Dubs V Mayo

Replying To jimbodub:  "Looking forward to this game

Hopefully the Du6s can build on their performance versus Kildare, they have welcomed back seasoned big game players and they have every chance of finding some better form now. It was blatantly obvious to see the absence of these players, we lost both defensively and offensively so much endeavor but all credit to the young lads answearing the call.

I'm not sure about Robbie McDaid' fitness.. does any of my fellow Dubs have any update there?

Mayo are Mayo. I only expect the best from them and Du6lin will need to have Con and Fenton having a far bigger influence on proceedings.

Mayo will be well prepared and we'll up for this but they too have lost some huge talent.

COC being injured hasn't been fully exposed yet IMO

The fella rarely plays poorly against Du6lin and he's almost guaranteed 5+pts before a ball is kicked.

I think the loss of the most potent forward in GAA history will ultimately be the difference in the end but that's only my two cents."
Jaysus Jim, will you stop being optimistic, some poor lad on here just waisted a day of his life trying to convince the nation that your playing our chances.

Maybe he just doesn't like Wednesdays inanyways!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 04/08/2021 21:29:19    2367767

The comments section here is getting like the Joe Duffy show, I think if Dublin find some decent form they will win this, but if Mayo get ahead of them and put the pressure on I'm not sure if this Dublin side has the appetite to repel them, still think the Dubs will win it but wouldn't be shocked either if Mayo make it through to another final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3186 - 04/08/2021 21:32:56    2367768

Replying To oneoff:  "Answer the question it's not difficult :)"
Reply to the question that is asked , and stop talking nonsense , it's not difficult really Jesus Wept.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 04/08/2021 21:53:15    2367779

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The comments section here is getting like the Joe Duffy show, I think if Dublin find some decent form they will win this, but if Mayo get ahead of them and put the pressure on I'm not sure if this Dublin side has the appetite to repel them, still think the Dubs will win it but wouldn't be shocked either if Mayo make it through to another final."
the Dubs are going to silence a lot of doubters and hammer Mayo, I cant get over the amount of people who think they've regressed as much that they think this Mayo team will get anywhere near them.

It'll be another case of the green and red o mayo , i can see it still, they're crying in the hogan theyre silent in the hill. For they've lost another all ireland , and we dont give a damn. Poor old Mayo supporters, you'll never win the sam , never win the Sam

BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 04/08/2021 21:55:42    2367780

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "the Dubs are going to silence a lot of doubters and hammer Mayo, I cant get over the amount of people who think they've regressed as much that they think this Mayo team will get anywhere near them.

It'll be another case of the green and red o mayo , i can see it still, they're crying in the hogan theyre silent in the hill. For they've lost another all ireland , and we dont give a damn. Poor old Mayo supporters, you'll never win the sam , never win the Sam"
They might beat them but can't see them hammering them, the Dubs don't really seem too bothered about hammering anyone, even when they were at their best,
Kerry on the other hand have no mercy, they will hammer anyone by as much as they can, they are the King pins of Gaelic football after all, that's why the Dubs recent success bothers them so much. The rest of us are only bit players.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3186 - 04/08/2021 22:09:48    2367785

Conn o Callaghan's form must be a bit of a worry for Dublin? In top form he's unmarkable but he didn't get going against Kildare. Kilkenny was really outstanding but he won't get that space against Mayo. Must be the best chance Mayo will have, if these two are kept quiet then again if O Callaghan plays as he can it's a different dilemma and the whole attack will have that speed and threat that he brings.
Fascinating game in prospect, Mayo still have the talent to challenge the Dubs, it remains to be seen if anyone else does. Big question marks on the other two contenders whose best chance is definitely if Mayo can win.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 04/08/2021 22:25:00    2367791

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "the Dubs are going to silence a lot of doubters and hammer Mayo, I cant get over the amount of people who think they've regressed as much that they think this Mayo team will get anywhere near them.

