Championship 2021

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Same old same old.

Looks like a few morons get pleasure from little things. Sadly it's people like you that have no idea what is happening to the once beautiful game around you.
I expect it would be hard to find those that think the 10,12,14 are better the the other 16 plus on the panel if's thats the case why have a second team training week after week for what.
The only way to solve the issues in Cavan are to get the clubs more involved for I am sure many would would not agree with people like you that feel the top 10,12,14 should be burnt out because the second string are not good enough.

Try and look away from personal issues you may have with me and a few others and take your head out of the sand and look at the wider picture.

Yes I am not from Cavan but I have spent most of my adult life here and I have an interest in the future of Cavan as I have grandchildren growing up that will be supporting them and I would like to think by the time they are old enough they will be able to enjoy watching their county year on year with expectations.
Take care of yourself

You know who I am I am willing to chat with anyone face to face in the hope a constructive conversation might take place regarding the future and maybe something positive might happen."
Burnt out!?

These lads have played 5 games in the past 9 months!

I'm not in any way against someone stepping up and replacing someone if they're good enough. My point is, that at some point or another, the vast vast majority of those players who have the potential to do that have been given a chance and haven't been able to take it (for a variety of reasons).

Who do you think is being overlooked!??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/07/2021 23:08:52    2359972

Time to park this now and let the big boys get on with the Championship….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 15/07/2021 18:48:04    2360196

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Same old same old.

Looks like a few morons get pleasure from little things. Sadly it's people like you that have no idea what is happening to the once beautiful game around you.
I expect it would be hard to find those that think the 10,12,14 are better the the other 16 plus on the panel if's thats the case why have a second team training week after week for what.
The only way to solve the issues in Cavan are to get the clubs more involved for I am sure many would would not agree with people like you that feel the top 10,12,14 should be burnt out because the second string are not good enough.

Try and look away from personal issues you may have with me and a few others and take your head out of the sand and look at the wider picture.

Yes I am not from Cavan but I have spent most of my adult life here and I have an interest in the future of Cavan as I have grandchildren growing up that will be supporting them and I would like to think by the time they are old enough they will be able to enjoy watching their county year on year with expectations.
Take care of yourself

You know who I am I am willing to chat with anyone face to face in the hope a constructive conversation might take place regarding the future and maybe something positive might happen."
I don't think you've ever posted anything constructive on this forum. You're whingeing about players not getting opportunities. I'd argue exactly the opposite. Our season has been cost by us giving too many players opportunities in the League. What other team were handing 3/4 U20s their debuts in the League? We had lads playing who haven't even started a decent number of senior championship games for their club. Even on Saturday we had two U20s playing a new debutant from Ramor.
If you want to be negative, be negative but at least try to be factually correct rather than complaining for the sake of it.
I hastily await your latest list of players should be on the panel. The last few which you eventually named, after running round in riddles for months, were very entertaining.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 16/07/2021 13:58:07    2360413

Fluke wins always and ever lead to flat performances… which is what cost our season

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 16/07/2021 15:20:29    2360439

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "I don't think you've ever posted anything constructive on this forum. You're whingeing about players not getting opportunities. I'd argue exactly the opposite. Our season has been cost by us giving too many players opportunities in the League. What other team were handing 3/4 U20s their debuts in the League? We had lads playing who haven't even started a decent number of senior championship games for their club. Even on Saturday we had two U20s playing a new debutant from Ramor.
If you want to be negative, be negative but at least try to be factually correct rather than complaining for the sake of it.
I hastily await your latest list of players should be on the panel. The last few which you eventually named, after running round in riddles for months, were very entertaining."
Did you hear me complaining if yes you must be reading other posts. Cavan are in Division 4 FACTS I did not put them there. Cavan lost last week to tyrone FACTS I did not complain. You moron don't know me but you are having an opinion about me thats all right for I don't care. The truth hurts many blinkered people and you are no different. I like to think that I can watch 30 plus players play a game and make a constructive observation of the game afterwards unlike blinkered people who only see one team on the pitch.

