Dubs V Mayo

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "the Dubs are going to silence a lot of doubters and hammer Mayo, I cant get over the amount of people who think they've regressed as much that they think this Mayo team will get anywhere near them.

It'll be another case of the green and red o mayo , i can see it still, they're crying in the hogan theyre silent in the hill. For they've lost another all ireland , and we dont give a damn. Poor old Mayo supporters, you'll never win the sam , never win the Sam"
I can't understand a Connachtman shouting for the Dubs especially a Dublin team that has won 6 All Irelands in a row! What are you on? Sourpuss shots? Take your beating and learn to be gracious.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 14:21:33    2367945

Replying To baire:  "I can't understand a Connachtman shouting for the Dubs especially a Dublin team that has won 6 All Irelands in a row! What are you on? Sourpuss shots? Take your beating and learn to be gracious."
There wasn't a sheet nor a pillow case that wasn't flying from a window in Castlebar in September 1998 and when the Tony Keady vote was cast in 1989 Mayo voted against him playing. He lost by one vote. Never ever forget. Tony certainly didn't.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 05/08/2021 15:43:56    2367983

Replying To jimbodub:  "Listen lads stick to the topic at hand. I don't even really want to comment as it'll draw more weirdness.

Just don't give the nonsense any fuel or any sort of logical input.

Leave them at it and let's not see another thread going very oddly off topic with their unfounded delusions.

I'd say there's a large contingent of decent posters fairly sick of it too.

Now for the good of the thread and future threads lads, would you please stop feeding the trolls.

Good news on McDaid as its another option but I agree on his rustiness.. still though there's been some substantial good news on the injury front as of late, so onwards and upwards. I think it really puts them in a much better position now.

Huge game ahead and the mighty Du6s are once again playing for another record, their 7th AI Final on the trot and what a substantial way of earning it by taking on a very hungry looking Mayo side albeit without their freakishly prolific talisman."
How many Leinsters did Dublin win before most of ye started getting sick of winning them? How many All Irelands will it take before ye'll start yawning at the prospect of another dose of medals? What is there left to prove? Who are ye trying to prove it to? I'm curious. That last game Dublin played against Kildare had boredom written all over it and don't tell me it was all Kildare's fault!
The Galway 3-in-a-row captain told a few of us many years ago that they had enough of it after the third All Ireland - they didn't want to win anymore, that there was more to life.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 16:17:59    2368003

Replying To Mailman98:  "There wasn't a sheet nor a pillow case that wasn't flying from a window in Castlebar in September 1998 and when the Tony Keady vote was cast in 1989 Mayo voted against him playing. He lost by one vote. Never ever forget. Tony certainly didn't."
What about 1974 when the Dubs beat a good Galway team in the All Ireland final, when the Hill 16 mob were throwing bottles and missiles at the Galway full back line and not a word about it in the media or in GAA headquarters? It wouldn't suit the narrative.
I agree re Keady, that was vindictive and shameful. Roscommon voted against him playing as well. We won't mention the county that initiated it!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 16:34:40    2368011

Replying To baire:  "How many Leinsters did Dublin win before most of ye started getting sick of winning them? How many All Irelands will it take before ye'll start yawning at the prospect of another dose of medals? What is there left to prove? Who are ye trying to prove it to? I'm curious. That last game Dublin played against Kildare had boredom written all over it and don't tell me it was all Kildare's fault!
The Galway 3-in-a-row captain told a few of us many years ago that they had enough of it after the third All Ireland - they didn't want to win anymore, that there was more to life."
That's Galway though. Kerry never got bored of winning, Kilkenny nor Dublin. It's a mindset. I can see Limerick going the same way.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2021 16:40:49    2368014

Replying To baire:  "What about 1974 when the Dubs beat a good Galway team in the All Ireland final, when the Hill 16 mob were throwing bottles and missiles at the Galway full back line and not a word about it in the media or in GAA headquarters? It wouldn't suit the narrative.
I agree re Keady, that was vindictive and shameful. Roscommon voted against him playing as well. We won't mention the county that initiated it!"
You're a bitter man. There were no bottles or missiles thrown at the Galway full backs so I'm doubtful about the people of Mayo flying their laundry for Kildare in 1998 :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3527 - 05/08/2021 16:44:31    2368015

Fair play to and yew_tree and Flyingintraining there's some very balanced and well thought out points in there.

Think this could be a titanic game and maybe it's a day one of the newer Mayo forwards makes that break through and shows up on the national stage and says I'm the star forward Mayo has been looking for.

