Galway V Mayo

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break. Now if the Ulster champs beat Kerry then that's a whole new ball game."
Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair.
How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/07/2021 22:06:32    2364505

Replying To winatallcost:  "Mayo will take Dublin in semi and Kerry to beat Mayo in a great final. Mayo likely to be 2nd best team in country once more and wonder what might have been had they had Killian O'connor. Excellent young players with energy to overcome a bellow par Dublin but Kerry will have too much firepower in a shootout. Really disappointed from Galway having been in an excellent position. Joyce does not appear to have what is needed to get most out of their talent. Always negative comments afterwards aswell. Cork extremely poor too. They are not progressing."
Come on Mayo, beat Dubs first. And hope Monaghan/Tyrone beat Kerry. But if not, Mayo will not fear anyone.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 26/07/2021 22:15:52    2364511

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair.
How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title."
Agree 100%

To be honest, there are Mayo players I don't like. Well, one in particular!

I also know from talking to a former Dublin player that there has been no love lost. Mostly because the games have been so tight and no quarter asked nor given on either side. However, there is no way that the Dublin team has any of the sort of infantile attitude towards Mayo that some supporters might do.

And indeed I suspect that it is less common among Dublin supporters because like the players, we have gotten to know them well over the years! They take their beatings and they come back. You can ask no more of any person in any aspect of life.

Losers don't keep getting up and dusting themselves off and having another go. Losers give up. If Mayo never win an All Ireland, they have earned huge respect from anyone with any sort of life experience never mind of sport. And if they do win one, and if they beat Dublin on the way, then by jaysus they have earned it the hard way.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2551 - 26/07/2021 22:57:57    2364523

Loving some of the Mayo sprouting in here.

Lads, ye haven't played a top team this year yet so I would keep a lid on it for now. The proof will be in the pudding when Kerry and Dublin come calling, the truth is if you produce the same first 35 minute performance like yesterday against either of those teams you'll be counting another year onto 51'. 70 years ago... ye poor things. Sure look at least ye have got to 10 finals since then to cushion the blow a bit :)

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 26/07/2021 23:18:18    2364531

Replying To Belclare:  "Since we won in 2001 I'd agree.
Mayo like every team since 1959 bottle it on the biggest day..."
was the galway fans cheering the mayo wides in the first half okay with u since u have such a gripe about it I didnt think they did such a thing

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 26/07/2021 23:51:19    2364542

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair.
How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title."
Mayo aren't respected. You have to win an all Ireland before you get respect and the perception changes.

If mocking us makes people feel better and distract from their own counties failures so be it. A bit like the few Galway fans laughing coming out of Croker saying ye still won't win Sam and Galway will win it before ye....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 27/07/2021 00:10:06    2364547

Replying To MillerX:  "Oh, mind games!!!!! Kildare????"
I would still put Dublin ahead of Kildare, but i could be proven wrong abouy that on Sunday.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 27/07/2021 08:02:05    2364555

You're wasting your time trying to employ reason and logic here. Galway fans are desperately trying to deflect from their side's loss of nerve on Sunday by pointing to past Mayo failures (imagine the reaction if Mayo had blown a five point lead?), the karate kid, Mayo's undue influence with the GAA (lol, I'll have to remember that one the next time we're forced to play in Limerick or Newbridge) etc. etc. while the individual you're addressing enjoys Mayo losing far more than the does Donegal winning.

It's all quite enjoyable really, far better to be hated than patronized.

But hey, Dublin will probably beat us again in a few weeks time and the mad dogs will get another chance to howl at the moon.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/07/2021 08:05:16    2364556

100%. They've achieved more than almost any other county over the last 10 years. I would love if I knew Galway were going to be as competitive as Mayo year-in, year-out for the past decade.
The one thing I'd never question is their character. They've shown that on countless occasions and keep coming back.
I said before Sunday's game that Mayo supporters knew they were going to get a level of performance which wouldn't fall below a certain standard. With Galway, we were liable to get anything. Mayo stepped up when the game was to be won and delivered.
They're our neighbours and rivals and surely there can't be a greater incentive for Galway to improve than watching them beat us.
It's up to us to sort this out. There are no excuses. I know there is a lot of hard work being done in Galway from underage up. It can be done and I really hope we see it soon, but until then, I tip my hat to Mayo. They're going to give every last drop to win the semi-final. It might or might not be enough, but you know it won't be for the want of trying.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 27/07/2021 08:46:26    2364564

Replying To ahsure.:  "Loving some of the Mayo sprouting in here.

