Galway V Mayo

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Perhaps if you cared to call out clear and obvious misinformation and in some cases disinformation like I do, others may wrongly accuse you as well, just as you're now doing with me, people don't like to be called out, it's normal.

You seem to be uncomfortable with that for some reason, but I'm not you and I'm not trying to catch KingdomBoy's 12,497 thumbs up.

I'm not going to sell myself for a few thumbs and I'm not a yes man, clearly for some of you, the thumbs are very important, but that's fine, it's not my scene, my friends are real, not anonymous.

I would hate my opinions to be restrained in such a way.

On Mayo v Galway, lets hope they can sell all the 18,000 tickets given that nearly 50% of the tickets for the Leitrim game went unsold, hopefully the GAA's continued destruction of the Championship hasn't turned many in Mayo into fair weather fans also.

Anyone who thinks the GAA are doing Mayo and Galway a favour by moving the game to Croke Park, know nothing about how the GAA work, someone needs to pay the €793,000 salary of the president, while the Leitrim's of this world burn.

This is the President who tells everyone there's no need to panic, sure it'll be grand.

A joke of an organization fueled by fools."
Jesus is that all you can come
Back with. Listen here lad, I ain't looking for any thumbs up....didn't realise I was in with a chance of catching kingdomboy. I'm
Posting here for the past 15 odd years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 15/07/2021 13:49:15    2360118

Is the booing so awful? I mean sure it's not nice but jeez it's not like anyone's gonna get hurt. I've no issue with it anyway.
I've always found the silence in rugby matches as a player lines up a kick to be very contrived and pretentious anyway.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 15/07/2021 13:49:49    2360119

Replying To WanPintWin:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "I have no issue with anyone condemning booing, what I do have an issue with is a troll painting all fans with the one brush though, and that's exactly what he done.

Actually who started it is very relevant, because the Galway fans who started it may now learn a lesson that their actions may have contribuated in some way to them actually losing the game.

Hopefully, they have learned a lesson.
"
You'll have to explain that one to me. Are you suggesting that booing started on Tuesday and the Mayo supporters only did it as a response?
This carry-on has been happening for a lot longer than Tuesday's game. I've heard it at previous Galway-Mayo games in person. It's definitely not a first.
It's nowhere near a majority of supporters, but there is an element of Mayo fans who are known for this. If Galway supporters are doing the same, I'll call them out too. I'll wait for the confirmation you have of Galway fans starting this on Tuesday."
If you want to know how about the good little boys and girls who support Galway, have a word with a fella called Kevin Walsh, you know him, I'm sure he won a couple of All-Irelands with Galway, ask him about the Galway fans and their online abuse and not just online but in the street, threatened the man out of a job.

Bad enough booing the opposition, but is there anything worse than booing your own team ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 15/07/2021 14:05:56    2360127

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To WanPintWin:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I have no issue with anyone condemning booing, what I do have an issue with is a troll painting all fans with the one brush though, and that's exactly what he done.

Actually who started it is very relevant, because the Galway fans who started it may now learn a lesson that their actions may have contribuated in some way to them actually losing the game.

Hopefully, they have learned a lesson.
"
You'll have to explain that one to me. Are you suggesting that booing started on Tuesday and the Mayo supporters only did it as a response?
This carry-on has been happening for a lot longer than Tuesday's game. I've heard it at previous Galway-Mayo games in person. It's definitely not a first.
It's nowhere near a majority of supporters, but there is an element of Mayo fans who are known for this. If Galway supporters are doing the same, I'll call them out too. I'll wait for the confirmation you have of Galway fans starting this on Tuesday."
If you want to know how about the good little boys and girls who support Galway, have a word with a fella called Kevin Walsh, you know him, I'm sure he won a couple of All-Irelands with Galway, ask him about the Galway fans and their online abuse and not just online but in the street, threatened the man out of a job.

