Munster MFC Cork 5-28 Waterford 0-03 (40 Point Win)

Ah look lads, maybe I was a bit harsh, but sorry, no one is entirely innocent when it comes to that kind of a defeat,, whenever anyone gets a hammering these days there's an automatic assumption that it's the systems fault,, kildare almost beat Dublin in 2011, within a few years they couldn't get near them, apparently that's all down to funding, that kind of self pity, losing mentality, etc. No self reflection, or critical thinking, I'd be shocked, absolutely shocked, if that waterford team put as much into that game as they could have

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 23/07/2021 18:54:14    2363245

Mad game here in Connacht minor Champ
Roscommon 4-06 Mayo 1-08 and its only half time lol

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/07/2021 19:40:43    2363258

Replying To bennybunny:  "How many tiers do you want though? 16? Two in each? There will always be hammerings yet subdividing competitions seem to the same over reaction to every hammering.

Yes hurling has tiers. 15 years ago we had Mccarthy, Ring and Rackard Cups. A few hammerings later and the Meagher is introduced. One more subdivision. A few hammerings later and we introduce the Mcdonagh Cup. Another subdivision.

So Skirge question is valid, Cork annihilated Clare in hurling so why not subdivide again and keep doing it until it becomes farcical?"
I wouldn't say it's an overreaction imo. In the last 10 years how many games have Waterford won at underage level in football? How many similar hammerings have they got? How does it help anyone?

I will admit Waterford are an extreme example of it and there's nothing to say having teairs would actually help but it can't be worse than what's happening at the moment.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 23/07/2021 20:00:40    2363260

Replying To oneoff:  "I wouldn't say it's an overreaction imo. In the last 10 years how many games have Waterford won at underage level in football? How many similar hammerings have they got? How does it help anyone?

I will admit Waterford are an extreme example of it and there's nothing to say having teairs would actually help but it can't be worse than what's happening at the moment."
Okay this is getting a bit annoying. There is thread here and many posting about this defeat. There was not a dicky bird here from anyone when Waterford first won the first round of the U20 championship this year. I guess only negative news gets the attention. Give it a rest.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 23/07/2021 20:06:19    2363263

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Seeding competitions at senior level is one thing, but it's trickier to do at underage as there's such turnover in the panels every year.
There are counties who got wiped out in the first round, who won their provincial titles the following year with a stronger crop of players.
Cases like Waterford might be clear-cut, but there would be uproar from the batch of counties who'd be considered borderline tier 1 or 2, based on previous results, if they were demoted. Underage is thankfully more unpredictable than senior level."
Yes, this is the issue with seeding at underage. It easy to say after the fact that Waterford should not have been competing at the same level as Cork this year but deciding at the start of the year which teams should be in the "B" grade at underage is a next to impossible task. Most people would probably have Leitrim and Sligo on a list of counties who should not be competing with the big guns but last year Sligo only lost the Connacht final by 3 points to Roscommon who went on to reach the all-Ireland final. Galway minor hurling teams suffered many massive defeats in the 1970s, then had some good teams in the early 80s before getting a few more hammerings in the late 80s. Yet, since 1992, we have been a powerhouse at minor level. The 1988 minor team lost to Kilkenny by 15 points, but 3 years later Galway won the under-21 title beating star-studded Offaly and Cork sides (featuring the likes of Brian Whelehan and Brian Corcoran).

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 23/07/2021 20:40:46    2363273

Replying To Clareman:  "Well said Daytona. If we are not good enough we will go down. Hurling has been graded for years so i dont understand the person saying we are someway protected??

Personally, with a relative who was on the panel and seeing his demeanor after it, I think underage grading at inter county is the way to go. He was demoralized.

Grading should be easy, especially after results at u15, 16 etc, you can see what teams are capable off. With minor at u17 now ( which i think is a bad idea) counties with small picks will end up playing a lot of 16 year olds and in some cases 15 year old's as they wont turn 16 until later in the year. Very hard for them to compete against Cork, Limerick, Tipp, Galway and KK.