Lads, ye haven't played a top team this year yet so I would keep a lid on it for now. The proof will be in the pudding when Kerry and Dublin come calling, the truth is if you produce the same first 35 minute performance like yesterday against either of those teams you'll be counting another year onto 51'. 70 years ago... ye poor things. Sure look at least ye have got to 10 finals since then to cushion the blow a bit :)"
Where is the sprouting? Replying to childish messages from people who can't deal with the fact Mayo are back in a semi final with only 4 or 5 from the team from 17 is just standing up for a good team. Mayo still 3rd on paper behind the big 2 but are going nowhere anytime soon.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 27/07/2021 09:54:17    2364577

Replying To ahsure.:  "Loving some of the Mayo sprouting in here.

Lads, ye haven't played a top team this year yet so I would keep a lid on it for now. The proof will be in the pudding when Kerry and Dublin come calling, the truth is if you produce the same first 35 minute performance like yesterday against either of those teams you'll be counting another year onto 51'. 70 years ago... ye poor things. Sure look at least ye have got to 10 finals since then to cushion the blow a bit :)"
Some Galway fans making an absolute show of themselves on this thread. You're the latest. And what's there to keep a lid on? You might point to some examples of Mayo posters getting carried away and saying that we are definitely going to beat Dublin/Kerry?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/07/2021 10:11:47    2364582

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo aren't respected. You have to win an all Ireland before you get respect and the perception changes.

If mocking us makes people feel better and distract from their own counties failures so be it. A bit like the few Galway fans laughing coming out of Croker saying ye still won't win Sam and Galway will win it before ye...."
The players are respected.. they are the ones putting in the effort.. The supporters are the ones who bring the grief on themselves...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/07/2021 10:16:08    2364587

I think Galway should get behind Mayo now. Maigh Eo abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 27/07/2021 10:55:14    2364607

Replying To Belclare:  "The Mayo men and women supporting their team in Tuam last night, who booed , cheered heckled the young lads taking frees and penalties need in future to stay at home.
A total disgrace..
Best supporters in Ireland my ass.."
I assume Belclare you have equally harsh words for the Galway fans that were enthusiastically cheering every Mayo wide in the first half on Sunday and it just slipped your mind to mention it up to now?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/07/2021 11:09:58    2364615

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo aren't respected. You have to win an all Ireland before you get respect and the perception changes.

If mocking us makes people feel better and distract from their own counties failures so be it. A bit like the few Galway fans laughing coming out of Croker saying ye still won't win Sam and Galway will win it before ye...."
Nail on the head, won't be respected by the elites of Gaelic football (Galway, Kerry, Dublin - check the roll of honor) until that gap is bridged. Once it is come back to us. I guess ye have the moral victories and the "most fanatical support in Ireland" title but it won't quiet cut it.

In all honesty, best of luck for the remainder of the championship, I hope you do it, I just don't see it happening based on what Galway (nothing special, I'll admit that easily) did in the first half. If Kerry or Dublin's main men get going like that, they won't fade away like our lads in the 3rd quarter.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 27/07/2021 11:10:55    2364616

Replying To ahsure.:  "Nail on the head, won't be respected by the elites of Gaelic football (Galway, Kerry, Dublin - check the roll of honor) until that gap is bridged. Once it is come back to us. I guess ye have the moral victories and the "most fanatical support in Ireland" title but it won't quiet cut it.

In all honesty, best of luck for the remainder of the championship, I hope you do it, I just don't see it happening based on what Galway (nothing special, I'll admit that easily) did in the first half. If Kerry or Dublin's main men get going like that, they won't fade away like our lads in the 3rd quarter."
When ye realise ye are not 'Elite' anymore, and that ye need more than tradition, then ye might be able to compete with the top teams..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 27/07/2021 11:34:53    2364630

Replying To the_walls:  "I assume Belclare you have equally harsh words for the Galway fans that were enthusiastically cheering every Mayo wide in the first half on Sunday and it just slipped your mind to mention it up to now?"
Not one Galway fan cheered a Mayo wide where we were sat in the hogan. Not one. Meanwhile Mayo fans were at their usual boo boy nonsense for the first few mins and I believe when they saw we weren't at it in return, it died away and the banter and craic came back in the stand. Had some brilliant chats with Mayo proper sporting people and some hilarious, simple, good natured banter back and forth. It was like the old days! Best of luck, I fear Kerry will be the force this year but sport is funny.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 27/07/2021 11:36:04    2364631

Want Mayo to lift Sam
That is what Connacht needs
Up Mayo

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 27/07/2021 11:45:35    2364635

Replying To galwayford:  "I think Galway should get behind Mayo now. Maigh Eo abú"
I think we should. Sadly and tellingly on their part, we would never get this in return.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 27/07/2021 11:50:02    2364638

Replying To tommy132:  "When ye realise ye are not 'Elite' anymore, and that ye need more than tradition, then ye might be able to compete with the top teams.."
It reminds me of José Mourinho when his Man Utd side were playing terrible. His response was point out to the journalists he had won 3 premier league titles, more than all the other managers in the league combined. Needless to say 3 years later, Mourinho and Man Utd are no further along.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 27/07/2021 12:08:06    2364649