Bad enough booing the opposition, but is there anything worse than booing your own team ?"]Do you just deflect whenever asked a question that you can't answer?
I mentioned already that we have plenty of eejits among our own support. I'll call them out any time I hear or see anything that's not on. Kevin Walsh got some terrible abuse, particularly in his last year as Galway manager. I've challenged nonsense at games and comments in the Galway forum in relation to this.
Kevin Walsh is a Galway legend who has done our county incredible service. You seem to be trying to position me as saying Galway supporters do no wrong. Far from it. I've challenged Galway fans who dished out racial abuse at a match only a few years ago. Eamonn Fitzmaurice received death threats during his time as Kerry manager. There are utter gobsh1tes in every county.
Back to the topic we were discussing and the point you made. You said you had evidence that Galway supporters started the jeering of Mayo free kicks on Tuesday. I'm still waiting for this, given that you said it does matter.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 15/07/2021 15:42:25    2360150

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The problem with your trolling post is this, if you are from Galway as you claim, you would have condemned your own so called fans as well who started the booing and jeering.

The bad news for you is I have contacts everywhere who I can quickly DM to verify claims like yours.

So if you are to condemn and rightfully so, don't come on here giving one sided stories, condemn your own as well and especially when it was them who started it.
"
Alright Poirot

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 15:42:31    2360151

Can we get back to the topic in hand??

Mayo to win this easy enough. 5-8 points in the end. Mayo have injuries but Galway still dont know what style of play they are playing. Galway's full back line and keeper are weak.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/07/2021 15:56:47    2360160

Considering the exciting prospect of seeing Galway and Mayo doing battle at Croker the discourse here is now truly mind numbing.

Will Galway chance going man-for-man is what I'd like to know.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/07/2021 16:06:05    2360161

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can we get back to the topic in hand??

Mayo to win this easy enough. 5-8 points in the end. Mayo have injuries but Galway still dont know what style of play they are playing. Galway's full back line and keeper are weak."
is that prediction based on the match being switched to HQs, or would it remain the same if the game was staged in Castlebar ?

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/07/2021 16:19:02    2360163

Gleeson Hennelly
S Kelly Aidan O shea
Mulkerrin O Donoghue
Silke Conroy
Molloy Kevin McLoughlin
Mchugh Darren McHale
Heaney Loftus
Conroy Jordan Flynn
Tierney Matthew Ruane
Comer Oisin Mullin
Cooke Stephen Coen
O Laoi Eoghan McLoughlin
Finnerty Padraig O Hora
Walsh Durcan
Paul Kelly Hession

Quick list of what maybe might be the match ups...

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 15/07/2021 16:22:34    2360165

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can we get back to the topic in hand??

Mayo to win this easy enough. 5-8 points in the end. Mayo have injuries but Galway still dont know what style of play they are playing. Galway's full back line and keeper are weak."
As a unit maybe but Sean Kelly has been playing corner back and he is probably Galways best player currently.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 15/07/2021 16:27:17    2360166

Replying To Pericles:  "Considering the exciting prospect of seeing Galway and Mayo doing battle at Croker the discourse here is now truly mind numbing.

Will Galway chance going man-for-man is what I'd like to know."
I'd expect they will, or as close to it as you can get in the modern game. They are no longer picking defensive wing forwards, so I can't see them being negative. Both teams will be convinced they can win, and both will believe they have the better footballers. Hopefully il be able get a ticket for it, it could be one of the best games of the season.
Big questions for Galway will be whether Walsh is fully fit, Gleeson copes with the pressure on kick-outs, and some of the very talented young fellas like Tierney and Finnerty stand up and show what they can do in Croke Park. But Mayo would seem to have big question marks as well. Hopefully a great game and whoever wins shows enough to suggest they will be a big threat in the All-Ireland.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 15/07/2021 16:36:08    2360170

Replying To sourmilk93:  "As a unit maybe but Sean Kelly has been playing corner back and he is probably Galways best player currently."
Agreed and he was very good in last year's Connacht final too. It'll be a first senior intercounty match in Croker for quite a few of our lads, but most of them have played there at some level, underage or club.
I believe Matthew Tierney's last 2 visits would have been All-Ireland wins with the U20s and Oughterard. Hopefully that bodes well for him.
Of the starting 15 against Roscommon, I'm thinking only Gleeson wouldn't have played there, but I could be wrong.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 15/07/2021 16:36:36    2360171