Now I know people will say KK have small population but they dont play football and do they even field underage football teams? Its all hurling. West Clare is all football, with a good few lads hurling with clubs like Kilmaley, Ballyea, Inagh Kilnamona etc but we wouldnt hve the same numbers as the bigger teams.

What happened to Clare and Waterford might be a once off but I doubt it and i would be open to grading if warranted."
Very hard to compete with Cork? We have won two underage All Ireland hurling titles this century!!! One of them was two weeks ago!! If anything we are the ones struggling to compete....as you mentioned in schools hurling, our top schools can't compete with Flannans..

That match like the football one took on a life of its own..when heads are down with underage teams results could be anything.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/07/2021 08:51:59    2363348

Replying To Canuck:  "Okay this is getting a bit annoying. There is thread here and many posting about this defeat. There was not a dicky bird here from anyone when Waterford first won the first round of the U20 championship this year. I guess only negative news gets the attention. Give it a rest."
Did you post anything about it?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/07/2021 13:10:12    2363404

Replying To oneoff:  "Did you post anything about it?"
Yes I did.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 24/07/2021 13:28:50    2363415

I am afraid current Minor is very much a juvenile game most of these are 16 year olds) and that is reflected by some really inconcistent scores. I switched off this grade once the GAA killed it. And another dead duck grade is U20.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 24/07/2021 16:10:45    2363483

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes I did."
So there was talk about it then?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/07/2021 22:04:35    2363667

Replying To oneoff:  "So there was talk about it then?"
Just from me.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/07/2021 01:52:05    2363722

Obviously not the same size of a gap between the two teams, but looking at the Munster final here, relating to my point about teams taking personal responsibility for huge defeats instead of blaming the system,, I absolutely refuse to believe that this is the best that Cork can do.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 25/07/2021 17:26:30    2363942

It was closer tonight against Kerry but this team marches on. We were well on top until the last quarter when Kerry, as they always will, made a comeback. With Ross Corkery (Colin's son) to hopefully come back I expect we'll improve on tonight and push on a bit. Hard luck to Kerry.

Last week, we were at the end of a hammering from Kerry at senior level. Wasn't pretty but nobody died. We beat Kerry in two of three championship games this year. We'll take that while we rebuild.

Kevin McStay said last week that he worried for Cork because Kerry 'aren't going anywhere ' and Oisin McConville, the sage (NOT), said he expected Cork to beat Kerry once more in his lifetime.

Well we are not, to paraphrase Roy Keane, 'going backpacking in Mexico' either and I hope Oisin lives a long fruitful live! Nobody worry !! corcaigh abu!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/07/2021 21:21:20    2365940

Replying To bennybunny:  "It was closer tonight against Kerry but this team marches on. We were well on top until the last quarter when Kerry, as they always will, made a comeback. With Ross Corkery (Colin's son) to hopefully come back I expect we'll improve on tonight and push on a bit. Hard luck to Kerry.

Last week, we were at the end of a hammering from Kerry at senior level. Wasn't pretty but nobody died. We beat Kerry in two of three championship games this year. We'll take that while we rebuild.

Kevin McStay said last week that he worried for Cork because Kerry 'aren't going anywhere ' and Oisin McConville, the sage (NOT), said he expected Cork to beat Kerry once more in his lifetime.

Well we are not, to paraphrase Roy Keane, 'going backpacking in Mexico' either and I hope Oisin lives a long fruitful live! Nobody worry !! corcaigh abu!"
It must be a long time since Kerry were beaten in Munster in the minor football championship and of course there's no back door for them .Kerry have been so dominant in minor football since 2014.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 30/07/2021 21:40:03    2365948

Some more knowledge on Waterford. They are putting in the work with development squads etc. The coach/manager says the player come to these squads without the basics from the clubs. Jason Ryan is working on this. 11 of that team were under 16 and obviously susceptible to this unfortunate hammering.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 30/07/2021 22:01:20    2365959

Replying To bennybunny:  "It was closer tonight against Kerry but this team marches on. We were well on top until the last quarter when Kerry, as they always will, made a comeback. With Ross Corkery (Colin's son) to hopefully come back I expect we'll improve on tonight and push on a bit. Hard luck to Kerry.

