And never been in the Auld Triangle for ecumenical sessions at the end of which neither Dubs nor Mayo people exactly recall the result :-)
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 04/08/2021 12:27:26 2367529 Link 0 |
Not too often lately indeed, but when we have reached all ireland finals we tended to return across the shannon as all Ireland champions and bare in mind this was after color television and not in black and white
BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 04/08/2021 12:31:06 2367533 Link 0 |
You said you wanted examples from this thread meaning you've acknowledged he's been doing elsewhere:)
oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1623 - 04/08/2021 12:43:30 2367537 Link 0 |
He's clearly playing down Dublins chances is he not? Something you've acknowledged He's being doing all season.
oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1623 - 04/08/2021 12:45:06 2367538 Link 0 |
'bare in mind this was after color television and not in black and white'.....you do realise Galway won the majority of their all-Irelands between 1930s-60s? yes I remember ye bet a good Meath team around 2000/2001 but that's a lifetime ago for many young users here. Anyway i'll let ya back to the envious begrudging... only thing i'd say you can do when your team is on their holidays already ! nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 69 - 04/08/2021 14:02:26 2367566 Link 1 |
Ha ha lads posting opinions on an opinion forum shocker. "Jimbo" (Always Jim), calls a meeting every morning in Smithfield square and we strategically launch cyber attacks across the interweb, to undermine our chances and lead all our rivals into a false sense of security and psychologicaly try and wrong foot them! ;D This place, is great, takes all types to make up the world really! ;) TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 04/08/2021 14:23:16 2367579 Link 4 |
Again were did he say Dublin haven't got a chance v Mayo ? Where have I acknowledged he's being doing this all season ? Please show me .
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 04/08/2021 14:37:24 2367583 Link 1 |
Galway are certainly the Connacht county that knows most about winning Football All Irelands and smart comments from a Mayo poster about Galway are not well founded.Galway though at present are a long way off winning anything and will remain so while Padraig Joyce is Manager.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2406 - 04/08/2021 14:58:44 2367594 Link 2 |
These days Galway tend to cross the Shannon with the tails between the legs after continuously failing to win a knockout game in Croke Park since 2001.
A***pirate (Mayo) - Posts: 97 - 04/08/2021 14:59:20 2367595 Link 2 |
I was obviously referring to this thread , must try harder -:) superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2650 - 03/08/2021 18:40:54 What exactly are you doing here then? oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1623 - 04/08/2021 15:09:33 2367601 Link 0 |
Galway lad started it...we are only sniping back although it's all in good fun. I don't harbour any bad feeling towards our more successful neighbours....I even went and supported them in the 01 final as a young lad.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 04/08/2021 15:20:31 2367605 Link 8 |
Ladies game doubled up with men's. Makes sense. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 04/08/2021 15:38:19 2367611 Link 10 |
'Galway are certainly the Connacht county that knows most about winning Football All Irelands' two decades ago when they last.. A lifetime ago.. Gaelic football has completely and utterly transformed since then ...as has hurling The football landscape, the professionalism of players/managers/setups, the intercounty development setups, the systems used.... What is the point is refencing glory 20/30+ years prior to this current modern game? Basically ..... Dublin/Kerry/Mayo/Donegal... Tyrone/Monaghan (to a much lesser extent) have shown over the last decade they what it takes in their county setup from senior down their conveyor belts to produce teams that can meet the standards set and required at the business end of the championship in the MODERN GAME.. which requires insane athleticism on top of skill from 1-30 on the panel. In this modern game Dublin have totally dominated and rightly so they were absolutely phenomenal 2011-2020 and the teams that pushed them to the pin of their collars (mayo numerous occasions, Kerry also numerous times, Donegal beating them in 2014) .. all the rest of the counties were miles off providing us with the same highly competitive matches these 3 teams put up to the dubs over the last decade of the intercounty game.. so you referencing Galway's win over Meath in 2001, 1998 or those back 50+ years ago is honestly a joke when discussing the current game. Keep up with the times. nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 69 - 04/08/2021 15:48:30 2367617 Link 0 |
Connacht haven't won a senior All Ireland football title since Galway did 20 years ago. Too long .Mayo have had their chances but fallen short.Hard to believe but my county of Roscommon haven't won a senior championship match in Croke park since August 1980.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2406 - 04/08/2021 15:57:15 2367620 Link 2 |
Yeah, we need rid of Joyce , an emotional appointment who is very much out of his depth in managing a Senior intercounty football team. I still think with the right management the current Galway panel are still better than the current Mayo panel and should have won the connacht final a few weeks back
BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 04/08/2021 16:01:35 2367621 Link 0 |
Mayo also more than well versed in that journey since 2001
BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 04/08/2021 16:04:01 2367626 Link 2 |
You are talking pure nonsense , again show me were he said Dublin haven't a hope v Mayo , I acknowledged nothing about him doing anything anywhere .
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 04/08/2021 16:05:31 2367627 Link 1 |
What are you on about ? Please stop waffling , your making a right idiot of yourself
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 04/08/2021 16:06:53 2367629 Link 1 |
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2021 16:20:00 2367633 Link 10 |
Hi new here, and looking forward to this one in a big way. No bigger challenge than the Dubs in Croker on a Saturday evening. Only for the crowd restrictions, the atmosphere would be electric as always. Flyingintraining (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 04/08/2021 17:24:13 2367665 Link 1 |