Does the management need to be changed I say yes off course.
Do I want to see Micky Graham removed no to be honest for I am sure he will be able to take Cavan out of Division 4 next year which has to be priority now above anything else.
Would I like to see a complete change of the back-room yes I would. New ideas needed now going forward.
We will be able to watch games for the next three months to see if there is any new talent out there now. So last post on this matter until after the championship.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 16/07/2021 18:50:54    2360486

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Fluke wins always and ever lead to flat performances… which is what cost our season"
2 finals in a row tho. . .

So it wasn't a fluke.

Try harder.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/07/2021 21:25:56    2360511

Replying To cavanman47:  "2 finals in a row tho. . .

So it wasn't a fluke.

Try harder."
One hammering and one fluke win which is proven by us operating out of division 4 next season… only the most deluded could say it wasn't a lucky win … So I suggest you should try reality for a change…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 17/07/2021 13:09:50    2360639

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "
Replying To The Quiet Man:  "No problem with you pointing fingers. The problem is right in front of you in your post. You name 12 players you say have a right to start why not add the two murray's to that list as well. Come on wake up and smell the roses. You are only as good as your last match no divine right to start period. You earn that right week on week when you train with the rest. If I were part of the panel of 34 or so and I knew I would never start in the first fifteen why should I bother bursting a gut knowing I will never play.

NO PLAYER HAS A DIVINE RIGHT TO START IN ANY TEAM HE SHE MUST PUT IN THE EFFORT ALONG WITH THE REST.

Now you see why players don't want to come onto the panel ???"
Did you see the number of players who were tried throughout the league? I really don't see where you are going with this. Plenty of new lads have been tried throughout what amounted to 4 games - we even had Breen O'Connell that had never played for Cavan before start at the weekend. Maybe we should have stuck to what's tried and tested in the League and maybe we wouldn't have been relegated.
No matter who the manager is you seem to complain about who is on the panel so you'll never be happy anyway."
Tried and tested in the league? Look where that got us

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 18/07/2021 08:50:01    2360950

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "One hammering and one fluke win which is proven by us operating out of division 4 next season… only the most deluded could say it wasn't a lucky win … So I suggest you should try reality for a change…"
Foreverblue my backside. You sound more like a Meath man to me with your Insulting comments on our players and team. If you truly think that then I can only say its very unfortunate for you that you were not born in the 1920's and 1930's so you could have grown up watching Cavan win All Irelands (no doubt they were all flukes too).

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/07/2021 06:53:32    2361483

Replying To fredflint:  "Foreverblue my backside. You sound more like a Meath man to me with your Insulting comments on our players and team. If you truly think that then I can only say its very unfortunate for you that you were not born in the 1920's and 1930's so you could have grown up watching Cavan win All Irelands (no doubt they were all flukes too)."
Our Ulster win was a fluke….
more getting to the final than the final itself where Donegal seemed to take us for granted… but our games leading up to it were all lucky wins and if you can't see that you must be clueless about football… If we are as good as you think how come we are in Division 4……?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/07/2021 15:13:17    2361739

If you want to know what's wrong with Cavan Football, look no further than the farce of an effort to start an u20 competition this Wednesday with only 2 weeks notice given to clubs. It really is a joke at this stage.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 20/07/2021 07:44:47    2362004

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Our Ulster win was a fluke….
more getting to the final than the final itself where Donegal seemed to take us for granted… but our games leading up to it were all lucky wins and if you can't see that you must be clueless about football… If we are as good as you think how come we are in Division 4……?"
No you are right lad. Winning Ulster from the preliminary round, playing each game week on week, playing 6 games in 6 weeks in total, beating 2 division 1 teams, mounting 2 incredible comebacks, beating Donegal with no fair play from the ref and 20 minutes with 14 v 15. Yes that was a real fluke. Must make Cavan the luckiest team in the history of sport to do that. Do you feel like a big man looking down your nose at what was a remarkable achievement by our team? You should be ashamed of yourself.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/07/2021 14:32:37    2362153