It'll be another case of the green and red o mayo , i can see it still, they're crying in the hogan theyre silent in the hill. For they've lost another all ireland , and we dont give a damn. Poor old Mayo supporters, you'll never win the sam , never win the Sam"
we still beat galway will galway beat mayo they wont u know good luck next year trot on

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 04/08/2021 23:07:59    2367802

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "Mayo also more than well versed in that journey since 2001"
Mayo have won numerous knockout games in Croke park since 2001 unlike Galway. Galway are happy enough rolling over on the turf getting their bellies rubbed like a good puppy when playing the likes of Dublin, Mayo and Tipperary there.

A***pirate (Mayo) - Posts: 97 - 05/08/2021 08:30:49    2367825

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The comments section here is getting like the Joe Duffy show, I think if Dublin find some decent form they will win this, but if Mayo get ahead of them and put the pressure on I'm not sure if this Dublin side has the appetite to repel them, still think the Dubs will win it but wouldn't be shocked either if Mayo make it through to another final."
I think you hit nail on head there,

Like a lot of great teams in the past, Dublin's fate might come down to one game in which they need to summon up all of the tenacity and coolness and ruthlessness that has gotten them over the line in previous big games.

It is impossible to tell from watching them so far if they still have that or if the newer players are made of the same stuff, and they won't know themselves until that moment. Dublin were not tested in that way last year by Mayo which - maybe because there was no crowd - never reached the intensity of previous encounters. Maybe Dublin didn't let it develop that way.

This year will surely see a much different approach from Mayo. Can't wait for it. Will be another epic i suspect, whatever the outcome.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3525 - 05/08/2021 09:13:51    2367832

Replying To A***pirate:  "Mayo have won numerous knockout games in Croke park since 2001 unlike Galway. Galway are happy enough rolling over on the turf getting their bellies rubbed like a good puppy when playing the likes of Dublin, Mayo and Tipperary there."
And yet for all those "achievements" by Mayo they have nothing to show for it.
At least the Galway pup with his belly nice and rubbed can say he experienced All Ireland wins in his lifetime.
Would much rather that then the "We played and won more times in Croke Park than yee" trophy the mayo fans are now rolling out.

BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 05/08/2021 09:32:10    2367841

Replying To mayo_123:  "we still beat galway will galway beat mayo they wont u know good luck next year trot on"
Galway will beat Mayo when they play them next.

BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 05/08/2021 09:33:09    2367842

Replying To jonno:  "Conn o Callaghan's form must be a bit of a worry for Dublin? In top form he's unmarkable but he didn't get going against Kildare. Kilkenny was really outstanding but he won't get that space against Mayo. Must be the best chance Mayo will have, if these two are kept quiet then again if O Callaghan plays as he can it's a different dilemma and the whole attack will have that speed and threat that he brings.
Fascinating game in prospect, Mayo still have the talent to challenge the Dubs, it remains to be seen if anyone else does. Big question marks on the other two contenders whose best chance is definitely if Mayo can win."
If Mayo go man to man then Con will get ball and do the damage. The reason why Kilkenny played well is because he was out around the 45 and Kildare had everything inside choked up with bodies. We don't quite have the firepower we once had up front and Kev Mc is a big loss. A lot will depend on Costello and Small I think. They can be both be hit and miss. If both are off form then we may have a big problem.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 05/08/2021 10:08:48    2367853