Replying To tommy132:  "Gleeson Hennelly
S Kelly Aidan O shea
Mulkerrin O Donoghue
Silke Conroy
Molloy Kevin McLoughlin
Mchugh Darren McHale
Heaney Loftus
Conroy Jordan Flynn
Tierney Matthew Ruane
Comer Oisin Mullin
Cooke Stephen Coen
O Laoi Eoghan McLoughlin
Finnerty Padraig O Hora
Walsh Durcan
Paul Kelly Hession

Quick list of what maybe might be the match ups..."
I know it's hard to guess the teams Tommy given fitness, covid and Galway players not being able to find the stadium, but it's likely AOS and ROD will be in the forwards and I'd wonder how wise it would be to have wandering Aidan bringing Sean Kelly up the field given that he won't/can't personally mark him (won't have the pace) once he's up there? I also think Mulkerrin might find Ryan O'Donoghue a bad fit, but that'd be fine if it happens!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/07/2021 17:02:34    2360175

Replying To Galway9801:  "Is the booing so awful? I mean sure it's not nice but jeez it's not like anyone's gonna get hurt. I've no issue with it anyway.
I've always found the silence in rugby matches as a player lines up a kick to be very contrived and pretentious anyway."
The booing is not nice but I think that most players (or at least those with a bit of experience of playing in front of big crowds) tune it out and don't really notice it - it just becomes part of the hum of background noise. If a big, noisy crowd suddenly went completely silent as a player stepped up to take a free, it would probably freak him and out and make him more likely to miss.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 15/07/2021 18:30:02    2360192

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "The booing is not nice but I think that most players (or at least those with a bit of experience of playing in front of big crowds) tune it out and don't really notice it - it just becomes part of the hum of background noise. If a big, noisy crowd suddenly went completely silent as a player stepped up to take a free, it would probably freak him and out and make him more likely to miss."
True actually lol

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 15/07/2021 19:43:33    2360211

Couple of great games now to look forward to, Galway v Mayo, Tyrone v Donegal and Monaghan v Armagh, then of course the Ulster final, if it's Donegal v Monaghan it will be on bank holiday Monday 2nd August in croker, if one of the six county teams is in the final could be on a different day because that Monday isn't a bank holiday in the wee north.
Croker will likely suit Mayo better so I'll go for Mayo by 3 points.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 15/07/2021 19:49:45    2360213

Nice to see Shane Walsh back and ready for action

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 15/07/2021 21:19:43    2360236

Go onto utube and watch Mayo in the All irelands..any game, listen to their support when an opposition player is taking a free.. any game over the last 10 years..
Constantly booing

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/07/2021 23:16:46    2360275

Replying To the_walls:  "How have I "tapped out"? You've just come out with a load of nonsense with literally nothing to back any of it up. If you want to carry on with it that's up to you."
Ah will you stop, it's not nonsense. Mayo suggested the change. Connacht Council pushed it through. Galway agreed - so we know what we're signing up for. All known, talk to people that know will u. Croke Park pitch dimensions are 145 x 88m, McHale is 137x82 - those meters, especially on the width, being a massive difference re Horan's plans and well documented in sports articles in recent years that the pitch size was seen as a hindrance to Mayo being ready for Croke Park. Horan has planned his team set up for Croker and fair play to him for doing so. As regards Galway, we've to learn to play there and Galway don't really have any excuses as Pearse's pitch is the max allowed 145x90. If be training there if I were PJ.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 16/07/2021 09:51:33    2360310

Replying To Belclare:  "Go onto utube and watch Mayo in the All irelands..any game, listen to their support when an opposition player is taking a free.. any game over the last 10 years..
Constantly booing"
You're at it again like a good little troll, yourself and that dunnie hillbilly going from room to room , nothing happening in rural Ireland.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/07/2021 10:07:07    2360311