Replying To fredflint:  "No you are right lad. Winning Ulster from the preliminary round, playing each game week on week, playing 6 games in 6 weeks in total, beating 2 division 1 teams, mounting 2 incredible comebacks, beating Donegal with no fair play from the ref and 20 minutes with 14 v 15. Yes that was a real fluke. Must make Cavan the luckiest team in the history of sport to do that. Do you feel like a big man looking down your nose at what was a remarkable achievement by our team? You should be ashamed of yourself."
I will take the win all day long but I am not foolish enough to think this Cavan team and their management are up to much…. No Ulster Champions in history were playing division 4 football the following season…. This in itself would tell even you that last season was a bit of a fluke…wonderful at the time but a freak result no matter how we look at it…and you are right we were one of the luckiest teams in sport last year….but sadly our luck has ran out…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 20/07/2021 16:26:56    2362194

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I will take the win all day long but I am not foolish enough to think this Cavan team and their management are up to much…. No Ulster Champions in history were playing division 4 football the following season…. This in itself would tell even you that last season was a bit of a fluke…wonderful at the time but a freak result no matter how we look at it…and you are right we were one of the luckiest teams in sport last year….but sadly our luck has ran out…"
It tells you all you need to know about Cavan football when the management start a player in Midfield who hasn't trained or kicked a ball in almost 2 years .It wasnt the lads fault he was just fired in there. The rest of the panel must be well peeved I'd say. Fresh new management is needed cos Mickeys not going to spot much Cavan talent up in the Longford Championships

Allrevvedup (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 21/07/2021 00:07:26    2362367

Replying To Allrevvedup:  "It tells you all you need to know about Cavan football when the management start a player in Midfield who hasn't trained or kicked a ball in almost 2 years .It wasnt the lads fault he was just fired in there. The rest of the panel must be well peeved I'd say. Fresh new management is needed cos Mickeys not going to spot much Cavan talent up in the Longford Championships"
Jesus this forum really plumbed the depths to find the biggest eejits in Cavan.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 21/07/2021 11:37:34    2362445

Replying To fredflint:  "Jesus this forum really plumbed the depths to find the biggest eejits in Cavan."
And you must be the biggest and most deluded of the lot….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 21/07/2021 16:15:51    2362567

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "I don't think you've ever posted anything constructive on this forum. You're whingeing about players not getting opportunities. I'd argue exactly the opposite. Our season has been cost by us giving too many players opportunities in the League. What other team were handing 3/4 U20s their debuts in the League? We had lads playing who haven't even started a decent number of senior championship games for their club. Even on Saturday we had two U20s playing a new debutant from Ramor.
I hastily await your latest list of players should be on the panel. The last few which you eventually named, after running round in riddles for months, were very entertaining."
What other team were handing 3/4 Under 20s their debuts in the League ????? asks "know all" BreffniGuide.............ANSWER = Division 1 regulars and soon to be King's of Ulster again MONAGHAN.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 23/07/2021 00:49:38    2363047

At least the hurling team are doing the County proud this season… well done on a great win today

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 24/07/2021 20:39:38    2363611

Replying To Views:  "County board need to appoint a GAA development Leader
- keep coaching development squads 14-17 as they are
- invest heavily in schools , every kid should be having a 1 hour session per week with a county board coach whatever the cost.
I don't think there is enough long term planning, and coaches only come in at 5th 6th class scouting for development squads.
Get everyone playing GAA and you will reap Long term, the multi cultural society now in big towns Needs to be encouraged to play GAA, which will make for better players in Future but also Better society with inclusion.
I do not think our county board are delivering on this ."
How about something completely radical, starting with the U17s,instead of selecting players depending on whose offspring they may be, the club they are from or the school they play for,why not just pick the best players available?Development squads & trials are only a smokescreen to allow the management select the lads which fulfil the three aforementioned criteria.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 26/07/2021 18:18:38    2364397

Replying To aceofspades:  "How about something completely radical, starting with the U17s,instead of selecting players depending on whose offspring they may be, the club they are from or the school they play for,why not just pick the best players available?Development squads & trials are only a smokescreen to allow the management select the lads which fulfil the three aforementioned criteria."
you could say the same about underage management...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1681 - 26/07/2021 20:34:39    2364464