Well we are not, to paraphrase Roy Keane, 'going backpacking in Mexico' either and I hope Oisin lives a long fruitful live! Nobody worry !! corcaigh abu!"
Congratulations Benny, fair play to the Cork youngsters and management and to the Cork County board as ye have yer house in order at underage, the rest as they say will come in time once ye get the management sorted out.

Best of luck in the rest of the competition and I hope ye win out now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2021 23:20:01    2365975

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations Benny, fair play to the Cork youngsters and management and to the Cork County board as ye have yer house in order at underage, the rest as they say will come in time once ye get the management sorted out.

Best of luck in the rest of the competition and I hope ye win out now."
Thank you Kingdomboy. There is a lot of work to do yet for county board. Football needs an equal footing. Some work to go there.

I was hoping we would have won that game by a bit more. For quite a while it looked like we would. Then we were lucky to hang in there. The Waterford result made people squirm . Had we beaten Kerry significantly, I wonder what people reaction have been? Underage games often take on a life of their own. In Waterford game everything went well and Waterford lads dropped the head. Against Kerry, we had lots of wides. Had we extended the lead out to 12/13 points at 2nd water break (instead of 7) then Kerry lads may have dropped their heads too and it could have ended badly too. It didn't. But it has in the past. James O'Donoghue was on Kerry under 22 team beaten by 18 points by Cork. He didn't turn out to be half bad.

And neither are the Waterford players. Or the current Kerry minors. Or the Cork minors. We could end up being hammered next day. A pat on the back is only inch away from a kick in the arse. But if so,we'll just keep on going anyway. That's what you do. Canuck says Waterford are working hard. Fair play. That's what you do. Not look for the easy option or as McConville and McStay suggest, we all might as well quit altogether...and just leave Kerry play themselves

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 31/07/2021 13:31:08    2366071

Replying To bennybunny:  "Thank you Kingdomboy. There is a lot of work to do yet for county board. Football needs an equal footing. Some work to go there.

I was hoping we would have won that game by a bit more. For quite a while it looked like we would. Then we were lucky to hang in there. The Waterford result made people squirm . Had we beaten Kerry significantly, I wonder what people reaction have been? Underage games often take on a life of their own. In Waterford game everything went well and Waterford lads dropped the head. Against Kerry, we had lots of wides. Had we extended the lead out to 12/13 points at 2nd water break (instead of 7) then Kerry lads may have dropped their heads too and it could have ended badly too. It didn't. But it has in the past. James O'Donoghue was on Kerry under 22 team beaten by 18 points by Cork. He didn't turn out to be half bad.

And neither are the Waterford players. Or the current Kerry minors. Or the Cork minors. We could end up being hammered next day. A pat on the back is only inch away from a kick in the arse. But if so,we'll just keep on going anyway. That's what you do. Canuck says Waterford are working hard. Fair play. That's what you do. Not look for the easy option or as McConville and McStay suggest, we all might as well quit altogether...and just leave Kerry play themselves"
No Cork won't quit thankfully Benny iv always said ye have an abundance of raw material ye just need the right management team to bring it all together at senior, by the way what are ye feeding yer young lads? They're all massive, I had heard yer minors were very good this year so I wasn't too surprised ye bate us at half time with us facing in to a wind in the second half i thought they'd be a hammering but thankfully we showed a bit of metal and fought back to 1.

I remember that bating ye gave us in was it 2011? But we got a few lads out of that team thankfully.

I'm looking forward to seeing Colin Corkerys young lad is he as tall as his father do you know?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/07/2021 14:12:52    2366079

Congrats on Corks minor win last night. I do think Cork football can be at top table sooner rather than later with a few tweaks.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 31/07/2021 14:30:29    2366086