As Wexford and Meath highlighted hunt in packs and you'll rattle the Dubs. Mayo are fitter stronger and better than either of those two teams so there's no reason they can't match that. They've done it plenty over the years.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1982 - 05/08/2021 16:54:46    2368024

Our minor hurlers like to win.
Best to Mayo you have my support.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 05/08/2021 16:57:09    2368026

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You're a bitter man. There were no bottles or missiles thrown at the Galway full backs so I'm doubtful about the people of Mayo flying their laundry for Kildare in 1998 :-)"
I said nothing about Mayo flying their laundry! I know nothing of it. I do know about the 1974 All Ireland. I was responding to a Galway poster btw who'd sooner support Dublin than Mayo, I find that astonishing. I'd support the Dublin hurlers on occasion, their supporters are genuine GAA supporters.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 17:09:34    2368030

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's Galway though. Kerry never got bored of winning, Kilkenny nor Dublin. It's a mindset. I can see Limerick going the same way."
It's a one track mind though this mindset, set in its ways. Most neutrals were bored with Kerry after their 4 in a row and likewise with KK and Dublin. They mightn't say it up to your faces but believe me their mindset is different to yours!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 17:14:05    2368033

Replying To baire:  "I said nothing about Mayo flying their laundry! I know nothing of it. I do know about the 1974 All Ireland. I was responding to a Galway poster btw who'd sooner support Dublin than Mayo, I find that astonishing. I'd support the Dublin hurlers on occasion, their supporters are genuine GAA supporters."
So are their football supporters.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2021 17:43:56    2368044

Replying To baire:  "It's a one track mind though this mindset, set in its ways. Most neutrals were bored with Kerry after their 4 in a row and likewise with KK and Dublin. They mightn't say it up to your faces but believe me their mindset is different to yours!"
That's fine. You said the players admitted to being bored. Not the supporters. I'm stating that I doubt the teams from the counties I mentioned are bored.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2021 17:45:12    2368045

A Dublin v Mayo forum and a huge part of it is Galway talking about Galway. Somethings never change.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 523 - 05/08/2021 18:23:19    2368056

Replying To Mailman98:  "There wasn't a sheet nor a pillow case that wasn't flying from a window in Castlebar in September 1998 and when the Tony Keady vote was cast in 1989 Mayo voted against him playing. He lost by one vote. Never ever forget. Tony certainly didn't."
Time to corect that one. Mayo was the only connaught county that supported Keady at that vote

seventyniner (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 05/08/2021 18:46:24    2368064

Replying To cluichethar:  "A Dublin v Mayo forum and a huge part of it is Galway talking about Galway. Somethings never change."
Fair point, good luck v Dublin! I'm out of here.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 05/08/2021 19:00:03    2368069

Replying To seventyniner:  "Time to corect that one. Mayo was the only connaught county that supported Keady at that vote"
I don't know which counties voted against Keady but Keady said himself that Tipp voted for him but 4 Connaught counties voted against him.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3917 - 05/08/2021 19:59:26    2368089

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "The worry for Mayo is in the forwards. Most of the times that Mayo have played Dublin, the forward who stood up and showed leadership was Cillian O'Connor. His loss may be more evident in this game against Dublin than at any stage in the championship to date. If I was James Horan, I would begin the game by going man on man and pushing up on the Dublin kick outs. Dublin do appear to be vulnerable but to date, it hasn't been targeted and Kildare certainly did nothing to test that vulnerability with the tactics that they employed. If the man to man is not working, you can revert to plan B. Another dilemma for Mayo is whether to play Aidan O'Shea in midfield or at full forward. Dublin were exposed by Daniel Flynn in the Leinster final so it might be worth the gamble to start Aidan O'Shea at full forward provided that you can get enough ball to him and in a way that he can gain possession and attack the Dublin full back. The pluses for Dublin is their experience. Even though they aren't playing well, experienced players like Kilkenny etc are able to find ways to get the vital scores at the vital times. This is papering over some of the obvious cracks with players form. The real test for Dublin is in the next two games. There is no team in Leinster that have the capabilities to expose Dublin's fragilities at the moment but I would think the three teams - Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry will have the capabilities if they can execute on the day."
Aidan Ó Shea is a fine footballer but does nt have the pace and long strides of Daniel Flynn. Flynn was so mobile the sweeper made no difference to him. Dublin have nearly always been able for Ó Shea at FF. Cf might be a better place v Dubs.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3917 - 05/08/2021 20:17:18    2368093

If Mayo do not concede more than 1 goal they have a chance.

Goals have generally been Mayos undoing in these matches.

Since 2013 they've played 8 times in championship and Mayo have conceded 16 goals Dublin conceded 6 in those matches.

In 12 when Mayo won they kept a clean sheet.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 05/08/2021 20:56:46    2368103

I think Dublin havent got out of 2nd gear only because they havent needed to. In Leinster teams drop so many players behind the ball now that Dublin dont need to shoot the lights out but slowly wear teams down. Controlling the ball and pace of the match is the name of the game now for the Dubs. Mayo will not be so defensive so it will open up the game for the Dublin forwards. Mayo have a serious team too and were magnificent in the 2nd half v Galway. But the Dubs wont wilt like Galway did. Should be a cracking game.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 05/08/2021 21:47:46    2368124

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Aidan Ó Shea is a fine footballer but does nt have the pace and long strides of Daniel Flynn. Flynn was so mobile the sweeper made no difference to him. Dublin have nearly always been able for Ó Shea at FF. Cf might be a better place v Dubs."
Jesus , Flynn is a beast of a lad right enough Mick. Very impressive. He shunted Cooper out of the way as if he was a kid. I like O' Se- great honest footballer - but I doubt he has the skills and pace of Flynn.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 05/08/2021 21:52:37    2368127