The worry for Mayo is in the forwards. Most of the times that Mayo have played Dublin, the forward who stood up and showed leadership was Cillian O'Connor. His loss may be more evident in this game against Dublin than at any stage in the championship to date. If I was James Horan, I would begin the game by going man on man and pushing up on the Dublin kick outs. Dublin do appear to be vulnerable but to date, it hasn't been targeted and Kildare certainly did nothing to test that vulnerability with the tactics that they employed. If the man to man is not working, you can revert to plan B. Another dilemma for Mayo is whether to play Aidan O'Shea in midfield or at full forward. Dublin were exposed by Daniel Flynn in the Leinster final so it might be worth the gamble to start Aidan O'Shea at full forward provided that you can get enough ball to him and in a way that he can gain possession and attack the Dublin full back. The pluses for Dublin is their experience. Even though they aren't playing well, experienced players like Kilkenny etc are able to find ways to get the vital scores at the vital times. This is papering over some of the obvious cracks with players form. The real test for Dublin is in the next two games. There is no team in Leinster that have the capabilities to expose Dublin's fragilities at the moment but I would think the three teams - Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry will have the capabilities if they can execute on the day.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2102 - 05/08/2021 10:33:49    2367862

I spend less and less time on the GAA forum because of the amount of trolls that have popped up in the last few months. This apparently new Galway poster is fitting right in with a few others. No doubt it is a poster who has just set up another account.

For what it's worth some Mayo fans are hard to listen to. Some of them in my own family. If we lose they mention the ref, or bad luck, or something else. But the majority of Mayo fans are realistic. Mayo have been brilliant over the last decade and only for them Dublin would have sauntered to the All Ireland in 15, 16 and 17. The fact is we were beaten by the better team, but also the greatest squad the GAA has ever seen. You can't call Dublin the greatest team of all time and in the same breath call the Mayo team of those years bottlers. That doesn't add up.

The game next week I have no doubt will be a cracker. Mayo will probably only have 4 or 5 starters from the team of 2017, that is a phenomenal turnover of players. Mayo are building again and are going nowhere for a few years. But they are without COC and also in my opinion desperately need Harrison back at 3. Dublin cantered to an easy win while apparently playing poorly. In the second half of the Kildare game they regrouped and scored 11 out of 12 shots and played keep ball when they wanted. Do Mayo have a shot? Yes. Should most people be tipping them ? Absolutely not. I hope we can get back to semi normal analysis of games on here sometime soon rather than childish posting back and forth.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 05/08/2021 10:34:35    2367863

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "Galway will beat Mayo when they play them next."
Another FBD league win on the way?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 456 - 05/08/2021 10:59:33    2367869

Replying To TheUsername:  "Jaysus Jim, will you stop being optimistic, some poor lad on here just waisted a day of his life trying to convince the nation that your playing our chances.

Maybe he just doesn't like Wednesdays inanyways!"
Listen lads stick to the topic at hand. I don't even really want to comment as it'll draw more weirdness.

Just don't give the nonsense any fuel or any sort of logical input.

Leave them at it and let's not see another thread going very oddly off topic with their unfounded delusions.

I'd say there's a large contingent of decent posters fairly sick of it too.

Now for the good of the thread and future threads lads, would you please stop feeding the trolls.

Good news on McDaid as its another option but I agree on his rustiness.. still though there's been some substantial good news on the injury front as of late, so onwards and upwards. I think it really puts them in a much better position now.

Huge game ahead and the mighty Du6s are once again playing for another record, their 7th AI Final on the trot and what a substantial way of earning it by taking on a very hungry looking Mayo side albeit without their freakishly prolific talisman.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/08/2021 11:25:39    2367878

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I spend less and less time on the GAA forum because of the amount of trolls that have popped up in the last few months. This apparently new Galway poster is fitting right in with a few others. No doubt it is a poster who has just set up another account.

For what it's worth some Mayo fans are hard to listen to. Some of them in my own family. If we lose they mention the ref, or bad luck, or something else. But the majority of Mayo fans are realistic. Mayo have been brilliant over the last decade and only for them Dublin would have sauntered to the All Ireland in 15, 16 and 17. The fact is we were beaten by the better team, but also the greatest squad the GAA has ever seen. You can't call Dublin the greatest team of all time and in the same breath call the Mayo team of those years bottlers. That doesn't add up.

