It's amazing the small minded snide comments this particular amateur sportsman gets from all over the country.
the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 09/08/2021 15:19:59 2369149 Link 2 |
Jesus, it's true what they say: we are a nation of begrudgers .
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 09/08/2021 15:41:20 2369162 Link 5 |
The captain of the team doing an interview the week of a match. Well I am overwhelmed.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 09/08/2021 15:53:24 2369167 Link 7 |
He wasn't even doing an interview at all. He was showing one of the presenters around Ashford Castle I think. The falconry place and a zip line place.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2021 16:02:42 2369172 Link 6 |
It's hilarious how much people detest him. An amateur sportsperson. Regardless of how he performed in the final last year. It's laughable to suggest he never plays well in big games.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 09/08/2021 16:09:37 2369177 Link 4 |
The bitterness from a certain cohort of Galway fans on here really is something else to behold. I'm embarrassed for you.
the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 09/08/2021 16:12:30 2369180 Link 2 |
No worries
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 09/08/2021 16:13:03 2369181 Link 0 |
All teams have at least one detestable person and usually for no good reason. Sure we've a few :) I was only commenting cos he looks very trim,it was a compliment.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2021 16:18:22 2369183 Link 4 |
Looking at the sunny weather it was clearly filmed several weeks ago too. But I suppose if we lose on Saturday that will be the main reason.
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 456 - 09/08/2021 16:24:18 2369184 Link 0 |
Ha ha I won't blame you for the trigger comments !
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 09/08/2021 16:27:35 2369186 Link 2 |
Sure who cares what anyone thinks.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2021 16:27:40 2369187 Link 6 |
Them auld falcons are useless at tracking back.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7985 - 09/08/2021 16:31:38 2369191 Link 1 |
Realistically this game is a year too soon for this youthful Mayo side, in my opinion. People are making a lot of some of the retirements from the Dubs' panel but Cluxton is the only consistent starter, the others were either squad players (admittedly some squad!) or hadn't been starting for some time. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/08/2021 16:44:53 2369198 Link 2 |
Im not from Galway and i dont hate him (or any player tbh) , id love nothing better than seeing the big man grab the game by the scruff of the neck and helping defeat the dubs on saturday but the fact is he hasnt done the business in several finals now and has never done it against dublin, and by doing the business i mean higher metrics the ordinary mullocker. We need to see far more from him than the odd turnover of wining an occasional throw up. I am holding him to higher standards because he has such a huge profile and is often talked about as one of the best players in the country, he really needs to show it on this occasion. Lads like Keegan, Kevin McLoughlin, Durcan etc have all showed up on the biggest occasion many times, AOS needs to do so too Id love nothing better than to be proven wrong on saturday and have this post thrown back at me after dubs have been defeated... HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 09/08/2021 16:59:45 2369208 Link 2 |
The walls,You will get these sort of childish outbursts when schools are on holiday but at least they are Dubs v Mayo related....well kind of.
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 09/08/2021 17:23:55 2369215 Link 0 |
Never said you were from Galway. Thanks for that .
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 09/08/2021 18:01:41 2369224 Link 1 |
You reckon a lot of teachers post in here???
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 09/08/2021 18:14:10 2369236 Link 3 |
No one suggested you were from Galway. Not quite sure what that has to do with anything? You are certainly fully entitled to make criticisms of any player in relation to their performance on the pitch. But the "Whats he plugging this time" is the usual petty and snide personal comment that has no relevance to his on field performance and is designed to provoke a reaction, so well done on that I suppose, you got one. Some GAA fans from all counties can be terrible for this. the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 09/08/2021 18:24:30 2369241 Link 3 |
Ha!!
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 09/08/2021 19:07:25 2369258 Link 0 |
The level of spleen vented against AOS is reflective of a really nasty streak in some people. I remember the photo taken of him walking off after a final, clearly upset. And after making it his business to shake many of the Dublin players' hand. It was clearly designed to mock the man and fed into the nastiness of people the vast vast majority of whom have never competed at a high level in any aspect of life. Let alone picked themselves up again after defeat to have another go, I'll be there on Saturday and will probably throw a few expletives at him, but he is worthy of respect, and I'm certain has that from his opponents. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3537 - 09/08/2021 19:29:23 2369266 Link 3 |