at Ireland. Get a grip. It's fools like ye that are the reason why cases spiral every time you're given an inch... Far too many people are too self centred to give a sh1t about the old people, health care workers, or anyone else who doesnt want to get sick. It's just a game of football or hurling for gods sake. Go support your local underage and adult teams if you even know where your local club pitch is.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2021 16:04:08    2374178

Replying To realdub:  "Some vaccine huh? The ED consultant said its very worrying, so thats not good. The corona virus is not like your smallpox etc, which are stable viruses, so basically the vairant will keeping shifting so you will need a booster every few months?
The pandemic has to date wiped out 0.05% of the world's population, and most of that figure would be with covid as opposed to 'of' it."
I think people need to stop using these terms "with" or "of" Covid.

The best term to use in my opinion is "because" of Covid because there are many people who have died, who never contracted the virus but would be alive today had this horrible virus not emerged from China.

But we cant blame China for Ireland having an under funded and neglected health service.

The real death toll "because" of the virus may never be known.

In a war zone if you die from a bullet or die because of starvation or by taking your own life, it's immaterial because you have died "because" of the war.

If a country doesn't have the hospital capacity to handle large numbers of admissions who require an ICU bed then what are they supposed to do?

Allow people to die in the street or try to control the number of admissions ?

It's easy for me to see why Ireland is an outlier, it's common sense, an under funded and neglected health service.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 23/08/2021 17:08:19    2374187

I have a number of close friends, relatives, work colleagues that have picked up the delta variant in the last month. Doctors, Nurses, Teachers, Footballers, Barmen, students etc. Most have been vaccinated. Some have been floored and even hospitalised.

I'm aghast at some of the commenters on this piece and how small their bubble must be to not be gravely concerned about developments lately. I think it's buck crazy that 24,000 people are attending the semi final this weekend, nevermind a full house in a few weeks time when the schools are back!

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 379 - 23/08/2021 17:32:19    2374189