The game next week I have no doubt will be a cracker. Mayo will probably only have 4 or 5 starters from the team of 2017, that is a phenomenal turnover of players. Mayo are building again and are going nowhere for a few years. But they are without COC and also in my opinion desperately need Harrison back at 3. Dublin cantered to an easy win while apparently playing poorly. In the second half of the Kildare game they regrouped and scored 11 out of 12 shots and played keep ball when they wanted. Do Mayo have a shot? Yes. Should most people be tipping them ? Absolutely not. I hope we can get back to semi normal analysis of games on here sometime soon rather than childish posting back and forth."
Best ignore the trolls and get back to football talk...

The game promises to be a cracker for a neutral like me as i genuinely think Dublin are there be taken by any of the 3 other provinicial winners, but saying and doing are completely different things.

The interesting thing for me is due to the shortened league and championship we really dont know how good Mayo or Dublin are, Dublin won the softest all ireland ever last year without getting out of 3rd gear but they are nowhere near their 2017 level clearly, bench is fairly mediocre now too. Guys like paddy small, costello and mcdaid are nowhere near the level of guys like mannion, connolly, mccaffrey etc. Comerford is quality though so mayo would be mistaken in targetting him as a weak link if that is the plan

However its possible same could be said for Mayo, im still not sure how good they are as we dont have a large enough sample size of evidence against top opposition with this particular Mayo team? They are undoubtedly top 4 side. Galway under PJ have regressed alarmingly so its hard to judge Mayo on beating them. What is clear is that we are seeing all the best attributes of a horan team again, ie unreal conditioning and running powerfrom deep the greatest strength, the sight of durcan, keegan, ruane,mullin, eoghan mcl etc attacking in waves in croker seems a formidable proposition. Are the ff line able to pick up the mantle in Cillians absence, conroy is quality but was schooled by murchan in final last year. AOS has never contributed in ff line against top oppositionin biggest games so i would say he is probably better out the field tackling. Can the mayo ff step up as last year they would have gotten a hockeying without COC contribution

an awful lot of questions and unknowns that will be answered next weekend.
Im reluctantly tipping Mayo to win narrowly by 2-15 to 0-20 (before losing in the final obviously)

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 05/08/2021 12:07:54    2367894

The absolute state of this. Dripping with bitterness.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 05/08/2021 12:15:53    2367895

This will be our first real test since the final last December.
We operated in division 2 and won Connacht but now we are facing a real team.

I struggle looking at Dublins six forwards, where any of ours would get in there?

Our midfield is also weaker. Our half back line is stronger and we have the more experienced keeper for this one. I know games aren't this simple.

Mayo will bring honesty of effort, running, intensity and never say die attitude. I don't think it's going to be enough.

As mentioned above if we had Cillian and Harrison o would be very confident but I think this is where we are going to be found out. Hope I'm wrong obviously.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11564 - 05/08/2021 13:26:56    2367934

Im now convinced we live rent free in some Galway lads heads.

Getting back to the real stuff, I think the defensive match up's from our perspective will be very interesting. I see it playing out as O'Hora/Small Keegan/Costello, Durcan/Kilkenny Mullin/O'Callaghan S. Coen/Rock, E. McLaughlin/Scully. Personally don't see Plunkett starting this one but obviously could be wrong.

Fenton/Ruane will be a titanic tussle, and imo whoever cones out on top there will be on the winning side.

Its a delicate balance between worrying about the opposition and imposing your own game at the same time. But i feel that could be the general defensive match up's, but as we know, players are constantly rotating positions.

I still can't see us winning this without Cillian, opposition teams despise him for a reason. He's a nasty f****r in football terms and can handle himself, so experienced and currently in his prime. If we had him i'd genuinely fancy our chances. Tommy Conroy will develop into a marquee forward in time, but him and Ryan at the moment just dont have the experience and nastiness required to handle the grisly, and excellent Dubs defence.

Flyingintraining (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 05/08/2021 13:41:38    2367938